TSMov_freak
post Jan 23 2020, 12:54 AM, updated 6y ago

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Underwater (2020)

Underwater is a 2020 American science fiction horror film directed by William Eubank and written by Brian Duffield and Adam Cozad. The film is produced by Chernin Entertainment and stars Kristen Stewart, Vincent Cassel, Jessica Henwick, John Gallagher Jr., Mamoudou Athie, and T.J. Miller. It follows a group of scientists at the bottom of the ocean who encounter a group of creatures after an earthquake destroys their laboratory.

Underwater was released in the United States on January 10, 2020, by 20th Century Fox. The film has grossed $27 million worldwide and received mixed reviews from critics. It is the last film released under the 20th Century Fox name, before the name change to 20th Century Studios by Disney after it acquired Fox and its assets.

(Excerpt from Wikipedia)

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 23 2020, 04:07 PM
TSMov_freak
post Jan 23 2020, 12:54 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Underwater (2020)

Did a movie marathon today.

I don't think I can continue doing marathon in the future.

A spring chicken, I am definitely not.

Back to this movie.

I actually enjoy the first two act.

Very immersive.

The audience gets sucked in and is invested.

I was literally at the edge of my seat.

Then third act came along, it looks like the director seem only interesting is showing Kristen Stewart in her skives...

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

I am sure there is an audience for that.

I like the technology suggested in this movie (used technology).

Don't think they exist yet (a underwater suit that can withstand 8 tonnes a square inch)

And how they solved the "re-breather" issue and no mention of the bends...

Then again, it is just a movie.

My two sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 23 2020, 01:03 AM
amandamai
post Jan 24 2020, 03:27 AM

156 posts

I regret watching this
I was too late to catch another movie
I call it straight to video movie

TSMov_freak
post Jan 24 2020, 09:17 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(amandamai @ Jan 24 2020, 03:27 AM)
I regret watching this
I was too late to catch another movie
I call it straight to video movie
To each their own.

This movie was made in 2017, and was only released recently

I did enjoy the first 2 act, the 3rd...
greyshadow
post Jan 24 2020, 01:54 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Immersive? I beg to differ, ya, each to their own...
Regretted paying 10 bucks and 2 hours wasted, I can't wait for this movie to end, even got the urge to be my first movie to quit watching halfway.
Agreed with some, I would categorise this as a straight to video movie.
Very poor editing, poor execution, poor plot, and worst of all, poor acting
Those love the hard science of deep sea exploration will be cursing throughout the movie, clearly written by someone with almost zero knowledge about deep sea exploration.
I'll re-watch Meg anytime over this crap.
If benchmark over Abyss, Abyss is a 10, this is a 1
TSMov_freak
post Jan 24 2020, 07:29 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

It seems like i am a minority of one here... laugh.gif
Hartigan
post Mar 19 2020, 05:44 PM

120 posts

Always a big fans of deep sea exploration theme of sci-fi films, will definitely check this one out...

And i remember this sort of underwater theme film was dated back to the 90's & late 80's where from The Abyss, Leviathan, Deepstar Six to Sphere...
SUSRaikkonen
post Apr 2 2020, 10:11 PM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Almost like 'Alien' (1979)

Epic ending though cry.gif

If only they make the storyline kinda like 'Aliens' (1986)

More tense.

And everthing is dark...gloomy...

1 hour 30 minutes...wish it was longer.

A long hair brunette Kristen would have been better.

Short hairt blonde...not hnggghhh at all laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Apr 3 2020, 11:50 AM
bartbarb
post Apr 3 2020, 11:19 AM

393 posts

Boring & typical monster movie.
It doesn't build the suspend enough.
Sometimes things happened fast, then suddenly slow down.
Monster design also meh. It doesn't bring the feel of an aquatic monster.
Underwater in some way looks like Leviathan 1989 movie.

0.0175sec    0.90    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:17 PM