LOOKING FOR DAILY USE MOTOR

TStzeyong
post Jan 18 2020, 10:34 PM, updated 5y ago

48 posts

Hi All,

im looking for a motorbike for daily use..
riding about 70km per day.. using mex & mrr2..
any motorbike recommendation ? price maximum is RM13k.
preferred yamaha / honda..
And does abs important to a small bike ?

thank you
jepakazoid_82
post Jan 18 2020, 11:01 PM

829 posts

Y15zr bro. Semakin di hadapan
waveweaver
post Jan 19 2020, 08:45 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,146 posts

QUOTE(tzeyong @ Jan 18 2020, 10:34 PM)
Hi All,

thank you
Either RS or Y15 should be okay since you also ride on highway. And if you don't mind riding a scooter then NVX will be a better choice as it have front ABS. Or if you don't mind unpopular scooter can consider Piaggio Medley S. Got big storage for 2 helmets and have front and rear ABS.
Yes ABS is important but not a deal breaker if you can ride sensibly unaided.
BlackBananaV6
post Jan 19 2020, 01:13 PM

132 posts

Honda PCX, RM10,999 if you buy from a Honda Impian-X shop. Has no ABS but the Combi-brake is really not bad.

Comfortable scooter, full LED lightings, LED meter display.
sparketh
post Jan 19 2020, 01:29 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(BlackBananaV6 @ Jan 19 2020, 01:13 PM)
Honda PCX, RM10,999 if you buy from a Honda Impian-X shop. Has no ABS but the Combi-brake is really not bad.

Scooters are nice cos no one wants to carry helmets everywhere. But I dislike the tyres that scooters come with. A little of sand or even the white strips on the road and it tends to slip. Honda rs150r is good if u want city and long distance riding but lil higher on maintenance. The Honda wave 125i I think is the best cos has a helmet storage under the seat, large petrol tank, Hondas most excellent pgmFi system
TStzeyong
post Jan 19 2020, 03:31 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Jan 18 2020, 11:01 PM)
Y15zr bro. Semakin di hadapan
Y15 im quite like it..but alot of theft case..so quite worry..
TStzeyong
post Jan 19 2020, 03:34 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 19 2020, 08:45 AM)
Either RS or Y15 should be okay since you also ride on highway. And if you don't mind riding a scooter then NVX will be a better choice as it have front ABS. Or if you don't mind unpopular scooter can consider Piaggio Medley S. Got big storage for 2 helmets and have front and rear ABS.
Yes ABS is important but not a deal breaker if you can ride sensibly unaided.
i was wonder does abs importtant to a small bike ?
ya..nvx has abs..
i was riding honda wave (drum break system)..cause too old..would like to change..
and i never ride motorbike with disc break..that why i quite worry when using disc break motor..

how about install abs after market on LC 135 ?
TStzeyong
post Jan 19 2020, 03:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(BlackBananaV6 @ Jan 19 2020, 01:13 PM)

i was comparing with nvx / nmax..
what do you think?
TStzeyong
post Jan 19 2020, 03:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Jan 19 2020, 01:29 PM)
Scooters are nice cos no one wants to carry helmets everywhere.  But I dislike the tyres that scooters come with. A little of sand or even the white strips on the road and it tends to slip.  Honda rs150r is good if u want city and long distance riding but lil higher on maintenance.  The Honda wave 125i I think is the best cos has a helmet storage under the seat, large petrol  tank, Hondas most excellent pgmFi system
i thought scooter tyre are more wider..so will be more stable ?
sparketh
post Jan 19 2020, 04:27 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(tzeyong @ Jan 19 2020, 03:41 PM)
i thought scooter tyre are more wider..so will be more stable ?
Generally I would have agreed with you but the tyres always given on scooters are like almost semi slick tyres without much grooves which makes for slippery sessions when a lil sandy. Perhaps there are better ones with more rugged threads but I find kapchais don’t have that issue cos of the tyre design. Also scooters cvt drive is annoying, need to rev to 2000-3000 rpm to even start moving and everything is like 6000-8000 rpm when cruising and sucks petrol and higher vibrations are fast speeds. The belting and roller system goes up in price as you up the cc range and higher cc can be quite expensive when comparing to simple old chains.
Karenalvin
post Jan 19 2020, 10:32 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(sparketh @ Jan 19 2020, 04:27 PM)
Generally I would have agreed with you but the tyres always given on scooters are like almost semi slick tyres without much grooves which makes for slippery sessions when a lil sandy.  Perhaps there are better ones with more rugged threads but I find kapchais don’t have that issue cos of the tyre design. Also scooters cvt drive is annoying, need to rev to 2000-3000 rpm to even start moving and everything is like 6000-8000 rpm when cruising and sucks petrol and higher vibrations are fast speeds.  The belting and roller system goes up in price as you up the cc range and higher cc can be quite expensive when comparing to simple old chains.
not sure what kinda scooter you referring to, but the scooters currently on the market are not bad at all. to say belting on roller goes up in price when bigger cc is hardly a point against scooter since it is the same for vehicles of any size. one could just as easily highlight how scooters is easier to maintain considering i have to lube my bike chains at least once a month. fuel consumption is not that different, maybe a few cent per 100km. also scooter have good storage space.

but i think the number one reason to get a scooter is probably for the fact that they are generally less stolen than kapcai, particularly if you are looking at 125 to 150cc. almost all the 150cc kapcai i see uses double locks
Dreadlock13
post Jan 19 2020, 11:21 PM

480 posts

Since everyone already say rs150 and y15

Im gonna say unpopular one.

Used z250 or used ninja 250 or duke 200
narutomax
post Jan 19 2020, 11:24 PM

423 posts

pulsar ns200.a very good motorbike. used it almost 2 years without problem at all.
leon898
post Jan 20 2020, 08:45 AM

733 posts

Hi All,

thank you
at first, I would like to suggest RS150. But since u will be riding at MEX area:

I) Used Z250 or
II) New Pulsar/NS 200 or

ajaibman
post Jan 20 2020, 11:42 AM

227 posts

Generally I would have agreed with you but the tyres always given on scooters are like almost semi slick tyres without much grooves which makes for slippery sessions when a lil sandy.  Perhaps there are better ones with more rugged threads but I find kapchais don’t have that issue cos of the tyre design. Also scooters cvt drive is annoying, need to rev to 2000-3000 rpm to even start moving and everything is like 6000-8000 rpm when cruising and sucks petrol and higher vibrations are fast speeds.  The belting and roller system goes up in price as you up the cc range and higher cc can be quite expensive when comparing to simple old chains.
Really?
ajaibman
post Jan 20 2020, 11:45 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jan 20 2020, 08:45 AM)
at first, I would like to suggest RS150. But since u will be riding at MEX area:
I) Used Z250 or
II) New Pulsar/NS 200 or
Yes, take a bit heavier bike, since the cross wind in Mex can be notoriously strong that can blow your bike away..... especially after Sri Kembangan toll towards Cyberjaya and the other way around..

Trust me, I rode a 290kg German Sport Touring bike and the wind is strong enough to push me and forced change lane.. on MEX.. while chasing a S1000XR ----> that bike damn fast..
leon898
post Jan 20 2020, 11:54 AM

733 posts

On the bolded part, I believe u are riding an old gen scooter.

PCX 150cc can achive 50km/L. Similar to RS150 and y15 counterpart. and the vibration almost non-existent if u don't push it to the max all the time.
BlackBananaV6
post Jan 20 2020, 03:30 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jan 20 2020, 11:54 AM)
On the bolded part, I believe u are riding an old gen scooter.

PCX 150cc can achive 50km/L. Similar to RS150 and y15 counterpart. and the vibration almost non-existent if u don't push it to the max all the time.
I second that...

I'm riding PCX150, I can confirm RS150 has more vibration than my PCX and thus I'm seeing how the PCX is priced much more.

Not that I'm into street race, but I am usually first to leave any standard kapcai behind at the traffic light (they'll catch up after I reached 90 km/h).

I must say that only buy scooter of you can study and remember the maintenance schedule because the service shops usually ask you to replace / service before the required interval. Further, you must remember the minimum standard replacement parts because the mechanic usually recommends unnecessary expensive replacements or worst unsuitable for your scooter. This is the cause that many motorist said that scooter's maintenance is expensive.

I have ridden my PCX for more than 1 year with 15,000 on the odometer, and I have only spent less than RM200 for servicing. Average fuel consumption is 50 km/l.
calvin0808
post Jan 20 2020, 04:43 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(tzeyong @ Jan 19 2020, 03:41 PM)
i was comparing with nvx / nmax..
what do you think?
recently i am using nmax, and bought on last November, you won't regret.
the pickup is fast and strong, only things is the oem tyres you have to be careful especially during rain day, otherwise you can straight away change it.
vanpersie91
post Jan 20 2020, 04:47 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

Hi All,

thank you
beli honda future bro. ada space besar bawah seat. best gila boleh simpan your helmet, your rain coat with ease.

jimat minyak jugak.

0.0161sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:29 PM