Smart TV or Android TV or Android Box?, Which should i choose?

AVFAN
post Jan 23 2020, 04:52 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(kakamal @ Jan 23 2020, 04:42 PM)
Such an interesting discussion here. Well forgive me if I sound stupid but why on earth do we need another android box to pair with Android TV?
becos...

1. Android TV cannot do certain apps whereas other boxes can, eg. astrogo.

2. some people have home theater and like to do local playback with HD audio... AndroidTV cannot do that.
kakamal
post Feb 18 2020, 03:23 PM

105 posts

Thanks AVFAN for the reply. Well I'm planning to get an Android tv but I had few questions and appreciate if any of you sifus could help.

1. For what I read the booting time for ATV is way too long within 40 - 60 secs. Is there a way to speed it up.. like bypassing the Android logo?

2. What are the default sources the TV would run after boot up. Is it ATV, HDMI 1, 2 or 3?. Or it can be set?. Bcoz I prefer Astro Ultra Box to be as default.

3. Which would you choose between these 2?

Panasonic 55GX650K https://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-...h-55gx650k.html
- Nice borderless design and very light (10kg). 2 ways bluetooth in and out. But no mirroring features and lack of reviews.

Sony 55X8000G https://www.sony.com.my/electronics/televis...g-x8077g-series
- Better picture with WCG panel. Bigger ROM 16GB, 4 HDMI and 3 USB ports but a bit bulky 17kg with an old-fashioned design.

Thank you in advance.

This post has been edited by kakamal: Feb 18 2020, 03:25 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2020, 04:05 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(kakamal @ Feb 18 2020, 03:23 PM)
Thanks AVFAN for the reply. Well I'm planning to get an Android tv but I had few questions and appreciate if any of you sifus could help.

1. For what I read the booting time for ATV is way too long within 40 - 60 secs. Is there a way to speed it up.. like bypassing the Android logo?

2. What are the default sources the TV would run after boot up. Is it ATV, HDMI 1, 2 or 3?. Or it can be set?. Bcoz I prefer Astro Ultra Box to be as default.

3. Which would you choose between these 2?

Panasonic 55GX650K  https://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-...h-55gx650k.html
- Nice borderless design and very light (10kg). 2 ways bluetooth in and out. But no mirroring features and lack of reviews.

Sony 55X8000G    https://www.sony.com.my/electronics/televis...g-x8077g-series
- Better picture with WCG panel. Bigger ROM 16GB, 4 HDMI and 3 USB ports but a bit bulky 17kg with an old-fashioned design.

Thank you in advance.
1. i have not used any ATV other than my 2 sharps. so, cannot be sure if the start up/booting is same.
my tv's, i never unplug power, always on standby... when i start up, it returns to where it was last used, e.g. hyppbox.
if the hyppbox is already on, it takes no more than 2 secs to be ready.
sure, if u unplug power everytime after use and have to power up each time, it can take up to 60secs.
no, u cannot bypass the ATV as it is an integral part of the tv opsys.

2. upon start up, it goes to last source used. if this source is off, u press a button to return to the homepage - the ATV UI.
from there, u can select netflix, youtube, or any other app u installed.
OR, u change source, say HDMI1 or 2 or 3... whatever u have connected.

3. i have very little idea about pana. the sony, i think it is very similar to the sharp.
from the specs, i cannot tell what audio the pana can handle; the sony can do dd/dd+/dts which is pretty good.
if u wish to compare to yet another ATV tv, check:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4778611/+240
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4488602/+2260

when buying new TV, keep in mind TV makers focus on displays, not player, streaming, connectivity or even audio.
those are additional features to make a more wholesome product.
so, the primary consideration is the PQ.
there is a chance u find the ATV apps, online stream or local playback not giving the best PQ.
that being the case, one way is to get a better box, e.g. full 4kHDR videos with HD audio.
kakamal
post Feb 20 2020, 11:37 AM

105 posts

Thanks again AVFAN for the useful reply. Well I went to Harvey Norman yesterday to test Pana & Sony ATV boot up. Both TV boot very slow 50-60 secs with the brand and Android logo at the start up even though I just turn it off use the remote button@standby. Is there any setting to change to make it fast boot like your TV?
AVFAN
post Feb 20 2020, 01:07 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(kakamal @ Feb 20 2020, 11:37 AM)
Thanks again AVFAN for the useful reply. Well I went to Harvey Norman yesterday to test Pana & Sony ATV boot up. Both TV boot very slow 50-60 secs with the brand and Android logo at the start up even though I just turn it off use the remote button@standby. Is there any setting to change to make it fast boot like your TV?
that is annoyingly surprising.

i do not know the 2 tv's u r considering.

for that, i think u can ask the actual users of these 2 tv's in the relevant tvs threads in this section.
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeEntertainment

dona5775 P
post Feb 20 2020, 04:06 PM

Probation

On the site Switchonshop I bought a great console. They work quickly, faster connect to the Internet via Wi-Fi network after turning on the console connect to the Internet before the inclusion of the console is very convenient and not annoying. Recommend.
tvcat
post Feb 20 2020, 10:50 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,860 posts

Why not consider LG?
I'm using um7290 which is entry level, bought RM2600 in shop with air mouse.

The webos system is nice and fast enough to use.
Nowadays if I just want to YouTube or using website streaming, I no longer use my tvbox.

Of course tvbox is still way better because can do more things especially if you need VPN.
kakamal
post Feb 24 2020, 11:59 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 20 2020, 01:07 PM)
that is annoyingly surprising.

i do not know the 2 tv's u r considering.

for that, i think u can ask the actual users of these 2 tv's in the relevant tvs threads in this section.
https://forum.lowyat.net/HomeEntertainment
I already found out. Need to enable Fast Boot under TV setting. Tested at AEON Mid Valley yesterday and it does work. Well I almost giving up to buy an ATV bcos of slow booting but thanks to you AVFAN for helping me out. Appreciate that a lot.
AVFAN
post Feb 24 2020, 03:31 PM

24,037 posts

QUOTE(kakamal @ Feb 24 2020, 11:59 AM)
I already found out. Need to enable Fast Boot under TV setting. Tested at AEON Mid Valley yesterday and it does work. Well I almost giving up to buy an ATV bcos of slow booting but thanks to you AVFAN for helping me out. Appreciate that a lot.
Nice to know u sorted it out.

0.0138sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:14 PM