> Most msians wan Rohingya GTFO of Malaysia News

SUSIdiuU
post Jan 16 2020, 08:09 PM, updated 6y ago

346 posts

Most Malaysians unwilling to accept resettlement of displaced Rohingyas, survey shows

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 16 — A majority of Malaysians disapproved of the resettlement of the displaced Rohingya people in Malaysia despite having the biggest dissatisfaction on the way Asean is dealing with the Rakhine issue, a Singapore think-tank revealed today.

In the State of Southeast Asia 2020 survey by the ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute, 56.4 per cent of respondents disapproved of the resettlement with the remaining 43.6 per cent approving the move.

A total of 1,308 respondents from all ten Asean member states participated in the 2020 survey, with 222 respondents from Malaysia.

On the assessment of Asean’s response to the crisis in Myanmar’s Rakhine State, Malaysia tops the disapproving list with 71.2 per cent followed by Singapore at 68.5 per cent and the Philippines at 64.3 per cent.

Of the 71.2 per cent of Malaysian respondents, 27 per cent strongly disapproved of how Asean dealt with the Rakhine crisis.

“On the other side of the spectrum, the strongest support for Asean’s response is found amongst Lao (73.9 per cent), Vietnamese (65.8 per cent), and Myanmar (58.2 per cent) respondents,” the survey added.

Of the 222 respondents, 69.8 per cent of them said Asean should either mediate between the Myanmar government and the Rakhine and Rohingya communities or step up diplomatic pressure on Myanmar.

Last September, Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad slammed the United Nations and Myanmar government for their inaction in resolving the Rohingya crisis which has displaced more than a million people in the country.

Myanmar’s military has been accused of murdering thousands of Rohingya in western Rakhine state since 2017, which has resulted in the mass exodus of these Muslim minorities to neighbouring countries, and led to the world’s largest refugee camp at Cox Bazar in Bangladesh.
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...yas-sur/1828712
EddieBrock
post Jan 16 2020, 08:17 PM

98 posts

You guys don’t understand

Rohingya is a political currency for any ruling coalition

Support rohingya, you win Muslim votes
mingyuyu
post Jan 16 2020, 08:18 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(EddieBrock @ Jan 16 2020, 08:17 PM)

tokdukun
post Jan 16 2020, 08:19 PM

376 posts

This. Just like that ZN.
wotvr
post Jan 16 2020, 08:25 PM

177 posts

Malaysia needs to stop getting involved in other country's internal affairs
tupai
post Jan 16 2020, 08:26 PM

305 posts

when 56% against it that mean quite a lot of malay also against it. i dont think the survey cover much on sabah n sarawak.
SUSgogo2
post Jan 16 2020, 08:28 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

I already told you guys Malay actually hate Rohingya people
ironite

59 posts

QUOTE(tupai @ Jan 16 2020, 08:26 PM)
when 56% against it that mean quite a lot of malay also against it. i dont think the survey cover much on sabah n sarawak.
Surver number also very small at 200+ ppl only.

That small means it maybe only surveyed people near their office only
ikankering

42 posts

222 ppl only?
Daily11
post Jan 16 2020, 08:29 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(wotvr @ Jan 16 2020, 08:25 PM)
Malaysia needs to stop getting involved in other country's internal affairs
Which country did maresia involve in beside india
SUSnasilemaksedap
post Jan 16 2020, 08:29 PM

120 posts

Should send all the pendatang to all the rakyat yang welcume them

All talk big say rakyat malaysia should help friendssss

Let see if these ham ka ling sei sohai accept them or not

I predict all tok cok jerrr whistling.gif

Kek
SUSahter
post Jan 16 2020, 08:30 PM

266 posts

Can send to Kelantan
kurangak
post Jan 16 2020, 08:31 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

some rohingyan oso very langsi oh... especially those who know how to get UNHCR card... very temberang say malaysia is just a stop for them... their true target is is US where they can become naturalized citizen...

my wife deals with them... some living on charity but act like boss... sweat.gif
Leong Kok Leong
post Jan 16 2020, 08:41 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 16 2020, 08:31 PM)
some rohingyan oso very langsi oh... especially those who know how to get UNHCR card... very temberang say malaysia is just a stop for them... their true target is is US where they can become naturalized citizen...

my wife deals with them... some living on charity but act like boss... sweat.gif
Then in America kena bully by wipipo cry say Muslim always kena marginalized. Rinse repeat.
prophecus
post Jan 16 2020, 08:44 PM

157 posts

You have to understand, numerous Malays are right or even far-right leaning. They would tend to hate any immigrants, old or new.
focusrite
post Jan 16 2020, 08:53 PM

409 posts

I am pro-immigrants but anti-refuges

Why should developing nations take on the burden of refuges? Rich countries should be the one taking the lead.
xenogearz88
post Jan 16 2020, 09:01 PM

24 posts

BUILD THA WALLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!
zacky chan
post Jan 16 2020, 09:05 PM

who in the hell think majority malaysian want them???it just politician laying the issue...
hirano
post Jan 16 2020, 09:06 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,333 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jan 16 2020, 08:53 PM)
I am pro-immigrants but anti-refuges

Why should developing nations take on the burden of refuges? Rich countries should be the one taking the lead.
Im only pro-expats. We should invite those educated with good jobs, who can contribute to economy.

Not refugees. Not bangla myanmar etc. Give f&b and retail jobs to our locals.
mingyuyu
post Jan 16 2020, 09:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 16 2020, 09:06 PM)
Im only pro-expats. We should invite those educated with good jobs, who can contribute to economy.

Not refugees. Not bangla myanmar etc. Give f&b and retail jobs to our locals.
nah nobody care about good quality expat

because no reason to plotek them
focusrite
post Jan 16 2020, 09:12 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jan 16 2020, 09:06 PM)
Give f&b and retail jobs to our locals.
You will only be creating a skills shortage because no one will take.

I am pro-bangla
hirano
post Jan 16 2020, 09:12 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,333 posts

QUOTE(focusrite @ Jan 16 2020, 09:12 PM)
You will only be creating a skills shortage because no one will take.

I am pro-bangla
People will take. But it wasnt offered
RGRaj
post Jan 16 2020, 09:28 PM

559 posts

If they cant b useful in India, then Pakistan, then Bangladesh, then Myanmar, wat makes us think they'd b useful in Malaysia?
SUSjbcoder
post Jan 16 2020, 09:55 PM

783 posts

Rohingyas are basically just bangglas pretending to be another race.

0.0149sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:51 PM