mayhammer
Jan 15 2020, 09:36 PM

actually I can agree with the teacher... from tadika until form 5, you learn BM
if you can't speak adequately, it's your own fucking fault
same shit when chinese berates a banana for not knowing mandarin at least the banana has a legit excuse usually banana family don't use mandarin at home and they didn't go srjkc
mayhammer
Jan 16 2020, 04:51 AM

why all go so far
if an individual learn something for 11 years ++ and still cant be at a level of acceptable? it is the fault of said individual
can be any topic la...
sendiri salah, whatever the motivation may be....
mayhammer
Jan 16 2020, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(phillip88 @ Jan 16 2020, 08:56 AM) I've taught the so-called low achieving classes in secondary school. It's rather easy to blame them for their mastery of BM language, and say they're not patriotic or anything. Hakikatnya mereka bukan sj BM x pandai, malah semua subjek pun xleh pakai. Klu bhs Cina (majority budak Cina dkt kelas sy ajar) pun pandai cakap basic aje, tulis pun ada masalah. Sebenarnya mrk mmg masalah pembelajaran. Tp apa daya? Bukan semua guru dilatih untuk menangani pelajar masalah ini. Dan senang-senang org luar jadikan ni isu kaum. Aih... agree, that is why i say if they fail to speak, means it is the individual. ppl bring race la, citizenship la dll.. we should mock the individual for his ability to learn a language enough la this is an education thing, not anything else
mayhammer
Jan 16 2020, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(Namelessone1973 @ Jan 16 2020, 08:43 AM) There's a big difference between what you learn in school and normal conversational BM. A lot of Chinese will speak BM like how they learn in school but in day to day conversation, most Malays do not speak in that way. A lot of time, they use slangs which causes confusion. Nowadays, some are using Bahasa Wechat more. That is why you have Malay students themselves who failed BM. One of my newly graduated colleague recently tried to speak BM to some Malays. When the Malays replied, he genuinely could not understand them because it sound so different from what he learn from school. Then he tried to speak some more and the Malays laugh at him. Not really their fault for laughing because it really sounds odd if you speak like you're reading from textbooks. Not really making excuse but the fact is conversational BM is very different from school BM. Its like some people who speak English with Aussie, Scottish, etc. slang. Ask any Manchester United fans. Do they really understand what Alex Ferguson say last time when he was coach? this is another problem speak proper BM, kena perli, skema la.. pelik la wtf better than bahasa wicet dahla low confidence... make things harder for the poor soul