Do people still play MMORPG?, What game are you playing?

TSCloud2322
post Jan 11 2020, 04:29 PM, updated 6y ago

Bob Marley
517 posts

Last 2 decade in year 2000-2010 people are still playing games like
>Ragnarok
>ROL
>WOW
>Maplestory
>Cabal Online
>Perfect World
>Mo Xiang
>108 Online

and other grinding games.

By 2010 online games has evolve into very simple games, where you start by not need to grind and given a lot of head start to play the games.

So it's 2020 now, what's the new stuff? And what MMORPG are you still playing?

I'm looking to play some nice MMORPG but don't know where to start.. Any good game to recommend?
Rei7
post Jan 11 2020, 05:20 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

I didn't play any MMO for more than a decade. Really no time to no life anymore as I get older.

But few years back I tried looking for some nice MMO to play. There aren't as much options as the old days back when MMORPG is played by mostly everyone, but the one that peeks my interest the most is Final Fantasy XIV.

Did a bunch of research and played it for more than a month with their free trial, and I was really impressed by how mmo has evolved since then. While it is subscription based model, I think it's really worth it with how the developers are still hard at work adding new content as well as planning for more expansion in the long run.

Try it out, join some random guild and get into the game. Even if you're not the type to play with others, FF XIV is the only MMO I know which is rich in story content. Basically you could pretend it's a single player game and just finish all the main story quest if you want, it takes a long while to finish and worth while. Plenty of classes to choose from, plenty to grind and have fun. Make personal addiction last time when I was playing a lot is the glamour stuff in the game, where you farm for items to look cool in-game. There are others who level up all classes to max, and there are those who grind endlessly in dungeons and raids for legendary loot.

There are others MMO to look into like Blade and Soul, Black Dessert or you could even go back and play WoW Classics if you want, but why I didn't really play them because mostly the end game content doesn't seems so fun. I spend more than a month researching last time so it's just my piece of opinion here. To find an mmo to no life and waste your time on it, might as well do some of your own research and see what you like.

This post has been edited by Rei7: Jan 11 2020, 05:23 PM
SUSpundi
post Jan 11 2020, 07:34 PM

789 posts

no mmo intrest me atm....but will follow up with the NEW WORLD from amazon games later
skzisghost
post Jan 11 2020, 09:55 PM

267 posts

If u play casual there is so much mmo to play, if u like storyline and you haven play FFXIV i must recommend it, but beware after play that game most probably u will feel bored in any other mmos

If u HC, theres not much choice right now for us sea players, only BDO, but read their international forum, its the only mmo in this world with very bad game engine, and they are developing new version of that game with new engine

Old mmo like RO etc its not same anymore as it became p2w

Pvp mmo are being replaced by instant pvp game such as dota etc

The only game i look forward right now is amazon’s new world

Only mmo with huge budget, new idea have hope now imo
TSCloud2322
post Jan 11 2020, 10:11 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

Thanks for the commends.

skzisghost highly agree on the p2w thing. It's killing the mmo culture and industry itself, I'm actually going to try out albion first.

Maybe then FF14 later
skzisghost
post Jan 11 2020, 11:21 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jan 11 2020, 10:11 PM)

Thanks for the commends.

skzisghost highly agree on the p2w thing. It's killing the mmo culture and industry itself, I'm actually going to try out albion first.

Maybe then FF14 later
Albion ping wise u already lose, thats why not much choice for sea players
lawliet88
post Jan 12 2020, 01:38 AM

994 posts

more like quality of mmorpg had no improvement / competition, every dev move into easy cashgrab on mobile platform.

bdo and ff online is very good.

I played bdo for bery long (quit edy). The thing with bdo is, it lack pve coop content. yeah u can yada yada go normal pve, but then u had to watch ur ass not getting pk 24/7. that's the only downside for me on bdo , oso the enhancement rate LOL

but then this or nex year should be good year for mmorpg atleast on the *news* , quite a lot decent looking mmorpg in the making.
also PVE-focus version of bdo - Red Desert Online was announced.
TSCloud2322
post Jan 13 2020, 12:57 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Jan 11 2020, 11:21 PM)
Albion ping wise u already lose, thats why not much choice for sea players
QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Jan 12 2020, 01:38 AM)
more like quality of mmorpg had no improvement / competition, every dev move into easy cashgrab on mobile platform.

bdo and ff online is very good.

I played bdo for bery long (quit edy). The thing with bdo is, it lack pve coop content. yeah u can yada yada go normal pve, but then u had to watch ur ass not getting pk 24/7. that's the only downside for me on bdo , oso the enhancement rate LOL

but then this or nex year should be good year for mmorpg atleast on the *news* , quite a lot decent looking mmorpg in the making.
also PVE-focus version of bdo - Red Desert Online was announced.
Apparently the amazon's game look pretty promising. Something new to try out, however not sure would it be SEA player friendly or not. Monster hunter wasn't bad, but the community is quite small so yea.

lawliet88 I think they have a mobile version?
lawliet88
post Jan 13 2020, 01:29 PM

994 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jan 13 2020, 12:57 PM)
Apparently the amazon's game look pretty promising. Something new to try out, however not sure would it be SEA player friendly or not. Monster hunter wasn't bad, but the community is quite small so yea.

lawliet88 I think they have a mobile version?
bdo? its a more cash grab version biggrin.gif but if u jz want chill n fanservice ok la
pekkauwer
post Jan 13 2020, 07:43 PM

273 posts

well ive been on and off ffxiv... but last a week ago, i return to mabinogi(note:not the stupid mobile mabinogi android game)

http://mabinogi.nexon.net/

honestly review?
nexon already improve their QoL games... no more p2w much, daily giveaway, longer event...just goldseller... but that can be avoid if you're not on channel 1 much...so far gain 2 free pet from quest(not falcon and horse)

well if someone wanna join do pm me or note Diannev on nao server

digitalifelesss
post Jan 14 2020, 12:25 PM

238 posts

mmorpg quality are like shit these days, better drop the rpg wording all together. Stop shaming the rpg genra with shit quality games...

in any case, mmoArpg is getting more attention last few yeard, with Korean dev jumping onto it. Upcoming titles like Lineage Eternal, Lost Ark, some previoisly failed or not doing so well titles like MU2, Devillian... I dunno if Wolcen is online or not, if yes then it will quite similar to Path of Exile, while games like that is not exctly mmo, the economy portion is still similar.

why is it so hard for us to just get some good quality innovative mmo... ideas are all around... every freaking devs and publisher just want to play it safe, even titles that supposedly promise innovative stuff ended up got cancelled cuz they dont want to take the risk, whatever that anime mmo from Nexon i forgot name .

company just copy pasta and milk as much as they can. those shitty phone games are even make me want to vomit more...

This post has been edited by digitalifelesss: Jan 14 2020, 12:29 PM
kosuke09211
post Jan 14 2020, 07:10 PM

409 posts

QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ Jan 14 2020, 12:25 PM)
mmorpg quality are like shit these days, better drop the rpg wording all together. Stop shaming the rpg genra with shit quality games...

in any case, mmoArpg is getting more attention last few yeard, with Korean dev jumping onto it. Upcoming titles like Lineage Eternal, Lost Ark, some previoisly failed or not doing so well titles like MU2, Devillian... I dunno if Wolcen is online or not, if yes then it will quite similar to Path of Exile, while games like that is not exctly mmo, the economy portion is still similar.

why is it so hard for us to just get some good quality innovative mmo... ideas are all around... every freaking devs and publisher just want to play it safe, even titles that supposedly promise innovative stuff ended up got cancelled cuz they dont want to take the risk, whatever that anime mmo from Nexon i forgot name .

company just copy pasta and milk as much as they can. those shitty phone games are even make me want to vomit more...
Cause they wan the maximum profit out of it. None of them cares about gameplay cause they know even the game is shit. People will still throw money at it.
While quality mmo mostly require subcription. But most malaysian are too cheap to pay for it. (Cause its tooooo exp)

Rei7
post Jan 14 2020, 08:30 PM

Game, anime and headphones ❤️
1,669 posts

Main reason I say FFXIV is good is because there is no p2w mechanism in place. Aside from paying for monthly sub, the other cash items can't be bought right in the game.. It's all separated on their website, it shows that cash items in really optional.

Very rare to see an MMO without a cash shop in game.. making it very optional and harder to access by needing to open mog station. I think it's the main reason why I tried it, aside from hearing the end game and story is good.
TSCloud2322
post Jan 15 2020, 12:32 PM

Bob Marley
517 posts

QUOTE(pekkauwer @ Jan 13 2020, 07:43 PM)
well ive been on and off ffxiv... but last a week ago, i return to mabinogi(note:not the stupid mobile mabinogi android game)

http://mabinogi.nexon.net/

honestly review?
nexon already improve their QoL games... no more p2w much, daily giveaway, longer event...just goldseller... but that can be avoid if you're not on channel 1 much...so far gain 2 free pet from quest(not falcon and horse)

well if someone wanna join do pm me or note Diannev on nao server
I downloaded mabinogi. Not really sure how to play the game, it's funny that it has re-incarnation and the leveling progress seems a little weird to me. Some random person suddenly invited me for a dance I jumped from level 60 - 107 but then what's the point of leveling? I don't get to add stats and etc. I'm the MYSG server now

QUOTE(digitalifelesss @ Jan 14 2020, 12:25 PM)

There is plenty actually like monster world. I guess that's the new life of mmorpg, but not alot of players is able to adapt into that kind of games.

I really miss the old days mmorpg where people get together to grind and have fun. Mechanics aren't too complex like these days although with plenty of tuts but still sucks

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 14 2020, 08:30 PM)
Main reason I say FFXIV is good is because there is no p2w mechanism in place. Aside from paying for monthly sub, the other cash items can't be bought right in the game.. It's all separated on their website, it shows that cash items in really optional.

Very rare to see an MMO without a cash shop in game.. making it very optional and harder to access by needing to open mog station. I think it's the main reason why I tried it, aside from hearing the end game and story is good.
Maplestory & ragnarok used to be games like that until some idiots thought of adding potentials into equipment. By paying money you'll reach to the top faster than anyone else, if you're grinding slowly to attain that you'll need 2 years where p2w players can do it within a week.
boarulez
post Jan 15 2020, 12:38 PM

359 posts

The one I enjoyed
Final Fantasy XIV
Archeage
Black Desert Online
Blade & Soul

But I highly recommend FFxiv if you don’t mind paying .

This post has been edited by boarulez: Jan 15 2020, 12:39 PM
rikimtasu
post Jan 15 2020, 02:31 PM

Tired...
760 posts

Kind of far fenced,but why not try Granblue Fantasy?
http://game.granbluefantasy.jp/

Yes,it is a gatcha game on a webpage,but it have everything else that the old final fantasy had,and the progression grind is similar to the older MMORPG as well.

Only con would be no 3d graphic for some may be,but this is great for this generation since you can even play this on the go
pekkauwer
post Jan 15 2020, 03:20 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Jan 15 2020, 12:32 PM)
I downloaded mabinogi. Not really sure how to play the game, it's funny that it has re-incarnation and the leveling progress seems a little weird to me. Some random person suddenly invited me for a dance I jumped from level 60 - 107 but then what's the point of leveling? I don't get to add stats and etc. I'm the MYSG server now
you just play the p2w version though

nexon mabinogi have improved this last few year... due their corporate coo dont wanna give the job to their kids(maknanya bukan mcm tun m la, daddykasi-kalau tak faham maksud aku)

so far ive already level 608 on nexon mabinogi..currently doing iria saga and their job system kinda weird but if you adapt on fantasy life 3ds game, you should be able to survive in mabinogi

daily pots, gift @@ even sometimes gm gives coupon(last 2 week event wishing tree), manage to grab 7m, and bought tarlach doll bag and those spirit weapon

recommended for starter : close combat, ninja, chain slash and fighter talent
+ they now have weekly rebirth to ace hero character like merlin, starlet, professsor J, culinary artist and treasure hunter

give it try on the link i give you and please no to mobile mabinogi...1st day they launch i already see many player with good looking equip/mount >.>
dynames07
post Jan 15 2020, 04:12 PM

272 posts

i played ffxiv for quite awhile.. i think total sub time is nearly 3 years and i agree, this game have no p2w aspect. purey your hardwork. what makes me turned away from the game is the global cooldown which make the battle 'slow' and the super emphasize on correct rotation. very good storyline though.

played bdo (and bdo mobile). nice graphic, very flashy and active combat. most stupid thing in this game is those related to RNG, especially during enhancing. 90% success rate means nothing in this game. and from here, the p2w aspect comes into play. need to buy this and that etc.

another good game that i played last time is archage. really nice open world, player driven game but was broken due to hackers. they released new version, archage unchained which is buy-to-play but i havent got the time to try it. plus, there is no sea server, so ping is quite high.
deyamato
post Jan 15 2020, 05:36 PM

419 posts

I do, FF XIV since 2013 still present.
H4XF4XTOR
post Jan 16 2020, 07:22 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

RO-RO2-TERA-DCUO-AURA KINGDOM

After that no more mood to play MMO since most of the formula more or less the same. P2W which then causes the market crash in the game.

The last time i played mmo on 2016. Although around early 2019 i tried playing some mmo server emulator to test full gameplay (because you have admin power) .

Some of the emulator that i tried :-

-Tried Black desert and its meh, more pvp oriented with siege and such,although theres alot of activities to be done like mining etc.
no Dungeon and dungeon boss is the most thing that i loathe . You just got a scroll,summon the boss and thats it. Luckily with admin power i just level up quick and have infinite gold/money to test all the cosmetics lel.

-Tried Aion, also meh but a bit better than bdo, can fly around but i dislike where the races divided in to two. Quickly get bored of it tho because the same formula as its an old mmo

-Tried C9 ,boring and too many quest

-Played RO and Aura kingdom emu, reach endgame level and cosmetics and quit.

Too old liao,plus backlog games alot d, no time.

0.0187sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:59 PM