Strength Brag (Yes Syd, I Noe), Pretty PR's Rep Or Weights

Canopies
post Jul 19 2007, 09:24 PM

2,733 posts

Just a question , why we hardly see any guys doing DL in our gym ? Feeling kinda preasure when people watching u do DL , once i look at them ...they quickly doing bck their workout.

Jones,dont u feel it?
Canopies
post Jul 21 2007, 09:39 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 21 2007, 09:30 PM)
I guess besides the fact that they're genetically huge, some of them spent most of their childhood doing manual labour work, chasing cows, running around and all that jazz. You can easily see our tourists carrying heavy backpacks walking around KL under hot hot sun without any qualms.

Looking at us,

My sekolah rendah school backpack was at least 10kg and I used to walk half a kilometre (uphill!!) everyday during school days. Being 145cm and 38kg, that bloody schoolbag was 1/4 bodyweight yanno. If you ask me to carry 15kg and walk the same path I'd go OMG TORTURE!

Other PLers I know - Jones did lots of dumbbelling when he was growing up. Kirks did so many random things. And I'm sure the list goes on. I think what we did during our prepubescent/early teenage days greatly influenced our level of strength.

So what did you do when you were 12? smile.gif
I'm still fatting around . nod.gif
Canopies
post Jul 22 2007, 11:14 AM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jul 22 2007, 09:57 AM)
I duno if u guys'll laugh or something, but at 5, I remember "overhead pressing" my bolster which was about 1KG.

Then at 7, I was busy playing "Police and thieves", and when we caught one "thief" we'd beat them up (like pretend la)

At 9, I was climbing coconut and mango trees in my grandma's old house, and falling down deliberately on the doggie kennel just to frighten him (Dog's name was Maximillian, so we call him Maxi).

At 12, I think my brother and I were fighting daily over everything and we'd have our mom chase us with a rotan. (Yes we attempted to hide that rotan, every single time)

At 13, I joined taekwondo and progressed pretty fast. 1 year, 2 double promotions.

At 14, I joined a gang and did nothing but talk trash and arm wrestle and fight. Oh shit, those were the days being chased by a gang yielding parangs and finding sticks to whack ppl back. Damn lotsa blood those days.

At 16 I quit and joined and finished off my taekwondo training, together with a lot of push-ups and multiple training methods.

At 17 I joined a gym, and never went again. I did breakdancing instead. I decided it was fun to do knee drops and spins, and ended up fracturing my right knee cap. Smart!

At 18, I did free running, le parkour and injured my shoulder when I did a backflip (Never recovered)

And 19 and 20, weightlifting. biggrin.gif

Man.........what is wrong with me??
Woah ,black society tai kor here ! notworthy.gif

At 9 , my body weight boomed from 40kg to 60kg . I don't know about diet , I whack anything at my school canteen ,drinking coca cola 2 pack per day , 2 bowl of kari mee (rm0.50 per bowl!)

At 10,still da same , I'm the fattest dude in my class.Do nothing but still eat like cow.

At 11,parents forced me to join Taekwondo class thinking that I will slim down and live with an active lifestyle.Got promoted easily though , 2 promotion per year like what kurk did.

At 12,Damn...Fall in love perhaps but getting fatter...so get dumped. Hahaha , anyway starting to get serious in Taekwondo .So went to heavyweight competition , Free sparling with guys around 18 cos of my weight . Dam master never tell me this ! So kena smack and whack till kao kao.

At 13,14,15 Weight still booming high , I'm always the fattest dude in my class . Always hoping to have some fatter dude in my class but can't meet any. So, get teased , get bullied(pendidikan jasmani teacher)

At 16,Dam...Hate PJ , body weight record session...Ponteng PJ few times , kena discipline.Taekwondo finally reached black belt , but the I'm the weakest guy in my range. Tried to starve myself to lose weight , I din't eat any solid food for 1 week , loss quite a lot of weight ,but just after I start eating back , I got boomed from 94kg to 105kg!!!

At 17, stop taekwondo , stop exercise , ponteng PJ . Fattest in my life , weight around 105kg-110kg.A nerd , don't have active lifestyle.SPM killed my health as I burn midnight oil everyday and drink 3in1 nescafe everynight.

At 18,after spm , realized that I can't live like this anymore.Picked up my determination,believe in myself that I can achieve the goals in my life and live in an active healthy lifestyle. So,enrolled California Fitness and start my weight loss and bodybuilding journey and the journey continues .... wink.gif

This post has been edited by Canopies: Jul 22 2007, 11:36 AM
Canopies
post Jul 22 2007, 06:30 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jul 22 2007, 05:08 PM)
i was the same as u in the bolded part last time, but hten since i'm squatting wide stance, king call it sumo squats, toes pointing outward, works wonders for me lol no pain no nothing. puts my quads and hamstrings under tension longer as well. but i cant do too deep, going too deep will make my knees go inwards, have to keep it outwards to avoid pain, so i'm doing below parallel only
Toe pointing outward means \ / or l l ?

Canopies
post Jul 24 2007, 01:54 PM

2,733 posts

Gosh,everyone lifting big ...and I'm lifting tiny piny plates.Haha,hope Bryan Haycock research is correct , strength =/ size
Canopies
post Jul 25 2007, 07:58 AM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jul 25 2007, 01:40 AM)
i think i might start taking creatine. a lot cheaper than whey
Lolx, I just bought from ego yesterday . Coded with him at Kl sentral .

But too bad I don't hv much cash left to buy 1 for u ...spent the money buying an mp4 to prevent smart ass kacau my workout.
Canopies
post Aug 2 2007, 08:20 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Aug 2 2007, 06:08 PM)
Don't ever microwave tunas...
dam, i just heated it for 1 min, the fish smell dam fukking strong,
i threw the whole can away :|

Don't waste it and give it to me lar , I'm pokai-ing in my clean bulk diet.

Milk so expensive , Tuna , Eggs , CC ...

Anyway, its worth . nod.gif

Rm100 per month for clean food , last time parents bought those food , never realize how costly it is.

Opps , this should be lifting thread .

Canopies
post Aug 3 2007, 05:51 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 3 2007, 02:29 PM)
I LOLed so hard at this :

"But I Don't Wanna Get Big"

If I had a buck for every time a woman said to me they weren't interested in strength training because they would get too big, I'd have $136 dollars. (Hey, I don't like to exaggerate.)

For those of you with wives or girlfriends who refuse to stray from the pink dumbbells and aerobics classes, this study examined arm size in 20 women after a 10-week strength training program consisting of either 3 sets of 4-6RM on one arm and 1 set of 18-24 RM on the other arm.

At the conclusion of the program, there was no difference in arm size, but the strength gains were much greater in the heavy resistance trained arm. So next time you hear the tired old argument against strength training, you can wave this data in their face.
yeah baby brows.gif
Your bf will be pretty sad then ...Ask him join you in lifting lah.

Well,MP is kinda tough for high reps . The elbow have to be straight right when the weight going down right? what about touching your upper chest ? Is it okay to touch your upper chest then only bump up? Too biasa with touch and go edi doh.gif
Canopies
post Aug 3 2007, 06:56 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Aug 3 2007, 06:51 PM)
Please elaborate
You can perform squat with his body on your shoulder aka barbell.

Lolx just joking , no offense .
Canopies
post Aug 5 2007, 09:12 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 4 2007, 09:28 AM)
i got a friend into this as well. this buddhist thingy with 1400 performers bla bla. i dono wat is it la
Joey interested in this too I guess , his friendster got a lot of these cool stuff.

Gosh,I can't take beef at home...
Canopies
post Aug 6 2007, 07:21 AM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 6 2007, 12:30 AM)
er.. breathing problem? inhale to max 1st, hold ur breath when going down, exhale to the max when going up. works well for me this way. if i hold my breath up, i'll stall. so try to exhale while going. makes sure to fill ur tummy full with air before going down.

Added on August 6, 2007, 12:39 am

sauce : http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459389
What about when doing chin up and dips ? I found out I will dizzy after doing that , I breath in when pulling up , breath out when going down . Correct?

Added on August 6, 2007, 7:27 am
QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 6 2007, 12:30 AM)
er.. breathing problem? inhale to max 1st, hold ur breath when going down, exhale to the max when going up. works well for me this way. if i hold my breath up, i'll stall. so try to exhale while going. makes sure to fill ur tummy full with air before going down.

Added on August 6, 2007, 12:39 am

sauce : http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459389
Hey Jones , u sure that when doing bench press we should arch our back ? I saw bb.com the exercise guides database said that we have to keep our back flat on the bench not ding hong kap yiu. sad.gif

Barbell Bench Press - Medium Grip

Exercise Data
Main Muscle Worked: Chest
Other Muscles Worked: Triceps, Shoulders
Equipment: Barbell
Mechanics Type: Compound

What NOT To Do:

Tips: Lie on a flat bench and firmly position your feet flat on the floor a little more than shoulder width apart. Keep your back flat on the bench! Using a grip broader than shoulder width, hold the barbell above your body, then lower slowly to the middle of your chest. Without bouncing the weight off your chest, drive the barbell up over the middle of your chest until your arms are straight and your elbows are locked. Lower the bar down slowly.

Learn More About This Exercise: View Guide

This post has been edited by Canopies: Aug 6 2007, 07:27 AM
Canopies
post Aug 6 2007, 05:20 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 6 2007, 12:51 PM)
exactly. ARCH YOUR BACK! KEEP YOUR ASS AND UPPER BACK ON THE BENCH. bb.com missed out the upper back part.

watch this video
http://thefitshow.com/week3/milos_chest_med.htm

at 3.08 minute. to be exact

push the chest out, arch a little cukup la. for bodybuilding. if its powerlifting, a totally different story

@canopies

always exhale when u r using strength. applies to everything.
Wow , useful info ...Thanks a lot lot !!!

Added on August 6, 2007, 5:21 pmIf found any nice fitshow clip , pls share with us eh ...Thanks ya cleared my doubt.

P/s: wow , powerlifting and bodybuilding really have big differences

This post has been edited by Canopies: Aug 6 2007, 05:21 PM
Canopies
post Aug 7 2007, 07:36 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 7 2007, 04:59 PM)
hey
king, i think you look pretty damnned good too (no ghey, don't start)

yeah man, keep on training hard........you be fine!
hehehe, and THANKS A LOT for the whey
i really appreciate it. it'll help me a lot to get thru smolov

Added on August 7, 2007, 5:00 pmhey
king, i think you look pretty damnned good too (no ghey, don't start)

yeah man, keep on training hard........you be fine!
hehehe, and THANKS A LOT for the whey
i really appreciate it. it'll help me a lot to get thru smolov
Wow,double post to thank him . Next time I belanja u lipo6 lah , triple post for me yeah !

Jkjk. laugh.gif

Any link to smolov?, just wanna have a look on the insane routines , inspired me to work harder to achieve ur stage. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Canopies: Aug 7 2007, 07:36 PM
Canopies
post Aug 7 2007, 11:39 PM

2,733 posts

What is /b/ ? hmm.gif
Canopies
post Aug 8 2007, 07:04 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(carlsuen @ Aug 8 2007, 02:57 PM)
dude.. who the rats are u?! i hope u got the balls to post with your reg account instead of creating a new account just to come and insult ppl here..

whether that person deserves it or not is another matter.. but i'm sure most of us here don't appreciate anymore BS on this forum.. so pls leave your new account and don't come back unless u got good things to share or u no longer feel hostile towards anyone..
Agreed , just make it peace and compromise with everyone lar including King.

Canopies
post Aug 8 2007, 09:14 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 8 2007, 08:15 PM)
i don't wanna make a journal.....i always end up not lookin at it......i' just wanna post it up, so that these guys don't keep hittin at each other....like a diversion.
How long have u been in this field until u can lift this amount of weight?
Canopies
post Aug 8 2007, 09:46 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Aug 8 2007, 09:39 PM)
too long, to be lifting this little weights....
over a year already, and i'm still at such lame ass weights....
smile.gif Respect your humbleness .
Canopies
post Aug 9 2007, 08:03 AM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(beastfreak @ Aug 8 2007, 10:29 PM)
are u fukking blind dude? cant u see that it's stated there on the left that i joined in sep 2005? better get ur eyes checked.
Pls la bro , we want peace blush.gif , We are here to discuss not scolding fukking blablabla to someone else.
Canopies
post Aug 9 2007, 12:10 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(beastfreak @ Aug 9 2007, 11:56 AM)
you mean discussing about your virtual lifts?
smile.gif I lift tiny piny weights . U are the best in here , yeah !
Canopies
post Aug 11 2007, 09:45 PM

2,733 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Aug 11 2007, 07:53 PM)
wtf. dropped to 2nd page? whats with all the thread in 1st page? doh.gif
now i know why

anyway i did 3x8x35 weighted dips today!! FARK YEAH! i dont feel my triceps after skull crushers
lol
Dam , I'm still lying around with assist. station with bunch of aunties .

Just a few more to go then can try unassisted dips .

0.0378sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:30 AM