QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Jan 1 2020, 10:22 PM)
your phone cant off mobile data while overseas?
There is a function to turn off data roaming but not mobile data. By rite turning off data roaming means if in overseas ther is no data roaming usage rite, but still get charged.
Worst part is even turn off mobile data + data roaming still get charged too as long as u are connected to 4G network.
It happens to my hotlink prepaid now. Both options turned off but I still will get charged if I am connected to 4G network while roaming. I think the charge is for the 'handshake data' used for 4G even without any usage. I was constantly charged for rm10++ or more if I was on 4G.
Only option is to manually set my phone to use only 3G/2G network only.
But this is stopping especially if one needs to travel in and out overseas daily for example lion city.
If you using maxis/hotlink for 4G data in bolehland, you cannot just on time to manually do all these when you are on the way on public holiday to perform all these 'on time' to avoid the charges becos u will know when exactly roaming will start.
Last time when I was on Celcom postpaid, I also kena the same situation but end up I managed to switch to this 'half' auto roaming that only has SMS and voice, meaning even my mobile data is on or even data roaming is on, I will not kena abb charge at all becos data roaming service is not even enabled. Even lion city telcos have the option to turn data roaming off at telco level, meaning one cannot even get data roaming charge at all even you want to since it is disabled.
I need the same option for maxis and hotlink flex too.