Can I admit my child to hospital for high fever?
TSEdEd
Dec 29 2019, 09:13 PM, updated 6y ago
Hi my 2 yo child had fever ranging 39.5 to 40 degrees and paracetamol (so far given 2 rounds, 6 hr apart doesn't bring the temp down)
We are thinking if this continues until the 3rd paracetamol round and still the same we want to bring her to a hospital just in case. Meanwhile we are sponging her with room temp wet handkerchief.
Anyone done that? Does private hospital allow admission for high fever? Hope to claim insurance but need to be admitted.
Anyone have experience with avisena hospital?
dreamers1016
Dec 29 2019, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(EdEd @ Dec 29 2019, 09:13 PM) Hi my 2 yo child had fever ranging 39.5 to 40 degrees and paracetamol (so far given 2 rounds, 6 hr apart doesn't bring the temp down) We are thinking if this continues until the 3rd paracetamol round and still the same we want to bring her to a hospital just in case. Meanwhile we are sponging her with room temp wet handkerchief. Anyone done that? Does private hospital allow admission for high fever? Hope to claim insurance but need to be admitted. Anyone have experience with avisena hospital? please quickly bring your child, 40C can cause permanent brain damage.
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 09:21 PM
Wehhh fast2 get any kain...make it wet and put on his head. Otherwise sawan. Complication.
deancode
QUOTE(EdEd @ Dec 29 2019, 09:13 PM) Hi my 2 yo child had fever ranging 39.5 to 40 degrees and paracetamol (so far given 2 rounds, 6 hr apart doesn't bring the temp down) We are thinking if this continues until the 3rd paracetamol round and still the same we want to bring her to a hospital just in case. Meanwhile we are sponging her with room temp wet handkerchief. Anyone done that? Does private hospital allow admission for high fever? Hope to claim insurance but need to be admitted. Anyone have experience with avisena hospital? 40C is already red flag.Pls go to the nearest hospital. Don't wait for advice here. Dont overthink, just go.
kllonely1
QUOTE(EdEd @ Dec 29 2019, 09:13 PM) Hi my 2 yo child had fever ranging 39.5 to 40 degrees and paracetamol (so far given 2 rounds, 6 hr apart doesn't bring the temp down) We are thinking if this continues until the 3rd paracetamol round and still the same we want to bring her to a hospital just in case. Meanwhile we are sponging her with room temp wet handkerchief. Anyone done that? Does private hospital allow admission for high fever? Hope to claim insurance but need to be admitted. Anyone have experience with avisena hospital? yes, no need to wait for 2nd or 3rd paracetamol, send now,
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 09:23 PM
Of cos can admit to GH or private. But normally if it just high fever n no other complicated disease, GH will only check him up, use kain n pipe water to lap around his head, neck n armpit. If small kids got high fever cannot just gv panadol, u hav to use wet kain lap to lower his temperature.
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 09:25 PM
Nextime dun be nervous ya if kids got up to 38-40 degree. Just wipe2 use wet kain. Take 4 kain, 1 put on his forehead, 1 around his neck, other 2 at both armpit.
hft
Dec 29 2019, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(EdEd @ Dec 29 2019, 09:13 PM) Hi my 2 yo child had fever ranging 39.5 to 40 degrees and paracetamol (so far given 2 rounds, 6 hr apart doesn't bring the temp down) We are thinking if this continues until the 3rd paracetamol round and still the same we want to bring her to a hospital just in case. Meanwhile we are sponging her with room temp wet handkerchief. Anyone done that? Does private hospital allow admission for high fever? Hope to claim insurance but need to be admitted. Anyone have experience with avisena hospital? Can, but you must contain his/her body temperature. Give immediate shower. Then give adol suppository 125mg. Every 4 hours dont wait temperature rise up. Avoid seizure. and brain damage is key. Keep temperature normal by medicine throughout the fever period. This post has been edited by hft: Dec 29 2019, 09:35 PM
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 09:26 PM
Is ur child black eyes already goin up ka? Like almost see all white eyes only? 40 is quite too high already. If not lower down temperature fast can sawan. While lap, blow wif fan also. Nvm he cold, most important his temperature must be lower.
This post has been edited by Revoz: Dec 29 2019, 09:28 PM
bobowyc
Dec 29 2019, 09:39 PM
Wow. Sorry to intrude, but didnt know young kids can get sawan if body temp too high. Until what age then it wont affect them? 7?
hft
Dec 29 2019, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Dec 29 2019, 09:39 PM) Wow. Sorry to intrude, but didnt know young kids can get sawan if body temp too high. Until what age then it wont affect them? 7? Even adult will get sawan if prolonged high fever.
cockerish
Dec 29 2019, 09:41 PM
Thanks I am taking notes. I hope your kid recover quickly ts
Diablo143
Dec 29 2019, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Dec 29 2019, 09:39 PM) Wow. Sorry to intrude, but didnt know young kids can get sawan if body temp too high. Until what age then it wont affect them? 7? Yes, it's called Febrile Fit if I recall. My eldest daughter kena before when she was like 5 years old during a wedding. Had fever and she was resting while drinking milk and left for awhile only. Came back and saw milk bottle on the floor and she like stiff and mouth with foams bit. Scary shit for a parent. Lucky had many nurse n docs in family. They cool her down, wipe with water, loosen clothes before she regain back normal. Then rushed to hospital. Still remember the short journey seem like took forever. Hope TS kid get better soon.
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(bobowyc @ Dec 29 2019, 09:39 PM) Wow. Sorry to intrude, but didnt know young kids can get sawan if body temp too high. Until what age then it wont affect them? 7? Yes can, even adult can. But for young children must fast2 cool down temperature cos if prolonged sawan can cause brain damage. Many complication. No need wait 39-40, once ur child got 38 u can start to wipe wif wet small towel already. If wiping is troublesome for u, can just place the wet towel on child forehead, around neck, armpit and on chess to tummy. The wet towel even can get hot abit after few minutes, rinse the towel again in water and place it back on child. Not too wet la, slightly squeeze it to make less wetty. Plus now a day children liquid paracetamol not really works. Even already eat 3-4 times a day still no improvement.
Revoz
Dec 29 2019, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(Diablo143 @ Dec 29 2019, 10:05 PM) Yes, it's called Febrile Fit if I recall. My eldest daughter kena before when she was like 5 years old during a wedding. Had fever and she was resting while drinking milk and left for awhile only. Came back and saw milk bottle on the floor and she like stiff and mouth with foams bit. Scary shit for a parent. Lucky had many nurse n docs in family. They cool her down, wipe with water, loosen clothes before she regain back normal. Then rushed to hospital. Still remember the short journey seem like took forever. Hope TS kid get better soon. Yah hope TS child get better soon.
danieln
Dec 29 2019, 11:10 PM
ts, i hope your kids is already in the hospital by now.
all the best
TSEdEd
Dec 30 2019, 10:23 AM
Her temp went slightly down last night until midnight . Only went to hospital at 6am. Doctor wasn't too concerned just gave antibiotics
Thanks everyone
loki
Dec 30 2019, 10:25 AM
glad to hear she is okay.....
This post has been edited by loki: Dec 30 2019, 10:26 AM
praetorion
Dec 30 2019, 10:32 AM

child fever is not something to be taken lightly. especially for child below 2yrs old, as there is no paracetamol available for toddler and dont administer panadol yourself.
fever temp for adult is different from a child at that age so dont assume above 38c is consider feverish for adult but to a 2yrs old, that is a serious matter.
and dont go to GP clinic, go directly to nearest pediatrician.
Queen_AQ
Dec 30 2019, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(EdEd @ Dec 30 2019, 10:23 AM) Her temp went slightly down last night until midnight . Only went to hospital at 6am. Doctor wasn't too concerned just gave antibiotics Thanks everyone glad to hear she is better! the fever is quite high you must have been in a panic