Network solution for new home

TSmyomega
post Dec 27 2019, 01:07 PM, updated 6y ago

171 posts

Currently I'm doing renovation for my home and would like to pull the network cable, can suggest which cable or network configuration are using is the best and for the future? Like using cat6e, using ubiquiti unifi and etc.
TSmyomega
post Dec 27 2019, 03:31 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 27 2019, 01:52 PM)
Put at least 2 ports per room with CAT6.
Why using 2 ports of CAT6?
TSmyomega
post Dec 27 2019, 03:33 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(omega5475 @ Dec 27 2019, 01:23 PM)
Well, maybe some info would help?

1. How many floors?
2. Distance from your IT rack?
3. Budget?
4. Considered mesh wifi or powerline?
5. Number of data points?

By the way, "best and for the future" is very vague. Do you want the most expensive stuff or most high tech equipment available in market?

Without knowing much about your house and your requirement, don't expect to get a good recommendation from people.
1. 3 floor
2. Will put my rack at ground floor.
3. resonable (cat6a can list for how many year?)
4. planning pulling the cable to extend the wifi signal also each room it have dedicated lan
5. i think around 8-10
TSmyomega
post Dec 29 2019, 10:08 PM

171 posts

If pulling the cat6a cable, which brand are recommend?

i saw shopee are selling this https://www.dintek.com.tw/index.php/powerma...enum-cable.html

TSmyomega
post Dec 30 2019, 08:07 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(heidarren @ Dec 29 2019, 10:51 PM)
Dintek is not bad, the link which u attached is 23AWG cable, good spec, it can even run 10G in short distance, and good for PoE too. And don’t forget about the connector, many reno sifu will only use cat5 connectors, it’s better u get cat6 connectors for them to install as well
the short distance is under 100m?

TSmyomega
post Jan 4 2020, 10:35 PM

171 posts

1. what switch that i need to use?

2. what about if i put 2 cat6 cable insist of 1 cat6a cable for each room?

TSmyomega
post Jan 4 2020, 11:19 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(satanhead2003 @ Jan 4 2020, 10:57 PM)
Go with the suggestion, 2 port per room/termination point. If planning to upgrade to 10gb, then use cat6a. Go for branded cable, Dintek, Plenum, Hubell. Less headache next time.
ok thx

This is my network setup and equipment. Everything Ok? Or can make it better? Please gv some comment/suggestion.

TSmyomega
post Jan 5 2020, 10:09 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Jan 5 2020, 09:59 AM)
I assume there is a machine to run Unifi controller app. A Raspberry Pi will do.

I also assume the 3 UAPs are going to be ceiling-mounted.

If you want DPI on your network, you need USG over Mikrotik Hex.

Looks good to me.
The Unifi is not the controller app is TM Unifi. tongue.gif
TSmyomega
post Feb 24 2020, 10:15 PM

171 posts

I do a research regarding this 2 brand cat6a cable

http://www.nissencable.com/zh-cn/1/328/pro...0/info_123.html

https://www.dintek.com.tw/index.php/powerma...-23awg-pvc.html

both of this cable support POE? And which is more reliability?
TSmyomega
post May 12 2020, 02:59 PM

171 posts

How about this cat6 utp cable?

https://www.dintek.com.tw/index.php/powerma...-pvc-cable.html

their description said "Cable has been tested over 500Mhz and has shown performance testing results allowing 10Gbit Ethernet transmission up to a length of 70mtrs"

So it can run up to 10Gb in 70meter?

0.0236sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:42 AM