Network solution for new home

heidarren
post Dec 29 2019, 05:29 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 29 2019, 03:40 PM)
Most flagship level Samsung devices support 802.11k/v/r.

https://support.samsungknox.com/hc/en-us/ar...aming-Algorithm

TP-Link Deco fast roaming is based on 802.11 k/v/r and it works well. I believe it is disabled out of the box as it may cause issues on some non-compliant WiFi devices.

Edit: I have observed Deco performing sub 100ms roaming with 0 packet drop consistently. It's not Ruckus level 50ms roaming but it's really good for a cheap consumer level gear.
+1, Deco serves well for most of the normal family usage
heidarren
post Dec 29 2019, 10:51 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(myomega @ Dec 29 2019, 10:08 PM)
If pulling the cat6a cable, which brand are recommend?

i saw shopee are selling this https://www.dintek.com.tw/index.php/powerma...enum-cable.html
Dintek is not bad, the link which u attached is 23AWG cable, good spec, it can even run 10G in short distance, and good for PoE too. And don’t forget about the connector, many reno sifu will only use cat5 connectors, it’s better u get cat6 connectors for them to install as well
heidarren
post Jan 5 2020, 12:00 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(myomega @ Jan 4 2020, 11:19 PM)
ok thx

This is my network setup and equipment. Everything Ok? Or can make it better? Please gv some comment/suggestion.

[attachmentid=10389013]
If you are looking for improvement on Wi-Fi, Ubiquiti APs run better with controller online, not much, but somehow better on speed and roams, so just get a Raspberry Pi to run 24x7 for budget or go for Unifi Cloud Key.
heidarren
post Jan 5 2020, 12:06 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(myomega @ Dec 30 2019, 08:07 AM)
the short distance is under 100m?
Should be below 30M, but some said below 50M, depends on your luck I think.

0.0208sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:52 PM