Cycling V37: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, Average speed 30km/h is so 1786

kenlui
post May 27 2022, 10:19 AM

2,380 posts

Relocating to another country so thinking of bring my bike with me.

My options are either :

1.buy a specific bike carrier bag like evoc big travel bag or the scicon traveling case

2. get bike shop to fit back into a normal bike box. For this I might have to ship the bike separately, do u know of any reliable shipping company?

Of course the ultimate option is to sell the bike, but i'll probably lose around 30% I assume, or just leave the bike in msia and get another one over there.

Would love to have your opinions especially those of you who have had experience traveling with a bike

kenlui
post Jun 6 2022, 11:33 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(benbeaninc @ Jun 5 2022, 08:45 PM)
If u hv no feeling towards ur bike then just sell it .. u save the hassle . 
Else option2 is better if u dun travel much with ur bike
TQ for your reply!
kenlui
post Jun 9 2022, 06:32 AM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 7 2022, 11:19 AM)
Just my personal opinion, I’d bring the bike if it is something that would cost a lot more to rebuild again.

I would not bring if it is a mid range bike.

Losing 30% is optimistic in a buyers’ market.
Thank you for your reply.

I bought the bike out right, but this is my first bike and it cost me 12k, so yeah it's a little painful to let it go at >30% loss, but considering the hassle of getting it shipped, i still cant decide. Maybe i'll just leave it in malaysia for the time being.
kenlui
post Jun 9 2022, 04:33 PM

2,380 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Jun 9 2022, 12:10 PM)
Just curious, where are you heading to? Bike shortage is very real in certain countries
Canada. Might consider a used bike if I dont bring mine over there this time

0.2029sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:40 AM