417 Pages « < 269 270 271 272 273 > » Bottom

Cycling V37: Road bikes - Recreational/Racing, Average speed 30km/h is so 1786

malleus
post Oct 23 2020, 04:40 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Oct 23 2020, 04:32 PM)
Good as in better rolling resistant? At lower pressure ?

I would thought pump to 100 psi is stiffer. Stiffer not so comfy but suppose to roll better eh?
That's what I used to think too, pumping up to higher pressure means rolls better, but apparently it isn't that simple.

I tried a lower pressure (93 psi @ 25c on a 21mm rim) and to my surprise, I actually find it easier to maintain higher speeds. Went to google more about this, apparently the explanation is that power loss occurs whenever you are bumping around when using tires with too high pressure too. It can depend a lot on the road conditions. If you're riding on a surface as smooth as an indoor track, then probably won't get the same bumpiness as you would for normal road riding.

Definitely do not want a too low PSI, but also don't want to just pump all the way to the max too.
Edwinlkj
post Oct 24 2020, 10:31 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Oct 23 2020, 04:40 PM)
That's what I used to think too, pumping up to higher pressure means rolls better, but apparently it isn't that simple.

I tried a lower pressure (93 psi @ 25c on a 21mm rim) and to my surprise, I actually find it easier to maintain higher speeds. Went to google more about this, apparently the explanation is that power loss occurs whenever you are bumping around when using tires with too high pressure too. It can depend a lot on the road conditions. If you're riding on a surface as smooth as an indoor track, then probably won't get the same bumpiness as you would for normal road riding.

Definitely do not want a too low PSI, but also don't want to just pump all the way to the max too.
good to know this smile.gif
andrewhtf
post Oct 24 2020, 01:28 PM

1,576 posts

on my foldie tyre i usually pick the middle between min and max indicated on tyre wall.

on the RB, i just pump between 90-100psi depending how how much effort i can exert during the last few pushes (cheapo mr diy pump lol)
Clueless07
post Oct 24 2020, 07:30 PM

1,225 posts

Thanks! Pretty informative- will give it a try at lower pressure

vhs1
post Oct 24 2020, 08:09 PM

2,577 posts

Long time ago, my front & rear are at 110psi
Then after that I lowered to 100psi front & back
Now I'm comfortable at 80 psi front & 90 psi rear.
adamsalim P
post Oct 26 2020, 05:56 PM

Probation

Hi guys, newbie here. Yesterday was the first time I wash my bike in years and gave it a service on my own -googled how to wash and maintain bike lol. usually just send for service at shop and couldnt care less.

So i went to mr diy and bought the necessary things including their chain lube by aeropak. here is my question tho. used the chain lube, but somehow it came out black . i was stumped because i thought originally lubricant should be colourless? since it hasnt been dirtied yet? is it okay to let it be? or should i chainge to other lubricant?

Any suggestion what brand of lubricant should i use?
andrewhtf
post Oct 26 2020, 06:03 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(adamsalim @ Oct 26 2020, 05:56 PM)
Hi guys, newbie here. Yesterday was the first time I wash my bike in years and gave it a service on my own -googled how to wash and maintain bike lol. usually just send for service at shop and couldnt care less.

So i went to mr diy and bought the necessary things including their chain lube by aeropak. here is my question tho. used the chain lube, but somehow it came out black . i was stumped because i thought originally lubricant should be colourless?  since it hasnt been dirtied yet? is it okay to let it be? or should i chainge to other lubricant?

Any suggestion what brand of lubricant should i use?
got photo of your lube?

i am using this

only applied 2 times, so far been riding almost 200kms since the last application

reminds me i should relube the chain again soon
Clueless07
post Oct 26 2020, 09:26 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Oct 26 2020, 06:03 PM)
got photo of your lube?

i am using this

only applied 2 times, so far been riding almost 200kms since the last application

This stuff is Rm300 each?

Typically we lub it every 300-400km? Do you degrease before lub it?
andrewhtf
post Oct 26 2020, 10:51 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Oct 26 2020, 09:26 PM)
This stuff is Rm300 each?

Typically we lub it every 300-400km? Do you degrease before lub it?
not that expensive lah, i bought RM47 only. now 11.11 sale lagi cheap, rm37 only

https://shopee.com.my/product/98020324/5619823991

yeah, i got the chain cleaned in petrol, then wipe clean before lube,

lube 1st round, ride 100 km then lube 2nd round, and that's it until now, should almost have 200km i guess, i forgot to count the exact mileage.

since it is dry lube i think i dont need to wash each and every time i re-lube. just taruh saja
vhs1
post Oct 27 2020, 12:48 AM

2,577 posts

Comes to self lube, I'm the laziest. Lol
In 4 years, I only went to full service twice.
The 1st time I can't remember when
The second time just 4 months ago.
The lubricant I bought many many years ago still got left, never check properly 😊

This post has been edited by vhs1: Oct 27 2020, 01:17 AM
adamsalim P
post Oct 27 2020, 11:36 AM

Probation

got photo of your lube?

i am using this

https://my.ciclimattio.com/upload/foto/l/FI...colore_9397.jpg 

I use this. Only rm6 at MrDiy . Later i will post the colour of the oil

https://pictr.com/images/2020/10/27/7Mz2hn.md.jpg
miaopurr
post Oct 27 2020, 11:49 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(adamsalim @ Oct 27 2020, 11:36 AM)
its normal for some type of oil/lube to become black when used. as long as u use it properly and correct method of application, should be fine.
after ride, wipe away the dust/grit on the chain, reapply lube if necessary, n wipe the excess

btw i use green finish line
miaopurr
post Oct 27 2020, 11:52 AM

570 posts

got photo of your lube?

i am using this

used it. hated it.
shit product
andrewhtf
post Oct 27 2020, 12:06 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 27 2020, 11:52 AM)
used it. hated it.
shit product
bad in what way yah?

i dont know what to look out for
Calvin Seak
post Oct 27 2020, 12:14 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Oct 23 2020, 04:32 PM)
Good as in better rolling resistant? At lower pressure ?

I would thought pump to 100 psi is stiffer. Stiffer not so comfy but suppose to roll better eh?
I am about 85psi front and 80psi back

25mm front and 28mm back

Wheels are 28mm wide and internally 21mm so rear tires balloon up to 30-31..
miaopurr
post Oct 27 2020, 12:15 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Oct 27 2020, 12:06 PM)
bad in what way yah?

i dont know what to look out for
it attracts too much gunk and not that easy to clean
Clueless07
post Oct 27 2020, 12:22 PM

1,225 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 27 2020, 12:14 PM)
I am about 85psi front and 80psi back

25mm front and 28mm back

Wheels are 28mm wide and internally 21mm so rear tires balloon up to 30-31..
hmmm... i am with 25 mm tyre... where did i get the message to pump to 105psi eh?
blink.gif

recall someone say lower pressure easier to get pinch flat.

andrewhtf
post Oct 27 2020, 12:25 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 27 2020, 12:15 PM)
it attracts too much gunk and not that easy to clean
i see, probably mine still not enough mileage to see gunk accummulation.
but maybe soaking the chain in petrol for an hour should be able to loosen and remove all those gunk if it accummulates next time.

with my last mtb, i just used engine oil (fresh, not used) that i use to oil my motorcycle chain. after a few rides it turns greasy black. this is the reason why i switch to a dry lube with this RB
miaopurr
post Oct 27 2020, 12:34 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Oct 27 2020, 12:25 PM)
i see, probably mine still not enough mileage to see gunk accummulation.
but maybe soaking the chain in petrol for an hour should be able to loosen and remove all those gunk if it accummulates next time.

with my last mtb, i just used engine oil (fresh, not used) that i use to oil my motorcycle chain. after a few rides it turns greasy black. this is the reason why i switch to a dry lube with this RB
petrol? can oso la as long as u dont dump it down the drain. i dont like petrol coz flammable, toxic vapour etc.
i used dry lube wax type as well. but now i prefer wet type. sure it turns black, but i don't care. not gonna win beauty contest anyway
as long as it can last longer and easier to wash and maintain, im okay with that

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Oct 27 2020, 12:35 PM
andrewhtf
post Oct 27 2020, 12:40 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 27 2020, 12:34 PM)
petrol? can oso la as long as u dont dump it down the drain. i dont like petrol coz flammable, toxic vapour etc.
i used dry lube wax type as well. but now i prefer wet type. sure it turns black, but i don't care. not gonna win beauty contest anyway
as long as it can last longer and easier to wash and maintain, im okay with that
after soak, just leave the petrol out in the open sun let it evaporate on its own, then wipe the dry residue only.
i'm a pretty clumsy fat fuark and prone to get chainring/chain marks on my legs, that's why.

417 Pages « < 269 270 271 272 273 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:16 PM