National Team Malaysia Football club...hopeless

Duke Red
post Jul 15 2007, 03:03 PM

6,112 posts

I miss the semi-pro days as well. Malek Awab, K. Kannan, Affendi Julaihi, P. Ravindran aka Kinta Express!, Lim Teong Kim, Lee Kin Hong, Ong Yu Tiang, Yap Wai Loon, Azman Adnan etc. That was the last time I felt patriotic towards our football team.
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2007, 09:45 PM

6,112 posts

If we were furniture, we would be a doormat. As it is the world is trampling all over us while wiping their feet.
Duke Red
post Jul 15 2007, 10:14 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 15 2007, 09:49 PM)
Well, it is time for the boys to show some semblance of pride. What happens during the next game (against an Iran side desperate to boost their goal difference, isn't it) will be a good indicator of the future of Malaysian football.
a) Will we roll over and get steamrolled 6, 7 nil? Or will we finally
b) Put up a decent show and at least exit with some pride?
I'm going with a)
Duke Red
post Jul 16 2007, 11:45 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 16 2007, 11:18 AM)
WTF? So all our players (that you have incidently spent quite a fair bit on) are useless and you need to find millions to groom newbies... wake up and smell the coffee dudes, you are the pathetic ones, don't blame the players
Exactly. By this reckoning, should we ban our team from all international tournaments until they improve? That way, we won't slide even further down the world rankings smile.gif
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 12:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Spiv @ Jul 17 2007, 10:21 AM)
I think that is under 21 or something. Not the regular arsenal.
It was Arsenal's first team unless I'm mistaken and Mokhtar Dahari bagged both goals.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 05:26 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Spiv @ Jul 17 2007, 10:21 AM)
I think that is under 21 or something. Not the regular arsenal.
A friend of mine has just enlightened me that we actually played a second friendly with Arsenal after the 2-0 win over them, in Penang. That time we drew 1-1 with Mokhtar Dahari (again) scoring the opener, and Brian Kidd equalising for Arsenal at the death. After scoring 3 against them, Arsenal were rumoured to have considered signing Supermokh.
Duke Red
post Jul 17 2007, 11:52 PM

6,112 posts

Words no football fan wants to hear, "tomorrow, it will be damage limitation for us". Who wants to go to a game, knowing their team has set out to concede as little goals as possible? So if we lose 1-0, we are supposed to celebrate that we have achieved our objective of losing marginally? Our coach will surely not be giving a pep talk in a Jerry Bruckheimer movie.
Duke Red
post Jul 19 2007, 12:24 PM

6,112 posts

FAM has to shoulder a large portion of the blame. Players on the other hand should be selected at a young age, based on their attributes and not just ability. I think the following points are important:

a) Education/Intelligence : The 2 are similar because it would mean that the player has a higher learning curve, which in turn means he can think faster on the pitch. While under pressure, our players often resort to route 1 football, pumping hail mary's up to park hoping that our diminutive forwards can miraculously grow 5 inches. A smarter and quicker thinking footballer would have thought of ways to keep possession even when under pressure. How can you expect some kampung fella whose family has been selling lemang the whole of their lives, to have a high learning curve?

b) Mental Toughness : Players who are mentally weak give in too easily. When they go down, they stay down. People say that leaders are born, not made and there is a great deal of truth to this statement. You need players who are competitive by nature and have the will to win. This is innate. Cannot tahan the weather lah, cannot adapt to the food lah; these are all excuses! Nothing worth doing comes easy and you cannot achieve anything without some sacrifice. Our current crop of players lack ambition and desire.

c) Physique : Size isn't everything but it does help. We can identify tall kids and them groom them into footballers. Notice how in their interviews, certain footballers started out with basketball, badminton or some other sport. They were then spotted and groomed into footballers. Currently our team would not be allowed on half the rides in Disneyland. The Koreans, Chinese and Japanese have realised the advantage size gives you and if you have noticed, they are a bigger side these days compared to the past. Against Indonesia, the Koreans fielded a team where their shortest player was 1.82metres. If your team doesn't have speed, go get a sprinter and groom him to be a footballer.
Duke Red
post Jul 19 2007, 02:24 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 19 2007, 01:21 PM)
I've seen a number of comments saying that we played too defensive a game. Well, this proves how much some of the 'lalang' here know about football. I recall one of the comentators saying that "You must learn not to lose before you can learn how to win." In football this is very true, even teams like Manchester United and Liverpool line up defensively when playing superior opposition, and Iran is indeed much, much superior when compared to us. Remember Greece and their Euro victory... the were ultra defensive too.

Much of the criticism stems from the fact that while we are crap, our SEA rivals are not. They have raised their games and even in the face of superior opposition, they attacked and scored. I'll use the Korea vs. Indonesia game as an example again, the Indonesians needed only a draw and they really fought tooth and nail. They challenged the Koreans for everything. I remember seeing Firman's face after the game as the referee blew for full time. The look of disappointment on his face as the ref shook his hand, said it all. Here was a guy that genuinely felt he let his nation down. That being said, I commend their efforts, they exit the tournament with their heads held up high.

The Thai's went out fighting as well after playing some exquisite football at times, and Vietnam is in the quarters. Can you blame Malaysians for being frustrated? We beat Indonesia just a couple of years ago at their home, but can we say that we could have played the Koreans the way Indonesia did? I think not. While it may be smart to play defensively sometimes, we simply don't have enough quality going forward, unlike our SEA rivals.

If our world ranking suggests anything, it's that we will have to line up defensively against any team in the current tournament! If we already expected to lose, at least do so with some dignity. Is playing defensively and losing 3-1, 3-0 and 2-0 really that different from playing attacking football and losing 5-1, 5-0 and 2-0? Either way we lose but when faced against superior opposition, the pressure is on them, let us take the fight to them. This is my take on it.

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 19 2007, 01:21 PM)
The question now is why did the players not show the same spirit and determination in the two earlier games? From what I saw yesterday, we do have the skill, but not the heart. Looks like the boys only started playing when everyone was crying for their necks!

Perhaps there wasn't any pressure on them this time round, having already exited the tournament, and not having any fans at the stadium to heckle them.

Duke Red
post Jul 19 2007, 03:35 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 19 2007, 02:39 PM)
In the meantime, what do we do? Distance ourselves from tournaments and become football 'backward', remember how long it took for the English clubs to establish themselves in Europe after their exile? Or send the same group of players to the 'korban' and slide further down the rankings - i.e. more humiliation?

Good question. I think it's a commonly accepted fact that this generation of footballers and the next are not the ones that are going to raise our profile in world football. I reiterate, I think so because they do not have the 3 attributes I mentioned earlier; a) Intelligence/Education, b) Mental Toughness and c) the required Physical attributes. It is probably safe to assume that our downward spiral will continue especially if we play higher ranked opposition (heaven forbid we should start losing consistently to basement teams). To be honest, I could care less what happens to our current team. It may take another 5 - 10 years, but focus should really be put on grooming candidates from an early age (say 8 - 13), who possess the attributes I mentioned above. That being said, these kids have to want to play football for a living as well. In the meantime, I do think we should stay away from International tournaments, why waste time and money? The FAM has always gotten as much money as they have wanted and it's time to put a stop to this. It's time to practice meritocracy.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 19 2007, 03:38 PM
Duke Red
post Jul 20 2007, 11:11 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(sakaito @ Jul 20 2007, 01:22 AM)
did u guys watched TV3 news at 8 just now... do u know Lim Teong Kim is the coach for Bayern Munich youth squad?
This is pretty old news mate, he's been there for 8 years now. You are right to point out though that not many people know of this. If he were someone else, he might have already received a Datukship and been given free land. Too bad he isn't.

Anyway he is back in KL with the Bayern Munich youth side for the upcoming tournament. Here's an interview between him and "The Star":

Teong Kim says sad state of affairs due to lack of infrastructure
By ERIC SAMUEL

PETALING JAYA: Former international Lim Teong Kim is not surprised at all over the sad state of affairs in Malaysian football.

The assistant coach of Bayern Munich Under-19 football team said that the dismal showing of the national team in the Asian Cup Finals was expected and the lack of infrastructure had hindered the growth of the game in the country.

"Bayern Munich are the top club in Germany. We have a very good infrastructure - five training fields and more coming up soon," said Teong Kim, who is here to check out the facilities for the club's participation in the Champions Youth Cup (CYC), which kicks off on Aug 8.

Bayern Munich are in Group D and their matches against Malaysia, Chelsea and PSV Eindhoven will be played in Kuching.

"We have a complete infrastructure to cater for the professional team and also the youth teams. In fact, we have 11 youth teams in age-group between eight and 23. The other clubs in the Bundesliga also have a similar set-up."

In the Finals, Malaysia lost all three matches in Group C. They were thrashed by China (1-5) and Uzbekistan (0-5) and were beaten 0-2 by Iran.

The 44-year-old Teong Kim said it was not fair to put the blame on the team when changes were not made to check the rot in the system.

He added that he had left the country for almost two decades but he had not seen changes or concerted efforts to develop the game, even in his home state Malacca where he started out playing for at the age of 17.

"When football is still the same here after so many years, how can we expect to see any changes to the game or standard? Why criticise the present batch of players and keep banging them on their heads for failures when no one cares for the development of the game," he said.

"Football is a national agenda. I feel that every state should have an ideal infrastructure to develop the game.

"I have been in Bayern Munich for eight years now. Even the eight-year-old players travel extensively to play in invitational tournaments to gain experience. There are eight professional coaches at the youth level and players get plenty of exposure.

"The facilities are well-equipped with dressing rooms, rehabilitation rooms, physiotherapy, sauna and relaxation rooms.

"In Germany, we have technical problems but no infrastructure problems. If there are no fields how can the coaches get to work?

"The National Sports School in Bukit Jalil alone is not good enough. State FAs must get their infrastructure in place otherwise they cannot expect to produce results.

"I am just trying to pass my experience and knowledge learnt in Bayern Munich. It is difficult to see success if changes are not made. There is a saying in Germany - changes bring prosperity, contentment brings complacency."

Teong Kim was a member of the national team who won the gold medal in the Kuala Lumpur SEA Games in 1989. That was the last time the national senior team emerged as the champions of the regional international tournament.

He added that there was no point in coaxing players to ply their trade abroad if they had no desire to go in the first place.

"I left to play in the Bundesliga in 1988 because I had the desire to do it," said Teong Kim, who played for Division Two club Hertha Berlin.
Kudos to him for settling in Germany and making good for himself. It's people like this that FAM should send overseas to pickup the game, not homesick kampung boys who whine about the weather and food. Instead of spending millions on people with absolutely zero qualification to run FAM, we should spend on him though I fail to see why he would ever want to come back.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jul 20 2007, 11:13 AM
Duke Red
post Jul 20 2007, 11:26 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 20 2007, 11:24 AM)
But we have spent so much on infrastructure and the cause is still infrastructure? Shouldn't it be manpower doh.gif
Aside from a couple of giant stadiums, what else is there?
Duke Red
post Jul 20 2007, 11:40 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jul 20 2007, 11:33 AM)
the sports complex in England or whatever?
The National Sports Complex????
As of now, there still isn't a thing there and why the need to build it half way around the world when our kampung boys won't be able to adapt to the weather and food anyway?

You are also just focusing on one part of infrastructure. What about the number of qualified coaches? Training regiments? Diets? Player exposure? etc.
Duke Red
post Jul 20 2007, 02:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Jul 20 2007, 02:38 PM)
State teams hould be banned from the start of professionalism era. Leaves local competitions to clubs.

State FA's should concentrate on player development and organising local state leagues and competition. In this way each state could become factories producing high quality players.

The problem was most money that FAM given to FAs were used on the current state teams and hiring expensive low quality foreigners and left little for player development in their academies.

So FAM, please no more state teams. state=politics
I agree. Club sides are then handled privately and can manage their own affairs without at external influences from Football Manager playing politicians. Not too long ago when I was active in Futsal, you'd see club sides with their own sponsors, conducting their own training sessions.

It's basic math actually. If the FA were to organise more state level competitions, the number of teams would increase. When there are more teams, there will be more players and hence a bigger pool to choose from. As it is right now, opportunities are limited which is a reason for the waning interest in the sport.
Duke Red
post Jul 23 2007, 12:55 PM

6,112 posts

The issue of greatness appears to be a subjective one given the ongoing argument. From a global perspective, we weren't great, because we have won nothing. From the perspective of Asian footballing standards, we were up there with the best, at a time where our continent was further behind our other counterparts than they are today. Greatness however is not always reflected in physical achievements, such as the number of trophies you have in your cabinet. I believe they can be immaterial as well. There are few that will deny names like Robin Friday or Earl "The Goal" Manifault were great in their own right, though they achieved little success in their careers. If you ask me, what was great about our team in the 70's was that we fought tooth and nail, against some of the biggest sides in football. We showed great courage, enthusiasm and passion for the game.
Duke Red
post Jul 23 2007, 02:25 PM

6,112 posts

It's true, footballers here don't get paid all that much, generally that is. Thing is, interest in football as a career option has dropped all together, considering you don't necessary have to ply your trade here. Academies like the BSS (Brazilian Soccer Schools - http://www.icfds.com/malaysia/) trains youngsters from a very young age and sends them abroad to their associate clubs like Middlesborough and Newcastle. if they do graduate. In short, opportunities to ply their trade overseas is not non-existent.
Duke Red
post Jul 24 2007, 04:01 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Jul 23 2007, 11:02 PM)
Have anyone read the star. Our old time footballer Lim Teong Kim is actually asst coach for Bayer Munich under-18. We did have talent ppl around. Just let these ppl to do the handling. For the sake of our football, politician please stay away from it! I think gov should start regulation for baning any politician or minister involve in any activities other than their job.
Malaysia football is like getting cancer, cancer from those business ppl. Take money, built these and that, organized these and that. But they are not profesional just spend the money around.
Football is not business, you can't let ppl tender to handle project. They are killing the game. Yes we can survive in our business becoz we like in kampung. But football we are competing with international. That's why we can't survive. We are just jaguh kampung.
Yes mate, if you look a couple of pages back, we have discussed Teong Kim's success. He even played for Hertha Berlin prior to retiring.
Duke Red
post Jul 30 2007, 01:37 PM

6,112 posts

We have had foreign coaches in the past. Claude Le Roy, Josef Venglos, Alan Harris and Bertalan Bicskei. The problem is that players are ill disciplined and cannot cope with hard training. They are full of excuses and there is nothing the coach can do about it because everyone at FAM, and most people in the entire country, are the same.
Duke Red
post Jul 30 2007, 02:04 PM

6,112 posts

What we have to do is find a group of people who are willing to train together overseas for an extended period of time. We cannot build a championship winning side here simply because of our culture and habits. You have to take the kampung boy out of the kampung and dump him in an environment where he has to fight just to stay alive. This is why I think the sports complex in England can be beneficial.
Duke Red
post Jul 31 2007, 12:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Jul 30 2007, 05:48 PM)
Except that the sports complex in England is a scam. Check this out:
We all know that, I'm just trying to state one of it's positives.

QUOTE(hafizanuar @ Jul 31 2007, 09:47 AM)
all the iraqis players trained and played in the arab's league except for one player  nod.gif
Precisely but the culture there is hardly the same as here isn't it? Malaysians are too laid back and have it too good. They live a comfortable life and easily grow complacent. They have to be put in a foreign environment which is uncomfortable for them, and not be pampered like little school girls. The Iraqi's have been through hell and back. They have lost friends, relatives and possessions. Read today's copy of the NST for more detail.

Also covered in today's NST are poignant questions posed at Malaysian football. Much of it is centred towards having a multi-racial team, much like what I have been saying all the while. Also in it are questions regarding favouritism (e.g. Sultan's grand nephew getting handpicked for the team, certain races being ostracised). Some posters here have said not to play the racial card, but it's not I that started it. Like it or not, favouritism does exist and instead of avoiding the issue like all other things deemed 'sensitive', we should start dealing with it. Let us practice meritocracy.

0.0207sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:13 PM