Home Theatre LG LHD657 receiver Faulty, can replace to other receiver?

TScraxors
post Dec 23 2019, 10:19 AM, updated 5y ago

2,361 posts

hi guys...

my LG LHD657 receiver faulty. speakers all good. already send for repair but kedai said cant do...

is it possible to buy any type/brand of receiver/amp and pair with the speakers set?

thanks.

confused.gif
sonerin
post Dec 23 2019, 06:51 PM

8,690 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Dec 23 2019, 10:19 AM)
hi guys...

my LG LHD657 receiver faulty.  speakers all good. already send for repair but kedai said cant do...

is it possible to buy any type/brand of receiver/amp and pair with the speakers set?

thanks.

:confused:
Most probably cannot
xxboxx
post Dec 24 2019, 05:55 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,093 posts

Most likely can, after all that is just speaker with 2 wires right?
As long as the amp can drive the speaker ohm and it's wattage is within the speaker range. You'll need 5.1 amp to make sure all 5 speaker can be used.

The subwoofer is passive or active? Active is the one that need separate power source that connect to the subwoofer. If passive then you need to make sure to get an amp that output wattage to the subwoofer, just like the normal speaker.
TScraxors
post Jan 16 2020, 05:00 PM

2,361 posts

can suggest what/which type receiver can i use?

all kedai i went all said cannot.. because tak sama... sweat.gif laugh.gif
xxboxx
post Jan 18 2020, 07:19 AM

5,093 posts

I assume your receiver wire output to speaker is same like this picture?
Then just get any amp with DTS or Dollby 5.1 that also have same wire output to speaker.

Also make sure amp can drive the speaker ohm and it's wattage is within the speaker range.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jan 18 2020, 07:21 AM
ktek
post Jan 18 2020, 02:59 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 18 2020, 07:19 AM)
Also make sure amp can drive the speaker ohm and it's wattage is within the speaker range.
actually how important is ohm specs?
i use a lot passive speaker before & they sound alrite at regular volume.
ktek
post Jan 18 2020, 04:23 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,546 posts

double post----

This post has been edited by ktek: Jan 18 2020, 04:23 PM
xxboxx
post Jan 18 2020, 05:14 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 18 2020, 02:59 PM)
http://www.prestonelectronics.com/audio/Impedance.htm

The worse thing that can happen is you'll fry the amp.
sonerin
post Jan 19 2020, 08:13 AM

8,690 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 18 2020, 02:59 PM)
If you don’t go high volume usually is quite safe. If not it might burn the amp

0.0117sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:46 PM