i don't want the loan sharks come bother my family sooner or later. May i know if there anyway to protect ourselves and my uncle's family?
loan shark issue, need help
Dec 19 2019, 07:31 PM, updated 6y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
900 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
my uncle's company got into deep trouble due to debt issue, and the counter-party hire a gang of loan sharks to collect the payment, they paste posters everywhere, trace my aunt (my uncle's sis) address and phone number etc.
i don't want the loan sharks come bother my family sooner or later. May i know if there anyway to protect ourselves and my uncle's family? |
Dec 19 2019, 10:37 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
404 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Milford Sound |
settle the debt
Dec 19 2019, 10:52 PM
Dec 19 2019, 11:06 PM
14,511 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 19 2019, 10:52 PM) if my uncle has the money, there wouldn't be loan shark hired by the counter-party in the first place :x If your uncle dont work out any form of settlement with the creditors, the issue wont be solved easily. As long there is no physical 'attack' on property or life, is more on civil matters. |
Dec 19 2019, 11:38 PM
3,190 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Dec 20 2019, 01:12 AM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
Get ready visit michael Chong
Dec 20 2019, 06:21 AM
45 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
If threats are issued, file a police report
Dec 20 2019, 08:00 AM
Dec 20 2019, 08:39 AM
777 posts Joined: Feb 2019 From: 天涯海角 |
Dec 20 2019, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(Si kutu rayau @ Dec 20 2019, 08:39 AM) This. Maybe ask help from every relatives try to help him settle the debt first before going to michael chong or whatever authorities? sadly, his business is construction type which no commoners like me or my relatives can handle that sort of amount (hundreds thousand above) |
Dec 20 2019, 11:00 AM
777 posts Joined: Feb 2019 From: 天涯海角 |
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 20 2019, 10:53 AM) sadly, his business is construction type which no commoners like me or my relatives can handle that sort of amount (hundreds thousand above) If this is the case then can only seek help from Michael Chong or PPIM. But that doesnt mean he is free from ah long tho.... they are more on helping your uncle to negotiate a better repayment term. |
Dec 20 2019, 11:09 AM
Dec 20 2019, 04:28 PM
1,765 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
This is a commercial debt, I don't think Ah Long will come after anybody else other than your uncle and his wife. It's not even the Ah Long's debt as they were engaged as collectors.
But having said this if the Ah Long threatens your family make a police report. Never make any payment to them or they may think they found a soft spot and keep coming back for more. |
Dec 20 2019, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 20 2019, 04:28 PM) This is a commercial debt, I don't think Ah Long will come after anybody else other than your uncle and his wife. It's not even the Ah Long's debt as they were engaged as collectors. unfortunately, the ah long managed to find my aunt's address (this was my uncle's old address). Luckily there was nothing happened yet.But having said this if the Ah Long threatens your family make a police report. Never make any payment to them or they may think they found a soft spot and keep coming back for more. My uncle made police report, but as always, police just say can't do anything because not sure who is doing it and noted on the second line, will do so, if ah long comes to me This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Dec 20 2019, 04:44 PM |
Dec 20 2019, 05:38 PM
35 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
Sell asset to repay loans
Dec 20 2019, 05:41 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
how much the debt now?
do you know the original amount your uncle borrowed? |
Dec 20 2019, 05:41 PM
749 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Call PPIM (they help all Malaysians) at 013-3071-999
or MCA's Michael Chong to settle the ah long. |
Dec 20 2019, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(hanat @ Dec 20 2019, 05:38 PM) not sure what is he going to do now, he went to hiding while his wife and children went some place else. Sad case QUOTE(sunami @ Dec 20 2019, 05:41 PM) this is more of a chain reaction, the client unable to pay my uncle, which made my uncle unable to pay the raw material vendor, the amount can reach close to million. And now the vendor hired some ah long to collect the debt QUOTE(l4nunm4l4y4 @ Dec 20 2019, 05:41 PM) will let him know This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Dec 20 2019, 05:47 PM |
Dec 20 2019, 06:38 PM
35 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
Recover debt from client to repay raw material vendor?
Hiding will not solve anything, raw material vendor also have bills to pay. |
Dec 20 2019, 06:58 PM
Dec 20 2019, 11:05 PM
Dec 20 2019, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Dec 20 2019, 11:05 PM) that is what i heard from my mom, i am not sure what my uncle is doing, i think the client not paying due to it is not complete yet but more of a tollgate payment. But anyhow that's my assumption.my uncle made a report to the police, but police can't do anything due to "reasons" as always. i am not sure how this is going to end, he and his family will not be back for cny. |
Dec 21 2019, 12:08 AM
1,140 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
Police wont entertain any civil case.
Either they will divert them to tribunal or other place. Mostly they would ask you settle sendiri. |
Dec 21 2019, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(RallyNight @ Dec 21 2019, 12:08 AM) Police wont entertain any civil case. yea, from what i heard, that's the problem even when Ah long is involved, and my uncle's wife and children, immediate families are affected by the ah longEither they will divert them to tribunal or other place. Mostly they would ask you settle sendiri. This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Dec 21 2019, 12:14 AM |
Dec 21 2019, 12:20 AM
1,140 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 21 2019, 12:13 AM) yea, from what i heard, that's the problem even when Ah long is involved, and my uncle's wife and children, immediate families are affected by the ah long My ex landlord chase by arlong also affect me.Cause i hang the board cari housemate room to sublet. They called and asked if im the owner. So i divert the number to them. They stop called me afterward. Before that they called me few time. |
Dec 21 2019, 05:45 AM
1,552 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
Hire the same debt collector to collect debt from the business that owe your uncle.
Dec 21 2019, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 20 2019, 11:34 PM) that is what i heard from my mom, i am not sure what my uncle is doing, i think the client not paying due to it is not complete yet but more of a tollgate payment. But anyhow that's my assumption. There is no solution if he cannot afford to pay.my uncle made a report to the police, but police can't do anything due to "reasons" as always. i am not sure how this is going to end, he and his family will not be back for cny. Dont come home anymore. Hopefully the ah long wont be able to locate him. |
Dec 21 2019, 10:28 AM
Dec 21 2019, 10:33 AM
Dec 22 2019, 10:18 AM
817 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
If the counter party willing to hire loan shark to collect the defaults it really means your uncle really kaki busuk fella, he shouldn't avoid not paying at the first place and when this happened he really asked for it.
In business when there is debt default it's pretty normal , instead of negotiating how to make payment with the counter party or work a way to pay off like sell assets ,but then again it's too late at this stage, mind you the fee hiring loan shark bear by your uncle , the debt will be more than the initial amount owed The best solution is quickly pay off the debts by all means, start selling assets or take loan from banks if can't pay worse to worse bankrupt akpk which is better than ah long |
Dec 22 2019, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(destiny6 @ Dec 22 2019, 10:18 AM) If the counter party willing to hire loan shark to collect the defaults it really means your uncle really kaki busuk fella, he shouldn't avoid not paying at the first place and when this happened he really asked for it. You don't understand the chain effect of payments in business. Your debtor cannot pay you so you cannot pay your creditor. It happens all the time but few businesses resort to using loan sharks to collect. He did not ask for it and the one using loan sharks to collect a business debt is the real kaki busuk. There are unwritten ethics in doing business. In such a situation everybody has to be patient. When one party runs out of patience the worse he should do is take legal action, not use loan sharks.In business when there is debt default it's pretty normal , instead of negotiating how to make payment with the counter party or work a way to pay off like sell assets ,but then again it's too late at this stage, mind you the fee hiring loan shark bear by your uncle , the debt will be more than the initial amount owed The best solution is quickly pay off the debts by all means, start selling assets or take loan from banks if can't pay worse to worse bankrupt akpk which is better than ah long The business debt may exceed one's personal assets and declaring bankruptcy is pointless when loan sharks are involved. |
Dec 22 2019, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 21 2019, 10:28 AM) His wife may be a director in his company so both of them were asked to sign personal guarantees for the payment. The creditor should have used legal channels to collect a business debt instead of using loan sharks and turning their lives upside down. The creditor company must be run by ex-samsengs. |
Dec 22 2019, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Dec 22 2019, 12:10 PM) His wife may be a director in his company so both of them were asked to sign personal guarantees for the payment. The creditor should have used legal channels to collect a business debt instead of using loan sharks and turning their lives upside down. The creditor company must be run by ex-samsengs. well, in construction field, i wouldn't say the people who do well in this line are elegant and law abiding citizentoo many hanky panky stuff, but what has happened has happened. Now not sure how he will settle this, as from what i know, he is hiding somewhere, while his wife has brought the children and went somewhere else. Sigh, pity the children |
Dec 22 2019, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 22 2019, 12:52 PM) well, in construction field, i wouldn't say the people who do well in this line are elegant and law abiding citizen Hiding will not solve the problem. The children may need to go attend school soon. Only his creditor can call the loan sharks off so he should contact them and work out a payment plan. If he has a property ask for time to sell it off. If not ask for time for his company to make money back to pay by instalment. When his creditor sees that he has really no money to pay immediately it is pointless for them to drive him to suicide. He should also keep pressing the company owning him money to pay.too many hanky panky stuff, but what has happened has happened. Now not sure how he will settle this, as from what i know, he is hiding somewhere, while his wife has brought the children and went somewhere else. Sigh, pity the children |
Dec 22 2019, 05:57 PM
62 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ |
actually the moment you run away from your debt thats when ahlong resorts to dirty tactic. Your uncle should hv confronted the supplier and ask for more time. He needs to be brave in this situation. Running away will not fixed this. Same as bank, if they call u and u not picking up then after few times they will hired debt collector. Your uncle should bring the debtor to his client's office and show them they are not paying him.
Dec 23 2019, 11:02 AM
623 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Lobang Batu |
QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 19 2019, 07:31 PM) my uncle's company got into deep trouble due to debt issue, and the counter-party hire a gang of loan sharks to collect the payment, they paste posters everywhere, trace my aunt (my uncle's sis) address and phone number etc. The counter party is also a loan shark? Then not much u can do if you took their debt agreement. Lipot polis wont really stop them from ruining your life/company, but maybe it might help, but it all depends - if the creditor is legit - then file bankruptcy and liquidate company OR restructure repayment.i don't want the loan sharks come bother my family sooner or later. May i know if there anyway to protect ourselves and my uncle's family? I've no idea about haroom lenders, but chances are any form of agreement goes out the window the moment you approach them. |
Dec 23 2019, 02:15 PM
Validating
181 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Wuhan |
ur uncle business plan is weird. ur uncle complete the project without receiving initial payment and another payment by phase of how many % the project has completed?
my father in construction also, when payment is not smooth the project will stop because payment is collected based on the % of completion. |
| Change to: | 0.0229sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:17 AM |