Engine oil kering without dripping

TSeyeshield
post Dec 19 2019, 11:52 AM, updated 5y ago

42 posts

Hi, I'm using Suzuki smash Revo 110.

For the last 2 months, I'm riding 100km a day to work. As per title, my engine oil keeps running out and I have to top up to 200ml a week. I checked for possible leakage but cannot find any.

Is it normal that my motor loose 200ml a week from long distance journey?

How to minimize this loss?

Engine oil that I used before

Shell Advance SAE 40
Castrol Activ 20W-40

Petronas Sprinta F700 15w-50 - currently use but no different
mADmAN
post Dec 19 2019, 12:02 PM

10,515 posts

are you puffing white smoke at ur exhaust?

smell ur exhaust fumes... if it smells like burnt oil, a top overhaul may be needed
ormano
post Dec 19 2019, 12:03 PM

49 posts

Did your bike produce white smoke.?
TSeyeshield
post Dec 19 2019, 12:07 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 19 2019, 12:02 PM)
are you puffing white smoke at ur exhaust?

smell ur exhaust fumes... if it smells like burnt oil, a top overhaul may be needed
QUOTE(ormano @ Dec 19 2019, 12:03 PM)
Did your bike produce white smoke.?
No white smoke. But exhaust has strong smell
ormano
post Dec 19 2019, 12:11 PM

49 posts

Either you perform top overhaul as per @mADmaAN advice or trade your bike. Upgrade..
mADmAN
post Dec 19 2019, 12:19 PM

10,515 posts

if that strong smell is of burnt oil. then yeah.. time for a top overhaul

hft
post Dec 19 2019, 12:22 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Dec 19 2019, 11:52 AM)

For the last 2 months, I'm riding 100km a day to work. As per title, my engine oil keeps running out and I have to top up to 200ml a week. I checked for possible leakage but cannot find any.

Shell Advance SAE 40
Castrol Activ 20W-40

just topup cheap oil. overhaul cost more. run till die
TSeyeshield
post Dec 19 2019, 12:25 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ormano @ Dec 19 2019, 12:11 PM)
Either you perform top overhaul as per @mADmaAN advice or trade your bike. Upgrade..
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 19 2019, 12:19 PM)
if that strong smell is of burnt oil. then yeah.. time for a top overhaul
So its not normal la,

my friend said its normal to loss engine oil in long journey for low cc bike.

i guess it time for overhaul, my bike already 10 years old

QUOTE(hft @ Dec 19 2019, 12:22 PM)
just topup cheap oil. overhaul cost more. run till die
I already bought a bunch of cheap oil from 12.12 sales thumbup.gif

Thank you all
fat16
post Dec 20 2019, 11:08 AM

4,582 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Dec 19 2019, 11:52 AM)

Shell Advance SAE 40
Castrol Activ 20W-40

not normal
engine oil going somewhere. If not gasket leak, it piston ring leak.

15w-50 - currently use but no different
*w-50 is too thick. u will get less top speed.
japan standard is *w-30 or *w-40 or SAE40 monograde
TSeyeshield
post Dec 20 2019, 11:25 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 20 2019, 11:08 AM)
not normal

I use 15w-50 hoping to minimize the loss of oil. But not working. Will change back to 40 in the future.
leon898
post Dec 20 2019, 12:30 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Dec 20 2019, 11:08 AM)
not normal

for Suzuki, xw-50 is still within range permitted.
Need to do top overhaul. Some worn out rings need to be replaced
UnknownH
post Jan 2 2020, 08:36 PM

1,437 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Dec 19 2019, 12:25 PM)
So its not normal la,

my friend said its normal to loss engine oil in long journey for low cc bike.

i guess it time for overhaul, my bike already 10 years old
I already bought a bunch of cheap oil from 12.12 salesĀ  thumbup.gif
Thank you all
10 years old and you never serviced them? If I were you I would change the clutch plates(friction plates) as well. Heck I think even the steel plates at the clutch there already bent if you never changed the friction plates for the last 10 years and riding it on daily basis.
For the engine oil loss, I suspect got leaking there inside. Maybe gasket old already there at head/block or could be piston ring. Just change them all if you never had before for the last 10 years really.

This post has been edited by UnknownH: Jan 2 2020, 08:37 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Jan 6 2020, 08:23 PM

1,049 posts

QUOTE(eyeshield @ Dec 19 2019, 12:52 PM)

Shell Advance SAE 40
Castrol Activ 20W-40

Hard to say. 200ml out of a capacity of how many litres?

Some engines burn a bit of oil, it's normal. Same with cars. Just check the oil level regularly lor.

But if it starts to drink 4T like 2T, then you have to pay close attention. If your engine's innard is really worn, you'll get oil blowby and the oil will burn noticeably which results in white smoke out the exhaust.

0.0139sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:58 PM