122 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam Thread V5

andyxp
post Apr 29 2007, 09:05 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

looks like it's time for AndyXP's tutorial?

QUOTE(^666^ @ Apr 29 2007, 03:23 PM)
so i marker it wioth the lining, use eraser to make it neat.
spray lightly and let it dry? after that assemble it?
where can i get those sandpaper for my gundam?
i also cant find any effect maker for my gundam.

when i but those thick gundam coloring marker, its difficult to apply on my gundam.
sorry for these newbie question. thanks for the help.
in time square, err i forgot the shop name has a lot.
i bought mine there.
it's better to spray topcoat AFTER assembly.... make everything neat, fix it... then spray a thin layer... let it dry for at least 2 hours in room temperature and make sure the humidity in ur room is not high biggrin.gif

sandpaper for gundam? plenty of place selling it.... grade 1000 - 2000 depends on how u wanna sand it biggrin.gif

if u want to efficiently apply the thick marker, sand the surface with grade 1500 first...

time square? Time Machine?
VincC454
post Apr 29 2007, 09:23 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Apr 29 2007, 03:13 PM)
how much is a can of matte topcoat? where can i get it from? was at MV tamiya/toycity earlier.. dun see any also

As for hardware shop paint spray cans... which brand can/cannot be used on gundam plastics?

Added on April 29, 2007, 3:17 pmany idea how to create those rivets on the amour?
like i post earlier just now..topcoat around RM26-RM30
and time machine at BTS has it for RM30

MV never sell topcoat..not in any of the toys shop there..

for those armor to have those rivets..you can drill a small hole

QUOTE(^666^ @ Apr 29 2007, 03:23 PM)
so i marker it wioth the lining, use eraser to make it neat.
spray lightly and let it dry? after that assemble it?
where can i get those sandpaper for my gundam?
i also cant find any effect maker for my gundam.

when i but those thick gundam coloring marker, its difficult to apply on my gundam.
sorry for these newbie question. thanks for the help.
in time square, err i forgot the shop name has a lot.
i bought mine there.
topcoat are spray after your model are fully complete with decals and paint..means topcoat are at the final step of completing your gundams.

sandpaper can get from hardware store..it just a sandpaper..wont melt your plastic also..lol

those thick markers are oil base and are meant for coloring large area..
theres also a water base markers..but its hard to get localy..this one are perfect for lining also..and easly wipe off with tissue..
GrandElf
post Apr 29 2007, 09:54 PM

HyunA
1,154 posts

VincC...got something to ask u about the gold can spray.....is it just shake shake and straight spray to the inner frame of SF??if really lik tat how about the outcome of the gold colour??dark gold or bright gold??will the gold colour be lik the gold colour on the expose part of the SF FB??thx for answering...... icon_rolleyes.gif
VincC454
post Apr 29 2007, 10:10 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

hmm..its almost the same gold as full burst version..only not as yellow..
its more lighter and less yellowish..

and yes..you just shake and spray straight..not sure if you put into warm water first the can..the spray will be nicer or not..just like you do for topcoat can..

but whatever also..if you spray with whatever gold also..i will look nicer than the gold plastic color of the unpainted gold part of normal SF

my SF spray with mr hobby gold paint

This post has been edited by VincC454: Apr 29 2007, 10:12 PM
fyire
post Apr 29 2007, 10:17 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Apr 29 2007, 01:53 PM)
wait =D, u mean make a black coating 1st, then spray it gold? =D does it really work?

if it does, does it apply to silver colour also? and the rest of the colours as well?
I always use the metallics as a secondary coat. So I tend to base coat using black, before spraying on the silver or gold, although when it comes to gold, I prefer to base coat using brown rather than black.
^666^
post Apr 29 2007, 10:54 PM

^Lamb Of God^
1,491 posts

QUOTE(andyxp @ Apr 29 2007, 09:05 PM)
looks like it's time for AndyXP's tutorial?
it's better to spray topcoat AFTER assembly.... make everything neat, fix it... then spray a thin layer... let it dry for at least 2 hours in room temperature and make sure the humidity in ur room is not high biggrin.gif

sandpaper for gundam? plenty of place selling it.... grade 1000 - 2000 depends on how u wanna sand it biggrin.gif

if u want to efficiently apply the thick marker, sand the surface with grade 1500 first...

time square? Time Machine?
QUOTE(VincC454 @ Apr 29 2007, 09:23 PM)
like i post earlier just now..topcoat around RM26-RM30
and time machine at BTS has it for RM30

MV never sell topcoat..not in any of the toys shop there..

for those armor to have those rivets..you can drill a small hole
topcoat are spray after your model are fully complete with decals and paint..means topcoat are at the final step of completing your gundams.

sandpaper can get from hardware store..it just a sandpaper..wont melt your plastic also..lol

those thick markers are oil base and are meant for coloring large area..
theres also a water base markers..but its hard to get localy..this one are perfect for lining also..and easily wipe off with tissue..
thanks for the guide, i will try it and post the result later.
i really wanted to perfect it as per what the box shown. hahhaha.
if this 2 mg gundam is successfully i can try it on a perfect grade.
unfortunately only wing gundam and strike gundam available for perfect grade.

one thing, the lining marker is not that good, any other solution?

fyire
post Apr 29 2007, 11:10 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Apr 29 2007, 10:10 PM)
hmm..its almost the same gold as full burst version..only not as yellow..
its more lighter and less yellowish..

and yes..you just shake and spray straight..not sure if you put into warm water first the can..the spray will be nicer or not..just like you do for topcoat can..

but whatever also..if you spray with whatever gold also..i will look nicer than the gold plastic color of the unpainted gold part of normal SF

Hmm.. did some testing on one of my old MGs that I now use for experiments. Basically I base coated with brown, did some shading with black, and some highlighting with yellow, then only apply the gold. A rather thin coat of gold that is, mainly just for the metallic look to it. Not too bad, but wanna try again, 'cause the texture of the gold mix isnt that good.

Will post some pics after I've stripped the paint and respray again after that...
lonetitans
post Apr 30 2007, 12:21 AM

229 posts

er... noob question... gm01 is used to draw the lining for SF right?
i got a bit confused with what was posted before this.. so is draw lining first only spray gold or the other way round? thanks...
fyire
post Apr 30 2007, 12:29 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(lonetitans @ Apr 30 2007, 12:21 AM)
er... noob question... gm01 is used to draw the lining for SF right?
i got a bit confused with what was posted before this.. so is draw lining first only spray gold or the other way round? thanks...
Normally its spray first, then do the lining. Unless your gold coating is extremely thin, so that it wont obscure the lines that you've already drawn. If you're using a spray can, then spray first then do lining, as u cannot control the amount of paint or spracy velocity with that, as compared to a dual action AB.

This post has been edited by fyire: Apr 30 2007, 12:30 AM
Balthasar
post Apr 30 2007, 12:45 AM

Sweets :P
890 posts

sweat.gif
Weih...no one can help on recommending wat gold color is the most bling bling wan meh ?

Spray can also can la... sweat.gif
fyire
post Apr 30 2007, 12:57 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Balthasar @ Apr 30 2007, 12:45 AM)
sweat.gif
Weih...no one can help on recommending wat gold color is the most bling bling wan meh ?

Well, I would recommend if I could smile.gif But to be honest, I can't really say. The only gold color that I've got with me is a very old bottle of Humbrol acrylic gold, which has got a pretty weak pigment. So I can't really recommend that anyways.

But since I got it, I make use of it anyways lar.. That's where it gets interesting, experimenting at how to get around the problems that u have with various different methods and so on.
boltguard
post Apr 30 2007, 03:46 AM

sry to ask this, never try this before but is there really a difference between:

spray black coating, after dry then spray a layer of gold
(and)
straight away spray gold on runners

i need to know 1st before any accidents happen, lol =P
hitsugayat10
post Apr 30 2007, 06:51 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Apr 29 2007, 12:51 PM)
Hi, Im been toying around with gundam for quite sometime, but this time try to be more serious. I bought Strike Freedom MG and also Zeta Gundam MG. Bought the glossy spray and tried a bit on access plastic, it looks too wetty and smudgy and do we apply the marker lining before or after cause its smudge my lining with the spray.

I need some guidance please.

Damn, where I can get this one... love it. Someone tell me please.

http://wonderexcellence.sub.jp/gallery/wsfa1/wsfa1.jpg
Tat's One of Keita's customize/upgraded MG SF...Heard tat he sell his models...y dun u check his site for details...not sure bout d website though...i only have this...

http://f7.aaa.livedoor.jp/~mesarion/gallery2/gallery.htm

n d current auction price, a whopping 203,000 yen around RM6,350 laugh.gif

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by hitsugayat10: Apr 30 2007, 06:53 AM
VincC454
post Apr 30 2007, 08:54 AM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Apr 29 2007, 10:54 PM)
thanks for the guide, i will try it and post the result later.
i really wanted to perfect it as per what the box shown. hahhaha.
if this 2 mg gundam is successfully i can try it on a perfect grade.
unfortunately only wing gundam and strike gundam available for perfect grade.

one thing, the lining marker is not that good, any other solution?
what you mean only got wing and strike for PG..
there is a lot more PG out there

http://www.dalong.net/review/pg.htm

or izzit you mean locally only sell those two pg only? but here also..TM sell many other PG also what..

QUOTE(boltguard @ Apr 30 2007, 03:46 AM)
sry to ask this, never try this before but is there really a difference between:

spray black coating, after dry then spray a layer of gold
(and)
straight away spray gold on runners

i need to know 1st before any accidents happen, lol =P
it is recommended not to spray straight on the runner..it will leave you a cutting mark later.

spray black first or spray gold straight that one up to you..its better for you to test it somewhere first before actually doing it on ur SF.
spray straight gold also is no harm..but just dont do it on the runner..
WaytoDawn
post Apr 30 2007, 02:41 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(Balthasar @ Apr 30 2007, 12:45 AM)
sweat.gif

Now, this is regular gold paint from tamiya with a coat of gloss coat. Personally, i think it is fine and am quite satisfied with it.

http://wonderexcellence.sub.jp/gallery/wsfa1/wsfa1.jpg
and the one that you c here, this is only speculation but i think this is titanium gold(or maybe gold leaf, i can't say..) So choose what colour you want for yr model. however, only the regular gold is found in spray paint form. the rest is in bottle form. it can b found in toy city in Time Square.

however, i prefer buying paint from tamiya at 1U, the one at the lower floor. a lot more selecton of paint and A LOT of equiptment you can't find anywhere else. like plaplates...just my 2 cents. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSBlizz-imperialx
post Apr 30 2007, 02:47 PM

268 posts

huh, late come, V5 already =.= never have time to keep update.

Btw, any GundamW fans here? I'm looking for the whole set of HG model for EW. Where can get it har?
whoami123
post Apr 30 2007, 03:45 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

I'd suggest to open a new thread just for modelling techniques
Gundam/Mecha modelling thread move too fast
It's hard to find those useful modelling technique info in a thread with lots of pages
heretic6
post Apr 30 2007, 03:57 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Blizz-imperialx @ Apr 30 2007, 02:47 PM)
huh, late come, V5 already =.= never have time to keep update.

Btw, any GundamW fans here? I'm looking for the whole set of HG model for EW. Where can get it har?
1/144 of 1/100? 1/100 wanna get the whole set quite hard =| 1/144 got source la =)

Lurker
post Apr 30 2007, 05:36 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

i seen some videos on youtube, seems like zippo lighter fluid is good for cleaning up botched panel lining jobs!
heretic6
post Apr 30 2007, 07:18 PM

192 posts

lighter fluid? o_O just make sure you dont 'weather' your kit instead lol

122 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1407sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:20 AM