Data analyst masuk
TSseiferalmercy
Dec 11 2019, 10:33 AM, updated 7y ago

My nephew spm this year, next year he will enrol into university, and he says he wanted to go into data analytics.
My questions to /k analysts;
How difficult it is for a layman to start learning by himself and jump into data analytics field ?
How difficult is your job ?
bukechi
Dec 11 2019, 10:37 AM
at first is ok.. over time.. the task getting bigger.. longer working timer... stress goes thru the roof... but since still young.. go for it... but why settle for such job.. even supervisor nowadays got high.. last time my friend after spm straight work.. from bottom going up climbing the corporate ladder .. now can smile.. although supervisor only
TSseiferalmercy
Dec 11 2019, 10:38 AM

QUOTE(bukechi @ Dec 11 2019, 10:37 AM) at first is ok.. over time.. the task getting bigger.. longer working timer... stress goes thru the roof... but since still young.. go for it... but why settle for such job.. even supervisor nowadays got high.. last time my friend after spm straight work.. from bottom going up climbing the corporate ladder .. now can smile.. although supervisor only  hngggh
SUSSKY233
Dec 11 2019, 10:40 AM
bawak lorry shell jer la higher salary oh wai
ToddStarz
Dec 11 2019, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(bukechi @ Dec 11 2019, 10:37 AM) at first is ok.. over time.. the task getting bigger.. longer working timer... stress goes thru the roof... but since still young.. go for it... but why settle for such job.. even supervisor nowadays got high.. last time my friend after spm straight work.. from bottom going up climbing the corporate ladder .. now can smile.. although supervisor only  drilling supervisor is not a corporate job
pipedream
Dec 11 2019, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(seiferalmercy @ Dec 11 2019, 11:33 AM) My nephew spm this year, next year he will enrol into university, and he says he wanted to go into data analytics. My questions to /k analysts; How difficult it is for a layman to start learning by himself and jump into data analytics field ? How difficult is your job ? not hard must have passion to learn about statistics and programming but in malaysia, company just source you to help them clean up data kek
ichigo_6091
Dec 11 2019, 10:50 AM
my friend tell me learning curve peak after 1.5 years then after that nothing heavy to learn, just prepare powerpoint and rinse and repeat. basically, its just identifying trends and occasionally come up with financial model and at the same time learning to automate your own task. but good pay tho for now, can go for it, however maybe in 5-6 years become saturated dy and then become stagnant like engineering field. demand shifts very fast nowadays compared to the 80's and 90's, whats cool now may not be cool within 5 years, you never know.
longinusshortleg
Dec 11 2019, 10:55 AM

don't be a manager with 3k salary
SUSFreeloader
Dec 11 2019, 11:06 AM

Dec 11 2019, 11:09 AM This post has been deleted by seiferalmercy because: del
Blofeld
Dec 11 2019, 11:12 AM
bukan u belajar Master in International Relations?
y suddenly into data analytics?
Black Sofa
Dec 11 2019, 11:19 AM
good luck. in less than 10 years all of these tasks will be replaced by ai.
TSseiferalmercy
Dec 11 2019, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Dec 11 2019, 11:12 AM) bukan u belajar Master in International Relations? y suddenly into data analytics? for my nephew
Patent
Dec 11 2019, 11:20 AM
Just need to know and be good at statistic... As for the tools python and excel would do
ZeaXG
Dec 11 2019, 11:23 AM
Study apa apa je la, in the end do sales
JessicaAlba
Dec 11 2019, 11:30 AM

So when dapat PR?
Quantum Geist
Dec 11 2019, 11:31 AM

easy to learn the core concept, takes years to master kind of thing. Because some things you need to make a mistake first to know what works and what doesn't
sasuketaichou
Dec 11 2019, 11:38 AM

go to jobstreet and see every jobscope available for the title
im afraid it just data entry with fancy title
but, if its the legit one, it could be fun and stressful at the same time,
fun because u love it, this is what u study during uni, u are able to explore (assuming its rnd sector)
stressful because u need to explain it to your boss, which doesnt accept anything but a success result in a short period of time