I hope i wont do this nonsense works. wahh your allowance so low. is all internship companies like that? anyone can tech me how to post video? i see youtube button up there.
First click the YouTube button.
Then copy and paste the video link (only the characters after the equal sign =).
I did my internship with one of the "IT Consulting" firm in Subang.
My monthly allowance is RM300, no other benefit.
During the first day of my internship, my "supervisor" told me "I find it hard to assign any task to you.". I ended up being the guy that answer phone call, go to the bank on behalf of the boss, send printer to repair, helping the sales team hack into some software.
You guys that do the internship but not assign to the correct task can report to your university la, previously when I was an intern at a local company, in the JD basically mention IT work but during internship they give list of no. to call an get the caller to basically buy the company product. I just tahan 1 day report to my University, that company is ban from taking any of my university intern.
Yes, I've heard of uni ban company, but company ban uni?
Well, for an intern who has to do daily reporting, this is a nightmare to have. My friend macam okay jer, company let her go explore with trips and team building
For this guy, he did 7 months of internship, since he's from UTP.
Everyday he did nothing, despite asking his supervisor for work, which none was given.
So in his internship report he faked as much as possible by reading books, and watching YouTube videos.
His university supervisor came to visit and just played along with the charade.
He was glad to get out of the hellhole after 7 months of doing nothing.
Later he did his Master's, and realising that he has nothing to show for his education save for a meaningless piece of paper, decided to join us as intern and take part in real engineering activities.
Wahh sir, from your callsign you must be an uncle here. sorry for being blunt. Sorry there. but thx for sharing your interesting story. i hope i get to join a really really interesting company (must be professional non-chinaman type) and lean and take part in company projects and operations. i don;t get to learn much in classroom, and its getting a bit boring, especially me being an outdoor kinda gal. And many times my classes get cancelled or shorted for no reason.
I hope during internship I don;t get to sit down and do nothing. I don't want to fake my report. I want to go out and see the industry like real engineers do (my father put a lot of hope in me). i hope i can visit those huge power plants or huge buildings under construction. sometimes i watch youtube videos on how they build something, very interesting.
can you advise me what is the proper company I should take? I'm thinking of envitech engineeirng but i hope it wont be too tough. OK thx bye!!
LOL, it's ok, no worries, plenty of forummers here call me uncle. Cuz indeed I am one. Pure and simple.
Sighhhh... Chinaman, no Chinaman... That word has been bandied about quite frequently here. There's even a dedicated thread on that subject. Look it up. Basically if you fit in into the work culture of the company, then it's not a Chinaman company.
But if you cannot fit in into the culture, then you will always label that company a Chinaman. That's just my take on this. Many people work in large MNCs (that's Multi National Companies, like Intel, Google etc.) but sometimes unhappiness occur and even that MNC gets labelled as Chinaman.
If you want to join Top glove, go ahead and just apply. They pay a great allowance, that's for sure. But if you're gunning for the other company, just apply to their email. No need to call them up. And please my dear, don't worry about the allowance and benefits as long as you get the skills and professional training you want.
Hi, whew I havent been back for a while. Hi TS (That's you the Thread Starter. geddit?). You're in luck today.
I'm former intern for Envitech Engineering some time back, I think one of my toughest but also bestest time ever. To sum it out my company provides the best training anyone can offer. During my time i did 13 projects worth RM 230k, though I missed out on an ever bigger project. Its different from all of the ordinary run of the mill internship youve ever heard of. First off the company really REALLY 100% utilise you like a full time project engineer. you are expected to handle all the projects that comes in. In short I design, execute, manage, test and commission all the projects. The value of the projects range from a 1k to hundreds of k.
You are expected to go to various jobsites (I went from Penang to Melaka to Kemaman) so you need own car, though you can occassionally drive the company car with permission. The jobsites are like cement plants, chemical, manufacturing, car plants, food, basically you name it I've visited it. You report direct to the boss, who is a competent person, very knowledgable, but strict but also fair. He's ok guy, though I kena kaw kaw lecture from him once. Learned a lesson there. In addition you have to do sales. I myself got almost RM30k worth of sales (with my boss help - thanks boss!), which i have to execute myself. As part of the internship I deal direct with customers, suppliers and contractors and i make many important decisions myself.
Yes its true they ban certain unis. That time they banned UTP, though I donno they ban any other uni. Not clear of the reasons. Allowance nothing to shout about but the experience more than make up for it. you can claim for all kinds of expenses, mileage, toll, even the occassional entertainment for client or contractor. Best of all, boss occassionally treats us for lunch and sometimes dinner.
This is their youtube ad:
Most importantly, be positive and you can survive the internship with great achievements. About 40% of the interns cannot finish becasue they drop out. Also the company gives reference letter after you finish. I used mine to apply my dream job. My interviewer didn't even want to see or keep my degree.
All the best TS.
Wow, Looks like you found and completed a great internship. Congratulations!! Where/what are you working now?
im lucky my intern company really let me do a-z, i even go on behalf of them on pitching session and get few project as well
my course mate on the other hand got abused at work, they ask him to do things unrelated to the course such as stocking ink, moving and delivering things to client, repair printer (we are designer ), also got name calling etc
he lasted 1week+, after negotiation adn talking doesnt seems to change anything, he punched the boss, quit company and repeat his internship next sem.
he's sending a clear message, i respect that dude
He punched his boss???? Wahhh, hati sangat panas. Was he arrested by police for assault? So whats so hard about doing the job in the company he joined? Doesn't sound difficult.
This post has been edited by ipohmali70: Dec 9 2019, 12:17 PM
im lucky my intern company really let me do a-z, i even go on behalf of them on pitching session and get few project as well
my course mate on the other hand got abused at work, they ask him to do things unrelated to the course such as stocking ink, moving and delivering things to client, repair printer (we are designer ), also got name calling etc
he lasted 1week+, after negotiation adn talking doesnt seems to change anything, he punched the boss, quit company and repeat his internship next sem.
he's sending a clear message, i respect that dude
Stocking, moving and delivering, repair printer etc are all legitimate internship tasks. I'm sure he wasn't asked to clean the toilet of boss house or babysit his children. That would be inappropriate.
I think the uni really have to apologize to the company for their students rash act. If he had punched me, I would have certainly lodged a police report for his hamster behavior.