Hi, im taking degree chemical engineering. going for internship soon. I have applied to top glove, panasonic, and envitech engineering. anyone can tell me what i can learnt during internship at these places? so far no reply except for top glove. envitech engineering any good? i saw their youtube video looks tough but interesting but i dunno can tahan their kind of internship. summore they ban certain unis. how much allowance do they pay? any benefits? ok thx.
thank you for all the replies. envitech engineering looks good but anyone has undergone their internship? I heard top gloves pay well but the job sucks. thats wat my seniors say. i want to post the youtube video but still trying to figure out cuz newbie here.
I did my internship with one of the "IT Consulting" firm in Subang.
My monthly allowance is RM300, no other benefit.
During the first day of my internship, my "supervisor" told me "I find it hard to assign any task to you.". I ended up being the guy that answer phone call, go to the bank on behalf of the boss, send printer to repair, helping the sales team hack into some software.
I hope i wont do this nonsense works. wahh your allowance so low. is all internship companies like that? anyone can tech me how to post video? i see youtube button up there.
Did Internship @ Top Glove @ Setia Alam factory as Chem Eng. student too several years ago. To sum things up there, it's a relatively tough internship environment - it's very Chinaman so expect strict workplace rules.
1. Cannot be late at all - they use thumbprint system to mark attendance. Potong salary if late 2. Working environment - expect to sweat a lot, smell chemicals (some can sting your eyes/nose) every now and then, be in close proximity to moving machines, etc. 3. Parking/Food - Can park near factory area, eating either drive outside (but must come back on time), or eat at canteen 4. Have to work alternate Saturdays (forgot time, but i think half day)
tl;dr - think of it positively and you can learn lots. It's really just another working experience to show you a very Chinaman cultured manufacturing working environment
Can't remember much but feel free to ask if you got any other questions.
Hi thx for d replies. For top glove this looks scary, and i heard some bad stories about them. And especially being chinaman company with no system Im also sked. My fren last time interns in top glove. Very good allowance but most of the time stuck in lab doing the same thing over and over again. when finish nothing to do, just sit down in the production office but must at least pretend to do somthing, like thinking how to cut cost or sumthing. hartalega i heard oso but is too far for me so not consider.
My choice is envitech engineering but anyone know they pay how much for allowance? Boss strict onot? izit chinaman like top glove? their video looks interesting, it seems the interns handles many many engineering projects which might be good for my future. looks happening and very adventurous. but in their video they say they ban certain certain uni, then i check my fren brother is in UCSI (another is UTP), He and his frens all also got banned from this company. Anyone know why? Quite worried cuz internship coming up soon.
Hi, whew I havent been back for a while. Hi TS (That's you the Thread Starter. geddit?). You're in luck today.
I'm former intern for Envitech Engineering some time back, I think one of my toughest but also bestest time ever. To sum it out my company provides the best training anyone can offer. During my time i did 13 projects worth RM 230k, though I missed out on an ever bigger project. Its different from all of the ordinary run of the mill internship youve ever heard of. First off the company really REALLY 100% utilise you like a full time project engineer. you are expected to handle all the projects that comes in. In short I design, execute, manage, test and commission all the projects. The value of the projects range from a 1k to hundreds of k.
You are expected to go to various jobsites (I went from Penang to Melaka to Kemaman) so you need own car, though you can occassionally drive the company car with permission. The jobsites are like cement plants, chemical, manufacturing, car plants, food, basically you name it I've visited it. You report direct to the boss, who is a competent person, very knowledgable, but strict but also fair. He's ok guy, though I kena kaw kaw lecture from him once. Learned a lesson there. In addition you have to do sales. I myself got almost RM30k worth of sales (with my boss help - thanks boss!), which i have to execute myself. As part of the internship I deal direct with customers, suppliers and contractors and i make many important decisions myself.
Yes its true they ban certain unis. That time they banned UTP, though I donno they ban any other uni. Not clear of the reasons. Allowance nothing to shout about but the experience more than make up for it. you can claim for all kinds of expenses, mileage, toll, even the occassional entertainment for client or contractor. Best of all, boss occassionally treats us for lunch and sometimes dinner.
This is their youtube ad:
Most importantly, be positive and you can survive the internship with great achievements. About 40% of the interns cannot finish becasue they drop out. Also the company gives reference letter after you finish. I used mine to apply my dream job. My interviewer didn't even want to see or keep my degree.
All the best TS.
wow!!!! you really intern in envitech engineering? thx for the interesting info. yes!!! that is the vidoe im talking about though i dunno how to post it, or at least not yet. i'm quite interested in this. how to apply? like just write to their email? Will they repply? or do i call up and ask for interview? (a bit sked here cuz never did this before) i see in the video oso got girls. izit dangerous for girls? if we go outstation like to melaka or penang do we go alone or got other girls to accompany us? where do we stay? but you say we have to be 100% like project engineer? how? Like I don't even know how to change any electrical light thingy. they provide training? just how do you do 13 projects worth rm 230k? serious??? because what i ve heared so far is interns do only things like photostat and fetch coffee, or some simple paperwork, like typing. how do you deal with customers suppliers and contractors???? Eeee... I've never done this before. I don't knoe how to talk to people, even in class I hardly talk to my teacher.
can you tell why they ban ucsi and utp? any reason? surely you must know. seems strange. but that makes it even more appealing, like the forbidden fruit.
and last last - what is the allowance? any other benefits? OK bye thx.
For this guy, he did 7 months of internship, since he's from UTP.
Everyday he did nothing, despite asking his supervisor for work, which none was given.
So in his internship report he faked as much as possible by reading books, and watching YouTube videos.
His university supervisor came to visit and just played along with the charade.
He was glad to get out of the hellhole after 7 months of doing nothing.
Later he did his Master's, and realising that he has nothing to show for his education save for a meaningless piece of paper, decided to join us as intern and take part in real engineering activities.
Wahh sir, from your callsign you must be an uncle here. sorry for being blunt. Sorry there. but thx for sharing your interesting story. i hope i get to join a really really interesting company (must be professional non-chinaman type) and lean and take part in company projects and operations. i don;t get to learn much in classroom, and its getting a bit boring, especially me being an outdoor kinda gal. And many times my classes get cancelled or shorted for no reason.
I hope during internship I don;t get to sit down and do nothing. I don't want to fake my report. I want to go out and see the industry like real engineers do (my father put a lot of hope in me). i hope i can visit those huge power plants or huge buildings under construction. sometimes i watch youtube videos on how they build something, very interesting.
can you advise me what is the proper company I should take? I'm thinking of envitech engineeirng but i hope it wont be too tough. OK thx bye!!
Wowww, just woww. Intern punch boss. First time I heard. I guess he failed to control his emotions. He can be reported and go to jail for assault.
So TS DoraExplorer, if things get heated up, don't punch your boss, ya. Keep cool ok?
sorry havent been back for a while. Thx for all the replies. hahaha, don't worry uncle, I don't punch people, much less my boss. im too timid for dat. i read all the replies. its so interesting. one asked me to be a sponge. im ok wit dat. im quite "spongy".... haha.
I am current pursuing ME, i applied internship to few company just last 2 weeks..usualy processing time for intership? Any good compny that i can try apply more?
hi im considering panasonic and envitech engineering. panasonic i actually not sure cuz have to start really early like 7 or 7.30 or so and im not exactly an early riser. but if allowance/benefits good i can consider.
Have you applied to any companies yet? top glove i have applied and they called me for interview, but after hearing this i decided to give it a miss. i know envitech engineering can accept chem students but not sure about mech students. also if you're from utp or ucsi, dont apply cuz they oredi banned them sometime ago. and until now nobody can say why they ban these uni. izit something wrong the students did?
Also i found out that you have to sit for engineering test before interview, anyone know whats the test all about. sked if its about technical stuff i'm kinda lost. Any tips on how to get into envitech engineering???
As some other forumers suggested, just "be a sponge" and absorb everything that is thrown at you. Just always aim to make the best out of your existing situation and you'll thrive no matter where you do your internship.
That said, if your heart desires Envitech then by all means go for it regardless of the allowance. You'll thank yourself for it
Thank you so much silentz. well i don't have much choice and i don't want to sit down and do nothing during my internship. a friend of mine suggested a company in shah alam called turcomp but i hear also sit down and do nothing type, so far the nearest that fits my requirements is envitech engineering so trying and hoping for the best. it would be good if they pay allowance but meh, somehow i think allowance is not so important now. i think skills and experience is more important. anyway thx bye!
Hi! Yup I did. Best times of my life. I never thought possible that I'd be doing huge projects. In fact it makes my uni fyp look like a kindergarten kid's colouring project. Here I was doing design works, testing of engineering systems, erection of chimneys and pollution control systems. I also did electrical and automation work. Had to work with many contractors. Last time I just applied through their email but it helps also if you call their office. They replied within a week or so and i got called up for interview. Passed my test and joined. First week is orientation where we learn basic stuff like metric/imperial conversions. Had to memorize a lot of facts. Yeah our internship got girls but not many. Mostly dudes. My partner absconded one week into his internship. Dunno why. Training is mostly self study. For example I had to install ph meters and sensors. So I had to study the installation manual and figure out stuff, then install and calibrate the system. All this I did myslef with some help from the contractor.
In at least 3 of my projects I had to stay outstation in Penang, Muar and Kemaman. The Muar job I stayed in melaka due some reason. The Kemaman job I stayed in Cukai. Yes there's a town called Cukai. Its in Trengganu. Total I did 13 jobs all in. Yes the internship 101% like a full engineer. I was busy every single day. Dealing with customers and contractors is pretty challenging. You gotta give them plenty of respect cuz its all business. But all this experience did me a lot of good in my current job.
No idea why they ban utp and ucsi. Maybe because many of their students committed misconduct or stealing or something, I think. I believe boss did complain to the unis but no action was taken. That time i was paid an allowance but i dont think its a good idea to post it here. besides you go for internship to learn and to proof yourself that you can fit into industry, not to earn money right? Tks and all the best!!!!!!!!!
Hi lostmypoasword! wow you did so many projects. but im sure they do teach u something rite? Most ive heard so far is doing paperwork or filing. I oredi applied but no answer yet. anyone know when the company will reply? do they straitaway give offer letter? its been 2 weeks.. hmmm...
doratheexplorar should explore your own way in this world. dont limit yourself only to chemical engineering. trust me, once you get into the workforce, you wouldnt mind doing anything as long as it is related to engineering. you cant be picky in this. unless you are super talented
Well.... im taking chem engineering. if I dont intern in engineering what else can i do? its not dat i can go do promoter job or wat. besides i oredi done dat. while the money is good but sometimes it can be super boring - just standing there all day.