Paint crack

SUSjudehow
post Dec 1 2019, 09:40 AM, updated 5y ago

4,118 posts

Respray or use correct pen to slove the crack on the paint? Should the onwer just re spray that particular area only?

Survey check rm 1,700 for respray whole body at least 8 days to complete

SUS2feidei
post Dec 1 2019, 10:04 AM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

first picture - can polish
second picture - minor scratch can polish, the major scratch, very hard to polish
third picture - look like kemek liou. Kena ketuk balik. Polish back the paint jer
fourth picture - look like kemek liou. Kena ketuk balik. Coating look like out liou, or maybe just dirt.

U mean respray whole car? RM1,800? Ok lah, but, depends on quality. But, if need 8 days, conlanfirm the fella tarak oven one, got to wait outside dry. No good.
Vervain
post Dec 1 2019, 10:09 AM

Scathach
5,458 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Dec 1 2019, 10:04 AM)
second picture - minor scratch can polish, the major scratch, very hard to polish
third picture - look like kemek liou. Kena ketuk balik. Polish back the paint jer
fourth picture - look like kemek liou. Kena ketuk balik. Coating look like out liou, or maybe just dirt.

U mean respray whole car? RM1,800? Ok lah, but, depends on quality. But, if need 8 days, conlanfirm the fella tarak oven one, got to wait outside dry. No good.
8 days at the current weather sounds right. They need to sand, putty, sand then prime then paint, then clear coat etc, then polish. Plus need to remove all the trim so it's quite some work.
SUSjudehow
post Dec 1 2019, 11:07 AM

4,118 posts

Yes 1,800 spray whole car
Pugbunny
post Dec 1 2019, 12:48 PM

664 posts

Kon's E39 repainting was using non-oven method. Finishing not bad but it took more than 2 weeks. But the cost is definitely more than rm1800 job. So u get what u paid for.

TS don't forget to ask the brand of the paint they are using, how many layers, any lacquer is being applied,

netmatrix
post Dec 1 2019, 07:17 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

Those damage looks like from prior repair. If the car is more than 10 years old with collision repair history, then whole repaint is recommended.
kurangak
post Dec 1 2019, 07:25 PM

certified /k addict
1,154 posts

prolly 8 days including body touch up? laugh.gif
SUSjudehow
post Dec 2 2019, 01:23 AM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Dec 1 2019, 07:17 PM)
Those damage looks like from prior repair. If the car is more than 10 years old with collision repair history, then whole repaint is recommended.
I have survery and other shop cost rm 1500. Should i survery more? Fpr respray
SUSjudehow
post Dec 2 2019, 03:07 AM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Dec 1 2019, 07:17 PM)
Thinking to buy this and respray instead spending thousands ringgit, what do you think?

SUSjudehow
post Dec 2 2019, 03:18 AM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Dec 1 2019, 12:48 PM)
Kon's E39 repainting was using non-oven method. Finishing not bad but it took more than 2 weeks. But the cost is definitely more than rm1800 job. So u get what u paid for.

TS don't forget to ask the brand of the paint they are using, how many layers, any lacquer is being applied,

Is using nippon, i have forgotten how many layer they say, normally how many layer?
Deja Vu
post Dec 2 2019, 08:22 AM

1,851 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Dec 2 2019, 03:07 AM)
Thinking to buy this and respray  instead spending thousands ringgit, what do you think?
TS,
From pic #1, #2 and #4, the longer crack suggests that the whole area underneath might probably have a gap, probably due to the putty from previous paint job separating from the steel. The hairline flaking and cracks indicates poor workmanship of the previous paint job. All will need to be removed and sanded down before it can be reapplied with putty (if needed) and paint.

Painting directly over them will only help visually, but there is high chance that rust is already forming beneath the longer cracks which will only get worse.
lsm1991
post Dec 2 2019, 09:56 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Dec 2 2019, 08:22 AM)
TS,
From pic #1, #2 and #4, the longer crack suggests that the whole area underneath might probably have a gap, probably due to the putty from previous paint job separating from the steel. The hairline flaking and cracks indicates poor workmanship of the previous paint job. All will need to be removed and sanded down before it can be reapplied with putty (if needed) and paint.

Painting directly over them will only help visually, but there is high chance that rust is already forming beneath the longer cracks which will only get worse.
kek spraying over helps aesthetically? thers a 0% chance this happens.

Whats going to happen is
- multiple coloured panels
- the crack lines are still gona be visible
- mr jude... i have 0 confidence he ends up with no overspray
- peel after a while, mark my words

tldr judehow just leave it alone or respray (+ fix all the ketuks) in one go
lsm1991
post Dec 2 2019, 09:57 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Dec 1 2019, 12:48 PM)

this one is a very mahal job... but you get what you pay for... iirc it was 4.5 or 5.5k for LUAR shj which is pretty hefty
Deja Vu
post Dec 2 2019, 10:07 AM

1,851 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Dec 2 2019, 09:56 AM)
kek spraying over helps aesthetically? thers a 0% chance this happens.

Whats going to happen is
- multiple coloured panels
- the crack lines are still gona be visible
- mr jude... i have 0 confidence he ends up with no overspray
- peel after a while, mark my words

tldr judehow just leave it alone or respray (+ fix all the ketuks) in one go
'Aesthetically' for this type of touch-up means its not perfect but from 3m-5m away with some polishing on the surrounding area, many would already accept it for the effort and $$ put in.
Eternalgl0ry
post Dec 2 2019, 10:17 AM

447 posts

just send to touchup workshop.

Dont diy.
SUSjudehow
post Dec 2 2019, 10:34 AM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Dec 2 2019, 10:17 AM)
just send to touchup workshop.

Dont diy.
How much 🤔
Eternalgl0ry
post Dec 2 2019, 10:55 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Dec 2 2019, 10:34 AM)
How much 🤔
Just go to a famous workshop in your area and ask for details. My dad's old pajero used to have this
He also thought that the price will be over a thousand but went to a paint specialist and inspect got cheaper than he expected
voscar
post Dec 2 2019, 12:12 PM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Dec 2 2019, 10:34 AM)
How much 🤔
what is your car? if want real cheap can ask for cat layang +-RM1k without ketuk ketuk job which used car dealer uses. but afraid cannot lasts more than 1 year.
i just did mine also, now will DIY do polishing and waxing, hopefully can lasts longer a bit...
Pugbunny
post Dec 2 2019, 12:58 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(judehow @ Dec 2 2019, 03:18 AM)
Is using nippon, i have forgotten how many layer they say, normally how many layer?
http://kensomuse.com/blog/2016/05/09/car-p...s-of-the-trade/
SUSjudehow
post Dec 2 2019, 02:05 PM

4,118 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Dec 2 2019, 10:55 AM)
Just go to a famous workshop in your area and ask for details. My dad's old pajero used to have this
He also thought that the price will be over a thousand but went to a paint specialist and inspect got cheaper than he expected
Will try, hope they will help me out although is small job no budget respray all actually

0.0252sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:35 PM