iPod [WTA] Itunes Gift Certificate, Buy from Itunes Store, want feedback

TSdawn152
post Jul 12 2007, 06:01 PM, updated 19y ago

419 posts

Hi to all,

I just wanted to ask if anyone has ever bought anything off the iTunes store or wanting to. Currently, the best contents come from U.S itunes store but there's no way for a person to buy something from them without a U.S credit card. The workaround that is you could buy an itunes gift certificate + creating a U.S location itunes account. I've tried it and it works great, I can download new episodes of my tv shows (legally) as soon as it comes out. Sometimes they come out a day before the actual release on U.S tv. Not to mention the music library...so excited to fill my ipod. And with itunes now offering DRM-free music, even non-ipod users can enjoy the benefits.

So, my question is anyone interested in purchasing an itunes gift certificate? i've noticed no one sells them here at lowyat, and I thought of doing it as a service to all Mac lovers + others. I hope to get your feedbacks, and if the responses are good, I might start selling.

Thanks....and any input/opinions are also welcomed. biggrin.gif
wei
post Jul 12 2007, 06:09 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

If you can offer better deal from Ebay, why not?
civic98
post Jul 12 2007, 07:08 PM

1,255 posts

Yea.. I'll want it too if you can offer a cheaper price..
kwekeugene
post Jul 12 2007, 07:34 PM

1,479 posts

I think it would be only fair for to ask for a price similar of that on eBay.

Providing the service would be much appreciated, since that transaction would be much faster if done locally. But personally I wold not be buying any Gift Certs anytime soon because:-

(a) I'm a cheapskate (BT is free)
(b) Tmnet blocks iTunes, sometimes it's hard to connect to the store.

I think it would make a great gift for family and friends though....
civic98
post Jul 12 2007, 08:01 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jul 12 2007, 07:34 PM)
I think it would be only fair for to ask for a price similar of that on eBay.

Providing the service would be much appreciated, since that transaction would be much faster if done locally. But personally I wold not be buying any Gift Certs anytime soon because:-

(b) Tmnet blocks iTunes, sometimes it's hard to connect to the store.

I think it would make a great gift for family and friends though....
I think your first reason overrides all other reasons you have, Tmnet also blocks and limits BT but still.. tongue.gif

Haha just kidding, anyway I sometimes have problems with iTunes Store as well, but i realized the cause some time back, sometimes it just wont connect or download when i have my BT running / downloading. It seems like there're some conflict. Maybe you could try it out, without any BT running, see if its easier to connect to iTunes Store.
TSdawn152
post Jul 12 2007, 08:19 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jul 12 2007, 07:34 PM)

yeah, i think that is the main prob though...not you directly of course, but downloading off bt is the norm for us malaysians...

anyways, i appreciate all of you who have given me your feedbacks...hopefully there's more to come...

p/s: kwekeugene, the saying on your sig is sooo true...i should hang out here less....hehe biggrin.gif
dannytzh
post Jul 12 2007, 09:54 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Actually I'm very interested... not only because some of the TV shows cannot be found on BT, the sole reason of not having to convert the dl-ed vids into M4V format for my iPod is good enough for me to put in that small amount for my favourite shows.

Put in more details if you would, and if the deal's a good one I shall consider it.
thumbup.gif
tishaban
post Jul 12 2007, 11:42 PM

3,615 posts

dawn152 if you're offering your services, the demand is there. I used to do it and the easiest is the email cert for close friends or printed certs for first timers or people you don't know. Didn't make any money since I was only out to promote legal downloads biggrin.gif but I ended up knowing a lot of people.

Good job and good luck.

aaronchin
post Jul 13 2007, 01:31 AM

251 posts

I've been buying music/music videos from the Australian store for quite some time now, definitely wouldn't mind switching to the US store since they always have the latest! smile.gif

zaakath
post Jul 13 2007, 12:18 PM

654 posts

Wouldn't mind, using the Aussie store right now and its quiet limited compared to the US and UK stores
tnsai
post Jul 15 2007, 06:23 PM

1,418 posts

same here.. would like to acquire gift certs also...

i've gotten em before whilst working in US.. but now no access to it...

only problem is that in Malaysia, the speed is awfully slow.. with or without vpn the access to itunes is horrible...

The only time i get high speed is via my office's leased line connection
carlsuen
post Jul 16 2007, 03:20 PM

838 posts

right so how much does the gift cert? and how does it work? is it like prepaid or what? i'd be interested if it is cheap..
SUSMinority116
post Jul 17 2007, 01:15 AM

145 posts

if u guys want to buy an itunes gift cards try P.M this forumers

lowyat ID:
trivial_psyche - Australian Card
tishaban - U.S Card
kosea01
post Jul 17 2007, 01:37 AM

97 posts

You bought from them b4?
miniacs
post Jul 17 2007, 09:28 AM

386 posts

i bought from tishaban twice before, great seller... actually excellent seller.. very easy to deal with him.
lailaikatong
post Jul 17 2007, 10:13 AM

601 posts

i think it's the perfect time for you to start selling the US itunes gift certs... Against the Ringgit, the US dollar is quite weak right now, which makes it a lot cheaper to buy songs from their store... It's now super pricey to buy from the Australian store coz of the strong AUD...

US - $0.99 = RM3.40
AU - $1.69 = RM5.07

Not to mention there's a wider choice of songs, movies and videos on the US store... So yeah, I'm sure there's plenty of ppl who'd buy if u start selling...
TSdawn152
post Jul 18 2007, 01:47 AM

419 posts

hmm.. idk there's someone selling...considering the number of people actually buying, i think one person is enough to handle it all...so i guess i might not be selling...thanks to everyone for ur inputs though...
UnUsUaL
post Jul 18 2007, 10:56 PM

ah jek
2,064 posts

Survey done and thread closed.

0.0190sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:06 AM