[wta] UPS 650VA unable to supply power to PSU 650W, UPS PSU power

TSadala
post Nov 26 2019, 10:25 PM, updated 5y ago

17 posts

APC BV650I -- ThermalTake 650W 80PLUS GOLD

I have these.
When there was a power interruption, the UPS was not able to supply the power, and the PC power got cut off.

- No other devices connected to the UPS.
- Tested UPS with a monitor. Monitor still powered during power cut off.
- Energy meter reports 120W at maximum drawn by the PC.

Would 1000VA or 14000VA solve this?

Any advice?
Thank you.
chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2019, 10:29 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

QUOTE(adala @ Nov 26 2019, 10:25 PM)
APC BV650I  -- ThermalTake 650W 80PLUS GOLD

I have these.
When there was a power interruption, the UPS was not able to supply the power, and the PC power got cut off.

Any advice?
Thank you.
Note: VA is not equal to watts icon_idea.gif

You need to find the power factor to determine its real wattage - usually 0.6

Thus, 650x0.6 = 390W icon_idea.gif

wailam
post Nov 26 2019, 10:53 PM

Apa benda ini?
950 posts

Your UPS new or old? If UPS off when cut off power then its UPS fault leh. Monitor don't draw much energy except for those old CRT monitor. Those have problem with some UPS.
SUS8bitguy
post Nov 27 2019, 11:37 AM

91 posts

I have these.

Any advice?
Thank you.
The spec for your APC is 375Watts. If your draw is only 120W, it should be ok, maybe the APC is spoilt/malfunction. Your monitor should use < 100W. Maybe you try some other equipment like a big TV and see.
gobiomani
post Nov 28 2019, 02:28 PM

466 posts

Maybe your UPS battery is dead and needs to be changed.
imbibug
post Nov 28 2019, 06:18 PM

1,670 posts

https://www.apc.com/shop/hr/en/products/APC...urrentSite=true

The spec for your APC -

Output power capacity
375Watts / 650VA

ozak
post Nov 30 2019, 10:33 AM

16,546 posts

I have these.

Any advice?
Thank you.
Your ups is 375w vs cpu 650w.

Where enough supply?

Ups inverter only capable of of 375w.

Cpu + monitor is more than 650w.
netmatrix
post Nov 30 2019, 06:49 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,491 posts

What is the age of your APC? Usually the battery is the first suspect if the unit is more than 1.5-2 years old.

If the unit is new, then very likely it is faulty. Or it cannot provide the power needed during power failure. Its like you try to power a server using a 600VA UPS. I would always turn off.
TSadala
post Dec 2 2019, 09:58 PM

17 posts

I have these.

Any advice?
Thank you.
Thank you all for you feedback and advice.

Either I have to buy a higher power UPS or change my PSU to a lower power.

My PC is new together with the UPS. Bought in June.

ozak
post Dec 3 2019, 09:06 AM

16,546 posts

QUOTE(adala @ Dec 2 2019, 09:58 PM)
Thank you all for you feedback and advice.

Either I have to buy a higher power UPS or change my PSU to a lower power.

My PC is new together with the UPS. Bought in June.
The supplier didn't calculate and choose the UPS power output properly to suit the PSU.

When buy a UPS, 1st spec need to know is how much power need to backup your device.

Ex- PSU - 650W. Monitor - 120w. Total is 770w. Than add in some allowance for safety. 20-30%.

You need a UPS that can give 770Wx30% = 1000W.

It is not the battery in the UPS that give 1000W. But the inverter that converts DC12v to AC240V in the UPS is capable to run at 1000W.

So your UPS 650VA will shut down for safety if draws more than 375w. If not, the UPS will burn down.

2nd is the battery in the UPS. The battery gives the duration it can backup. The bigger the battery, the longer is can backup.

So to get a UPS, 2 spec need to check.

1) VA - the watt it can output
2) Time - Duration it can backup run at specific watt.
MaUi^
post Dec 6 2019, 10:54 AM

231 posts

his pc do mining or what? all the time need to draw 650w power meh?? psu not all the time pushing 650w la, thats a max power the psu can load, depending on pc load, 650VA is enough for normal usage... haiyoooo....

Purestaff
post Dec 26 2019, 02:59 AM

36 posts

The poster ozak really made it clear but it's not always like that anyway for example. Sometimes even much more worse anyway for many many things. You also may want to buy some very solid brands which will be same for money like buying 0.7 of big power but cheap brand LOL.
yeo1992cc
post Jan 7 2020, 06:10 PM

398 posts

Yes & No.

Equipped 650W PSU doesn't meet your PC will draw 650W.
But do advise get around 850 VA or above for 650W PSU (depending on your usage.)

This post has been edited by yeo1992cc: Jan 7 2020, 06:10 PM

0.0216sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:24 PM