Seiko Watch Thread V6, Seikoholics Unite Kopitiam

waka14
post Jul 12 2022, 11:38 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(maserati @ Jul 12 2022, 09:23 AM)
Cheers bro. Some vertical play is common even on premium brands probably because of the ball bearing/springs or o-ring in the bezel mechanism. What’s off putting is the horizontal backplay that feels mushy. Even similarly priced Squale watches doesn’t feel this mushy.

Gotta say the spb143 has a beautiful dial and fit though. At least the unit I saw had perfectly aligned bezel and dial markings. Still undecided if I’m gonna jump on it.
at this rate, before buying seiko's make sure to test everything that you can while at the shop. both my divers came with QC issues (the 143 had a few), the spb081j1 came with misaligned hands ( they do not lineup at the 12/6 o clock).

The 143 i had came bundled with qc issues, misaligned hands, bezel, oil on seconds hand and pretty rough threading when trying to screw the crown in. Mostly rectified by Thong Sia, but quite disappointing two units back to back having QC issues like this.

Movement on the my 143 runs slow, -1minute every 5 days or so, tried to warranty it, but they adjusted to "within tolerance", I plan to take it to a watchmaker once the warranty runs out to regulate it if possible.

In contrast the previous tissot and hamilton i had came in perfect, while the tudor i had came in with a defect on the crown ( tends to get stuck when trying to unscrew it)

But before buying shop around for the best price (but im okay paying abit more for a perfectly aligned unit tbh, wont loose sleep at night haha). If you are in the cheras area i can recommend you my SA.

my review on the spb143j1:

very classic design with abit of chunky boi syndrome. Extremely legible, took in for my runs before and I had no issues telling the time at the first glance (i didnt have to look for the hands and etc while jogging).

Accuracy is "good Enough". Wears abit top heavy though, the bracelet has male endlinks so the watch wears abit bigger then the 40.5mm suggests ( wears very compact if on a strap). Personally I really like how durable and practical this piece is (smacked it at the MRT's handle bars and somehow not a scratch on it, diashield is applied generously lmao). I eventually managed to dent the one of the bezel's teeth very slightly, mind you i wear this watch at least 3x a week. So far scratches on the bracelet from usage.

Bracelet is decent, but if you are like my who's wrists expands and contracts alot during the day, its gonna hang at the base of your wrists on/off throughout the day. Initially it triggers me alot, these days I have grown to accept that unless its on a strap, its gonna slide as i travel from the outdoors (i walk+mrt to work) and then into the freezing office.

Definitely my current favourite watch and I ordered an Uncle Seiko z199 bracelet....still waiting for that to arrive.

Feel free to ask me anything about this watch.

This post has been edited by waka14: Jul 12 2022, 11:50 AM
waka14
post Jul 12 2022, 11:51 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(trex9999 @ Jul 12 2022, 11:12 AM)
I’m on the fence for either spb213 or spb149
I was in your shoes too man, but i gotta say that the spb213 on a jubilee-style bracelet really racuns for me rclxm9.gif
waka14
post Jul 21 2022, 04:29 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Jul 15 2022, 06:30 PM)
wiii get myself my first seiko 5 from mid valley citychain, they having 20% + 7% off + discount from the sales girl. budget was around 1 to 1.5k end up getting this.

went to the seiko outlet n maybe i wear some low end cloth they dun wan to serve me so js walk away,

btw this my 11 years old seiko, any idea where can i fix this? i been told is not worth to fix.

If you are in Cheras area, try MYTIME leisure mall. Ask them, they can repair tissot chronographs, so i assume they might be able to do seiko too.

Congratulations on your new purchase, a seiko 5 gonna run for many dog years to come and very cheap to service after every decade or so...enjoy!
waka14
post Jul 21 2022, 04:32 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(trex9999 @ Jul 12 2022, 11:12 AM)
I’m on the fence for either spb213 or spb149
QUOTE(maserati @ Jul 13 2022, 10:30 AM)
Great choice. I love jingly jangly jubilee type bracelets
Uncle seiko z199 baru sampai! Still testing, right off the bat, the pressure clasp is really hard to operate (needed to adust the tab using a plier).
End link 1 side does not articulate smoothly ( but when wearing not noticeable as it still can rotate like 60degrees or so before getting stiff.

Pros so far: Wraps around the wrist really well. Comfortable, but you will still feel the weight of the watch head..heavy watch,no way around it.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
waka14
post Jul 22 2022, 08:36 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(trex9999 @ Jul 21 2022, 06:57 PM)
Which is why I’ll go for crafter blue or bonetto straps and keep the bracelets.

I’d have gone for strapcode instead of uncle seiko, but that’s just me.
My first time buying aftermarket bracelets. I did consider strapcode's options. But for this particular model, it's very bling2 jubilee.

But why do you prefer rubber straps vs bracelet though?
waka14
post Mar 28 2023, 11:50 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(underscore_lee @ Mar 27 2023, 09:36 PM)
Hi guys, after trying out physically at a local watch shop, found this model quite nice & fitting as a 40mm:
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.UDf4G

After all the LZD discounts, the price is RM676 now.

Do you guys think this is the best pricing? Should I wait for 4.4 or 6.6?

I checked the physical shop can only offer me RM708 max. Let me know what you guys think!
You cant go that much cheaper sudah..used also last time i saw around 550-600. Considering opportunity cost and etc. Rm676 worth it imo...whack only bro.

If you buying something that cost a few thousand..then i suggest u betul2 careful....i know this because I was in your exact position when i just started out. Then later down the line you realised u spent thousands...xD

kekwa
waka14
post Sep 29 2023, 08:47 AM

493 posts

https://www.ablogtowatch.com/new-release-se...n-dive-watches/

Okay these are cool, i like the dark blue one
waka14
post Jan 2 2024, 06:55 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Isaac.2107 @ Nov 29 2023, 05:07 AM)
Hi guys, any suggestions on where to service an old skx? PJ area preferably. The watch have been speeding up 1 minute an hour
Syarikat wah foong, quite famous too.
Look for Mr Steven

0.0169sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:37 AM