Solo Thailand 1 month roadtrip on Honda Beat, Solo Thailand 1 month roadtrip on Honda

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 08:38 PM, updated 5y ago

694 posts

Completed my Solo Thailand 1 month roadtrip on Honda Beat scooter :

Distance : 7600 km
Petrol (Ron95) : 122 liter (around RM 450)
Hotel (Dorm+Camping) : RM 370
Total spent : around RM 1800

Kuala Lumpur -> Alor Setar -> Koh Lanta -> Surat Thani -> Hua Hin -> Kanchanaburi -> Bangkok -> Pattaya -> Khao Kho -> Chiang Mai -> Chiang Rai -> Phu Chi Fa -> Pai

Chiang Mai -> SukhoThai -> Bangkok -> Hua Hin -> Surat Thani -> Hat Yai -> Kuala Lumpur

1. Encountered 4 roadblocks, 3 accept Malaysia driving license. 1 say must have international license (fine 500 baht)
2. Bring a spare bike & box key in case lost.
3. In Bangkok, some roads / highways are bikes not allowed (fine 1000 baht)
4. Camping site at hills (own-tent = 100 baht, rent-tent = 300 baht)

Pros :
- good fuel consumption
- small, easy for parking

Cons :
- slow bike
- struggle to climb hill

Perlis

Koh Lanta

Surat Thani

Hua Hin

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 08:42 PM

694 posts

Kanchaburi

Bangkok

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 08:47 PM

694 posts

Pattaya

Khao Kho

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 08:52 PM

694 posts

Chiang Mai

Chiang Rai

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 08:55 PM

694 posts

Phu Chi Fa

Pai

SukhoThai

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 09:28 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Nov 22 2019, 09:18 PM)
That's cool bro... Id never be brave enough to venture out alone
Actually I feel riding in Thai road is more safe than in Malaysia. They drive safely and no speeding and good road-manners.

They quite cool care-free about many things. Things like helmet, items on bikes, they don't lock. But here in Malaysia, things will go missing very soon if not locked.

Thai people are famous for friendly, kindness, etc (Land of Smiles). So I never felt any danger / hostility during my whole trip.

I don't speak Thai but they very helpful to help me on many things.

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 09:36 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuioped @ Nov 22 2019, 09:10 PM)
Wow thats amazing. But Honda beat is severely underpower tho. Last year i travelled Surabaya-Malang-Lumajang-Surabaya on Honda Beat with 90kg pillion and it was hell. Butt sore. Haha
You're right, Beat 110cc average speed is about 70-80 kmh and when climb slope, speed will drop to 30kmh biggrin.gif

This is my daily work bike, have to drive slow and relax.

I can't afford a touring bike (and cannot justify because I don't tour often).

But Honda Beat is really fuel-save (60 km/l) and the bike is trouble-free during the whole trip (which I am thankful for).

So win some lose some. icon_rolleyes.gif

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 09:40 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(Zaire.Ver @ Nov 22 2019, 09:36 PM)
ur butt ok bro?
i rode scooter to work only for short while butt already gg
Butt-hurt of course, just need to stop rest more along the trip. Take care of own body physical with exercise, etc.

It is holiday roadtrip, so I just relax and enjoy the view scenery.

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 09:54 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Nov 22 2019, 09:50 PM)
I recall that ASEAN tourists are able to use their homecountry driving license among ASEAN countries.

https://asean.org/?static_post=agreement-on...pur-9-july-1985
Thanks for the info.
TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 10:02 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Nov 22 2019, 09:42 PM)
Great trip on u brah 💪💪

I don't recommend people to drive long-distance using scooter bikes as there are many dangers.

I did it for myself as personal bucket list as I enjoyed biking a lot for the freedom, no jam no find-parking, cheap fuel, etc.

The journey is better than the destination thumbup.gif

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 10:50 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(boyz @ Nov 22 2019, 10:06 PM)
Kudos. It should be an eye opening experience. Would love to hear stories from you.
Roadtrip is usually quite boring especially on a slow-bike like mine.

I find that Thai is very tourism-focused. Along the road got many signboards for tourist attractions like beach, caves, waterfalls, temples, hotspring etc. Wish I had more time to explore more. Also they are maintain the place well, with clean toilets, even for not famous places.

I did not visit any places that need entrance fees (famous tourist attractions). I just visited the free ones which are just as good.

I feel cost of living there is higher than Malaysia. Petrol is expensive (28 baht / liter). Food also expensive.

My favorite is Khao Kho (sunrise camping) and Kanchanaburi (beautiful temple) and Phu Chi Fa (nature camping).

Can skip is Bangkok / Pattaya as too crowded of people/cars/bikes.

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 10:57 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(r3d2 @ Nov 22 2019, 10:37 PM)
How long do you stay in a place?
Some cities like chiang mai / chiang rai I stayed 3-4 nights (Because of Loy Khratong).

SukhoThai / Surat Thani / Hat Yai 1 night as there is not much attractions.

I think 2 nights per city is good enough. First night check-in, following full-day to explore, then check-out continue to next city.

TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 10:58 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 22 2019, 10:26 PM)
y  dowana go mhs to get cert?
what is that?
TSyunalesca
post Nov 22 2019, 11:24 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 22 2019, 11:07 PM)
u could be the 1st msian beat to get??

Oh, the famous 700km Mae Hong Son winding loop. I would love to do it but I only had 1 month of annual leave (have to be back to work).

I went to Pai which is the first stage of mhs.

Maybe next time bruce.gif

TSyunalesca
post Nov 23 2019, 12:01 AM

694 posts

QUOTE(r3d2 @ Nov 22 2019, 11:00 PM)
I admire you, wished I learned how to ride a bike, but my phobia overcomes me.
That's fine, no worries. Just do whatever you are comfortable with. Life is up to ownself to make of it.

My passion is biking, I enjoy the long trip peaceful and calm. But suffer from the rain and hot sun cry.gif

Other people even cycled around the world.

Good luck to you thumbsup.gif

TSyunalesca
post Nov 23 2019, 01:10 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(cowboy_bebop @ Nov 23 2019, 12:31 PM)
Awesome trip you've made!

I saw that jerrycan you carry. Did you ever had to use it on the trip?
Not really. There is a lot of petrol station along the route (the Koh Lanta - Surat Thani route is less).

I carry 2 liter in the can for emergency. I will panic if the bar blinking and cannot find petrol station.

Honda Beat tank is 4 liter only so have to refuel every 180 km (last bar). To load/unload the backpack at the back is quite troublesome so I wait until last bar to refuel.

There is also got standalone petrol kiosk (but I never try)

I once run out of petrol at Tasik Kenyir - Gua Musang route (> 100 km no petrol station). Luckily a Hilux passed by and picked me up (Luckily my bike is small and light and can easily lift and fit into the back notworthy.gif

TSyunalesca
post Dec 8 2019, 10:31 PM

694 posts

QUOTE(piccologist @ Dec 8 2019, 05:03 PM)
Bro, does that top box enough to carry all your camping gear?
My camping gear is in the blue Decathlon bag. It is just a small single person tent. The orange backpack is my clothes. The top box for helmet.

Campsite is need to pay. If own tent = 100 baht. If use their tent = 300 baht. I only camped for two nights but had to carry the tent for whole trip. Maybe better to just use their tent next time. Campsite also comes with lights, charging, toilet. No booking required. Someone is always there.

This rental camp at Phu Chi Fa.

This post has been edited by yunalesca: Dec 8 2019, 10:39 PM

0.0208sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:34 AM