Washer + Dryer Taking 7-8 hrs to complete, Electrolux EWW 12753
TSvinoth
Nov 21 2019, 02:44 PM, updated 7y ago
Hi All,
i'm facing a situation where by my Electrolux EWW 12753 washer + dryer is taking up to 7-8 to complete both the functions. is this even normal?
so i've called up the Electrolux guys and they've mentioned that is normal because this one does not have an air outlet hose.
does any one else experience this? it's really insane to wait this long for one round of clothes.
Thank you.
nkdin_rulez
Nov 21 2019, 02:51 PM
its normal for condenser dryer type washer dryer... the time taken to dry also depends on your load. Washing itself can take up to 2-3 hours. my samsung on full load takes abt 8 hours to wash n dry
TSvinoth
Nov 21 2019, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Nov 21 2019, 02:51 PM) its normal for condenser dryer type washer dryer... the time taken to dry also depends on your load. Washing itself can take up to 2-3 hours. my samsung on full load takes abt 8 hours to wash n dry i see..thanks for the feedback.
man
Nov 21 2019, 03:16 PM

7-8 hours? Thanks TS for sharing this. thinking of buying washer + dryer before this, never thought it would take that long.
TSvinoth
Nov 21 2019, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(man @ Nov 21 2019, 03:16 PM) 7-8 hours? Thanks TS for sharing this. thinking of buying washer + dryer before this, never thought it would take that long. this is my experience also...but u may want to check the ones with air hose outlets...what ever that means
zstan
Nov 21 2019, 03:31 PM
The dryer is quite useless without hot air.
Nov 21 2019, 03:33 PM
mine is separated as i bought washer then now with kids, a dryer.
average 7-8kg wash load - 60 mins average 7-8kg dry - 60 mins , comes with exhaust fan
so far 1st time enjoying doing laundry, only problem will be space wasted, electric bill not sure yet
TSvinoth
Nov 21 2019, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 21 2019, 03:31 PM) The dryer is quite useless without hot air. i see
acbc
Nov 21 2019, 03:36 PM
It would be a lot cheaper to use the dobi service. Max also 1 hour with drying.
TSvinoth
Nov 21 2019, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(812799 @ Nov 21 2019, 03:33 PM) mine is separated as i bought washer then now with kids, a dryer. average 7-8kg wash load - 60 mins average 7-8kg dry - 60 mins , comes with exhaust fan so far 1st time enjoying doing laundry, only problem will be space wasted, electric bill not sure yet interesting...so seems like we should consider buying separate units...
Nov 21 2019, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(vinoth @ Nov 21 2019, 03:37 PM) interesting...so seems like we should consider buying separate units...  so far i'm fine with it, the anti crease also not bad
nkdin_rulez
Nov 21 2019, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(man @ Nov 21 2019, 03:16 PM) 7-8 hours? Thanks TS for sharing this. thinking of buying washer + dryer before this, never thought it would take that long. i think it probably has to do with the inverter technology or something... even though takes that long but not much impact on my electricity bill
nexona88
Nov 21 2019, 09:04 PM
7-8 hours? U go self service dobi Also just take around 1 hours.. ready 👍
But long run.. much more expensive 😒
idoblu
Nov 22 2019, 07:43 AM
I have an Electrolux front load washer and a separate condenser dryer. I didn’t time both operations but definitely not 7-8hrs to complete. Maybe 3hrs altogether.
Peppa_Pig
Nov 22 2019, 10:41 AM

My washer/dryer machine takes 3 hrs plus. Kaodim. This is long enough for me.
7-8 hrs I pity your electricity bill. It’s certainly ridiculous amount of time just to wash a load. Not practical.
dayalan86
Nov 22 2019, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(vinoth @ Nov 21 2019, 02:44 PM) Hi All, i'm facing a situation where by my Electrolux EWW 12753 washer + dryer is taking up to 7-8 to complete both the functions. is this even normal? so i've called up the Electrolux guys and they've mentioned that is normal because this one does not have an air outlet hose. does any one else experience this? it's really insane to wait this long for one round of clothes. Thank you. Washer + dryer usually have different wash load and drying capacity. As in 10kg washer dryer can wash 10kg load but can dry 5kg only. I'm not sure if you are drying a max wash load? 8 hours is super long.
Pucca&Garu
Nov 23 2019, 09:58 AM

Self service laundry only take RM6 for 12kg wash (warmer wash) and RM6 for dryer, a total of RM12 only.
Home Dryer for our country not practical for frenquent use as it running on electricity, the cost will be higher. Unlike other country, dryer is running on gas which is cheaper to use.
glasgowkitchen
Nov 23 2019, 05:03 PM

QUOTE(Peppa_Pig @ Nov 22 2019, 10:41 AM) My washer/dryer machine takes 3 hrs plus. Kaodim. This is long enough for me. 7-8 hrs I pity your electricity bill. It’s certainly ridiculous amount of time just to wash a load. Not practical. May I know your washer/ dryer machine brand and model? Or any recommendations?
TSvinoth
Nov 25 2019, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 22 2019, 07:43 AM) I have an Electrolux front load washer and a separate condenser dryer. I didn’t time both operations but definitely not 7-8hrs to complete. Maybe 3hrs altogether. i see..it does seem separate units should be considered inn advance.
TSvinoth
Nov 25 2019, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(Peppa_Pig @ Nov 22 2019, 10:41 AM) My washer/dryer machine takes 3 hrs plus. Kaodim. This is long enough for me. 7-8 hrs I pity your electricity bill. It’s certainly ridiculous amount of time just to wash a load. Not practical. tell me about it..
TSvinoth
Nov 25 2019, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Nov 22 2019, 07:08 PM) Washer + dryer usually have different wash load and drying capacity. As in 10kg washer dryer can wash 10kg load but can dry 5kg only. I'm not sure if you are drying a max wash load? 8 hours is super long. i'm gonna experiment on the varying loads after this..hopefully to see some improvements.
SSJBen
Nov 27 2019, 04:46 PM
Using Bosch heat pump dryer, takes only about 45mins to dry (most of the time) a 7kg load.
Someone said earlier on the thread that it's not worth using dryer in Malaysia because of electricity... well, that's only the case if you use vented or condenser dryers lol.
Drian
Nov 28 2019, 09:16 PM
You guys should have researched types of dryer
dayalan86
Nov 29 2019, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 27 2019, 04:46 PM) Using Bosch heat pump dryer, takes only about 45mins to dry (most of the time) a 7kg load. Someone said earlier on the thread that it's not worth using dryer in Malaysia because of electricity... well, that's only the case if you use vented or condenser dryers lol. Heat pump dryer initial cost is very much higher, and the discussion is on washer/dryer combi machine. Is your heat pump dryer is a combi machine?
akagidemon
Nov 29 2019, 06:40 AM
QUOTE(Pucca&Garu @ Nov 23 2019, 09:58 AM) Self service laundry only take RM6 for 12kg wash (warmer wash) and RM6 for dryer, a total of RM12 only. Home Dryer for our country not practical for frenquent use as it running on electricity, the cost will be higher. Unlike other country, dryer is running on gas which is cheaper to use. not so.i run a 7kg washer and a seperate 7kg dryer and my house bill didnt fluctuate too much. everyday use since i have 3 kids. 8 hours to settle eveything is too long, my washing cycle max is about 60 minutes depending on water pressure, and dryers is about 60-90 minutes.
SSJBen
Nov 29 2019, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Nov 29 2019, 06:19 AM) Heat pump dryer initial cost is very much higher, and the discussion is on washer/dryer combi machine. Is your heat pump dryer is a combi machine? No, it's a separate heat pump dryer by itself. I don't believe in combination units, they've never ceased to disappoint until today - despite being a 2 decade old concept. The initial cost of a heat pump driver is indeed higher, but "very much" is a stretch. The Series 4 HPD bosch dryer I'm using is only about RM1k more than the condenser version. It's really not that high considering the time that is saved, the fact that you don't have to worry over a million things about the fabric being dried and that over the long run, it's not going to put a dent in the monthly electricity bill. This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 29 2019, 02:46 PM
westlife
Nov 30 2019, 10:53 AM
For front load washer, if you are having full load and you select Cotton as option, it is rather normal to run for 3 hours for complete wash itself. If you choose mixed mode, the time will be around 2 hours. One can even adjust the time to 1/4, 1/2 and 3/4. So technically it has no meaning to compare the washing time alone unless the model of washing machine, washing mode and timer set stay the same.
Same goes to my heat pump Electrolux dryer, it takes about 2 hours to dry a full load. This is again based on cotton mode and maximum dryness selected. Actual time will vary if other options selected.
I am totally satisfied with heat pump dryer. The dryness of the end result is awesome. Dryer is an awesome appliance that one can dry clothes and reuse the clothes in a short time without worrying the weather etc. Comparing to hanging clothes outdoor to dry, it is also cleaner as outdoor air quality is bad with many bad particles.
death_nite
May 19 2020, 11:23 PM
Jusy bought LG washer dryer. It took almost 7 hours to wash and dry a 4.5kg shirt. 😅
Is this even normal? It is a new model FV1450H2B.
hungrygodzilla
May 20 2020, 05:23 PM
Imagine you finish work at 6pm, jam and reach home 7+, eat quick dinner until 8+ then go do laundry, and you are done at ..... 2-3am.
I'll definitely get a normal washer and spend 15min to hang the clothes at 10pm.
pigduck
Apr 5 2023, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ May 20 2020, 05:23 PM) Imagine you finish work at 6pm, jam and reach home 7+, eat quick dinner until 8+ then go do laundry, and you are done at ..... 2-3am. I'll definitely get a normal washer and spend 15min to hang the clothes at 10pm. Or you could put the laundry in when you reach home before you eat dinner. Then it will be done by midnight.
pigduck
Apr 7 2023, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(death_nite @ May 19 2020, 11:23 PM) Jusy bought LG washer dryer. It took almost 7 hours to wash and dry a 4.5kg shirt. 😅 Is this even normal? It is a new model FV1450H2B. Why is the shirt so heavy?
death_nite
Apr 7 2023, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(pigduck @ Apr 7 2023, 11:40 AM) Why is the shirt so heavy? Cos it is alot? Just for the first time washing. After that it just took around 3 hours including drying. Read in manual first time washing it will calibrate the sensor. This post has been edited by death_nite: Apr 7 2023, 12:27 PM
kupronikel83
Apr 14 2023, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(hungrygodzilla @ May 20 2020, 05:23 PM) Imagine you finish work at 6pm, jam and reach home 7+, eat quick dinner until 8+ then go do laundry, and you are done at ..... 2-3am. I'll definitely get a normal washer and spend 15min to hang the clothes at 10pm. tu la pasal... use individual washing machine, took about 1 hour... pindahkan ke dryer = 2 minutes use individual heatpump dryer = 2 hours duration = 3 hours 2 minutes
oranjes
Apr 14 2023, 12:45 PM

what i do is to do the washing/drying at night..so the next morning have fresh clothes liao... same also
Jason
Apr 15 2023, 11:38 PM
I’m using a solar dryer. Usually within 2 hours it will be fully dry, even with thick towels.
Past week sun was so strong, within 1 hour my clothes were all dry. Plus it has UV disinfectant feature.
7 hours is crazy, plus you need to pay so much for electricity.
johnnycp
Apr 18 2023, 12:11 PM
My LG Standalone dryer heatpump type took 2:30hrs to completely dry the clothes
ahbenchai
Oct 9 2023, 05:47 PM
hi guys, can some1 tell me what is the normal drying time for normal load using a standalone dryer?
planning to get one, but i read here some require >5 hrs drying? wow
DragonReine
Oct 9 2023, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Oct 9 2023, 05:47 PM) hi guys, can some1 tell me what is the normal drying time for normal load using a standalone dryer? planning to get one, but i read here some require >5 hrs drying? wow If Condenser type dryer take quite long Vented or heat pump type dryer, can dry around 2-3 hrs full load normal dry cycle. This post has been edited by DragonReine: Oct 9 2023, 09:19 PM
westlife
Oct 9 2023, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Oct 9 2023, 05:47 PM) hi guys, can some1 tell me what is the normal drying time for normal load using a standalone dryer? planning to get one, but i read here some require >5 hrs drying? wow my 9kg dryer (heat pump) type if select level 4 complete dry - it will takes about 2 hours for full load..