Rental issue: water heater repair cost

TSchrisderick88
post Nov 18 2019, 11:28 PM, updated 7y ago

277 posts

I've recently rented a fully furnished apartment. The water heater suddenly not working after 2 months. Who should be the one fixing/paying for the water heater?

Thanks biggrin.gif

edit: non abusive usage lah... wear and tear

This post has been edited by chrisderick88: Nov 18 2019, 11:29 PM
mini orchard
post Nov 19 2019, 06:33 AM

14,511 posts

Inform the landlord and ask him if is within warranty period. If yes, then tell the landlord to ask the supplier to fix it.

If not, then the tenant will have to undertake repair. Wear and tear is tenant's responsibility irrespective of duration but it will be goodwill if landlord undertake to do it since is only 2 months.

Read the TA again. There should be a term inside to state who is responsible. Hope is not those standard TA where is not mentioned.
Noryume
post Nov 19 2019, 07:04 AM

931 posts

For me landlord should bear the cost. Because he rented it as fully furnish. So he should provide the property as fully furnish at all time.
mini orchard
post Nov 19 2019, 07:11 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Nov 19 2019, 07:04 AM)
For me landlord should bear the cost. Because he rented it as fully furnish. So he should provide the property as fully furnish at all time.
Servicing of aircond to provide tenant comfort stay for the duration of the tenancy?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 19 2019, 07:31 AM
Noryume
post Nov 19 2019, 07:42 AM

931 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 19 2019, 07:11 AM)
Servicing of aircond to provide tenant comfort stay for the duration of the tenancy?
If fully furnish, landlord should do it. But anything should be refer to agreement. My logic is I untung la if I lease a property to tenant, as fully furnish, and I put nearly defective unit, so went appliances broken, tenant change it. Is it fair?

If I rent out as non furnish, okla. You use, you broke it, you pay.
This is not for case of miss use la. If landlord have proof then tenant bare the cost.

This post has been edited by Noryume: Nov 19 2019, 07:47 AM
mini orchard
post Nov 19 2019, 07:51 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Nov 19 2019, 07:42 AM)
If fully furnish, landlord should do it. But anything should be refer to agreement. My logic is I untung la if I lease a property to tenant, as fully furnish, and I put nearly defective unit, so went appliances broken, tenant change it. Is it fair?

If I rent out as non furnish, okla. You use, you broke it, you pay.
This is not for case of miss use la. If landlord have proof then tenant bare the cost.
No landlord in the right frame of mind will do that.

Why need to quarrel with tenant over frequent breakdown of appliances?

Not worried tenant dont pay rent? Tenant is 'king' in msia.
TSchrisderick88
post Nov 19 2019, 12:59 PM

277 posts

Haha. My owner agreed to pay at last. But then again that's what I notice. What about air-conditioning? What about lamp? I'm an owner myself of another unit, but I end up servicing everything. Too kind?
mini orchard
post Nov 19 2019, 02:12 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Nov 19 2019, 12:59 PM)
Haha. My owner agreed to pay at last. But then again that's what I notice. What about air-conditioning? What about lamp? I'm an owner myself of another unit, but I end up servicing everything. Too kind?
If you are not aware of your rights as a tenant or landlord, then you will be taken advantage by the other party.

Your agent plays an important role in advising you.

Having said that, no tenant have intention to absued the usage as he will be inconvenient in the even of a failure even though the landlord is responsible for the repair.

In a negotiate contract, all terms are agreed by both party. So lay your terms out till reached settlement.

In the absent of an agreement, is tenant's reponsibilty.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 19 2019, 03:31 PM
Noryume
post Nov 19 2019, 04:20 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(chrisderick88 @ Nov 19 2019, 12:59 PM)
So do I. Tenant have no problem. If any defect in the house, I just ask him to repair first and deduct from the rent.
Noryume
post Nov 19 2019, 04:23 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 19 2019, 07:51 AM)
No landlord in the right frame of mind will do that.

Why need to quarrel with tenant over frequent breakdown of appliances?

Not worried tenant dont pay rent? Tenant is 'king' in msia.
That is why landlord have to repair. Hahahhahaa.
mini orchard
post Nov 19 2019, 04:26 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Noryume @ Nov 19 2019, 04:23 PM)
That is why landlord have to repair. Hahahhahaa.
Not sure you know what you are laughing about. Read again.

But if landlord is willing to do it, why not? Tenant will be happier to have 'good' landlord.

In life, I never fight with money.

I like people who are generous. Always have problems with stingy people. Agreed?

And I dont Hahahhahaa in forum.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Nov 19 2019, 06:10 PM
Noryume
post Nov 19 2019, 08:31 PM

931 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Nov 19 2019, 04:26 PM)
Not sure you know what you are laughing about. Read again.

But if landlord is willing to do it, why not? Tenant will be happier to have 'good' landlord.

In life, I never fight with money.

I like people who are generous. Always have problems with stingy people. Agreed?

And I dont Hahahhahaa in forum.
Yes, you are absolutely right.

0.0135sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:31 AM