Ultimate Discussions of ASNB Fixed Price UT, Magical UT only in Malaysia

boyboycute
post Apr 1 2025, 01:30 PM

550 posts

ASM is a fixed price Fund and it is not a capital guaranteed or capital protected fund.
boyboycute
post Apr 1 2025, 10:13 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(cms @ Apr 1 2025, 05:02 PM)
In essence whats the difference ?
The statement is quoted directly from the prospectus.

It means you can lose all your money.

Unlike fixed deposit which is protected by PIDM, ASM is not.

Hence, its return of 5% is not attractive at all , weighing its risk.

Investors are assuming they can always redeem at RM 1 per unit.

But they forgot that's not guaranteed
boyboycute
post Apr 2 2025, 11:11 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(MattSally @ Apr 2 2025, 08:34 PM)
Looking at all the pros and cons of all the different investments available, I still find it difficult not to prefer ASM FP Funds. Maybe a better return with EPF but liquidity is an issue. VP Funds are not performing well, RIA doesn’t seem to be doing much.

I keep being reminded of the old saying ‘If it isn’t broke, don’t fix it!’ ASM FP Funds do not deliver a spectacular dividend but they are reliable. In today’s geo political situation, I think that is very important.
I guess the mouse trap is designed beautifully...you got no where to go except towards the direction which 'they' are nudging u
boyboycute
post Apr 2 2025, 11:13 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Apr 2 2025, 07:48 AM)
But for it to not redeem the units at PAR, will only be under a situation where the government is bankrupt and Malaysia economy and maybe even currency are a gone case.
Someone is going to pay for the free lunch one day.

Just hope it's not you
boyboycute
post Apr 17 2025, 07:59 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 17 2025, 07:50 AM)
Markets getting turbulent, parking on ASMx n EPF waiting for opportunity, at least they don't go - ve, only worry about MYR weakness. Thinking of parking some AUD in RHB multi currency account, anyone doing that?
Unker doesn't understand why u wanna do that?

If moving to AUD can make 5% + 0.6% FX losses, then it's reasonable.

If you're not sure, u might as well keeping it in ASM
boyboycute
post Apr 17 2025, 08:03 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 16 2025, 10:30 PM)
but but but

some said disappointed with 5% and wanna all in EPF :grin:
Actually, they can move their money into Maybank to get 6% dividend.

ASM dividend dependent on big blue chips.

How they perform will affect ASM dividend.

The only thing it's not fixed price
boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 10:29 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 4 2025, 09:39 PM)
Yes. If really got that much $$$...

I already done it last time, so my ASM 3 is at very minimal level....

Because if you look at historical figures... ASM 1 dividend average is higher...

I'm waiting for ASM 2.dividend... but looking at ASB 3 didik... I don't expect ASM 2 & 3 to get same dividend rates as ASM 1.... Probably just following last year rate... Which lower than ASM 1 this year.... Like happen to ASB 3 didik.....
Very easy to outperform ASM. Just ALL in Maybank and you'll get higher dividend than ASM.

boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 10:32 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(lim47 @ Jul 4 2025, 03:54 PM)
All open liao next week
Uncle aunty can sapu
This is probably the largest and fastest transfer of wealth

In fact, everyone can outperform the historical return by ALL in Maybank stocks which gives higher dividend surpassing the historical yield given.

And if you read the fine print , it is not capital guaranteed although it's fixed price

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Jul 6 2025, 12:39 PM
boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 10:39 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 6 2025, 10:35 AM)
I tot u were promoting diversification, now all in to 1 stock.

How do u compare EPF with Oz Super?

https://www.news.com.au/finance/superannuat...146158576c02fa0
Just putting it out there to offer some alternatives to this scheme

In the portfolio, you can clearly see Maybank is the top holding. Unfortunately, return given never surpass Maybank dividend. Logically, where did it go?

Aussie chose their own unit trust. This unit trust is fixed price but NOT capital guaranteed. Unfortunately, many treat it like capital guaranteed

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Jul 6 2025, 10:41 AM
boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 10:42 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 6 2025, 10:40 AM)
Partly agreed

Because dividend part is big Yes...

But shares price????

There's risk of lower....  But if higher... Then double profits....

ASMx is fixed rm1....
Many never sell their units

If you are that type who never sell, just go straight to Maybank stock
boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 12:55 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Jul 6 2025, 12:48 PM)
Pass 6 month maybank share value has been dip.

Yes dividend is high but lost on price.

With current geopolitical situation no one can tell whether it can maintain or continue dip.
Historically, Maybank dividend is ALWAYS higher than ASM return. Both move down in tandem

Don't forget Fund management charges

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Jul 6 2025, 12:56 PM
boyboycute
post Jul 6 2025, 02:31 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 6 2025, 02:04 PM)
unker please
dont go  to every thread to talk bad about them.

go to EPF thread  told off people there
they will SUFFER risk and uncertainties EPF  can collapse any time etc

now come to ASM thread again talking like you very clever
people  here all stupid

go buy shares lah etc

then talk big about your bonds safer than EPF
better return, sekali kena questioned tak boleh answer

sudah realised bonds lagi risky than EPF
you turn 180 degrees said you bought Sovereign Bonds
pulak

I have been  buying bonds past many years
From PBB bonds AA rating with coupon 7.5% to
more risky ones HSBS Select series 1 12-13%

Tell me what sovereigns bonds you bought
let them  check facts
you talk truth or nonsense

why not you go FD thread tell them there stupid FD so low?
Unker bought UK Gilt this year, last year Aussie bonds
boyboycute
post Jul 7 2025, 02:10 AM

550 posts

Unker also cannot login in leh
boyboycute
post Jul 7 2025, 02:18 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 7 2025, 02:11 AM)
I thought you dissed asm for lower dividends compared to Mbb stocks?
Doesn't mean Unker will not buy some...

Unker never say Unker will not buy

Unker just throwing out some alternatives for discussion only
boyboycute
post Jul 7 2025, 02:58 AM

550 posts

Successful purchase
boyboycute
post Jul 7 2025, 12:08 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(frankliew @ Jul 7 2025, 10:32 AM)
then finish can buy maybank? smile.gif
Don't have to go crazy with it lah. 5% only mah....

If miss it, just ALL in Maybank. No management fee. Dividend is always higher.You get stock appreciation too

You must remember:Fixed price is not CAPITAL GUARANTEED

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Jul 7 2025, 12:09 PM
boyboycute
post Aug 16 2025, 09:29 PM

550 posts

ASM is not capital guaranteed and it shouldn't be treated as risk free investment
boyboycute
post Aug 17 2025, 01:26 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 17 2025, 10:37 AM)
That's when you are answering in exam papers unker...
Just semantics...I take them as risk free compared to most others we are holding...
Very deluded bunch here
boyboycute
post Aug 18 2025, 08:55 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(jkmak @ Aug 18 2025, 03:06 AM)
Can you explain? Like give me a scenario where I risk losing money in ASM.
Scenario 1
Massive collapse in the stock market which break the peg of RM 1 per unit. May be redeemable for less than RM 1. No capital guaranteed

Scenario 2
Zero dividend declared due to massive losses in stock market. You lost money due to inflation. Took risk for nothing

Other risks, please refer to Product Disclosure Sheet

Past performance is not an indication of future returns

boyboycute
post Aug 18 2025, 10:09 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Aug 18 2025, 10:08 AM)
Where should we put our money?
Unker put into US treasury bond, long end looks attractive. Unker also bought UK Gilt ,Oz bond

Unker didn't trust these munkey anymore ...not every species is capable to run a country properly ...

Just stick to the world 's most liquid and most accepted reserve currency

Everything else is bull shit

This post has been edited by boyboycute: Aug 18 2025, 10:23 AM

0.0429sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:49 AM