Ultimate Discussions of ASNB Fixed Price UT, Magical UT only in Malaysia

wild_card_my
post Jan 1 2020, 01:32 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 1 2020, 01:27 PM)
Aiya...not everyone like u can take a week off from work just to spend few hours a day to spam asnb mah... tongue.gif

Time is money brows.gif
I am quite.. .intrigued as to how you guys are doing this. So when you click you want to buy, youneed to enter the amount. So you just keep spamming? If you fail, you go back, and redo it till it gets to the page where it says "you have 15 minutes to complete the transaction"?
wild_card_my
post Jan 1 2020, 01:42 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 1 2020, 01:38 PM)
U have 10 tries to hit the amount you desire. If not hit then u have to wait 5 mins before u can try again.

Btw, i have stop spamming for quite some time. I used to spend 8 hours a day and managed only to get 2000 units. Not worth the time spent for the benefits.
huh interesting. Full disclosure, I am using screenshots of this thread to show to my fellow eligible clients about how people who are not eligible for the units by default (as in they have queue an all) are going through a lot just to get a few units to propup their investment portfolio

On the other hand, we have Bumiputras with their 200k quota and RM500 balance criticizing ASB for giving 5.5% return. That is ludicrous on them.

Keep up the good fight guys, I am impressed by your grit.
wild_card_my
post Jan 1 2020, 01:43 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 1 2020, 01:41 PM)
i think it's something similar to ASB2. do you get no units available if you try ASB2? otherwise, you can just try ASM1 to get a feel
I tell my clients to transfer to ASB3 if they cant get into ASB2. Never had any problems with new deposits for ASB3

edit: this is for this who are taking financing for the maximum 200k, but they already have deposits in their ASB1 account and need to move it elsewhere. ASB2 is priority, if not, ASB3

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jan 1 2020, 01:43 PM
wild_card_my
post Jan 1 2020, 01:49 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 1 2020, 01:46 PM)
ahhh yeah. so what we are going through is something like ASB2.
Fair enough. Understood~ Not much experience in spamming. When my clients complain about ASB2 being full, I may just tell them to transfer to ASB3. It is their call though.
wild_card_my
post Jan 1 2020, 02:04 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 1 2020, 01:48 PM)
Keep on fighting! I am impressed by your grit and endurance as well. rclxms.gif

Your sarcasm knows no boundaries laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 1 2020, 01:55 PM)
right. 2 more months to go with some luck. 3 or more months if no luck
haha we have nowhere to fallback to, unless variable price or go elsewhere.

they can still go for ASM2 and ASM3 after ASB3 is fully utilized.

Historically, which funds out of these FP are giving out the best returns? As in do you guys have a preferred ranking? For me it is ASB, then ASB2. But I am not familiar with the other FPs

wild_card_my
post Jan 2 2020, 09:38 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(poor fella @ Jan 2 2020, 09:37 AM)
good morning. i think our luck just ran out... the 10 tries provision is being reduced to 3 tries already. i hope somebody will tell me this is a computer error.  bye.gif
maybe they are tired of people spamming their servers laugh.gif They should just do a lottery of sorts each day.
wild_card_my
post Jan 4 2020, 11:23 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 4 2020, 11:22 PM)
ASB - yes exactly.

But I think 4.5% a bit on the low end. drop 0.5% each year just nice tongue.gif Last I check, ASM1 has 2 years of buffer (i.e. past 2 years income > distro). So unless they deliberately earn less this year, fund should do ok.
ASB dropped from 7 to 6.5 then to 5.5

Of course, it was noisy
wild_card_my
post Jan 6 2020, 05:14 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(samuraix79 @ Jan 6 2020, 05:12 PM)
Ha ha ha, yeahlah, just saying. It's nice to dream every once in awhile.  innocent.gif
With so many uncertainties in the market, ASNB seems like safe haven d. And it's a good platform to get started until you start to diversify.

P.S. At first wanted to say "Ooops, sorry OOT" then realised it's now Kopitiam d  devil.gif
A lot of Bumiputras will say otherwise. But when i ask which other investments that they invest in that gives as good a return and as low a risk, they answer: <silence>

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif And then they ask for more help and demand why the government doesn't help them. ASNB is the help, but damn, talk about blind or deaf, or stupid whistling.gif
wild_card_my
post Jan 7 2020, 09:00 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 6 2020, 08:47 PM)
Thanks Believe.
So, do you think that the NEP had failed? (We know, for one, the 30% bumiputera equity share ownership goal has failed).

Based on what I read from the book In Trust: A History of PNB, ASNB (together with PNB and Yayasan Pelaburan Bumiputera) was one of the crux of the NEP, doubted one of the largest social engineering project ever done in Malaysia (claimed by CIA).
Can you elaborate on the equity share ownership goal failing? Want to hear your thoughts on that

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Jan 6 2020, 09:23 PM)
I never understand why they enforce a 30% bumi equity ownership. Not all companies in KLSE are making profit. Some are making huge losses and cause bumiputeras and bumiputeris to lose money.
I am not too familiar with stocks, Ill be the first to admit that. I know of it but perhaps not enough; the 30% ownership is required continuously for listed companies? Or just for listing?

QUOTE(bourse @ Jan 7 2020, 08:38 AM)
yes.  this is what i mean.  the government (asb) / bank (financing) is helping them, them cannot seen it.
yes, if you like your bumiputra friends and to help them, explain to them what you understand about how ASNB is massively helping them, and you can tell them to see me to get their finances in order hahaha
wild_card_my
post Jan 7 2020, 03:58 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 7 2020, 10:48 AM)

Now, I would not be a good source for some of the answers. As a consultant, about 60% of my customers are Malays. These Malays are mostly in the white-collar industries; they understand the important of wealth accumulation and preservation, so they meet me for consultations - both paid as well as commission-based

In my personal views which may be biased due to the non-normal distributions of my clients, NEP has worked wonders; without which plenty of Malays would have been prevented from partaking in the country's economy. As you know, most Malays live in the villages, had their children and grandchildren remain there they would continue to become formers or any village-based employments. The Chinese community migrated to Tanah Melayu with a different mindset that is to make something for themselves; they are more studious and focussed to get what they want in life. These mentalities are yet to be ingrained in the Malay community as a whole

It may not seem fair, but due to the differences between the two cultures, it is a given that the Malays would be unable to compete unless given a hand to out-Malay themselves. Have you noticed that most white-collar, professional Malays are generally very different than the rest of the Malays? I am referring to their openness to accept something that is different what they have been led to believe, their acceptance that at some point we need to accept merit-based appointments as opposed to clinging to "hak Melayu"? But did you know that these professional, white-collar Malays that we are discussing have benefited from NEP?

Their parents and themselves may have benefited from these policies, such as those through MARA - UiTM & MRSM. The ones that turned out well after coming through these systems realize that these affirmative-actions will not remain forever and have continued to better themselves.

Had there not been any NEP, it would not be impossible for Malaysia to turn into Singapore, where Malays make up the majority of the labor forces and are excluded from the nation's economic activities. It may be good for Malaysia, but I would have none of it, not yet at least. It will take a few more decades for more Malays to change, if it will. If you ask a Chinese couple to raise a Malay child, he would turn out as successful, studious, academically-oriented as any Chinese or as his siblings - only that he would look-like a Malay.

The NEP is there to change out-Malay the Malays, perhaps it is misled, perhaps it is honorable. But when I was in Singapore for my business calls to meet my clients, kesian looking at the situations the Malays are in there - janitors, cleaners, fastfood employees are almost exclusively Malays. There are exceptions, but hey, I am an exception. What good are exceptions, Malays need to rise as a people too.

These are only my personal views though, and nothing that any of us here say would change the politically-biased economic landscape of the country.

wild_card_my
post Jan 8 2020, 11:10 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Jan 8 2020, 10:49 PM)
A good country system is a country that can help the poor or the desperate climb into the ladder of success, ie Social Mobility.

No doubt that MRSM , ASB and a lot of things helping Bumi's achieve success, BUT as you creating the quota system, it creates a safety net which people will just abuse the system , ie no more social mobility.

Actually, Racial basis quota shouldn't be in the first place. Data driven basis should be the one , just like how we should pay our GST/SST.
Ie if you earn spend more , u pay more tax.
If u r a low income earner , u should get the benefit.
If u r a efficient worker, u shall benefit from the bonus.

There shall be no oh this Chinese is lazy but since its chinese we give 3 month bonus. Oh this Siam is working hard, no need to pay him bonus la since he is siam bumiputera.

Just my 2c.
Thank you for you opinion. What are you doing to change the system for the better?
wild_card_my
post Jan 9 2020, 08:58 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jan 9 2020, 08:21 AM)
How to change? Every time jangan dipersoal. Maruah tercabar
That is you being prejudice, you are self-victimizing, and using that excuse where you sit back and do nothing - except for complain and criticize online.

As for myself, I try to uplift the Bumiputras so one day we would be on the same level as the rest, if not better. I am doing what I can to make the situation better within my capacity. At the same time, I am making some pocket money for myself.

It is ok to complain about any situation, but sometimes you have ask yourself "what am I doing to make the situation better?" If you sorely believe that the "tongkat" deters from things getting better, well you are always welcome to fight it in the open instead of behind a Lowyat nickname. Write blogs, articles, "letters to the editors", attach you names behind your beliefs.

Do something. Or not, and continue complaining how people are "attacking you".

Just so you know, I get criticized by fellow Bumiputras too for the things that. But do you see me stopping on my track? Nope, I am strong and I believe in what I do

wild_card_my
post Jan 9 2020, 09:22 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 9 2020, 09:05 AM)
My dad from the ulu kampung received govt scholarship. I received MARA scholarship.

So yes I've benefited from these policies, but on my part I want to break this cycle.

My kids will not be receiving any govt scholarships. I will pay for their studies out of my own pocket.

Thanks for the tongkat, but now that we're out of the kampung, it's time to level the playing field.
Correct, this is the right attitude to hold onto. Some of us have received our share of help, now we have to stand on our own two feet, or better, help those in need. Most of the Bumiputras that are successful today can be traced back down to the kampungs. Opportunities in these areas were limited, their own parents didn't know how to make themselves nor their own children successful. Without any interventions, these villagers would simply spiral down or remain as they are without any social mobility. Might I remind you that most Chinese migrated to Malaysia with a mindset to make something for themselves. No one migrates (berhijrah) just so they would end up worse than their current situation, even refugees - that, by definition are fleeing war, persecution, or natural disaster.

I understand that the Affirmative Action policies in Malaysia is racially-based/biased. But the intention was to level the playing field, without which, the rich-poor gap between two aforementioned racial-groups would only widen. I am not trying to fear-monger the May 13th 1969 incident, but nothing good will come without doing anything to break that cycle of poor/undereducated children coming from poor/undereducated families. The Malay culture at the time simply didn't have the ability to rid themselves of this monotony; they were under multiple foreign power rules for centuries, these foreign powers do little to uplift, educate, nor train the Malays - as such they have very little abilities nor experience to better themselves. This is why most of the Malay leaders, who were the agents of change for the country at the time hail from the royalties, namely Tunku Abdul Rahman and his closest of entourage - these people were the exceptions as they had the opportunities to learn what the rest of the Malays have not.

Again, might I remind you that when the Chinese came to Tanah Melayu, they brought themselves their collective education systems, schools, and even teachers that are paid by the community. They came in packing, ready to unload their 4four-centuries of civilization; they had a head start, and now they are calling for "equality", for there to be a level-playing-field between themselves and the natives. There was no level-playing-field to begin with, the advantages were overtly on the Chinese migrants' side and for the time being, calls for "equality" would be disingenuous - because one group started way ahead of the rest

What about Indians you say? Forced labor, enough said.

What about rich Indians? Exactly, they also came packing as travelling merchants who chose settle down here. Advantages on them.

But that is NOT to say that the Malays are incompetent. Just look around your workplace (such as MNC and successful GLCs like Sime Darby), there are professional/executive Malays that are just as good, if not better than their counterparts. And of course, yours truly which is "enough said" but I will say it anyways: I get asked by a lot of people that I meet for the first time for my name, and when I say it was "Faiz Azmi", they would be a little confused. They try to hide their confusion, but if I press on, they would surrender that they thought I was an Indian. Perhaps it was due to the skin color, but my facial-structure do not back that up, and not all dark-skinned Malays would be mistaken for an Indian. If pressed even further, they would say it was due to my command in the English language, which is unusual for a Malay chap.

I am at the level where I get paid to talk. Well to be more specific, I moonlight tutoring Malay executives in improving their conversational English:

My dad was raised in a poor family but have received numerous assistance from the government and he retired as the CEO of a Khazanah subsidiary, his children were all successful and professionals - dentists, accountants, engineers, and yours truly - a consultant (who is a professional, Associate RFP from MFPC, a professional body). None of this would have happened if it was not for the NEP. But all of us are fully prepared to roll back the NEP, we do not expect that it would remain longer than necessary

As it is, I see that non-Bumis are just as much to blame for their lack of action as well as self-victimizing - they use this as an excuse to do nothing. They could have done a lot more, such as joining a political party, creating their own NGOs or work with established ones. They should be the agents of change that they want to see, instead of sarcastically yelling and chiding short, unoriginal, terms like most of them have done in their posts across /k/ all this while

Perhaps some of them are not interested in seeing Malays rise to the same level, which is fine, which also explains their actions and attitudes toward the whole system - they want to yank it right beneath the Malays's feet, putting back years of development. But please, don't piss on me and call it rain. They should just say it out loud that they prefer the Malays to remain backward and removed from participating in the larger economic activities of the nation: Just like how it is in Singapore

Which I would say game on

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jan 9 2020, 09:59 AM
wild_card_my
post Jan 9 2020, 10:03 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jan 9 2020, 10:00 AM)
First time keyed in TAC wrongly, no second chance and immediate treated unsuccessful transaction?! Luckily not yoga but WHYYY!!
TAC is at most 6-digits long, with options to correct any typos. Yet you put it in wrongly; I don't see why not laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
wild_card_my
post Jan 9 2020, 10:30 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(bourse @ Jan 9 2020, 10:19 AM)
bangwall.gif

if I try to share ASNB info with them, they will start tell me (which I dont know is true or not):
- this product is non halal
- the return is a sin thing, they cannot accept it.  They cannot go heaven.... blablabla
- Govt very bad.  want them to become bankrupt, so keep asking them to take loan.
since so much excuse, i will ask, what happen when you get old, how you survive?
- by that time, God will arrange.  ada rezeki la
it make me think of the story. a man wait at the rooftop waiting for the God to help, despite got sampan, boat, helicopter passby.

I sharing investment idea, they want to turn it into religious.  Better keep silence if like that.  However, it does not stop me to share this ASNB with others.  I really feel like a waste for not taking up.
1. Well great!!! You are a great agent of change then, you want the people around you that you care to better themselves. Ignore the penunggang agama, most of these people who quote religious facts also commit sins, they smoke, they mingle, etc. Yet when someone is asking them to do what they are uncomfortable with (to invest their money, which would take away from spending on themselves), they would use "agama" as an excuse. ASB is deemed "harus" and not "haram".

But it is on them, we cannot force any Muslims to invest because the "Fatwa", says that ASB is "harus", because that is their personal decisions. But these people have no rights to overrule the Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan. These people cannot go on record or in public claiming that ASB is non-halal or haram. This is because they do not have the rights to do so:

a. no islamic knowledge
b. no financial knowledge (knowledge of the domain)
c. they were not authorized by the government of the land

The above are important to stop every Ahmad and Jamal from coming up with Fatwas that would divide the Muslims

2. And if you do find those who wants to take ASBF and are eligible for it, you know what to do. You can let them know of me haha
wild_card_my
post Jan 9 2020, 08:40 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(hc7840 @ Jan 9 2020, 07:42 PM)
Already got DAP trying to change what. But they get called DAPig.
See what happen when people trying to increase the nons in matrik, when people trying to change to recognize uec in public sector.

Tongkat is not a problem. It’s a good thing to help the people. You think it’s good meh when it is used mostly to help a selective group. Other groups also got people need tongkat.
So when people chide you, you cower away. You are using other people opposing your ideas as your excuse to not fight for the change you believe in? I would have taken you seriously if you were in DAP (or as you claimed, DAPig), NGOs, or have proven efforts to make any changes, even in your own ways that may not be compatible with mine. But as it is, you are just complaining about the issue online, hiding behind a handler and giving excuses as to why you refuse to help.

Put it this way: This is a systemic problem, and you are not doing anything to help. Maybe you do not think that it is your responsibility as a Malaysian, which is fine too. But stop crying.

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jan 9 2020, 08:58 PM
wild_card_my
post Jan 10 2020, 11:39 AM

6,562 posts

There is an upcoming by-election? laugh.gif
wild_card_my
post Jan 16 2020, 06:44 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jan 16 2020, 06:19 PM)
Wow, I've been away so long that this ultra popular thread in finance has moved to kopitiam.

Not sure if kopitiam users are interested in this, but saw this in ASW annual report and thought I'd share facts to confirm previous suspicion

In the past many forumers speculated that some years dividends are propped up by previous year reserves. This is shown in the annual report

It's based on realised profits. Ultimately, we do not know how much unrealised profits/losses is there in the investments, now they took out even the stock composition % of market value of portfolio. Year on year there are impairments made on the investments, again, we don't know what is it on. As a bean counter, I don't like what I can't see  sweat.gif
The most important thing that you cannot see is the outstanding units in the market. As a fixed-unit-price fund, you do not now know what the actual NAV/unit, because despite knowing the NAV, you do not know what the outstanding units in the market.

So when you pay RM1/unit, could you be overpaying (the atual NAV/unit is less than RM1/unit) or underpaying (the inverse of the previous statement)
wild_card_my
post Jan 18 2020, 05:05 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jan 18 2020, 05:00 PM)
You can transfer? I tried transfer to my wife, despite enuf funds, no idea why system keep saying cannot transfer more than available funds. I transfer like 10% of my funds only also error
Did your wife open the account exclusively online?

If yes, tell your wife to go to ASNB branch to credit money in cash to your wife's ASB fund
wild_card_my
post Jan 18 2020, 05:32 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Jan 18 2020, 05:12 PM)
Nope bro she opened an account via the portable van. I transfer before funds from her ASM2 account no prob, only ASM3 account giving prob now sigh
I kena before so i just activated something by going to asnb branch. Recommend you bring the transferee to the branch and explain your situation

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:54 PM