Ultimate Discussions of ASNB Fixed Price UT, Magical UT only in Malaysia

Wolves
post Jan 18 2023, 02:25 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Jan 17 2023, 11:57 AM)
Thank you very much for the update.
Update: tried at 2am.. error.. try 2.10am. error.. try 2.15am.. error.. try 2.20am.. 5k one shot go through smile.gif so instead of 2am they are releasing at 2.20am on the dot.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 17 2023, 04:51 PM)
Smart ๐Ÿ‘
Every year nearing to CNY..  there's some level of withdrawal
BUT this year.... Well... The level is way much higher than normal... And we all know why ๐Ÿ˜

Really respect to your dedication...
Not many actually would try now after looking at the dividend rate.... There's few hardcore fans... That I cannot denied.... From my circle of friends.... None is keeping as it is... There's withdrawal... From small scale to big until keep minimum amount only (so that account don't get closed)....
Like i said... It's safe, convenient and simple. I too stupid to do the hard or difficult way. So asm simplest plus i wanted them very long already but never get any. Now got chance rather than fish.
Wolves
post Jan 18 2023, 02:34 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 17 2023, 05:05 PM)
Mr. Wolves,

Greetings, as i explained in other thread. Unker promised Auntie, Y2023 to be year of learning and/or re-learning. So to keep an open mind, ask n learn where applicable.

Im genuinely curious, why Mr. Wolves buying asnb when some long term members are selling n when FD returns seem higher?

What motivates your actions and dedication? Thank you.
First of all i just wanted to get some coz i been wanting them for a very long time but unable to do so. Second, it is safe and simple. It is easier than going to bank and open account just for a short term (12 to 18 months) FD. FD i can easily do later if no other options but asm1 is like wwe. Other methods like reits or oversea requires monitoring and skill and knowledge plus issues of inheritance. Asm you just put in and forget and get dividen yearly and you can withdraw 2k per month easily using apps. If need more just go to branch or banks. Simplicity and convenience. It is also liquid as i don't have to wait for maturity (FD) or wait for a good market cycle to exit. So safe, easy and convenience.

I also in the opinion that currently short term they might lose it by a few % but in the long term it should do better. Asm has FD and assets. It's like a diversification all in one. During economic downturn like now, they are dependant on FD. But during economic upturn the assets will give better return. So it is not bad to accumulate now and wait for the economy to return. Worse case i can just liquidate later at 0 losses (only wasting time). That is why i am buying now when i "can" as i mentioned previously. It is very hard to buy. ๐Ÿ˜‚
Wolves
post Jan 18 2023, 10:04 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Jan 18 2023, 05:48 AM)
Thanks for the update.
Considering pulling another 5k out of kdi save and put into asm1 tonight one more round before CNY tongue.gif i might do it. Still thinking.

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 18 2023, 05:55 AM)
Mr Wolves, thank you. One lastcquestion...respectfully asking, are you in the 30s or 40s age group?
Unker impessed with your very methodical thinking process n easily understood explanation ofย  investment approach. (emotion free)
40s. That is why i prefer simplicity, stable and convenience. And i also considering about inheritance if i kick the bucket. I don't see myself living past 80.. 75 is consider a bonus tongue.gif

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 18 2023, 08:23 AM)
Dividend only once 1 year right, so if you withdraw before ex date then we loose dividend right?
The dividen is announced once a year. For ASM1 is March 31st. ASM2 is september 30th. ASM3 is October 31st. For example IF ASM1 announce 4% DIVIDEN for 2023 (EXAMPLE ONLY). If you have 10k from march 2022 (last year) all the way until december 2022 (last year) and in January 2023 you withdraw 5k (balance 5k) and in february 2023 (this year) you top up 20k (balance 25k) and keep it until March 2023 (this year). Then your DIVIDEN is as follow:-

Monthly dividend = 4%/12 = 0.33%
April 2022 to December 2022 (last year with monthly minimum 10k) = 10,000 x 0.33% (monthly dividen) x 9 (9 months) = 297
January 2023 (first withdraw) = 5,000 (lowest in January) x 0.33% = 16.50
February 2023 = 5,000 (top up but lowest is still 5k unless you top up 1st february 2023) x 0.33% = 16.50
March 2023 = 25,000 x 0.33% = 82.50
Total = 297+16.50+16.50+82.50 = 412.50

I just had coffee so i hope my calculation is correct. But the concept is monthly MINIMUM value aka the lowest value for that month will get the monthly interest. As for topping up 1st of month, i not sure coz i never withdraw all my life (sorry... I treat them like gold coz old times it's very very very hard to buy and we have to queue up in banks and wait whole day). So that one you need to take with a grain of salt and it's mentioned by ppl here. Any other qs?

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 18 2023, 10:17 AM
Wolves
post Jan 18 2023, 10:32 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 18 2023, 10:22 AM)
thanks for the elaborated example, just like what i've thought withdrawing is best done from 1st of the month and investing is at the end of month
Actually no. Both is best done on the 1st of the month if this is true. If you withdraw 1st, then the previous month you get full dividen for the month. If you buy 1st of the month, the monthly minimum is the new balance (this is what the forumers here claim but i never really bother or try).
Wolves
post Jan 18 2023, 12:19 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jan 18 2023, 10:56 AM)
this is once in a few years mega sales opportunity for everyone here. if u think it's worth it why not.
That is why i collecting like mad now. Rare chance to get asm1 even if it's a norm from now onwards i still will continue to try to accumulate some every month. Just withdraw another 5k for tonight session. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Retirement.. here i come~~ ๐Ÿ˜‚

The CPI announcement really changed my plan. I am expecting a few more interest hikes in US this year which means Malaysia will follow suit but slower. Next year should be interesting when the fed pivots to very dovish stance. Anything above 4% is good enough plus this is stable. Sacrifice aggressive earn to gain stability in the long term. Cannot afford to lose more value.
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 02:05 AM

887 posts

Today's update. 2am on the dot. 5k units ASM1 one shot. Still plentiful there smile.gif that's it for this month.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 02:05 AM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 10:38 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 19 2023, 06:05 AM)
Respects! No stopping you once you set a goal...!! Wishing Mr Wolves a successful asnb journey with big pot of gold at the end of rainbow.

Unker is a simple person, your asnb determination n explanation gave Unker the confidence n emotional support to hang on to my asnb purchases.

Really a Rudyard Kipling moment.

Thank you. And yes i am stubborn tongue.gif

Ah.. you are shaken and wondering if you should sell like some of the ppl here. Well, this is not financial advice.

My personal opinion. First of all, this is as good as a bank can get. PNB is gov entity (or semi gov) and asnb is under the PNB umbrella. Can they screw up? Sure. But it's something the gov created to enrich the bumi (then the non). So it is as stable as it gets. Unless Malaysia goes bankrupt, i don't see how this thing will go bust. And if Malaysia do go bankrupt, then where you put in Malaysia is pointless. This is better than MAS coz MAS went private. This one still under gov. And look at MAS smile.gif most importantly, they cannot screw up coz bumi uses it too.

Second of all, it is liquid. You can withdraw 2k per month and if you need more, go to the branch or any banks in Malaysia. It's like a universal bank that all banks recognized and service. That should say something about it's reliability. You can even go post office for this.

Third of all, its fixed fund. Aka no matter what happen (unless they change the fixed fund), it will forever be rm1 per unit. Like i said previously. Worse case scenario you lose time and get 0 interest for a year. By that time you can just liquidate them.

These fundamentals don't change. Unless it changes then i might act on it. Now we talk about potentials. If you look at interest rates only. Yeah.. they "could" potentially be lower by a bit. But don't forget. If 2023 March announced 4% interest rate, it actually means April 2022 (last year) until March 2023, aka previous 12 months. Not future 12 months. If you look at data, from April 2022 to march 2023, what's the average interest rate of banks? We talking about average. I believe "highest" until december 2022 (last year) was 3.8%. 4% and above only happened around january 2023. So technically they are doing better than FD. On "average". They might not beat every bank and every scenario out there but they do beat majority. If you are chasing the best of the best of the best then yes they sucks. But with that you have to chase like no others as well. Not everybody have access to every bank and have account in every bank and access thier privileges and combos products and fulfilled thier requirements for the special rate. And definitely i am not going to go there every 12 to 18 months to redo all over again as most require "fresh fund" aka you need to withdraw and then put into another account and then withdraw or transfer over every cycle.

In terms of other vehicles, yes there is reits, oversea investments, sp500, US bonds, ETFs, insurance cum investment, mutual funds and properties for rentals and so on and so forth which can gives you higher returns. Even stocks. The question will then become, do you know how to do it? And can you weather the price volatility and the risk involved? Do you wanna lock your funds up for a period of time? 5 years? 10 years? Do you want to look at it everyday and do maintenance? The higher the yield the more you need to do. Property need to pay tax and lawyer fee to acquire. You need to find a "good" tenant or you are toast. You need contracts and you need maintenance. It sounds good. But when you start doing it, it's a different story. Unless you are lucky you get a good place and you are lucky the lawyer did not overcharge and you are lucky to have a very good tenant for next 20/30 years (loan time) and interest rates doesn't eat into your income and lhdn doesn't knock your door and no natural disasters or pest did not come say hello. If you are young (below 30s) then yes coz you got plenty of time and energy to play with this. But even so, i still choose this asm. 0 buy fee 0 sales fee 0 maintenance fee 0 risk 0 fuss. Buy and forget and every year wait dividends.

And that is why i so rajin lo when i see asm1 units available. Can correct me if i am wrong and that's the drive behind my decisions. If asm units no longer available and if i can last 5 more years, i will put into kwsp coz higher yield and same advantages except need to wait until 50 to withdraw some and then 55 to withdraw when i need. Kwsp also have a guranteed minimum interest every year. So it is better in some sense if not for the age requirement to withdraw.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 10:50 AM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 10:41 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2023, 09:55 AM)
Meanwhile ASM 2?
Still zero as usual ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿ™‚
And endless units for ASM 3???

Correct ahh ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ‘
Dunno. No bother try. I believe they all should be there. The issue is if i try and no buy, i scare units locked up and deny others a chance coz if it's available and you leave it there, technically it will go back to the pool that is being locked up. So i no try if i no intention to buy.
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 10:43 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Jan 19 2023, 10:28 AM)
Too bad i can't make myself stay awake till 2 AM for the past few months. Will give it a try whenever i can. Thanks again for the update.
Heh? 2am only.. lai dota.. ๐Ÿ˜‚ set alarm lo or you ask friends who sleep late to call you up. ๐Ÿ˜‚

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 19 2023, 10:39 AM)
Thanks for sharing, since the old every hour trick doesn't seem to work anymore
Oh, they stopped working long ago already coz now ppl who sell, the system just hold them. I been trying every 5 minutes from 8am to 6pm before for months. And yes i very free. ๐Ÿ˜‚

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 10:44 AM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 11:13 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2023, 11:02 AM)
Yeah..
It's would be lock up...
If I'm correct... Around 15mins like that....
Previously they got mentioned when u proceed to next page... Especially the banking page....

Now I'm not sure if they still display the 15mins lock up information at the bottom of the page ๐Ÿ˜
Previously before this system it is 15 minutes. Now with this system in place i believe if you lock up at 2am, it will not be released until 3am. Suspect la coz i tried at 3am and 4am before and can get. So i afraid if you no buy in that 15 minutes the units will get locked up until next release.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2023, 11:04 AM)
Well...
If u really die2 want that ASMx funds...
Must up at 2am to buy... No other choice...
Nons like that... The other group.. easy.. anytime can buy because quota still available by the millions except ASM1 ๐Ÿ˜Ž since it's non quota based funds ๐Ÿ‘
I believe he is aiming for asm1. ๐Ÿ˜‚
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 02:54 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2023, 11:58 AM)
Crazy if it's true..
1 hour lock up is too extreme yo ๐Ÿ˜
10 or 15mins is just nice. Sweet spot....
Seriously don't know why they now open up at 2am for units...
Are they trying to be funny.... Making harder those want the units... Easily can pick another timing since it's all computerized system... Just setting the time only for release ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸŽ‰
Oh really...
Because the so called ASM1 is premium fund...
Like I said many times previously...
Dividend declare pervious years no refection to future dividend rate ๐Ÿ˜
Meaning old days high, now don't expect to be same level ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜„
I think the system just lock all sold unit (unclaimed as well) and released at the predetermined time. That's what my feeling is. If so then it makes sense to lock those units that ppl qualify but doesn't pay as well. This will explain why 3am and 4am still got. Why 2am? Coz that's when they do maintenance and 2am finish maintenance and they release. They need to release after asnb or bank office hour. Why not 6pm? Ppl will be busy and they not yet update everything and maintenance i suppose. So they released first thing after maintenance. That's my thought on it. And that's good news to me since i sleep late. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Maybe they heard my prayer. ๐Ÿ˜‚

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 19 2023, 12:01 PM)
Based on my rough calculation for 12 years from 2010 to 2021:
EPF dividend earned was 103% (compound)
ASM1 - 95%
USD vs MYR (3.40-4.20) - 24%
EPF only overtook ASM1 in 2019 for the accumulated earnings during this period.
Very good information smile.gif

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jan 19 2023, 12:23 PM)
correct me if im wrong. asm is a predominantly non bumi fund cus no quota. so if .... anything is to happen, which fund do u think affected first?
It's open to all races. And if anything were to happen all products will be affected. This is gov approved investment. And if they steal asm, asb will be affected and ppl will run also. So i don't agree with your statement above. It affects all and reputation will be tarnished. So it doesn't matter which product and all product under that "company" will be affected and the company will be tarnished.

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 19 2023, 02:01 PM)
bro
you are now doing what many ofย  us old timers hereย  did 10-15 yrs ago. hunting like mad and yes
the return was really sweet then

now many of us old timers have "graduated"ย  after enjoying those returns
Past few dividends have been so so toย  the veteran who are used to high return

if there are still gold left in here,ย  i am more than happy for you
as i would also reap the same benefits and we can come backย  join you again

difficult to get the units is onlyย  relative not absolute
and it varies
I agree. I am late to the party. But i am late coz i cannot buy any smile.gif that is why i collecting now when i can. Like i said, fundamentals are still there. And yes i might not earn more than newer products but if it beats average it is still a good place for me coz i am "stupid" to learn new tricks and i cannot stomach much risk coz i am getting old. Plus it's liquid. I might start to withdraw in a few more years to support my retirement if i retire. Still the best place to park. Kwsp will be my second choice when i nearing the age. Right now i have a choice of asm 1 which gives around 4% (optimistically this March 4.2%) or my money market that offers same liquidity (where i withdraw from to buy asm) that gives 3.5% EAR (or 3.44%/365 daily) interest. It is no a brainer for me to swap 3.5% EAR to 4% (plus minus). I still leave some cash in the money market just for fast withdrawal and usage but the rest i park in ASM. Will i use the money in the next 5 years? I doubt so. Why i don't put FD or oversea or stocks or etf or kwsp? I don't like being bound and i don't want to watch them everyday or get stucked in a bad economy time or unfortunate market down scenario and have to resort to selling at a loss or get a loan with higher interest. Yes i very very very conservative. And yes i don't want to play with risk. Play enough risk and got burnt hard past 2 years. Cannot afford to play with fire anymore.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 03:01 PM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 03:20 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 19 2023, 03:10 PM)
Over the same period ASM3 was ~2% better than ASM1.
Why not count average from the years when all 4 product exist? That's what i do. Coz if you coz from inception it's going to be biased coz economy then different from now. Count average from when all 4 product exist and see the average.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 03:36 PM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 03:32 PM

887 posts

Asm1 from 2010 to 2022 (13 years) average : 5.78%
Asm2 from 2010 to 2022 (13 years) average : 5.71%
Asm3 from 2010 to 2022 (13 years) average : 5.69%

Kwsp from 2012 to 2021 (10 years average : 6.115% (cannot find 2010 2011 2022 data)

Just for comparison. Of coz past few years kwsp is doing better so that's why i say it's my second option coz of liquidity issue

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 03:45 PM
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 03:37 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 19 2023, 03:36 PM)
Cos ASM3 1st dividend was 2010.
I am using compounded rate from 2010.
Care to share all 4 product's figure? Would like to see the difference tongue.gif like i said, i too stupid to learn new stuff. So i can only do averages
Wolves
post Jan 19 2023, 11:46 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 19 2023, 04:03 PM)
Bro Wolves, many thanks for the selfless sharing.
No problem boss. Great to talk about it and get reaffirmation.. Both for you and for me. I also a bit doubtful. ๐Ÿ˜‚

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 19 2023, 06:20 PM)
the numbers must be very very bad  devil.gif

and they did some "manipulation" to make it perform "well"...
now that u ask for full details...
scared their so called "good work" exposed to public  sweat.gif
Creative accounting. Normal in Malaysia. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Probably a lot of skeletons to hide under the carpet.

I just watched this video which was what i am thinking as well. Let me see if i still know how to share link on YouTube..

Basically it touches 4 main factors in 2023 and i have been thinking about all of the factors as well and the cpi data makes me change my direction from saving to go into stocks (still will but asm1 priority first now) or investing overseas (totally out now and this video kinda confirmed my worries) to putting money into asm (asm1 preferably) or money market. Basically "lending" money (which asm is one of many vehicle) should yield more this year moving forward (higher interest rate and investment to good projects or gov thingy). Since i am not financial savvy, just let the fund managers do it rather than i worry about it myself. Just watched this video a few minutes ago and thinking about sharing to see what you ppl think.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 19 2023, 11:47 PM
Wolves
post Jan 20 2023, 11:11 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(silentsurfer @ Jan 20 2023, 09:54 AM)
aiyah, over at fd thread mentioned starting from today public bank no more 24mth 4.8% p.a.

ruined my plan for withdrawal on 1st feb to place into that promo.
Looks like FD rates is around 4.2% highest so far... Around same as asm1 predicted rate. ๐Ÿ˜‚ My bet is still in asm1. Lol

Just in case ppl wondering, i went to bed at 1.30am and accidentally woke up at 3.30am and i tried a small amount of 3k but 0 units available. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Either nobody release or i too late kena sapu already. So i guess my previous few days hard work is correct. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Now just need to wait March to see what they announce tongue.gif
Wolves
post Jan 21 2023, 10:16 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(roarus @ Jan 21 2023, 05:10 AM)
Anyone encounter this strange behaviour before?

Through PC I get error:
Records show that your Personal Details are incomplete or outdated. Please update your Personal Details or approach your nearest ASNB counters (078).

Through the app I managed to buy though
Can buy doesnt mean your particulars are updated. A few question will be, is your particulars updated? Is it an old account that your parents made for you before you are 18 and now you are 18 and never went and update it? How long have you not update it?

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 21 2023, 06:20 AM)
Walau! Unker is like freshie compared to Bro DBH, Saitong, Xing n  all above Sifus. Unker started Asnb thread 2019.
Unker start investing $50, $100...a time via apps.

Important msg is to realize how far we all have come, instead of how much more to go. Life is meant to be happy.

Unker, hungry wait Auntie go eat  fav roti canai.
Gong xi fatt chai..2019 ah.. missed all the high dividend rate tongue.gif but slow is better than never. We should see an uptrend from here. Market are cycles. The only question is how rajin the fund manager is. Hopefully bunny year they hop around more and more active. Hmmm.. mentioning uncle lucifah.. i haven't seen that fella in a while. I wondering if he is at his old place... Hmm...

Gong xi fatt chai everybody! Hope the bunny brings more ong to everybody smile.gif
Wolves
post Jan 21 2023, 10:32 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 21 2023, 10:21 AM)
what happen if we deposited fund less than 1 year and some more it is before the dividend ex date, can be be done and are we entitled for any div?
Nothing happens if you deposit funds less than 1 year and you still get dividend if you qualify before ex date. As i mentioned and count before. Like my case asm1 i just deposited this month. When comes march 31st they announce dividend, i will qualify for feb 2023 and march 2023 at the minimum monthly value. For example asm1 announce 4% dividend for March 2023 (example only) and i put 10k in before january 31st 2023 and i never touch or put in anymore, i will get:-

Monthly dividen = 4%/12 = 0.33%
April 2022 to december 2022 = 0 (coz i started january 2023) x 0.33% = 0
January (2023, this one controversial coz some say first deposit is consider minimum but i gonna put 0 coz i think it makes more sense i stay with 0) = 0 x 0.33% = 0
February 2023 = 10,000 x 0.33% = 33
March 2023 = 10,000 x 0.33% = 33
Total dividends = rm66

April 2023 onwards will depend on 2024 March announcement.

This post has been edited by Wolves: Jan 21 2023, 10:34 AM
Wolves
post Jan 21 2023, 10:55 AM

887 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 21 2023, 10:48 AM)
what if we withdraw before 1 year say 1 month only sumore before ex date
Doesn't matter. As long as monthly minimum value is there you get it. If you put in 15th january 2023 and withdraw everything 5 February 2023 then you get nothing coz monthly minimum value for january 2023 is 0 (just put in) and monthly minimum value for February 2023 is 0 (coz you take out everything) so you get 0 monthly minimum value from April 2022 to march 2023. If you put in 15th january 2023 (monthly minimum value 0) but you keep until 5th March to withdraw all, you get february 2023 dividend. Get it?
Wolves
post Jan 22 2023, 08:55 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 22 2023, 08:32 PM)
Yup.
Old days No MyASNB...
All depends on "cable connection" if u have any... Or just hunt branch by branch until those counter staff recognize u once u reach the counter or branch (number taking Q) ๐Ÿ˜

Those days...
Dividend quite okay...
But now keep dropping like no tomorrow....
And management have the guts to say it's competitive rate & higher than FD board rate of Maybank ๐Ÿ˜ 
They need an excuse ma. Plus market downtrend. Cannot do anything also. Where you put also it's probably red right now. At least another year or two of red then we should see an uptick. This year i expect a recession. Probably Q3 or Q4. At least asm partly in FD market also. Make do la. But i probably stop buying already. Maybe another round these few days before feb and that's it. Just wait to collect dividend. End of March should be interesting time coz asm1 and kwsp should give us a figure and we see the number and then think what to do lo. So chill.. CNY.. happy a bit la.

21 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0381sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:11 PM