6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Newbie rider asking about gears

SUSah_chew P
post Nov 13 2019, 10:42 AM

Probation

QUOTE(talentrecruiter @ Nov 13 2019, 12:13 AM)
Kapchai top speed capped at 120,if accident really cari pasal sendiri, alrdy know the limit of own kapchai still want to speeding, not protection problem but attitude issue lol.
kapchai brake isn't as good as those more expensive bike, definitely put on your gears.
Absolado8
post Nov 13 2019, 11:22 AM

Kapchai top speed capped at 120,if accident really cari pasal sendiri, alrdy know the limit of own kapchai still want to speeding, not protection problem but attitude issue lol.
I think you missunderstood the concept of accident. Accident do not really only happen to riders speeding big bike. And yes more speed worsen injury. But statistic proven kapchai riders have more risk. Thus kapchai rider need more awareness to wear safety riding gears.
Zaire.Ver
post Nov 13 2019, 11:29 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(ah_chew @ Nov 11 2019, 12:42 PM)
I'm still on L license but alrdy ride to work daily. I plan to buy a leather jacket and pant (2k budget) for daily use. What's left will be a proper boot and glove (another 2k budget for this but later). Before I went on to get this is it too much for a 150cc kapchai users?

It's very different mindset on safetly between us and the western folks. Obviously it's more dangerous to ride in here than there, coz we do crazy lane filtering and the road here is terrible sometimes,but why we have so many rider use slipper on the road? Even glove usage is so rare.
leather jacket and glove for me is overkill if for daily ride in town with msia weather
get a mesh jacket and glove....most important is it original and come fully padded
for value of money apparel brand...i recommend rs taichi or komine

also wear full face helmet...original one....to many fakes and cheapo indon/china brand on the market

ignore the naysayer who say all this is overkill for kapcai...i also dress all this on 150cc scooter
coz u dont know when accident will happen and it might not caused by u also.

This post has been edited by Zaire.Ver: Nov 13 2019, 11:32 AM
Zaire.Ver
post Nov 13 2019, 11:37 AM

245 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
even if u ride 60kmh and another car with drunkan driver hit u.....is that ur speeding attitude issue?
Justin.Loong
post Nov 13 2019, 11:52 AM

5,266 posts

I'm still on L license but alrdy ride to work daily. I plan to buy a leather jacket and pant (2k budget) for daily use. What's left will be a proper boot and glove (another 2k budget for this but later). Before I went on to get this is it too much for a 150cc kapchai users?

It's very different mindset on safetly between us and the western folks. Obviously it's more dangerous to ride in here than there, coz we do crazy lane filtering and the road here is terrible sometimes,but why we have so many rider use slipper on the road? Even glove usage is so rare.
Not necessary la. Just get a good branded mesh jacket (Alpinestars, Dainese, RS Taichi, etc..) with CE approved body armour and you should be OK. thumbsup.gif
Also invest in a good raincoat and not the cheapo type.

Here is what I wear when riding daily. cool2.gif
Gloves: Komine mesh gloves

Jacket - Komine mesh jacket

Pants - hiking pants (easy to get dry when wet)
Boots - hiking boots

Komine riding jeans usually for long distance riding.

Helmet - Shoei J-Force 4 or Arai SZ- Ram 4 wub.gif

And rain coat. ph34r.gif
Justin.Loong
post Nov 13 2019, 12:09 PM

5,266 posts

QUOTE(sunmaster @ Nov 12 2019, 08:17 AM)
Well I would suggest to ride with mesh jacket instead. due to our weather. Bikeworld Klang is having a sale with their magna jackets. Which will lights up when it's shined upon.  biggrin.gif

for pants you can look for riding jeans. But I'll suggest to get those with kevlar inner lining for better abrasion protection.

LSH at mont kiara is having a sale, there is a very good deal with their boots now. very tempting to get another pair of boots.  biggrin.gif
Here is what I wear when riding daily.  tongue.gif

Gloves - Clover GTS-2
Jacket - Clover Ventouring-2
Pants - Clover SYS-3
Boots - Falco Liberty 2.1 wp
Helmet - Shoei GT Air
MACNA icon_idea.gif

SUSskyblu3
post Nov 13 2019, 12:18 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Absolado8 @ Nov 13 2019, 11:22 AM)
I think you missunderstood the concept of accident. Accident do not really only happen to riders speeding big bike. And yes more speed worsen injury. But statistic proven kapchai riders have more risk. Thus kapchai rider need more awareness to wear safety riding gears.
And accidents not always due to own riders mistake.
It cab adjusts cause by another road user.
Justin.Loong
post Nov 13 2019, 12:24 PM

5,266 posts

QUOTE(ah_chew @ Nov 13 2019, 10:42 AM)
kapchai brake isn't as good as those more expensive bike, definitely put on your gears.
For original soft brakes issue, you could upgrade your OEM rubber to to steel braided.

Or if still not good enough, then perhaps after-market master cylinder and / or caliper.

brows.gif devil.gif sweat.gif
mADmAN
post Nov 13 2019, 01:35 PM

10,515 posts

QUOTE(talentrecruiter @ Nov 12 2019, 08:12 PM)
Get a min 250cc else no need so much protection. Last time I ride scooter, top speed not even 120,i felt more than enough when I was wearing mesh jacket.
this is the (on sarcasm) ABSOLUTE BEST ADVICE EVER (off sarcasm)

did you ever have an accident on your scooter?

u either rarely ride, have not been riding on malaysia roads very long or have absolutely no idea of the top speed of kapchais these days.

besides, as others have mentioned...its not just about the speed riders go at.. other people may be the reason for it. ive had an accident before, i was going slow in the bike lane... and another bike (without looking) slowly entered the bike lane and right into my path..no time, hit him, fell off the bike and into a drain... its been over 10 years and i still have the scars on my legs...coz i was just wearing normal low cut work shoes and slacks. hurt like a bitch back then.... if i was wearing proper gear i dont think ill have those scars.

the word is "accident" aka not on purpose aka unintended....better/proper gears helps u prepare and reduce injury for those unintended moments.

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Nov 13 2019, 12:24 PM)
Or if still not good enough, then perhaps after-market master cylinder and / or caliper.
key word in this sentence is "after-market" meaning go buy them at shops...not curi calipers from big bikes sweat.gif
Justin.Loong
post Nov 13 2019, 02:23 PM

5,266 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 13 2019, 01:35 PM)

key word in this sentence is "after-market" meaning go buy them at shops...not curi calipers from big bikes  sweat.gif
If cannot curi from big bikes, then pecah masuk rumah and curi. rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif

2 bijik pulak tu... vmad.gif ranting.gif mad.gif

If cannot curi from rumah, then pecah masuk kedai and curi. rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif

Dalam otak penyamun, "benda boleh dapat percuma, kenapa nak beli?" Ada saja ikhtiar jahat dilakukan mereka untuk dapatkan apa yang dimahukan.

dscythe
post Nov 14 2019, 03:24 PM

113 posts

+1 for all the advice for mesh jacket with CE approved padding, glove and riding boot to work
+1 safety is nothing got to do with bike or engine cc you ride
+1 invest on genuine safety riding gears

SUSskyblu3
post Nov 14 2019, 09:20 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Nov 13 2019, 12:09 PM)
MACNA  icon_idea.gif

How much is this?

Don't mind getting this.
SUSskyblu3
post Nov 14 2019, 09:23 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Nov 13 2019, 02:23 PM)
If cannot curi from big bikes, then pecah masuk rumah and curi.  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  cry.gif

2 bijik pulak tu...  vmad.gif  ranting.gif  mad.gif

If cannot curi from rumah, then pecah masuk kedai and curi.  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  cry.gif

MotoGP sepang also get pecah masuk steal parts.

Karenalvin
post Nov 14 2019, 10:52 PM

247 posts

I am in the ATGATT camp and full face, jacket, glove, shoes, riding jeans even when a short trip. got into minor accident before and promised my wife that i will not ride without gear. so i am in the camp of all gear on even if you ride a 110cc. however leather jacket is really overkill.

i am not saying there is anything wrong with wearing leather on kapcai, but its simply too freaking hot here. there is a balance between protection and convenience you need to strike. you can have your leather jacket but its damn hot to wear it everyday, sooner or later you are going to stop wearing it or at least skip out on it ever so often.

so instead of going all out to spend 2k on jacket and pants, probably spend 1k to get some mesh or fabric jacket and riding jeans for a start. 1k for boot and glove. that is a better way to spend 2k than leather jacket and pants without boots and gloves.

since you are L and this is your first time getting gear, you should probably spend something along this line:

Jacket - around RM 600
pants - around RM 500
Shoes - around RM 600
Gloves - around RM 150
rain jacket - around RM 150

this should get you a good baseline for a feel for the gear, some advantages and disadvantages and personal preference only comes after riding around in the gear for 2 or 3 weeks. you will then know what you like or don't like. most importantly, what will you realistically wear everyday.

sunmaster
post Nov 15 2019, 07:49 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 14 2019, 09:20 PM)
How much is this?

Don't mind getting this.
500++ from bike world klang sentral. Macna is not selling well in Malaysia, so they are now doing a clearance sale. biggrin.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Nov 15 2019, 10:17 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(sunmaster @ Nov 15 2019, 07:49 AM)
500++ from bike world klang sentral. Macna is not selling well in Malaysia, so they are now doing a clearance sale.  biggrin.gif
500 is ok.

Congress with EA rating amours ?
jagjag
post Nov 15 2019, 02:55 PM

511 posts

LSH can get mesh jacket for ard 600 and raincoat ??
sunmaster
post Nov 15 2019, 04:00 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 15 2019, 10:17 AM)
500 is ok.

Congress with EA rating amours ?
I think is CE level 1. this is model > macna rush. For 500, this is one of the better options comparing to some of the japanese branded jackets.
mADmAN
post Nov 15 2019, 04:05 PM

10,515 posts

QUOTE(jagjag @ Nov 15 2019, 02:55 PM)
LSH can get mesh jacket for ard 600 and raincoat ??
maybe... but ur chouices will be limited to 1 choice only.. i think the nankai mesh jacket is about 3xx.

raincoat is is about 200 thereabouts.

jagjag
post Nov 15 2019, 04:13 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 15 2019, 04:05 PM)
maybe... but ur chouices will be limited to 1 choice only.. i think the nankai mesh jacket is about 3xx.

raincoat is is about 200 thereabouts.
Hmm..no good..just that the place is very near my office..

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:15 PM