Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

pokchik
post Nov 10 2019, 11:34 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 10 2019, 05:13 PM)
Can some sifu answer my question? My house's back yard has done the cabling works yesterday.

How long will it take to offer Unifi service? I have signed the waiting list last 2 months, do I need to go to TM for Unifi application again?

my experience:

unifi overhead cables setup Dec'18.
unifi service started May'19.

something like that, can't remember correctly the dates.
pokchik
post Feb 17 2020, 05:15 PM

1,304 posts

Q: Can we deactivate/quit Unifi TV after 12mths' usage & save RM30/mth?

e.g. Installed Unifi 100Mbps RM129 (RM99 + RM30) 1st of February 2019.
go to TM Point & stops Unifi TV now since it's already 12mths (i assume Unifi TV contract is 12mths vs. Unifi broadband 24mths).

p/s : sorry if this has been asked & answered before.

This post has been edited by pokchik: Feb 17 2020, 05:16 PM
pokchik
post Feb 22 2020, 12:32 AM

1,304 posts

Norton backup not accessible also.. demmit.
pokchik
post Mar 10 2020, 05:04 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(tydell @ Mar 10 2020, 09:50 AM)
Being government linked should make them kinder to the rakyat. But they are worse than competitors.
in malaysia,

govt linked company vs. customer (people) = people lose.

private company vs. customer = customer lose.

very less chance of the customers (us) winning anything or getting a proper customer treatment.
pokchik
post Sep 21 2020, 08:38 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(HariszKilz @ Sep 21 2020, 07:22 PM)
TM suddenly called me today and inform me that they received my complaint today. Bruh. I checked in MCMC, the report status is now under investigation. The thing is, my taman, TM already finishing installed Fibre Cabinet, FDP and lay the cable but the funny thing is, they only put the FDP at the Surau only. They don't want to pull the cable to other streets including mine. Why not just cover the whole taman ? Omg. Waste of time putting a Fibre cabinet if you're focusing on 1 place.
Q: you KNOW that they have no intention to pull the cables or you're just assuming?

when Unifi came to my taman, it took some time for TM to make it available for installation.
5-6mths.. the last phase was the worst - everything seems to be ready (all the cables are ready, distribution boxes available) but have to wait 1mth
just so that the network connection tests are done and address available for registration in TM database.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88952935

This post has been edited by pokchik: Sep 21 2020, 08:49 PM
pokchik
post Oct 28 2020, 12:04 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(yamahai @ Oct 27 2020, 11:55 PM)
I'm currently screamyx user. Will I get priority to receive the availability port?
normally yes - my situation for my parents' house in JB is the same as you.

i've just noticed a small black box (smaller than your picture) but with the standard unifi cable looping.

went to TM Point Melaka to enquire (i'm in Melaka anywa), but they say not available yet (or was it port full? i forgot)

i showed them the picture (with the box numbering) and they spent another 10mins to check on another system.

it turns out that there IS available port but priority given to existing streamyx user.

since the existing streamyx account owner is my brother, i asked him to go and register.

when he went to JB TM Point - the staff say port full and have to queue.

i just leave it be - malas want to escalate (Melaka say available, JB say not available)
but the installer came after 2 weeks of queuing.
pokchik
post Dec 1 2020, 03:21 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Dec 1 2020, 12:42 PM)
Router Question :

Currently using unifi VDSL 2 30 Mbps, planning to upgrade stock router (Netis) provided by TM.

Is RT-AC86U overkill for 30 Mbps?

If it is, any other alternative? Cost is ok, just want to have a more stable and reliable connection.

Edit : 1k sqft condo.
I used my RT-AC86U by pairing it with the really old blue-colored, stock Streamyx Riger Modem 2yrs back.

I know it's really pricey (to make it fair, I won it in one competition back then) - but it was God-sent.

I had 8Mpbs Streamyx and 3-4 modem/router changes to get a good & stable wifi coverage.. but to no avail.

RT-AC86U, in the meantime.. gave me a damn good wifi stability back then - a few months before Unifi came to my taman.

Currently using it in mesh config for my 2-storey house with Unifi connection (100Mbps).

pokchik
post Dec 24 2020, 08:16 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Dec 23 2020, 07:16 PM)
Now on 100Mbps plan using Huawei AX3 router. Upgrading to 500Mbps plan.
Nice. What is your main reason for upgrading?
Tempted to, but the RM249/mth is a bit sweat.gif

pokchik
post Dec 24 2020, 01:38 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(shahie @ Dec 24 2020, 12:33 PM)
actually, 500Mbps package consider worth, RM249/month for 2 years, since TM giving Mesh M9+ worth Rm900. if we just divide 900/24 = 37.5, and if we calculate the package itself 500Mbps with ultimate unifi tv only (249 - 37.5) = RM211.50 as compare to Rm199 for 300mbps. you pay Rm12.50 monthly additional for the extra 200mbps. make sense ka? lol
now that you put at it that way.. it actually make sense la!

put aside the new 24mth contract, of course (not like there's a chance to shift to Time in my housing area anyway).

pokchik
post Dec 24 2020, 01:51 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Dec 24 2020, 09:18 AM)
Astro package currently rm130+ so might as well upgrade unifi. Only downside is, if cable cut, then totally no service.
Astro is also pushing a lot on their Ultra HD Box nowadays..
even recording goes to their cloud service, which in the end utilizes internet.

plus side for Astro : cable TV.
downside for Astro : if raining, no signal laugh.gif

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Dec 24 2020, 09:18 AM)
Mesh and unifi tv box still haven't arrived. Can I just ask for the package upgrade 1st if it just requires configuration at TM side?
from lower speed to 500Mbps should require some configuration change from TM side.

additionally, they usually send a vendor over to configure & confirm that installation address
really showing 500Mbps - users normally complain that they do not get that max. speed
and claim that TM 'cheated' them (when in actual fact, users perform speed test wrongly
or their wifi is not capable to achieve that speed).

0.0293sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:50 PM