Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

pierrechoong
post Dec 30 2019, 09:51 AM

233 posts

Hi Sifus,

I am currently on Unifi 30mbps...(might upgrade if usage is high later on)- my question is that which wireless router is the most reliable to keep it switched on for 24/7 without having to reset due to heating issues and is with good wifi range/coverage?

Hope any sifu can shed some light on this?

pierrechoong
post Dec 30 2019, 04:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 30 2019, 04:18 PM)
Thanks for your reply bro....

Between these 2 that you have recommended which one is better if price is not a concern? What's the difference actually?

pierrechoong
post Dec 30 2019, 11:28 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Dec 30 2019, 04:58 PM)
RT-AC68U best i using for 100mbps unifi no problem
thanks buddy
pierrechoong
post Dec 30 2019, 11:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 30 2019, 05:32 PM)
RT-AC86U offcourse

RT-AC68U
Maximum 5GHz Speed: 1300Mb/s
MIMO: 3x3
CPU: Dual Core 800MHz
RAM: 256MB
Flash: 128MB

RT-AC86U
Maximum 5GHz Speed: 1734Mb/s
MIMO: 3x3
CPU: Dual Core 1.8GHz
RAM: 512MB
Flash: 256MB

But if money really is not a problem for you, I would suggest RT-AX88U instead for future proofing as more & more devices is adopting the Wireless AX (Wi-Fi 6)
Although the price is actually double the RT-AC86U
Also, only buy from ASUS Malaysia, do not buy from China, the price for ASUS Malaysia unit might be higher because ASUS Malaysia doesn't provide support for ASUS China units
If there is a problem with the China unit, you will have to send it back to China

RT-AX88U
Maximum 5GHz Speed: 4804Mb/s
MIMO: 4x4
CPU: Quad Core 1.8GHz
RAM: 1GB
Flash: 256MB
thanks for the advice...will definitely look into this smile.gif

pierrechoong
post Dec 30 2019, 11:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(y500 @ Dec 30 2019, 05:49 PM)
will take a look and thanks bro
pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 01:38 PM

233 posts

Hi sifus,

I have just purchased an Asus ac 86u router as advised. Tried to setup and all went well until i realized when i plug in my lan cable to connect my alarm none of the 4 lan network led is lit up. No connection was detected from the lan port. (internet is working fine just that the lan port seems not working)

Tried all 4 lan port, reset the unit and even disable aiprotection and firewall, still did not help.

I then tried with the supplied router by unifi and it was working.

Did I get a lemon unit with all 4 lan port not working?

Sifus, any thoughts?

Also if I am able to upgrade this router during the exchange, which Asus router should i go for which does not have any heating issues at all? Read a bit and came to realized that ac 86u has lots of heating issues.

Hope sifus can help me out.

pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 09:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 5 2020, 06:29 PM)
Report here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405
Or, just send it back to the shop where you bought it from and request for a replacement unit since it's less than a week you bought it
Update

Sent it back to the shop and tested on the spot. Apparently all the 4 lan ports seem to work without any issue.

Weird thing is when I brought it back home to re-test, connect the alarm lan cable to the port, same thing happens-no lan light no Internet. If the cable is faulty or not in good condition, how come when I connect the same cable to the supplied router no issues at all.

If it's a setting issue at least the lan led will light up....

What seems to be the issue? Asus router is sensitive with lan cable?This is really unheard of...at least for me....

Any idea to solve this if you know?

Thanks Buddy!

pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 09:50 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(CrimsonKing @ Jan 5 2020, 09:36 PM)
You should test with a new set of LAN cables.  smile.gif
Changing to a new lan cable will be last resort as runs up the roof...but if its the lan cable issue (the lan cable is actually new, just 3 months old), how come it works on the dlink router?

Weird huh....

Or Asus router is picky towards lan cable? Is there such a thing?....
pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 11:38 PM

233 posts

Reset the router, use a new Ethernet cable & plug it to your PC / laptop
If the laptop / PC with a new Ethernet cable doesn't cause issues, that means either the original Ethernet cable is causing issues or the alarm system itself is causing it

[/quote]

Yup done that at the PC shop. It was working. In fact all the 4 ports no issue...Agreed if this works then either the lan cable or alarm but weird thing is when I hook up the same lan cable with the dlink router all works well pulak.....
pierrechoong
post Jan 6 2020, 12:05 AM

233 posts

[quote=pierrechoong,Jan 5 2020, 11:38 PM]
Reset the router, use a new Ethernet cable & plug it to your PC / laptop
If the laptop / PC with a new Ethernet cable doesn't cause issues, that means either the original Ethernet cable is causing issues or the alarm system itself is causing it

[/quote]

Yup done that at the PC shop. It was working. In fact all the 4 ports no issue...Agreed if this works then either the lan cable or alarm but weird thing is when I hook up the same lan cable with the dlink router all works well pulak.....

[/quote]

hmmm....am thinking would it be worth while to buy a switch hook it up to this asus router and switch with alarm lan cable to give it a try?

0.1757sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:14 AM