Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO! (Unifi)

views
     
Spawny
post Jan 20 2020, 10:21 AM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
I need some advise from the all the sifus here.
I was at the TM point earlier to check the availability of internet on my new housing area, they said it the ports will be ready in March.
I can either apply thru UNIFI directly or thru Maxis Fibre plan for it, but base on the packages from both telco I feel the 300mbps from Maxis Fibre suit my needs more and the price is way cheaper than UNIFI.

So my main question for now, has MAXIS Fibre service improve compared to the years before? Are their internet connection as reliable as UNIFI? I know both ride on the same fibre line by TM but I just want to hear opinions before i make my decision

Thanks!
Spawny
post Jan 20 2020, 10:56 AM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(Max @ Jan 20 2020, 10:34 AM)
this will summon 'someone'.. if others know what i mean..  brows.gif  laugh.gif

if he still linger here la..  whistling.gif
*
To be honest i prefer UNIFI, but I want the 300mpbs package with a better deal, the current price is 199 excluding tax. Is there an agent or third party dealers that can give me a better price for the same package? My parents home now is paying 190 for 800mbps which is why the current deal does not look appealing to me.


Spawny
post Jan 20 2020, 11:08 AM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(Max @ Jan 20 2020, 11:05 AM)
dont know about maxis fiber coz never use them b4.
im on unifi from the very 1st fiber connection in malaysia.. back then it was 2011.
currently no issues with unifi.

btw, whats ur main purpose ? gaming, surfing, streaming?

maybe other can help chime in ..
*
All the above lol, streaming 4k content is also my main priority so 100mbps package will not do it for me.
Spawny
post Jan 20 2020, 01:09 PM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 20 2020, 12:25 PM)
you are quite right about the pricing.

unifi, new with black box plus: 300mbps rm199; 100mbps rm189; 30mbps rm149
https://unifi.com.my/plusbox?gclid=Cj0KCQiA...BUaAuwpEALw_wcB

maxis: 300mbps rm149; 100mbps; rm129; 30mbps rm89
https://www.maxis.com.my/broadband/maxisone...cB&gclsrc=aw.ds

you wonder what has got into unifi's heads to price them so high - the pricing is totally out of whack!
and these prices are ridiculous given many are currently paying <rm179 for 800mbps, <rm159 for 500mbps.
that new black box is likely worth <rm30 if buying wholesale.
perhaps after losing rm4bil last year, they just wanna make up for it this year...?!!

rm199 for 300mbps... i think few takers.
will see if they lower the prices by mid year.
*
Which is why I'm more opted to Maxis, but some folks have bad experience with their maxis connection which s why I wanna gather more information on it before deciding.
Spawny
post Mar 15 2020, 02:27 PM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
Seems Unifi has been inconsistent this days, I'm on 800mbps and some days it will show around 300mbps on speedtest, i have to reset the modem and router and speed will return back to 8000mbps. Then it will happen again on another day, does this happen to you guys?
Spawny
post Mar 17 2020, 12:34 PM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
I think TM has throttle the unifi speed recently, my 800mbps speed is now only 300mbps no matter which part of the day. maybe to cater more bandwidth for other users, since alot of folks are working from home now
Spawny
post Mar 17 2020, 03:12 PM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(go626201 @ Mar 17 2020, 02:45 PM)
No throttle,just cant run to that speed only.
If you speedtest to some local server or some singapore server that bandwidth is free enough,then speed can max.

user posted image

With RaspberryPi 4B
user posted image

user posted image
*
Tried multiple servers, can't get pass 300mbps, my upload is 200mbps which is the correct speed. Not sure what else I should check.\
Tried to download a Steam game, it was only 30mb/s download.

This post has been edited by Spawny: Mar 17 2020, 03:15 PM
Spawny
post Mar 17 2020, 06:44 PM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(go626201 @ Mar 17 2020, 03:47 PM)
Try reboot your router.
Local server should not having congestion problem.
*
When i reboot, i will get back my original speed but it will only last for a day, the next day it will go back to 300mbps
Spawny
post Mar 18 2020, 12:36 AM

Lets do this
****
Senior Member
585 posts

Joined: Feb 2006
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 17 2020, 09:48 PM)
Nope. I can get 800Mb/s all day, no throttling whatsoever

Few questions:
1. When you run the test, did you use WiFi or Ethernet cable?
2. What router are you using?
*
Using Ethernet cable, i believe my brother modified the DNS settings as i'm not getting the usual dns configuration. Using a tp link router that is bought from Harvey Norman which not the one used by TM.

If the DNS change that is causing the speed issue, then i would have isolated the problem already. Maybe some sifu can confirm on this

 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0331sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st June 2020 - 11:34 PM