QUOTE(tasek16 @ Jan 29 2020, 04:26 AM)
To be honest . new unifi plus is superior compared to old white stb.. more stable, (due to better processor, more ram and rom) capable playing 4k video without any problems (maybe my unifi connection 300mbps).. no need to set up vlan on router to stream videos .. so the new unifi box virtually can be played anywhere (wired or wireless)as long as using sufficient internet speed on any internet providers (tested using Digi 150). So when we balik kampung we can use the unifi plus box with digi for example.
But some minor drawbacks that might be concerned to some:
1. Remote.. so simple ... no number buttons ..everything relies on on-screen keyboard even if you want to type just the numbers.. but this problem can be solved if you using normal keyboard or even better using wireless 2.4g mini keyboard.
2. For the time being we can't play netflix video even already been installed
3. Interface is quite different compared to old stb.. no mozek interface for channels like old stb.. so you have to push the down button whilst video channel on play .. so it will show channel list at the bottom of the screen based on categories.
BUT (at least for me) the major drawback on the new unifi box .. it unable to handle INTERLACED video sources properly. Most TV stations broadcast their TV channels in interlace mode for example 1080i, 576i/480i The reasons.. due original source from TV cameras / video cameras are in interlaced. Why interlaced??? Interlaced is technique to mimic original framerate (25fps / 29.97 fps) to twice the number.. for example 25fps for pal it will look likes as 50fps. An Interlace video comprises 2 video fields in a frame .. so when it plays tv will scan alternately these 2 fields so it will look like the video shot or play 50fps.. so the video looks fluidly as "real life" especially on moving scenes. This technique was invented a long ago when the tv was introduced.. whty???.. to save bandwidth and crt tube on time time (especially consumer level) unable to play 50 / 60 fps . It still using until now..btw TVs or video cameras nowadays can record or play more than 25fps/30fps e.g 50fps/60fps or as progressive mode that normally refers to 50p or 60p / . So what's the problems.. video is not smooth or fluid as it should be. This due to player just showing or play as progressive mode (remove 1 field out of 2 fields from interlaced video). I have tried to set the video to 108Oi as my TV only normal FHD.. but it does not change. So if the video in interlace mode... video looks blurry and some interlace line artifacts.. BUT the good news is old stb can handle this interleced format as it should be. I've made AB comparison (both using HDMI to 1080.. ) the pld stb plays video more fluidly as at it should be and looks sharp. I've came across 1 member here complaint about the quality of sove channels / video on new unifi box is not good as the old stb.. Yap.. it might be the reason.. FYI if the videos originally shot as progressive like from movies (24fps/25fps) the image quality not much affected.. but If the source is interlaced like live broadcast (e.g sport, football) or even drama series .. you will notice the different I'm not complaning about overalll quality of the new unfi box.. for me.. this is only my main concern... or may be I've overlooked on the settings for this device. But it should be set as dafault as the old STB. I strongly hope unifi will fix the problem by updating the firmware..etc .. or maybe as mentioned earlier .. I miss somethings on setting..??
you can use the App called Android TV on your phone to link to it to type.But some minor drawbacks that might be concerned to some:
1. Remote.. so simple ... no number buttons ..everything relies on on-screen keyboard even if you want to type just the numbers.. but this problem can be solved if you using normal keyboard or even better using wireless 2.4g mini keyboard.
2. For the time being we can't play netflix video even already been installed
3. Interface is quite different compared to old stb.. no mozek interface for channels like old stb.. so you have to push the down button whilst video channel on play .. so it will show channel list at the bottom of the screen based on categories.
BUT (at least for me) the major drawback on the new unifi box .. it unable to handle INTERLACED video sources properly. Most TV stations broadcast their TV channels in interlace mode for example 1080i, 576i/480i The reasons.. due original source from TV cameras / video cameras are in interlaced. Why interlaced??? Interlaced is technique to mimic original framerate (25fps / 29.97 fps) to twice the number.. for example 25fps for pal it will look likes as 50fps. An Interlace video comprises 2 video fields in a frame .. so when it plays tv will scan alternately these 2 fields so it will look like the video shot or play 50fps.. so the video looks fluidly as "real life" especially on moving scenes. This technique was invented a long ago when the tv was introduced.. whty???.. to save bandwidth and crt tube on time time (especially consumer level) unable to play 50 / 60 fps . It still using until now..btw TVs or video cameras nowadays can record or play more than 25fps/30fps e.g 50fps/60fps or as progressive mode that normally refers to 50p or 60p / . So what's the problems.. video is not smooth or fluid as it should be. This due to player just showing or play as progressive mode (remove 1 field out of 2 fields from interlaced video). I have tried to set the video to 108Oi as my TV only normal FHD.. but it does not change. So if the video in interlace mode... video looks blurry and some interlace line artifacts.. BUT the good news is old stb can handle this interleced format as it should be. I've made AB comparison (both using HDMI to 1080.. ) the pld stb plays video more fluidly as at it should be and looks sharp. I've came across 1 member here complaint about the quality of sove channels / video on new unifi box is not good as the old stb.. Yap.. it might be the reason.. FYI if the videos originally shot as progressive like from movies (24fps/25fps) the image quality not much affected.. but If the source is interlaced like live broadcast (e.g sport, football) or even drama series .. you will notice the different I'm not complaning about overalll quality of the new unfi box.. for me.. this is only my main concern... or may be I've overlooked on the settings for this device. But it should be set as dafault as the old STB. I strongly hope unifi will fix the problem by updating the firmware..etc .. or maybe as mentioned earlier .. I miss somethings on setting..??
quite useful app
QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jan 29 2020, 10:15 AM)
Currently my plan 800mbps rm 329 i want to downgrade to 300mbps rm 199 because currently so high to pay unifi rm 329
please advice me ?
Device that connected to internet at same time which at night
1) 2 PC Gaming
2) 2 Ultra Box Astro
3) 1 laptop
4) 1 ipad
5) 6 iphone
6) 2 box unifi tv plus
Activity :- Play Games online Dota 2 , watching drama 4k , netflix 4k , youtube , streaming music , upload google drive
if i downgrade to this plan 300mbps can i still can enjoy what i enjoy at this time ? thank you .. any suggestion ?
You want to save money, just go with RM 129 100 mbps plan.please advice me ?
Device that connected to internet at same time which at night
1) 2 PC Gaming
2) 2 Ultra Box Astro
3) 1 laptop
4) 1 ipad
5) 6 iphone
6) 2 box unifi tv plus
Activity :- Play Games online Dota 2 , watching drama 4k , netflix 4k , youtube , streaming music , upload google drive
if i downgrade to this plan 300mbps can i still can enjoy what i enjoy at this time ? thank you .. any suggestion ?
Dont think you can tell the diff.
Jan 29 2020, 10:51 AM

0.0262sec