377 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

fruitie
post Jan 28 2020, 06:44 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Jan 28 2020, 06:39 PM)
can we just potong the hypptv subscription?
No. I have been trying since 2014.
tien171
post Jan 28 2020, 07:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jan 23 2020, 06:45 PM)
What is your previous plan?
Currently I'm 100 Mbps with Ultimate pack (RM159)
Subscribe that plan for STB use actually.
Wonder if change pack still can use the STB?
in Oct 2019 i went to TMpoint to apply for the YEP( speed still at 100Mbps) and at the same time i downgrade from ultimate to Ruby tv pack. as i seldom use hypptv .and can save some $.
the girl said i can keep the my white tvbox as can still use to view unifitv.
all went well i can watch unifitv on the white tvbox.

they may have change the rules with their 2020 unify plans . maybe call to check !

This post has been edited by tien171: Jan 28 2020, 08:11 PM
tien171
post Jan 28 2020, 08:07 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Jan 23 2020, 11:24 PM)
yeap, the new box unifi plus UHD only via wifi not same the white box. now, you have two box. can used different tv.
how about the picture quality of the white stb VS the new unifi plus black box when viewing unifi tv channels .

i am on the white stb , somehow they update my box to the new new interface .
and picture quality seems better than on the old interface .
maybe my smart 4Ktv enhance the pix quality ?

This post has been edited by tien171: Jan 28 2020, 08:08 PM
tasek16
post Jan 29 2020, 04:26 AM

QUOTE(tien171 @ Jan 28 2020, 08:07 PM)
how about the picture quality   of the white stb  VS  the  new  unifi plus black box  when viewing  unifi tv channels . 
i am on the white stb   , somehow  they  update my box to the new  new interface . 
and picture quality  seems better than on the old interface . 
maybe my smart 4Ktv  enhance  the pix quality  ?
To be honest . new unifi plus is superior compared to old white stb.. more stable, (due to better processor, more ram and rom) capable playing 4k video without any problems (maybe my unifi connection 300mbps).. no need to set up vlan on router to stream videos .. so the new unifi box virtually can be played anywhere (wired or wireless)as long as using sufficient internet speed on any internet providers (tested using Digi 150). So when we balik kampung we can use the unifi plus box with digi for example.

But some minor drawbacks that might be concerned to some:
1. Remote.. so simple ... no number buttons ..everything relies on on-screen keyboard even if you want to type just the numbers.. but this problem can be solved if you using normal keyboard or even better using wireless 2.4g mini keyboard.
2. For the time being we can't play netflix video even already been installed
3. Interface is quite different compared to old stb.. no mozek interface for channels like old stb.. so you have to push the down button whilst video channel on play .. so it will show channel list at the bottom of the screen based on categories.

BUT (at least for me) the major drawback on the new unifi box .. it unable to handle INTERLACED video sources properly. Most TV stations broadcast their TV channels in interlace mode for example 1080i, 576i/480i The reasons.. due original source from TV cameras / video cameras are in interlaced. Why interlaced??? Interlaced is technique to mimic original framerate (25fps / 29.97 fps) to twice the number.. for example 25fps for pal it will look likes as 50fps. An Interlace video comprises 2 video fields in a frame .. so when it plays tv will scan alternately these 2 fields so it will look like the video shot or play 50fps.. so the video looks fluidly as "real life" especially on moving scenes. This technique was invented a long ago when the tv was introduced.. whty???.. to save bandwidth and crt tube on time time (especially consumer level) unable to play 50 / 60 fps . It still using until now..btw TVs or video cameras nowadays can record or play more than 25fps/30fps e.g 50fps/60fps or as progressive mode that normally refers to 50p or 60p / . So what's the problems.. video is not smooth or fluid as it should be. This due to player just showing or play as progressive mode (remove 1 field out of 2 fields from interlaced video). I have tried to set the video to 108Oi as my TV only normal FHD.. but it does not change. So if the video in interlace mode... video looks blurry and some interlace line artifacts.. BUT the good news is old stb can handle this interleced format as it should be. I've made AB comparison (both using HDMI to 1080.. ) the pld stb plays video more fluidly as at it should be and looks sharp. I've came across 1 member here complaint about the quality of sove channels / video on new unifi box is not good as the old stb.. Yap.. it might be the reason.. FYI if the videos originally shot as progressive like from movies (24fps/25fps) the image quality not much affected.. but If the source is interlaced like live broadcast (e.g sport, football) or even drama series .. you will notice the different I'm not complaning about overalll quality of the new unfi box.. for me.. this is only my main concern... or may be I've overlooked on the settings for this device. But it should be set as dafault as the old STB. I strongly hope unifi will fix the problem by updating the firmware..etc .. or maybe as mentioned earlier .. I miss somethings on setting..?? smile.gif

This post has been edited by tasek16: Jan 29 2020, 08:38 AM
dannielshazmeer
post Jan 29 2020, 10:15 AM

628 posts

Currently my plan 800mbps rm 329 i want to downgrade to 300mbps rm 199 because currently so high to pay unifi rm 329

please advice me ?
Device that connected to internet at same time which at night
1) 2 PC Gaming
2) 2 Ultra Box Astro
3) 1 laptop
4) 1 ipad
5) 6 iphone
6) 2 box unifi tv plus

Activity :- Play Games online Dota 2 , watching drama 4k , netflix 4k , youtube , streaming music , upload google drive

if i downgrade to this plan 300mbps can i still can enjoy what i enjoy at this time ? thank you .. any suggestion ?
LostAndFound
post Jan 29 2020, 10:34 AM

6,264 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 28 2020, 04:38 PM)
I wonder what's the fuss with taking up YEP or not taking up YEP? It is everyone's choice. Problem?

Not to sound arrogant but really that 3 months of free bills' total amount is less than one day of my salary. I noticed this behaviour in some of you since this thing was launched. Peace out.

Really, there is no need to be sarcastic with each other. smile.gif
Well sis this is the natural reaction to the fear-mongering back in Oct/Nov. You also saw (and commented) on it back then after all.

And most of us aren't /k level salaries, so still nice amount relatively speaking la =)
DecaPix
post Jan 29 2020, 10:51 AM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

QUOTE(tasek16 @ Jan 29 2020, 04:26 AM)
To be honest . new unifi plus is superior compared to old white stb.. more stable, (due to better processor, more ram and rom) capable playing 4k video without any problems (maybe my unifi connection 300mbps)..  no need to set up vlan on router to stream videos .. so the new unifi box virtually can be played anywhere (wired or wireless)as long as using sufficient internet speed on any internet providers (tested using Digi 150). So when we balik kampung we can use the unifi plus box with digi for example. 

But some minor drawbacks that might be concerned to some:
1. Remote.. so simple ... no number buttons ..everything relies on on-screen keyboard even if you want to type just the numbers.. but this problem can be solved if you using normal keyboard or even better using wireless 2.4g mini keyboard.
2. For the time being we can't play netflix video even already been installed
3. Interface is quite different compared to old stb.. no mozek interface for channels like old stb.. so you have to push the down button whilst video channel on play .. so it will show channel list at the bottom of the screen based on categories.

BUT (at least for me) the major drawback on the new unifi box .. it unable to handle INTERLACED video sources properly. Most TV stations broadcast their TV channels in interlace mode for example  1080i, 576i/480i  The reasons.. due original source from TV cameras / video cameras are in interlaced. Why interlaced??? Interlaced is technique  to mimic original framerate (25fps / 29.97 fps) to twice the number.. for example 25fps for pal it will look likes as 50fps. An Interlace video comprises 2 video fields in a frame .. so when it plays tv will scan alternately these 2 fields so it will look like the video  shot or play 50fps.. so the video looks fluidly as "real life" especially on moving scenes. This technique was invented a long ago when the tv was introduced.. whty???.. to save bandwidth and crt tube on time time (especially consumer level) unable to play 50 / 60 fps . It still using until now..btw TVs or video cameras nowadays can record or play more than 25fps/30fps e.g 50fps/60fps or as progressive mode that normally refers to 50p or 60p / . So what's the problems.. video is not smooth or fluid as it should be. This due to player just showing or play as progressive mode (remove 1 field out of 2 fields from interlaced video). I have tried to set the video to 108Oi as my TV only normal FHD.. but it does not change. So if the video in interlace mode... video looks blurry and some interlace line artifacts..  BUT the good news is old stb can handle this interleced format as it should be. I've made AB comparison (both using HDMI to 1080.. ) the pld stb plays video more fluidly as at it should be and looks sharp. I've came across 1 member here complaint about the quality of sove channels / video on new unifi box is not good as the old stb.. Yap.. it might be the reason.. FYI if the videos originally shot as progressive like from movies (24fps/25fps) the image quality not much affected.. but If the source is interlaced like live broadcast (e.g sport, football) or even drama series .. you will notice the different  I'm not complaning about overalll quality of the new unfi box.. for me.. this is only my main concern... or may be I've overlooked on the settings for this device. But it should be set as dafault as the old STB. I strongly hope unifi will fix the problem by updating the firmware..etc .. or maybe as mentioned earlier .. I miss somethings on setting..?? smile.gif
you can use the App called Android TV on your phone to link to it to type.
quite useful app
QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jan 29 2020, 10:15 AM)
Currently my plan 800mbps rm 329 i want to downgrade to 300mbps rm 199 because currently so high to pay unifi rm 329

please advice me ?
1) 2 PC Gaming
2) 2 Ultra Box Astro
3) 1 laptop
4) 1 ipad
5) 6 iphone
6) 2 box unifi tv plus

Activity :- Play Games online Dota 2 , watching drama 4k , netflix 4k , youtube , streaming music , upload google drive

if i downgrade to this plan 300mbps can i still can enjoy what i enjoy at this time ? thank you .. any suggestion ?
You want to save money, just go with RM 129 100 mbps plan.
Dont think you can tell the diff.
fruitie
post Jan 29 2020, 11:14 AM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 29 2020, 10:34 AM)
Well sis this is the natural reaction to the fear-mongering back in Oct/Nov. You also saw (and commented) on it back then after all.

And most of us aren't /k level salaries, so still nice amount relatively speaking la =)
I did comment but I don't recall I was being sarcastic to anyone who took up. If my amount is normal like RM 189 or something I will sign up but mine isn't, of course I didn't take such risk. Moreover this account is currently used by my sister and she's the one paying the bill, I asked her and she said no. So, again it's everyone's choice.

I'm also not having /k salary la. tongue.gif
SUSraynman
post Jan 29 2020, 11:16 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(CrimsonKing @ Jan 23 2020, 05:37 PM)
I just called 100 to request for a DOWNGRADE of Unifi TV Ultimate Pack (RM60) to Ruby Plus Pack (RM30).

Saving RM30 per month as I do not use Unifi TV at all. I know they will not allow me to unsubscribe the Ultimate Pack.

Surprisingly they said OK, can downgrade.

However, they will charge a one-time fee of RM10 for the downgrade and it will appear in my next month's bill.

And my Unifi Tv contract will be renewed for another 12 months.

All in all, it is a good deal as I will save RM360 per year.  laugh.gif
My request for the downgrade of Ultimate to Ruby Plus Pack just came through as well. rclxm9.gif

lyc1982
post Jan 29 2020, 11:34 AM

ExpectNoMercy
2,329 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 28 2020, 04:15 PM)
Same here. PDF bill not out yet but my balance went down by 168.55 from -219.9 to -51.35.

My expected bill is RM159*1.06 = RM168.54
awesome~

means no surprise there...

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jan 29 2020, 10:34 AM)

fear-mongering also ppl's nature...

i can't blame them

the 3 months' free bill also less than my 1-day salary, but i can use that money saved for smth else and i am really grateful for that

p/s: me not 20k /k level salary
shamsay
post Jan 29 2020, 01:53 PM

606 posts

Any new plan promo from TM?..my contract for packages
unifi 300Mbps (Turbo Upgrade 2018) will expires in few months.and as TM informed , the price will back to normal RM199, currently pay 139.If no promo, maybe i need to downgrade or jump to maxis..any suggestion?
AVFAN
post Jan 29 2020, 02:08 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(tasek16 @ Jan 29 2020, 04:26 AM)
To be honest . new unifi plus is superior compared to old white stb.. more stable, (due to better processor, more ram and rom) capable playing 4k video without any problems (maybe my unifi connection 300mbps)..  no need to set up vlan on router to stream videos .. so the new unifi box virtually can be played anywhere (wired or wireless)as long as using sufficient internet speed on any internet providers (tested using Digi 150). So when we balik kampung we can use the unifi plus box with digi for example. 
The new black box is superior to white becos of newer aml s905x2 chipset, android9.... but same 2+8gb.

From the various users, it is fairly clear now that this black box does not need lan, wifi ok... but bit rate is 5mbps or so.

Old silver or white uses dedicated lan4, bit rate 8mbps... the old ones give better PQ.

I think unifi will gradually migrate all to this new app style, no more lan4 in time to come.

There is a lot of confusion now with several boxes, several apps, old, new.... some migrated, some not... some ATV, some regular...

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4894174/+100
blacktubi
post Jan 29 2020, 02:45 PM

-
8,409 posts

Kellicros
The new ATV black box no longer work over VLAN connection so it wouldn't work on LAN 1.

Perform manual VLAN tagging to gain normal operation on LAN 1.

Follow my settign
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 29 2020, 02:08 PM)
The new black box is superior to white becos of newer aml s905x2 chipset, android9.... but same 2+8gb.

From the various users, it is fairly clear now that this black box does not need lan, wifi ok... but bit rate is 5mbps or so.

Old silver or white uses dedicated lan4, bit rate 8mbps... the old ones give better PQ.

I think unifi will gradually migrate all to this new app style, no more lan4 in time to come.

There is a lot of confusion now with several boxes, several apps, old, new.... some migrated, some not... some ATV, some regular...

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4894174/+100
TM is moving away from VLAN based deployments to simplify things and prevent compatibility issues with 3rd party router.

The new black box run on a different infra compared to the older silver box. The bitrate is lower due to improved compression.

This post has been edited by blacktubi: Jan 29 2020, 02:53 PM
smileguy
post Jan 29 2020, 02:51 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 29 2020, 02:45 PM)
TM is moving away from VLAN based deployments to simplify things and prevent compatibility issues with 3rd party router.

The new black box run on a different infra compared to the older silver box. The bitrate is lower due to improved compression.
Well, unifi insists connection by cable to port 2,and BTW the new box struggles to deliver their own 4K channels,with 300 mbps it buffers like crazy!
AVFAN
post Jan 29 2020, 03:00 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 29 2020, 02:45 PM)
Kellicros
The new ATV black box no longer work over VLAN connection so it wouldn't work on LAN 1.

Perform manual VLAN tagging to gain normal operation on LAN 1.

Follow my settign

Moving away from vlan is pretty clear now.

Improved compression... maybe they r still working on it.

at least half a dozen users have said the old sliver or white boxes give significantly better picture.

To me, some of the so called hd channels on silver box arent even good enuf.. compared to some other app, same channels.

So, if that new way is going to be the std, its going backwards to a low std.
blacktubi
post Jan 29 2020, 03:05 PM

-
8,409 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 29 2020, 03:00 PM)
Moving away from vlan is pretty clear now.

Improved compression... maybe they r still working on it.

at least half a dozen users have said the old sliver or white boxes give significantly better picture.

To me, some of the so called hd channels on silver box arent even good enuf.. compared to some other app, same channels.

So, if that new way is going to be the std, its going backwards to a low std.
Let's hope it can be further optimized by TM. There are definitely some differences in quality currently.
go626201
post Jan 29 2020, 03:14 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(dannielshazmeer @ Jan 29 2020, 10:15 AM)

please advice me ?
1) 2 PC Gaming
2) 2 Ultra Box Astro
3) 1 laptop
4) 1 ipad
5) 6 iphone
6) 2 box unifi tv plus

Download might not be a problem,but upload speed might depend of your 'upload google drive' usage,if u heavy upload,then continue to use 800mbps/200mbps is better.
But if only upload less then 100gb per day then downgrade is okay.(100mbps and 300mbps plan only have 50mbps upload speed= about 18gb/hour upload max)
zwanvedder
post Jan 29 2020, 04:49 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(shamsay @ Jan 29 2020, 01:53 PM)
Any new plan promo from TM?..my contract for packages
unifi 300Mbps (Turbo Upgrade 2018)  will expires in few months.and as  TM informed , the price will back to normal RM199, currently pay 139.If no promo, maybe i need to downgrade or jump to maxis..any suggestion?
no la...u will pay RM139 after contract expire
nders
post Jan 29 2020, 07:11 PM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Jan 28 2020, 10:28 AM)
is unifi experimenting with QoS for applications/service type?

these past few weeks i sometimes cant even load webpages or instagram sometimes, but my netflix works flawlessly.

getting annoyed with the service im getting. sometimes want to do online transaction also have to think twice coz of the unstable connection
wanted to reply but forgot, but yeah I experienced heavy throttling on some foreign servers too since almost a full month ago.

till now, some youtube videos and some websites still load slower than others (and i can't find a pattern on this except that they are all overseas servers, but not ALL oversea servers), including facebook intermittently, and I have to use VPN to mitigate that.

Anyone else experiencing the same?
coolguy_0925
post Jan 29 2020, 07:31 PM

4,538 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Jan 29 2020, 11:16 AM)
My request for the downgrade of Ultimate to Ruby Plus Pack just came through as well.  rclxm9.gif

Just curious why you are still having the 100% discount HyppTV, which was supposed to end @ 31/12/2019

By the way, I was also trying to downgrade but after checking they said if I did that my 300Mpbs will no longer getting a special price

377 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:51 PM