377 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V38, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jan 5 2020, 06:11 PM

4,453 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Jan 5 2020, 01:38 PM)
Hi sifus,

I have just purchased an Asus ac 86u router as advised. Tried to setup and all went well until i realized when i plug in my lan cable to connect my alarm none of the 4 lan network led is lit up. No connection was detected from the lan port. (internet is working fine just that the lan port seems not working)

Tried all 4 lan port, reset the unit and even disable aiprotection and firewall, still did not help.

I then tried with the supplied router by unifi and it was working.

Did I get a lemon unit with all 4 lan port not working?

Sifus, any thoughts?

Also if I am able to upgrade this router during the exchange, which Asus router should i go for which does not have any heating issues at all? Read a bit and came to realized that ac 86u has lots of heating issues.

Hope sifus can help me out.

not sure about the ac86u, but it's smaller sibling the ac68u has cooling issues. performance sure, until you keep it running long enough the temps will throttle the speed till it eventually disconnect the internet or it's really slow.

Had to install a fan for it....

i would instead suggest get a pfsense router and pair with a ubiquiti ap. or perhaps the reviews and ensure that the router cooling is sufficient for long usage.

sHawTY
post Jan 5 2020, 06:29 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Jan 5 2020, 01:38 PM)
I have just purchased an Asus ac 86u router as advised. Tried all 4 lan port, reset the unit and even disable aiprotection and firewall, still did not help.

Did I get a lemon unit with all 4 lan port not working?
Report here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405
Or, just send it back to the shop where you bought it from and request for a replacement unit since it's less than a week you bought it
pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 09:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 5 2020, 06:29 PM)
Report here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405
Or, just send it back to the shop where you bought it from and request for a replacement unit since it's less than a week you bought it
Update

Sent it back to the shop and tested on the spot. Apparently all the 4 lan ports seem to work without any issue.

Weird thing is when I brought it back home to re-test, connect the alarm lan cable to the port, same thing happens-no lan light no Internet. If the cable is faulty or not in good condition, how come when I connect the same cable to the supplied router no issues at all.

If it's a setting issue at least the lan led will light up....

What seems to be the issue? Asus router is sensitive with lan cable?This is really unheard of...at least for me....

Any idea to solve this if you know?

Thanks Buddy!

SUSCrimsonKing
post Jan 5 2020, 09:36 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Jan 5 2020, 09:32 PM)
Update

Sent it back to the shop and tested on the spot. Apparently all the 4 lan ports seem to work without any issue.

Weird thing is when I brought it back home to re-test, connect the alarm lan cable to the port, same thing happens-no lan light no Internet. If the cable is faulty or not in good condition, how come when I connect the same cable to the supplied router no issues at all.

If it's a setting issue at least the lan led will light up....

What seems to be the issue? Asus router is sensitive with lan cable?This is really unheard of...at least for me....

Any idea to solve this if you know?

Thanks Buddy!
You should test with a new set of LAN cables. smile.gif

pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 09:50 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(CrimsonKing @ Jan 5 2020, 09:36 PM)
You should test with a new set of LAN cables.  smile.gif
Changing to a new lan cable will be last resort as runs up the roof...but if its the lan cable issue (the lan cable is actually new, just 3 months old), how come it works on the dlink router?

Weird huh....

Or Asus router is picky towards lan cable? Is there such a thing?....
SUSpakji
post Jan 5 2020, 10:38 PM

1,386 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jan 5 2020, 06:11 PM)
not sure about the ac86u, but it's smaller sibling the ac68u has cooling issues. performance sure, until you keep it running long enough the temps will throttle the speed till it eventually disconnect the internet or it's really slow.

Had to install a fan for it....

i would instead suggest get a pfsense router and pair with a ubiquiti ap. or perhaps the reviews and ensure that the router cooling is sufficient for long usage.
pfsense router send me link and ubiquiti ap good for long usage home
i using unifi
SUSCandy12
post Jan 5 2020, 10:49 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jan 5 2020, 01:26 AM)
Sorry for asking, is that any slow speed problem now?
My 800mbps plan can only get 200mbps++ only...
(Just came back from travel so dont know how long already)
The AAG undersea cable has yet to be restored fully.

That is why TM quietly launch their 3 months free campaign last time and use the opportunity to lock as many Unifi users for another dreadful 24 months contract with full remaining months penalty for early termination.

It was actually to suppressed complains and avoid making their customers more angry. You really think they would give you free things when their financial results were so mad since early quarter 2019 when they went red?
sHawTY
post Jan 5 2020, 10:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Jan 5 2020, 01:26 AM)
Sorry for asking, is that any slow speed problem now?
My 800mbps plan can only get 200mbps++ only...
(Just came back from travel so dont know how long already)
Just you
I'm still getting 800Mb/s download & 200Mb/s upload

Speedtest to Telekom

Speedtest to Time

Speedtest to Digi

Speedtest to Celcom

Speedtest to Maxis
QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Jan 5 2020, 09:50 PM)
Changing to a new lan cable will be last resort as runs up the roof
Reset the router, use a new Ethernet cable & plug it to your PC / laptop
If the laptop / PC with a new Ethernet cable doesn't cause issues, that means either the original Ethernet cable is causing issues or the alarm system itself is causing it

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 5 2020, 11:02 PM
Max
post Jan 5 2020, 11:16 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(kernel123 @ Jan 5 2020, 02:50 PM)
h

yup. why eh? until now i dunno whats the problem cry.gif
Im having the issue after upgrade dlink dir842 router firmware, but did not reboot the fiber modem.

Turn off all equipment then turn all back 1 by 1 seems fix the issue.
Modem > router > tv stb.
pierrechoong
post Jan 5 2020, 11:38 PM

233 posts

If the laptop / PC with a new Ethernet cable doesn't cause issues, that means either the original Ethernet cable is causing issues or the alarm system itself is causing it

[/quote]

Yup done that at the PC shop. It was working. In fact all the 4 ports no issue...Agreed if this works then either the lan cable or alarm but weird thing is when I hook up the same lan cable with the dlink router all works well pulak.....
pierrechoong
post Jan 6 2020, 12:05 AM

233 posts

[quote=pierrechoong,Jan 5 2020, 11:38 PM]

[/quote]

Yup done that at the PC shop. It was working. In fact all the 4 ports no issue...Agreed if this works then either the lan cable or alarm but weird thing is when I hook up the same lan cable with the dlink router all works well pulak.....

[/quote]

hmmm....am thinking would it be worth while to buy a switch hook it up to this asus router and switch with alarm lan cable to give it a try?

SUSCrimsonKing
post Jan 6 2020, 06:13 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Jan 6 2020, 12:05 AM)

hmmm....am thinking would it be worth while to buy a switch hook it up to this asus router and switch with alarm lan cable to give it a try?
No point spending money on extra hardware when the problem is either the lan cable or the alarm that is not playing well with the Asus router. smile.gif

The problem might not go away.

This post has been edited by CrimsonKing: Jan 6 2020, 06:48 AM
cHiLdHo0drEaMz
post Jan 6 2020, 10:46 AM

#DBAP
1,030 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 5 2020, 10:52 PM)
Just you
I'm still getting 800Mb/s download & 200Mb/s upload

Speedtest to Telekom

Speedtest to Time

Speedtest to Digi

Speedtest to Celcom

Speedtest to Maxis
Looks like Ugreen cables able to produce maximum speed

littlewing
post Jan 6 2020, 11:06 AM

246 posts

hi all, on unifi. i noticed that it takes awhile to load up a general web page like there is a long lag where the internet tries to connect the respective server (its like this for all websites). i didnt have this issue when i was on Time internet. when i do speedtest its fast. any idea how to troubleshoot this issue pls ?
Max2006
post Jan 6 2020, 01:19 PM

4,099 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Jan 6 2020, 11:06 AM)
hi all, on unifi. i noticed that it takes awhile to load up a general web page like there is a long lag where the internet tries to connect the respective server (its like this for all websites). i didnt have this issue when i was on Time internet. when i do speedtest its fast. any idea how to troubleshoot this issue pls ?
Check the posts above. Apparently there's a undersea cable issue which affecting the internet connection.
doremon
post Jan 6 2020, 01:26 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,619 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Jan 6 2020, 01:19 PM)
Check the posts above. Apparently there's a undersea cable issue which affecting the internet connection.
Sometime my TM modem auth blinking also Line 1 blinking.
hexcundie
post Jan 6 2020, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jan 5 2020, 10:49 PM)
The AAG undersea cable has yet to be restored fully.

That is why TM quietly launch their 3 months free campaign last time and use the opportunity to lock as many Unifi users for another dreadful 24 months contract with full remaining months penalty for early termination.

It was actually to suppressed complains and avoid making their customers more angry. You really think they would give you free things when their financial results were so mad since early quarter 2019 when they went red?
that makes sense fucking tm and the slippery ways
cfa28
post Jan 6 2020, 04:34 PM

4,829 posts

The Internet indicator on my router has been disconnecting more frequently in past few days. Happens at least 2x per day or more.

taqu
post Jan 6 2020, 04:39 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Jan 6 2020, 11:06 AM)
What DNS server are you using?
SUSdadah
post Jan 6 2020, 05:14 PM

161 posts

anyone still having issues with outside malaysia connection? Tried to go to usa website and it is really slow. But asian website no problem yesterday.

377 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:17 AM