13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hankook Prime 3 (K125), Info about the new K125

Aeon_Clock
post Jan 23 2022, 12:59 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Oct 20 2021, 02:34 PM)
Just change mine today from Michelin PS3 to VP3
2pcs Front size 235/40 R18 Year 2020 - RM360/pc
2pcs Rear size 275/35 R18 Year 2019 - RM350/pc
Free Alignment and Balancing but kena charge rm60 for chamber nut adjustment? (Not sure what)
QUOTE(cress @ Jan 20 2022, 11:43 AM)
Where would be a good place to source K125 nowadays? Some places only have old stock 2019 and 2020 with only rm30 discount from msrp
Are you guys okay with using 3-4 year old tyres?
DM3
post Jan 23 2022, 11:30 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jan 23 2022, 12:59 AM)
Better not more than 3 yrs old, rubber hardens thru time for unused
6UE5T
post Jan 23 2022, 08:12 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Jan 23 2022, 11:30 AM)
Better not more than 3 yrs old, rubber hardens thru time for unused
Hmm what is the real question?
1. If buy new still ok provided the shop stores them well enough. The rubber won't harden.
2. If using tires until 3-4 years also still ok provided good quality tires, not yet bald, and minimal cracking.
3. If buying used tires 3-4 years old then depends on condition. Some already hardened and cracking too much then better not.
carlitofreak
post Jan 24 2022, 07:35 AM

4* M a d r i d i s t a
929 posts

after using about a month and half, one of the tire already 'Bengkak'. Went back to the shop, and they change to new piece. But same year of production biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway first experience using Hankook Tire
static_365
post Feb 5 2022, 02:00 AM

265 posts

Guys, if you can choose between TOYO TR1 and Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Which one will you go for ya?
6UE5T
post Feb 5 2022, 04:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 5 2022, 02:00 AM)
Guys, if you can choose between TOYO TR1 and Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Which one will you go for ya?
I'd pick VP3 cuz more proven globally. TR1 is just for local MY market and the tread pattern just looks very odd to me. But aside from those 2, I'd rather pick Maxxis Victra I-Pro, cuz it's best value for money now like the Hankook V12E2 last time. I am already using it now on my son's car, very happy with it!
static_365
post Feb 6 2022, 01:57 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Feb 5 2022, 04:38 PM)
I'd pick VP3 cuz more proven globally. TR1 is just for local MY market and the tread pattern just looks very odd to me. But aside from those 2, I'd rather pick Maxxis Victra I-Pro, cuz it's best value for money now like the Hankook V12E2 last time. I am already using it now on my son's car, very happy with it!
Thank you Sir. Will go for VP3 ! notworthy.gif
static_365
post Feb 6 2022, 04:23 PM

265 posts

Hi Guys, just to share.

Baru tadi I went to change Hankook Ventus Prime 3. Size 235 40 18

Previously was using PS4, since 2018, dah pakai lama, bunga banyak lagi tapi I think is time to change.

Boleh cakap yang Hankook VP3 ni seriously value for money. Lepas tukar tu hujan lebat, so I try lah pusing pusing. Wet grip not bad .. noise pun okay .. selesa .. memang worth the money lah VP3 ni ..
DM3
post Feb 6 2022, 05:57 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,617 posts

QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 6 2022, 04:23 PM)
Hi Guys, just to share.

Previously was using PS4, since 2018, dah pakai lama, bunga banyak lagi tapi I think is time to change.

Boleh cakap yang Hankook VP3 ni seriously value for money. Lepas tukar tu hujan lebat, so I try lah pusing pusing. Wet grip not bad .. noise pun okay .. selesa .. memang worth the money lah VP3 ni ..
Ya still new,but expect the wet grip not so good
6UE5T
post Feb 7 2022, 06:39 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(static_365 @ Feb 6 2022, 04:23 PM)
Hi Guys, just to share.

2018 is still ok actually, can still use for a lot longer provided the treads still there.
nick2011
post Feb 23 2022, 10:00 PM

23 posts

For city, can I upsize the tires a bit or stick to original 185 55 r16 for original rims? Wanted to look for better grip
iymm
post Feb 23 2022, 11:00 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(nick2011 @ Feb 23 2022, 10:00 PM)
For city, can I upsize the tires a bit or stick to original 185 55 r16 for original rims? Wanted to look for better grip
Maybe can try 10mm thicker size but if want better grip choose another better tyre is the best option.
nick2011
post Feb 23 2022, 11:37 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(iymm @ Feb 23 2022, 11:00 PM)
Maybe can try 10mm thicker size but if want better grip choose another better tyre is the best option.
Rim is only 6jj though.
195 50?
Aeon_Clock
post Mar 2 2022, 05:55 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

just got myself a VP3...2021 make. Feels very nice so far. Looking forward to provide a full review after a few weeks. New rubber scrubbing period now tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Mar 2 2022, 05:55 PM
ze2
post Mar 4 2022, 11:22 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 2 2022, 05:55 PM)
just got myself a VP3...2021 make. Feels very nice so far. Looking forward to provide a full review after a few weeks. New rubber scrubbing period now tongue.gif
Let me spoil your fun, it is a dry specialist. Wet is above average.

Aeon_Clock
post Mar 7 2022, 11:19 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(ze2 @ Mar 4 2022, 11:22 PM)
Let me spoil your fun, it is a dry specialist. Wet is above average.
that's like something you can take out of FB advertisement blink.gif
ze2
post Mar 7 2022, 11:30 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 7 2022, 11:19 AM)
that's like something you can take out of FB advertisement  blink.gif
I m using it for my suv. Dry grip is really good, as u will notice a lot of sands sticking to it, downside is, it wear fast.

Wet grip, heavy down pour, it aquaplaning is obvious above 100kmh.
Aeon_Clock
post Mar 7 2022, 02:27 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

well, I was thinking of a review like this...

I was using Continental MC5 previously for 5 years, 7 months...mileage just passed 60k. Never really felt much issue with this tyres but at 5 years old actually wanted to change just for safety reasons. Due to pandemic, delayed this more. I have a very spirited drive, so I let people accelerate on the straights but around the corners, they had better not be anywhere within my sights. My MC5s were stock, came with the car and they were much sought after back then for its comfort. But I never knew about the noise issues, just thought they were an effect from our typical Malaysian road condition all this while.

*This is a very early stage review so mind the bias-ness*

K125 reminds me a lot of Bridgestone, pretty much the best tyre I've tried among 6 other brands in the past. After fitting these new tyres on, I've come to realize how bad the old tyres had been in. I mean I knew the grip was gone but still continued on driving spiritedly.

- Dry Grip - yes, absolutely a fantastic beast. More than MC5 when they were new.
- Dry performance - There was an accident just last week around a bend and I had to do a little maneuvering while cornering. Completely no issues in avoiding 3 cars at speed. The only thing I feel about this tyre is that it takes more to turn the steering to get that car angle right, no idea why. With the MC5, they were more of a rally style drive - slippery grip so you don't mind turning the steering more (very natural that way) & sometimes might need to take more cornering exit. K125 is more like F1 dry grip, precise driving.
- Wet grip - luckily raining season now, get to test this out a lot. (But having so many stupid being stupid gremlins on the road, couldn't test as much.) So far very good, more below.
- Wet performance - This is the part where it reminds me much on Bridgestone. BS is basically the king of wet to me and at this stage, I put the K125 on runner's up position. I enjoy driving in the rain a lot, and its just feels much more joyful with the K125s. The grip is very good, totally no issues with cornering smooth & hard. MC5 just feels tired after driving a certain distance in the rain. Its like there's a threshold where the tyre needs to rest, and the K125's threshold is very very high now.
- Wear & tear - again, too early to tell but I'm interesting in monitoring this progress every 10k done or so. All I know is my MC5s reached around 1.7-1.8mm at 60k.
- Feedback - Feedback is very good but read below for further detail.
- Comfort - this is where it fails over MC5. MC5 was more comfortable in absorbing bumps and uneven roads. In the K125, I can feel the air in the tyres while driving over uneven roads, could be because its still new but a bit unlikely. Because of this 'air', I think the feedback is better than MC5. Its still comfortable, just that the MC5 was much better in this category, even after so badly worn.
- Noise - definitely less than MC5 but for how long can it maintain this noise level...that I'm not too sure. Can only report back after around half-lifespan

My one advice is if your tyres are over 4 years old, and you have some difficulty changing them...drag a little but not too long. Ideally not beyond 5 years old. Even if you go for something cheap like this, the results can be much more better than an expensive brand. What's important is your safety, comfort, and joy when driving.

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Mar 7 2022, 02:32 PM
amduser
post Mar 7 2022, 04:02 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 7 2022, 02:27 PM)
well, I was thinking of a review like this...

I was using Continental MC5 previously for 5 years, 7 months...mileage just passed 60k. Never really felt much issue with this tyres but at 5 years old actually wanted to change just for safety reasons. Due to pandemic, delayed this more. I have a very spirited drive, so I let people accelerate on the straights but around the corners, they had better not be anywhere within my sights. My MC5s were stock, came with the car and they were much sought after back then for its comfort. But I never knew about the noise issues, just thought they were an effect from our typical Malaysian road condition all this while.

*This is a very early stage review so mind the bias-ness*

K125 reminds me a lot of Bridgestone, pretty much the best tyre I've tried among 6 other brands in the past. After fitting these new tyres on, I've come to realize how bad the old tyres had been in. I mean I knew the grip was gone but still continued on driving spiritedly.

- Dry Grip - yes, absolutely a fantastic beast. More than MC5 when they were new.
- Dry performance - There was an accident just last week around a bend and I had to do a little maneuvering while cornering. Completely no issues in avoiding 3 cars at speed. The only thing I feel about this tyre is that it takes more to turn the steering to get that car angle right, no idea why. With the MC5, they were more of a rally style drive - slippery grip so you don't mind turning the steering more (very natural that way) & sometimes might need to take more cornering exit. K125 is more like F1 dry grip, precise driving.
- Wet grip - luckily raining season now, get to test this out a lot. (But having so many stupid being stupid gremlins on the road, couldn't test as much.) So far very good, more below.
- Wet performance - This is the part where it reminds me much on Bridgestone. BS is basically the king of wet to me and at this stage, I put the K125 on runner's up position. I enjoy driving in the rain a lot, and its just feels much more joyful with the K125s. The grip is very good, totally no issues with cornering smooth & hard. MC5 just feels tired after driving a certain distance in the rain. Its like there's a threshold where the tyre needs to rest, and the K125's threshold is very very high now.
- Wear & tear - again, too early to tell but I'm interesting in monitoring this progress every 10k done or so. All I know is my MC5s reached around 1.7-1.8mm at 60k.
- Feedback - Feedback is very good but read below for further detail.
- Comfort - this is where it fails over MC5. MC5 was more comfortable in absorbing bumps and uneven roads. In the K125, I can feel the air in the tyres while driving over uneven roads, could be because its still new but a bit unlikely. Because of this 'air', I think the feedback is better than MC5. Its still comfortable, just that the MC5 was much better in this category, even after so badly worn.
- Noise - definitely less than MC5 but for how long can it maintain this noise level...that I'm not too sure. Can only report back after around half-lifespan

My one advice is if your tyres are over 4 years old, and you have some difficulty changing them...drag a little but not too long. Ideally not beyond 5 years old. Even if you go for something cheap like this, the results can be much more better than an expensive brand. What's important is your safety, comfort, and joy when driving.
which bridgestone tyres are you comparing with prime 3? hmm.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Mar 7 2022, 04:29 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

Actually its more of a generic comparison…we cannot compare 6 different brands within the same car right sweat.gif
I used Bridgestone (I don’t remember the model anymore…) around 2010 that time on a Proton Wira - 195/55/15, after that I was using MyVi (both original & 195s). Now I’m using Civic - 215s. There is definitely a huge difference in cornering performance but where I was testing these K125, it wouldn’t have made much difference because the roads are the same since then till now biggrin.gif

The bigger difference between all these cars to me is the wheelbase where MyVi can corner tighter bends better with that shorter wheelbase, despite being taller. And all of them have stage 1 ARBs.

What I wanna ask is someone mentioned previously these tyres have extra bars on the sidewall? For better cornering?

This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Mar 7 2022, 04:41 PM

13 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:52 AM