Raincoat, for motorcyclists

TSrucksackchan
post Nov 8 2019, 10:17 AM, updated 6y ago

32 posts

Hi, sorry if I posted in the wrong place. Just want to ask for opinion regarding this particular raincoat.

Foxdry Raincoat at Shopee

Is it a good one? I need a raincoat that let me stays dry even in super heavy rain. Nowadays it's raining everyday and I don't want my work clothes to get wet when I arrive at my workplace. Any recommendation is appreciated.
hitz
post Nov 8 2019, 10:21 AM

225 posts

Never tried this raincoat as i stick to GIVI raincoat. So far so good.
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 10:21 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

No comment on that particular brand, but I'm using an RS-Taichi Rainbuster and it works well so far even in super heavy rain, but the price is quite premium. Reading the review of that item it should be decent though. Also note that the waterproof coating on some of these raincoat can wear off over time and you might need to recoat it.
hitz
post Nov 8 2019, 10:23 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:21 AM)
No comment on that particular brand, but I'm using an RS-Taichi Rainbuster and it works well so far even in super heavy rain, but the price is quite premium. Reading the review of that item it should be decent though. Also note that the waterproof coating on some of these raincoat can wear off over time and you might need to recoat it.
Can recoat using what ar? Waterproof spray?
COOLPINK
post Nov 8 2019, 10:28 AM

3,665 posts

parking for review from users.
the pricing not bad.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Nov 8 2019, 10:34 AM

Just when I am searching for raincoat... Haha... My cheapo RM 30 just torn... Am looking for something not so expensive and can do it work... Any recommendations below RM100? tongue.gif I actually seldom wear coz if rain early I go to work by car, if rain when finish work I usually never bother to wear... So hopefully can get cheaper one while worn torn easily...
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 10:57 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Nov 8 2019, 10:23 AM)
Can recoat using what ar? Waterproof spray?
Yes waterproof spray, I use the ATSKO brand can be bought in Ace Hardware. Used it on my previous Givi until I lost it, my current RS-Taichi does not require it yet.
hitz
post Nov 8 2019, 11:01 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:57 AM)
Yes waterproof spray, I use the ATSKO brand can be bought in Ace Hardware. Used it on my previous Givi until I lost it, my current RS-Taichi does not require it yet.
Ooooo... thank for the info. My GIVI doesn't need to recoat yet.
If needed that will go ACE to find the waterproof spray. notworthy.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 11:16 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Nov 8 2019, 11:01 AM)
Ooooo... thank for the info. My GIVI doesn't need to recoat yet.
If needed that will go ACE to find the waterproof spray.  notworthy.gif
My Givi after around a year of usage and being washed in the washing machine twice, the coating came off and riding in rain, the fabric actually soaks up water doh.gif

So yeah, try not to wash your rain gear in the washing machine. The waterproof spray is around RM3x or 4x if not mistaken, can use to spray your shoes also hehe
basilisk
post Nov 8 2019, 11:21 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 11:16 AM)
My Givi after around a year of usage and being washed in the washing machine twice, the coating came off and riding in rain, the fabric actually soaks up water  doh.gif

So yeah, try not to wash your rain gear in the washing machine. The waterproof spray is around RM3x or 4x if not mistaken, can use to spray your shoes also hehe
why do you need to machine wash rain coat?

i jz hang dry, n wipe with cloth.

the spray is not permanent n to spray on outer layer .
ajaibman
post Nov 8 2019, 11:28 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(rucksackchan @ Nov 8 2019, 10:17 AM)
Hi, sorry if I posted in the wrong place. Just want to ask for opinion regarding this particular raincoat.

Foxdry Raincoat at Shopee

Is it a good one? I need a raincoat that let me stays dry even in super heavy rain. Nowadays it's raining everyday and I don't want my work clothes to get wet when I arrive at my workplace. Any recommendation is appreciated.
I owned one,

Its good... but now I opted for lighter RS-Taichi drymaster...
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 11:28 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Nov 8 2019, 11:21 AM)
why do you need to machine wash rain coat?

i jz hang dry, n wipe with cloth.

the spray is not permanent n to spray on outer layer .
Because after use quite a number of times, it starts to smell funky, and stains of course. The spray soaks the whole fabric.
ajaibman
post Nov 8 2019, 11:31 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 11:16 AM)
My Givi after around a year of usage and being washed in the washing machine twice, the coating came off and riding in rain, the fabric actually soaks up water  doh.gif

Or perhaps do old school, but labor intensive...

Wax it...

https://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Wax-a-Jacket/
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 11:54 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 8 2019, 11:31 AM)

Wax it...

That was a funny read laugh.gif
TSrucksackchan
post Nov 8 2019, 02:37 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Nov 8 2019, 10:21 AM)
Never tried this raincoat as i stick to GIVI raincoat. So far so good.
I am currently using GIVI as well, but one way or another my clothes always got wet in heavy rain. The water seems to seep from the neck area and the back hole area (the one with hole for airflow?). Sometimes the water will seep from the front zipper too despite having velcro.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 10:21 AM)
No comment on that particular brand, but I'm using an RS-Taichi Rainbuster and it works well so far even in super heavy rain, but the price is quite premium.
QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 8 2019, 11:28 AM)
I owned one,

Its good... but now I opted for lighter RS-Taichi drymaster...
Went to look for the brand at Shopee and Lazada, the cheapest price is around RM350 iirc. Damn mahal wei. Sure extra high quality one. This one need to wait until I've save enough extra money.

Wax it...

10/10 would read it again.
hitz
post Nov 8 2019, 02:50 PM

225 posts

Wax it...

Hmmm... can try this method on my cheaper raincoat. whistling.gif
Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 02:58 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(rucksackchan @ Nov 8 2019, 02:37 PM)
I am currently using GIVI as well, but one way or another my clothes always got wet in heavy rain. The water seems to seep from the neck area and the back hole area (the one with hole for airflow?). Sometimes the water will seep from the front zipper too despite having velcro.
Went to look for the brand at Shopee and Lazada, the cheapest price is around RM350 iirc. Damn mahal wei. Sure extra high quality one. This one need to wait until I've save enough extra money.
10/10 would read it again.
Last time I bought mine RM150 only at a shop in Sunway, not sure if he still have it or not or is it even still at that price laugh.gif

Maybe the water is leaking through your helmet down your neck? My last ride through super heavy rain, I wore my riding jacket and the rain buster on top of that, reaching home the jacket was dry, but my shirt inside was wet. My helmet was leaky and water leaked roll down my face and neck into my shirt lol
ajaibman
post Nov 8 2019, 03:40 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 8 2019, 02:58 PM)
Last time I bought mine RM150 only at a shop in Sunway, not sure if he still have it or not or is it even still at that price laugh.gif

Maybe the water is leaking through your helmet down your neck? My last ride through super heavy rain, I wore my riding jacket and the rain buster on top of that, reaching home the jacket was dry, but my shirt inside was wet. My helmet was leaky and water leaked roll down my face and neck into my shirt lol
It might due to condensation, but usually will be damp wet not soaking wet inside...

RS Taichi gooding.... its light but water resistant next level...

Stuck in the rain from After Hua Hin stop over at Chumphon then next day (still raining) go to Danok.. relatively dry..
gataddhin
post Nov 8 2019, 03:44 PM

Cheaper waterproof spray cans are avaible in Mr.DIY shops.

One around RM8 and another around RM11.

Nightstalker1993
post Nov 8 2019, 04:15 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 8 2019, 03:40 PM)
It might due to condensation, but usually will be damp wet not soaking wet  inside...
RS Taichi gooding.... its light but water resistant next level...

Stuck in the rain from After Hua Hin  stop over at Chumphon then next day (still raining) go to Danok.. relatively dry..
my helmet was leaky af which was one of the reasons why I wanted to buy a new helmet lol. Water was rolling down my face and burning my eyeballs.

And yeap, Taichi really not bad thumbup.gif but I feel the local distributor mark up the price too high la. I bought last time RM150 also I feel mahal liao, now 230-300 sweat.gif

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Nov 8 2019, 03:44 PM)
Cheaper waterproof spray cans are avaible in Mr.DIY shops.

One around RM8 and another around RM11.

Tried this, IMO nowhere near as effective as the brand I mentioned. MR DIY some things can pakai, some things nope.

0.0222sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:45 AM