soulseeker6187
post Nov 8 2019, 09:21 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Nov 8 2019, 08:51 AM)
Which model should i get? hmm.gif

For Uni student, budget RM2k+
E495 is cheap now. If want thin and light, get thinkbook 13s, maybe some /ktard here wanna sell theirs.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 8 2019, 11:36 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Nov 8 2019, 11:32 AM)

erm...lenovo website show arrived today, but i check UPS it stuck at china?
never trust the ovp site tracking,
ups is really slow, after arrive in malaysia, only after 1 week u can get to delivered.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 8 2019, 11:49 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(hellkvr @ Nov 8 2019, 11:45 AM)
Really. I tot like intel U version. So underpower compare to normal cpu
Ryzen U version also same as intel, its a lower TDP version.
if want thin and light laptop, must sacrifice power for battery life and thermal.

want full version, buy gaming/ workstation laptop.

want even more, go buy a desktop.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 9 2019, 02:57 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 9 2019, 02:43 PM)
Stupid designer.

Previous model like T470 all at the left hand side.

But look at the E series all air vent located at the back.
I’m don’t understand why.
Bad design indeed for people using mouse right-handed.
Luckily t13s at the back.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 9 2019, 03:21 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 9 2019, 03:02 PM)
Lol if stop using mouse mean that laptop very useless already.

Anyway I had ordered the Yoga series S740 and C940.
Think to replace the T490
They expect all thinkpad user to use the nipple.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 9 2019, 04:29 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Nov 9 2019, 03:27 PM)
bro,.. i'm browsing the thinkbook 13s spec,..
[attachmentid=10348692]

the keyboard and Pointing Device stated not available,.. means come without keyboard and clickpad ??
must be bug. their website quiate buggy these few days, sometimes cannot load configuration page. sometimes blank page.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 9 2019, 05:06 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 9 2019, 05:01 PM)
Too bad my brain wasnt functioning right that day, else i think i will buy at least 3 units.
same, waited till 1 am, nothing interesting.
woke up and see the thread, quickly buy without thinking, buy now regret later.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 10 2019, 10:17 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 10 2019, 10:14 PM)
Really no idea. I am not a fan of either samsung or micron ssd.
Why tho?
Samsung and micron are the top rated ssd maker.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 10 2019, 10:32 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Nov 10 2019, 10:26 PM)
I prefer ssd from specialized hd manufacturer like wd. Just my own personal preference, haha
But ssd use flash memory. So memory manufacturer is better, coz they make the chip themselves.

WD own sandisk, so technically wd = sandisk.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 11 2019, 09:52 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(jinggothegreat @ Nov 11 2019, 09:04 AM)
T495s deal now. https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...s/p/22TP2TT495S

but i doubt its better than L340 at highest spec.

R7 with 16GB ram 128GB NVMe

with shopback can get lesser than 2k
But that display is awful though.
Can customize the display?
And l340 build quality cannot compare with thinkpad.

soulseeker6187
post Nov 14 2019, 12:45 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 14 2019, 12:32 PM)
I tried today but not state that expired liao

Only got that 5% Discount now
i suggest just wait until the end of the month. got black friday and citibank voucher.

no point buying now. most price have gone up.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 14 2019, 01:37 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Nov 14 2019, 12:56 PM)
Ya, the amd config I got is about 1.8k, discount from 3k only

Thing I don't like is it's not an ips panel
What model u looking at right now?
The l340?

Better topup get the t495 got ips panel.
Better built quality.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 15 2019, 11:41 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(sianglee @ Nov 15 2019, 11:34 AM)
What the hell LENOVO , my laptop now stuck at Sepang custom check, missing license again. UPS told it is required to have SIRIM verification before custom clearance. Easily stuck another few weeks there. The same product import repetitively and why this is keeps happening!

chill bro. we all have experience it. from experience, it will be settle within 1 week.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 15 2019, 08:20 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(fir3man @ Nov 15 2019, 08:03 PM)
just let it be? no need do anything?
Yes. Just wait.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 17 2019, 07:47 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 17 2019, 07:18 PM)
Ya saw already in WhatsApp group.
Anyway my Yoga C940 I7-1065G7 with 3733mhz ram good for photo editing and doing some multimedia task.
Not as good for heavy software like autocad/revit.
Tried twins installation failed for autodesk Revit.
Hahah.
I already expected.
Unlike comet lake i7-10510U cpu can do many designer works.
why not good in heavy software?
isnt ice lake is superior than comet lake?
soulseeker6187
post Nov 20 2019, 09:44 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Nov 20 2019, 09:26 AM)
Lol different reviewer will say different things. Besides student laptop, also hear that this is for:

SOHO/Small Business laptop
Thinkpad that looks like ideapad
Pro-sumer (which is higher status than consumer) laptop
Macbook air alternative
Laptop for millennial office workers

Edit: Not many student can pay RM2800 for this though (assuming no FAMA support), and even if can, they will rather go with gaming laptop (more value for the price).
I will just categorize it as the combination of ideapad and thinkpad.
Its a little bit lacking of ports for business use, but a little bit premium for normal consumer.

The upcoming thinkbook 14 and 15 are the better option for business use with all the ports and upgradability of a thinkpad.
soulseeker6187
post Nov 28 2019, 08:25 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(sianglee @ Nov 28 2019, 08:20 AM)
Jut received my T590 last week. so disappointed with the poor performance. suffered the terrible thermal throttling can extremely inconsistently cut off the speed to lowest frequency. The model i got is i78565u +MX 250 nvidia vga.

Once boot up the temperature will increase immediately to 57c. The thermal throttling will kick in at 56c temperature. the fan keeps spinning at max speed to bring down merely 1c to 56c and the system will try to keep CPU and GPU temperature to be sustained at 56c. However by doing that , the stock bios ver 1.55 would bring down cpu to 1ghz (peak 4ghz) and GPU down to  400mhz (max 1700Mhz).

Called up to onsite service and Lenovo technician came to replace fan and heat sink, however all remain the same and no improvement at all!

The most frustrating fact is the throttling is co inconsistent and causing most application running smooth for short while and later come with plenty intervals of slowing down.

This is happening to T490, P43s , T590 and P53s which were all design with identical platform..

Don buy any of these product untill lenovo fully fixed it.( bealived they have no solution too.
further readings here
T490 MX250
Just buy the i5 model, no thermal throttling on i5-8625u.

soulseeker6187
post Nov 30 2019, 11:21 AM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 30 2019, 10:58 AM)
anyone tried this type of adaptor before?

USB C to slim tip adapter? wanna charge my old laptop from a Powerbank/brick with PD USB-C.

https://shopee.com.my/90-Degree-Type-C-Fema...6720.2296011469
Why not try urself. Just rm10.
I think got earlier post got a forumer bought but cant use with his powerbank.
I think need minimum 65w pd to work.

This post has been edited by soulseeker6187: Nov 30 2019, 11:22 AM
soulseeker6187
post Dec 15 2019, 02:14 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Dec 15 2019, 02:07 PM)
At RM1010 that was a steal nonetheless. How did the sale come to be? How many units were sold and how many minutes left for sales?  Oh well.  laugh.gif
Supposed to be limited to 5 units. But somehow they forget to put the limit.

This post has been edited by soulseeker6187: Dec 15 2019, 02:14 PM
soulseeker6187
post Dec 16 2019, 10:06 PM

2,774 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Dec 16 2019, 09:58 PM)
If T495 vs T490, which one better? hmm.gif
t495 like RM1k cheaper than t490
of coz i pick t495.