Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Fedora 31 failed to run on VirtualBox

views
     
TSLord Tiki Mick
post Nov 6 2019, 12:40 PM, updated 7h ago

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
933 posts

Joined: Jul 2012
Fedora 31 recently release and I've downloaded the live ISO and try to run in on VirtualBox 6.0 on Windows. The VM failed to start the display server. Anyone facing the same problem?

* UPDATE *

It's actually working. I just need to wait longer.

This post has been edited by Lord Tiki Mick: Nov 14 2019, 05:03 PM
WongGei
post Nov 6 2019, 12:44 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
883 posts

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Kuala Lumpur
Mine have no problem running. Try with the Basic VGA display first.
TSLord Tiki Mick
post Nov 6 2019, 04:36 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
933 posts

Joined: Jul 2012
QUOTE(WongGei @ Nov 6 2019, 12:44 PM)
Mine have no problem running. Try with the Basic VGA display first.
*
Doesn't work. Which VirtualBox version you're using. Can you share the VM info?

Mine is as attached.

I can see the cursor changed, but the screen is still the bootscreen. rclxub.gif




Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
davidletterboyz
post Nov 8 2019, 09:38 AM

Der Kaiser
*******
Senior Member
4,335 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Nov 6 2019, 04:36 PM)
Doesn't work. Which VirtualBox version you're using. Can you share the VM info?

Mine is as attached.

I can see the cursor changed, but the screen is still the bootscreen. rclxub.gif
*
Did it ever work before with previous version? i.e. Fedora 30?
TSLord Tiki Mick
post Nov 8 2019, 02:53 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
933 posts

Joined: Jul 2012
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Nov 8 2019, 09:38 AM)
Did it ever work before with previous version? i.e. Fedora 30?
*
Good question. I haven't tried that.
WongGei
post Yesterday, 04:11 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
883 posts

Joined: Dec 2007
From: Kuala Lumpur
QUOTE(Lord Tiki Mick @ Nov 6 2019, 04:36 PM)
Doesn't work. Which VirtualBox version you're using. Can you share the VM info?

Mine is as attached.

I can see the cursor changed, but the screen is still the bootscreen. rclxub.gif
*
I'm running 6.0.14.

user posted image
TSLord Tiki Mick
post Yesterday, 05:29 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
933 posts

Joined: Jul 2012
QUOTE(WongGei @ Nov 15 2019, 04:11 PM)
I'm running 6.0.14.

user posted image
*
Turns out it's working. All I need to do is wait longer. Like several minutes. doh.gif

 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0316sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th November 2019 - 01:22 AM