> Unifi fibre cable how much ?

TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 07:37 PM, updated 7y ago

Listening to IU - Strawberry Moon
3,918 posts

Stupid dog bite the fibre optic cable . as i know it cannot be reattached. Need to pull from the post again all the way into the house? How much are they charging per 10meter ka? I could probably relocate the ONU to the end of the fibre optic cable where it's bitten to save money. Does it work?
yattnana
post Nov 3 2019, 07:40 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2019, 07:37 PM)
Stupid dog bite the fibre optic cable . as i know it cannot be reattached. Need to pull from the post again all the way into the house? How much are they charging per 10meter ka? I could  probably relocate the ONU to the end of the fibre optic cable where it's bitten to save money. Does it work?
Is it the black or the white cable?
Alpina
post Nov 3 2019, 07:41 PM

96 posts

from pole to roof + 5meters in side yuor house is free i think... after 5m then theres a chaarge... opt for microduct if dog bite the fiber...
Imp Bron
post Nov 3 2019, 07:46 PM

143 posts

My cat broke the inside cable years ago. I bought on lelong rm15 and replace it myself

That time local seller only sell at lelong, can get fast shipping for 3days compared to Lazada 1 week plus.

Time has change now buy at shopee can get less than 24 hours
ihavenoidea
post Nov 3 2019, 07:52 PM

1,300 posts

your cable on the ground meh?
it can be reattach if the person know what he is doing. need to reterminate the 2 ends and use the jointer connecter thing..

TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 07:52 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Nov 3 2019, 07:46 PM)
My cat broke the inside cable years ago. I bought on lelong rm15 and replace it myself

That time local seller only sell at lelong, can get fast shipping for 3days compared to Lazada 1 week plus.

Time has change now buy at shopee can get less than 24 hours
What should I get exactly? Can share?
Imp Bron
post Nov 3 2019, 07:57 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2019, 07:52 PM)
What should I get exactly? Can share?
I'm not an expert. I don't even know the technical term but there are two cables, one from the pole outside to a box. The 2nd one is inside from the box to the router. Thankfully my cat break the inside cable that are from the box to the router. That one is cheap and easy to replace
TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 08:18 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(yattnana @ Nov 3 2019, 07:40 PM)
Is it the black or the white cable?
black cable. i think direct from post to house. they didnt install the wall plug thing .i got conned?

This post has been edited by yvliew: Nov 3 2019, 08:18 PM
lhdn
post Nov 3 2019, 08:19 PM

23 posts

Why not contact unifi help service?
haturaya
post Nov 3 2019, 08:21 PM

2,554 posts

Stupid dog bite the fibre optic cable . as i know it cannot be reattached. Need to pull from the post again all the way into the house? How much are they charging per 10meter ka? I could  probably relocate the ONU to the end of the fibre optic cable where it's bitten to save money. Does it work?
Contact UniFi and pay, peace of mind. Pay a bit of course. whistling.gif sweat.gif
Ludwig.
post Nov 3 2019, 08:22 PM

LOOOL
539 posts

QUOTE(lhdn @ Nov 3 2019, 08:19 PM)
Why not contact unifi help service?
because God knows when they'll reply to TS.
TM, much like any other monopolised business in Malaysia, don't care about their customers because we don't have any/many alternatives.
blackamikaze
post Nov 3 2019, 08:29 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Nov 3 2019, 07:57 PM)
I'm not an expert. I don't even know the technical term but there are two cables, one from the pole outside to a box. The 2nd one is inside from the box to the router. Thankfully my cat break the inside cable that are from the box to the router. That one is cheap and easy to replace
That was lan cable not the fiber cable. Fiber cable required special tm technician to fix it.
ycs
post Nov 3 2019, 08:32 PM

4,232 posts

dont tell unifi your dog did it, say the rubbish truck/crane did it
Justin Jack$on
post Nov 3 2019, 08:34 PM

158 posts

Kecian doggo
shirohamada
post Nov 3 2019, 08:35 PM

944 posts

You have to call tm for the black cable. If the indoor cable just buy.
If black cable goes straight to your modem, yes you got conned.
The indoor cable is flexible and cheap.
TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 08:35 PM

3,918 posts

no internet no entertainment these days. gaming also need online.. tv.. all iptv..
Pewufod
post Nov 3 2019, 08:36 PM

1,537 posts

i think can do splicing wan
herojack41
post Nov 3 2019, 08:40 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

Pole > small terminal box > BTU

From your explanation, it seems like your dog chew on the small terminal box > BTU . Where's that is easily replaceable just go any IT shop they do sell terminated end and you just plug n play
ZlkOk
post Nov 3 2019, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(Ludwig. @ Nov 3 2019, 08:22 PM)
because God knows when they'll reply to TS.
TM, much like any other monopolised business in Malaysia, don't care about their customers because we don't have any/many alternatives.
You can get live chat assistance at unifi website, 3am also got one.
Phoenix_KL
post Nov 3 2019, 08:42 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Nov 3 2019, 08:36 PM)
i think can do splicing wan
yes but need fiber splicer.
TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 08:45 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 3 2019, 08:40 PM)

From your explanation, it seems like your dog chew on the small terminal box > BTU . Where's that is easily replaceable just go any IT shop they do sell terminated end and you just plug n play
I think the contractor conned me. They didn't install the wall terminal box. Direct black cable from pole to btu
ihavenoidea
post Nov 3 2019, 08:49 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Nov 3 2019, 08:29 PM)
That was lan cable not the fiber cable. Fiber cable required special tm technician to fix it.
its fiber,
usually it is pole --> the fiber termination box --> BTU/ONU
if its the cable from pole to box, need to contact TM.
if its the cable from box to BTU/ONU, you can just buy from shop

im curious how did the dog bite it
Imp Bron
post Nov 3 2019, 08:54 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(blackamikaze @ Nov 3 2019, 08:29 PM)
Not lan Cable la this one

unknown_2
post Nov 3 2019, 09:09 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Alpina @ Nov 3 2019, 07:41 PM)
from pole to roof + 5meters in side yuor house is free i think... after 5m then theres a chaarge... opt for microduct if dog bite the fiber...
pole to ur house belongs to TM (black).
anything happens there, TM will fix for free.

withing house (white), that 1 need to pay.
though u can get other contractor, or of u know any TM fiber installer technician, they can do the same spec wit fraction of the cost.
Imp Bron
post Nov 3 2019, 09:15 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2019, 08:45 PM)
I think the contractor conned me. They didn't install the wall terminal box. Direct black cable from pole to btu
The box is small and doesn't need to connected to a wall. Try trace the wire from the pole to your router got any small box in between? The thickness between those two wires if different. If the wire from the pole and the wire to your router is different then there must be a box somewhere in between.

The colour actually don't matter, some got black, white, blue, yellow.
TSyvliew
post Nov 3 2019, 09:23 PM

3,918 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Nov 3 2019, 09:15 PM)
The box is small and doesn't need to connected to a wall. Try trace the wire from the pole to your router got any small box in between? The thickness between those two wires if different. If the wire from the pole and the wire to your router is different then there must be a box somewhere in between.

The wire to my BTU is thin... I think it's straight from pole.
Phoenix_KL
post Nov 3 2019, 09:34 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2019, 09:23 PM)
break part: is it hard or soft?

This post has been edited by Phoenix_KL: Nov 3 2019, 09:34 PM
doremon
post Nov 3 2019, 09:34 PM

eMPtiNess =`(
2,621 posts

Rm360.00 around there last time i kena. Pull right from post point to my house.
MR_alien
post Nov 3 2019, 09:38 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 3 2019, 08:40 PM)

depends where he stayed in
i stayed in shoplot
there is no terminal box, they pull the fiber optic(black cable) straight from the box all the way to the BTU inside my house
fat cat
post Nov 3 2019, 09:38 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Nov 3 2019, 08:21 PM)
Contact UniFi and pay, peace of mind. Pay a bit of course.  whistling.gif  sweat.gif
https://livechat.tm.com.my/

per meter i think should be rm 10.

If you know yourself how to reterminate the fiber cable, they are selling fiber cable cheap at viewnet at lowyat plaza.
herojack41
post Nov 3 2019, 10:38 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Nov 3 2019, 09:23 PM)
coz....if the wire is thin, it could be the fiber cable itself is black?

or it could also mean in somewhere they stripped and cut off the metal reinforce.

From pole to house those fibre cable is by pair where there is two cable one is wrap with fibre and another one is wrap with steel to reinforce it.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 3 2019, 09:38 PM)
depends where he stayed in
i stayed in shoplot
there is no terminal box, they pull the fiber optic(black cable) straight from the box all the way to the BTU inside my house
not sure if there is different SOP for installing @ shop lot.

But standard practice isn't they need to have terminal box then route another cable out?

or maybe installer lazy to do.
herojack41
post Nov 3 2019, 10:39 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Nov 3 2019, 09:15 PM)

yes...color can be black as well.
MR_alien
post Nov 3 2019, 11:26 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Nov 3 2019, 10:38 PM)
not sure if there is different SOP for installing @ shop lot.

But standard practice isn't they need to have terminal box then route another cable out?

or maybe installer lazy to do.
my ex-office has that terminal box but that was a private installation(private ISP), that area will not have UNIFI
from the terminal box, it split to different department from there
but 1 thing i'm unsure is, since that area no UNIFI, i'm curious where did they pull the fiber from hmm.gif laugh.gif

my house, from the box he pull fiber all the way to the BTU at my living room

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Nov 3 2019, 11:28 PM

0.0197sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:43 PM