Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

yongtjunkit
post Feb 28 2020, 07:37 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2020, 12:20 AM)
MYTV already made a video to inform viewers on how to perform Auto/Manual Search when you experience any interruption in viewing of channels.
Although that "PSA video" is being broadcast to all FTA channels now, I don't think every single viewers are paying much attention to that.
So the incident of "suddenly channels went no signal" will still happen to some viewers in affected regions.
But yea, those who uses MYTV box may be automatically auto update the channel frequency itself without any user intervention, but not every digital TV box or digital-ready TVs supports that.

Also, this video appears to be made only in Malay language, and only "photo posts" in Chinese and Tamil language are posted on MYTV/myFreeview social media page.
Language may be a barrier here, but don't feel like making another video in another language, at least they should consider providing English, Chinese and Tamil subtitles on the video.

For instance, this news here: https://www.nst.com.my/lifestyle/groove/202...ency-restacking
Do you think those non tech savvy persons especially those uncle and aunties would understand what does this news article even mean?
They'll probably be like: "Uh-huh, frequency restacking exercise for digital TV broadcast, uhhh, okay, so? What does it mean? Means no more digital TV can watch? Means need to pay money?"
Maybe, try show this similar news article to your family/parents/elderly, see if they understand what its trying to say.

At least they do something to inform the viewers, but in my opinion, it's just not enough attention for the mass audiences to know.
Maybe when they try to retune their decoder they would be rclxub.gif and probably say forget it or hire someone to do it for them or switch to NJOI, less confusion
YoungMan
post Feb 28 2020, 09:55 AM

6,794 posts

Any good antenna to recommend and where to buy them in Kuching? I always experience signal lost during rainy days despite antenna already at the right position.
AV_2018
post Feb 28 2020, 10:53 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Feb 28 2020, 09:55 AM)
Any good antenna to recommend and where to buy them in Kuching? I always experience signal lost during rainy days despite antenna already at the right position.
I bought one outdoor yagi... Did posted in this thread when someone asked previously or was it in previous version thread. Got from shop at Palm Road aka Jln Tun Ahmad Zaidi Adruce.

EDIT: I dug out the post for you: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=93437445
There are some other shops in that row of shops that sell other types of yagi.

This post has been edited by AV_2018: Feb 28 2020, 01:33 PM
knwong
post Feb 28 2020, 11:50 AM

3,559 posts

Johor user here. Why can’t receive SG channels? Only left MY channels. Using MyTV box.
joshhd
post Feb 28 2020, 01:50 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 28 2020, 11:50 AM)
Johor user here. Why can’t receive SG channels? Only left MY channels. Using MyTV box.

Johor which area? Since when you can't receive SG channels? And show us pic of your antenna if possible.
YoungMan
post Feb 28 2020, 01:56 PM

6,794 posts

QUOTE(AV_2018 @ Feb 28 2020, 11:53 AM)
I bought one outdoor yagi... Did posted in this thread when someone asked previously or was it in previous version thread. Got from shop at Palm Road aka Jln Tun Ahmad Zaidi Adruce.

EDIT: I dug out the post for you: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=93437445
There are some other shops in that row of shops that sell other types of yagi.
Thank you. Will go have a look.

knwong
post Feb 28 2020, 02:51 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2020, 01:50 PM)
Johor which area? Since when you can't receive SG channels? And show us pic of your antenna if possible.
For the past few years I used to be able to watch. Since last week I noticed the pre-programmed SG channels displayed "no channel". I re-scan the channels and now only left with MY channels

Using old 4 tier fish bones on top of my roof

This post has been edited by knwong: Feb 28 2020, 02:51 PM
yongtjunkit
post Feb 28 2020, 04:01 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 28 2020, 12:20 AM)
MYTV already made a video to inform viewers on how to perform Auto/Manual Search when you experience any interruption in viewing of channels.
Although that "PSA video" is being broadcast to all FTA channels now, I don't think every single viewers are paying much attention to that.
So the incident of "suddenly channels went no signal" will still happen to some viewers in affected regions.
But yea, those who uses MYTV box may be automatically auto update the channel frequency itself without any user intervention, but not every digital TV box or digital-ready TVs supports that.

Also, this video appears to be made only in Malay language, and only "photo posts" in Chinese and Tamil language are posted on MYTV/myFreeview social media page.
Language may be a barrier here, but don't feel like making another video in another language, at least they should consider providing English, Chinese and Tamil subtitles on the video.

For instance, this news here: https://www.nst.com.my/lifestyle/groove/202...ency-restacking
Do you think those non tech savvy persons especially those uncle and aunties would understand what does this news article even mean?
They'll probably be like: "Uh-huh, frequency restacking exercise for digital TV broadcast, uhhh, okay, so? What does it mean? Means no more digital TV can watch? Means need to pay money?"
Maybe, try show this similar news article to your family/parents/elderly, see if they understand what its trying to say.

At least they do something to inform the viewers, but in my opinion, it's just not enough attention for the mass audiences to know.
QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 28 2020, 07:37 AM)
Maybe when they try to retune their decoder they would be  rclxub.gif and probably say forget it or hire someone to do it for them or switch to NJOI, less confusion
At least I was able to teach my aunt to retune the decoder and she finally managed to retune it by herself rclxms.gif

But I don't think everyone has tech-savvy people to help them to retune/ teach them to retune which is probably a problem for the majority of people using FTA(aerial )

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Feb 28 2020, 04:04 PM
joshhd
post Feb 28 2020, 04:46 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 28 2020, 02:51 PM)
For the past few years I used to be able to watch. Since last week I noticed the pre-programmed SG channels displayed "no channel". I re-scan the channels and now only left with MY channels

Using old 4 tier fish bones on top of my roof

Wait, what you mean "pre-programmed SG channels"?

Have you tried Manual Search?

Press MENU>Channel Search>(Default PIN is 0000)>Manual Search,
Enter the Frequency Channel Number as follow:
1) Channel 29 538000KHz (538MHz) (Ch 5, Suria)
2) Channel 31 554000KHz (554MHz) (Ch 8, Vasantham)
3) Channel 33 570000KHz (570MHz) (Ch U, CNA)

If the Strength and Quality signal readings are low and fluctuating, and the bar is showing in red colour, try adjust/realign your antenna while monitor the signal readings until you get the highest readings possible.
Most importantly, your Quality shall be as high as possible (preferably 100%).

When the Strength and Quality signal bar shows green, press the Blue button on your remote to search the channels.
joshhd
post Feb 28 2020, 04:53 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 28 2020, 04:01 PM)
At least I was able to teach my aunt to retune the decoder and she finally managed to retune it by herself  rclxms.gif

But I don't think everyone has tech-savvy people to help them to retune/ teach them to retune which is probably a problem for the majority of people using FTA(aerial )

Good for your aunt, she can still learn to do so. 👍
Some elderly people (like grandparents for example), may not even know who to approach to, when it comes to reception issues like this.
birain
post Feb 28 2020, 06:17 PM

良い一日を
1,448 posts

Untuk makluman, terdapat gangguan pada isyarat MYTV DTH (Direct to Home) berikutan fenomena semulajadi ‘Sun Outage’ yang dijangka berlaku sepanjang bulan Mac 2020.

Ia merupakan fenomena semulajadi yang berlaku ketika radiasi matahari berada pada kedudukan selari dengan satelit dan bumi. Tenaga solar akan menjejaskan isyarat satelit yang sampai ke stesen bumi. Anggaran gangguan siaran adalah di antara jam 11.30 pagi sehingga 5.30 petang (waktu Malaysia).

*first it was the rain, now the sun outage laugh.gif
Qash-M
post Feb 28 2020, 07:38 PM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Feb 28 2020, 06:17 PM)
Untuk makluman, terdapat gangguan pada isyarat MYTV DTH (Direct to Home) berikutan fenomena semulajadi ‘Sun Outage’ yang dijangka berlaku sepanjang bulan Mac 2020.

Ia merupakan fenomena semulajadi yang berlaku ketika radiasi matahari berada pada kedudukan selari dengan satelit dan bumi. Tenaga solar akan menjejaskan isyarat satelit yang sampai ke stesen bumi. Anggaran gangguan siaran adalah di antara jam 11.30 pagi sehingga 5.30 petang (waktu Malaysia).
*first it was the rain, now the sun outage  laugh.gif
Least they announce it beforehand, unlike astroll. brows.gif
yongtjunkit
post Feb 28 2020, 08:05 PM

2,516 posts

24/7 outage( if raining at night)

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Feb 28 2020, 07:38 PM)
Least they announce it beforehand, unlike astroll. brows.gif
Astro is going to be affected as well?

This post has been edited by yongtjunkit: Feb 28 2020, 08:06 PM
shaun_kok
post Feb 29 2020, 12:35 AM

1,071 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 28 2020, 08:05 PM)
24/7 outage( if raining at night)
Astro is going to be affected as well?
All satellite will be affected for this, however the sun outage timing will be different due to the usage of different satellite (Measat 3/3A for Astro and Asiasat 9 for MYTV).

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 29 2020, 12:42 AM
shaun_kok
post Feb 29 2020, 12:39 AM

1,071 posts

double post

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Feb 29 2020, 12:40 AM
joshhd
post Feb 29 2020, 02:12 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Feb 29 2020, 12:35 AM)
All satellite will be affected for this, however the sun outage timing will be different due to the usage of different satellite (Measat 3/3A for Astro and Asiasat 9 for MYTV).

Yes. Every satellites will be affected by sun outage (regardless of C band, Ku band, etc), but it usually isn't a major issue to many, since it happens for 2 seasons per year, and each time it happens for around 5-15 minutes or less, depend on various factors.

You can use the Sun Outage calculator from Asiasat website here, to get the rough estimate on when you shall expect to lose signal from Asiasat 9 satellite according to your location and other factors:
https://www.asiasat.com/technology/tools/sun-outage
Do note that the time zone shown are GMT+0, so you'll have to add 8 hours on your own, which makes it GMT+8 (Malaysia time).
For instance:
Year Mon Day Time(Gmt) Time(Gmt) Duration(min)
2020 03 15 03:43 03:48 05

So just add 8 hours on the 03:43, so it becomes 11:43am Malaysia time. Means you shall lose satellite signal for a while as the sun outage process starts around 11:43am for that day, based on the GPS coordinates provided, and it shall ends on 11:48am, total duration of 5 minutes.
Different days may have slightly different duration, and it could last, like around 15 minutes as well.

Feel free to search it on Google if you're interested to know more about sun outage.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 29 2020, 02:14 AM
yongtjunkit
post Feb 29 2020, 08:25 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Feb 29 2020, 02:12 AM)
Yes. Every satellites will be affected by sun outage (regardless of C band, Ku band, etc), but it usually isn't a major issue to many, since it happens for 2 seasons per year, and each time it happens for around 5-15 minutes or less, depend on various factors.

You can use the Sun Outage calculator from Asiasat website here, to get the rough estimate on when you shall expect to lose signal from Asiasat 9 satellite according to your location and other factors:
https://www.asiasat.com/technology/tools/sun-outage
Do note that the time zone shown are GMT+0, so you'll have to add 8 hours on your own, which makes it GMT+8 (Malaysia time).
For instance:
Year Mon Day  Time(Gmt)  Time(Gmt)  Duration(min)
2020 03 15  03:43      03:48        05

So just add 8 hours on the 03:43, so it becomes 11:43am Malaysia time. Means you shall lose satellite signal for a while as the sun outage process starts around 11:43am for that day, based on the GPS coordinates provided, and it shall ends on 11:48am, total duration of 5 minutes.
Different days may have slightly different duration, and it could last, like around 15 minutes as well.

Feel free to search it on Google if you're interested to know more about sun outage.
🤔, if this case then maybe Astro would have many people hitting their CS line thinking that their decoder is broken when the SCNA error comes out.... at least MYTV announced it
ultimateyc
post Mar 3 2020, 11:13 PM

have some problem with myFreeView.
i'm staying in condo at klang valley, using antenna provided by condo, been working fine watching myfreeview for a year, and still working fine yesterday but today 2020-03-03 suddenly some of the channel not working (tv3, ntv7, 8tv, and few more) TV1, TV2, and some include radio channel are working fine.
Already checked with my neighbour, they have no problem viewing all channel.
Is this problem with my TV settings?

This post has been edited by ultimateyc: Mar 4 2020, 01:41 PM
joshhd
post Mar 4 2020, 09:57 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Feb 29 2020, 08:25 AM)
🤔, if this case then maybe Astro would have many people hitting their CS line thinking that their decoder is broken when the SCNA error comes out.... at least MYTV announced it

Astro do have notification on service interruption due to solar outage. Someone posted a photo of it on Kopitiam section back in 2016, which I manage to find it on Google Image:
Source: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=81832858
After all, that disruption lasts only for about 5-15 minutes anyway, so that might be the reason Astro aren't prioritise much to must inform all viewers.
QUOTE(ultimateyc @ Mar 3 2020, 11:13 PM)
have some problem with myFreeView.
i'm staying in condo at klang valley, using antenna provided by condo, been working fine watching myfreeview for a year, and still working fine yesterday but today 2020-03-03 suddenly some of the channel not working (tv3, ntv7, 8tv, and few more) TV1, TV2, and some include radio channel are working fine.
Already checked with my neighbour, they have no problem viewing all channel.
Is this problem with my TV settings?

Have you tried auto search?
What's your area (city and state)?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 4 2020, 10:02 PM
joshhd
post Mar 4 2020, 10:10 PM

7,791 posts

Frequency restacking exercise for Kuala Rompin and Pangkor Island will carry out on 8 March 2020.

722MHz >> 562MHz
698MHz >> 650MHz

Honestly speaking, jumping from 722MHz to 562MHz seems really a lot oh mega_shok.gif

184 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:31 AM