184 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Digital TV Malaysia v2, Malaysian Digital Terrestrial TV

joshhd
post Aug 24 2020, 12:52 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Aug 24 2020, 10:29 AM)
Haha.. Coz my subscriptions is Lite plan.. So if I convert to Njoi, next time got siki duit or "handy itchy" then cannot upgrade to Lite already.
Eventually my old folk house using normal astro (as I explained to you already terminate) while my bro house using njoi... I don't have plan to change njoi bcoz sometimes astro will offer bck something to me.. (Depend their mood..) you know what I mean lah.. brows.gif So not need so obviously...

But this mth receive a call from astro about my njoi (which is at my bro house) offer me a starter pack rm25 without any contract... So quite attractive include all chinese pack, then hand itchy agree to change it... cool2.gif

Nw only the old house there issued there... Although got unifi, bt my old folk ppl don't know hw to use the tv box... So far only my hand or eyes itchy open tv box to watch unifi.. Bt now most of the channel like animax, red hbo everything ceased... Ntg to watch already.. puke.gif

That why wanna to use MYTV combo box to utilize the astro dish... But since you say only bahasa indonesia channel, then no comment about it. sad.gif
Yes, I got the C Band dish which is at Chinasat 6b.. Damn it, that means this MYTV combo box only support for Ku band, right?

IF you wan the MYTV Combo box, I can sell to you...(IF you don't mind..) hahaha.. I just need some money for their old folks expenses.. (PM me then we can further discuss.. brows.gif )

Then what satellite receiver model you use to watch China channels from Chinasat 6b then? If not sure what model is it, take photo show here...

You can use your MYTV box to watch digital TV channels by connecting to a UHF antenna. Not necessary must connect to satellite dish also la.
surrodox2001
post Aug 25 2020, 06:03 PM

273 posts

So, i received a mux around ch36-40 in Permas Jaya area in JB that transmits 1 channel that displays nothing. What could that be?
shaun_kok
post Aug 25 2020, 06:28 PM

1,071 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 25 2020, 06:03 PM)
So, i received a mux around ch36-40 in Permas Jaya area in JB that transmits 1 channel that displays nothing. What could that be?
Actually there are 3 "hidden multiplexes" (actually on 578/594/602MHz or Ch 34, 36 and 37) which are transmitted from Singapore, this is in addition of Mediacorp's and myFreeview DVB-T2 terrestrial TV service, which are the services that we could receive using antenna. I suspect that this may be the MUX carrying StarHub DTTV pay TV service (meant for businesses), which such signals are designed to be unable to tune on normal TV/Set top boxes despite the signal availability. It has to be tuned on special equipment.

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 25 2020, 07:44 PM
perturbed1234
post Aug 25 2020, 06:39 PM

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 15 2020, 03:32 PM)
Do you try the manual scan option on your TV?

The myFreeview/MYTV frequency for MUX 1 is Ch 45/666MHz (TV3, 8TV and others) while for MUX 2 is Ch 43/650MHz (RTM channels and others) in your location.

Try repositioning your Greentek antenna first to other location during manual scan while tuning for RTM channels. You will find a spot in your house where both multiplexes are receivable.

There is no need for separate myFreeview/DVB-T2 set top box as your LG TV already has DVB-T2 built in.
Shaun_kok, thank you for taking the time to write down this info in response to my earlier question. I found it extremely helpful to understand what I was doing wrong. I got all my channels working and it all very clear. I thought that each UHF channel is linked to only a single broadcast channel. Instead, what happens is that when I manually tune and update on my TV, the single UHF channel carries multiple broadcast channels.

Thank you very much for clearing up my doubts and helping me to access all the broadcast channels.
surrodox2001
post Aug 25 2020, 07:53 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 25 2020, 06:28 PM)
Actually there are 3 "hidden multiplexes" (actually on 578/594/602MHz or Ch 34, 36 and 37) which are transmitted from Singapore, this is in addition of Mediacorp's and myFreeview DVB-T2 terrestrial TV service, which are the services that we could receive using antenna. I suspect that this may be the MUX carrying StarHub DTTV pay TV service (meant for businesses), which such signals are designed to be unable to tune on normal TV/Set top boxes despite the signal availability. It has to be tuned on special equipment.
https://pictr.com/images/2019/02/03/0ekKoU.md.png

So ch37 has been used before but its closed down when sg changed to dvb-t2, i wonder what they would do with the restarted carrier/channel/mux?

Maybe msia can use the lower ch21,23,25 for dtt in southern Johor for broadcasting because it's interference free?
surrodox2001
post Aug 25 2020, 08:24 PM

273 posts

PS: actually ch37 overlaps with the astronomy band (605-615Mhz) by a bit but not completely covers it (ch38 overlaps by a large margin, however). Probably oversight from Singapore I guess.

About @shaun_kok comment on Starhub DTTV, I've found a blurb about it on Wikipedia, but nothing else, so it's probably a rumor/concept.
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 02:10 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 25 2020, 06:03 PM)
QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 25 2020, 06:28 PM)

I got the info that the purpose of the 3 muxes from Singapore are actually T2-MI.
For those who don't know, one of the main purpose of T2-MI is for "easier" deploying Single Frequency Network (SFN) where it makes sure the digital TV signals along with main and repeater transmitters are in sync and transmits the exact identical DTT TV signals at the same time.

Avoid open this spoiler. You might get headache rclxub.gif

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 25 2020, 07:53 PM)

So ch37 has been used before but its closed down when sg changed to dvb-t2, i wonder what they would do with the restarted carrier/channel/mux?

Maybe msia can use the lower ch21,23,25 for dtt in southern Johor for broadcasting because it's interference free?

That picture you attached is outdated... Here's the latest and updated one:
See the ones highlighted in red? That's signal interference with 2 Indonesia's analogue TV channels, RCTI and SCTV.

About the lower CH 21, 23, 25 frequencies can be used for Malaysia DTT, it is unknown to the public as in why MYTV and/or MCMC don't want to allocate it onto those frequencies. As what i know, those frequencies are vacant now.
QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 25 2020, 08:24 PM)
PS: actually ch37 overlaps with the astronomy band (605-615Mhz) by a bit but not completely covers it (ch38 overlaps by a large margin, however). Probably oversight from Singapore I guess.

About @shaun_kok comment on Starhub DTTV, I've found a blurb about it on Wikipedia, but nothing else, so it's probably a rumor/concept.

Btw, the allocation for radio astronomy on Channel 37 is mainly applies in the United States, Canada and Mexico.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Channel_37

I think Asian countries didn't reserve/allocate that frequency for radio astronomy also... whistling.gif
Qash-M
post Aug 26 2020, 03:04 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 26 2020, 02:10 AM)
I got the info that the purpose of the 3 muxes from Singapore are actually T2-MI.
For those who don't know, one of the main purpose of T2-MI is for "easier" deploying Single Frequency Network (SFN) where it makes sure the digital TV signals along with main and repeater transmitters are in sync and transmits the exact identical DTT TV signals at the same time.

Avoid open this spoiler. You might get headache  rclxub.gif

See the ones highlighted in red? That's signal interference with 2 Indonesia's analogue TV channels, RCTI and SCTV.

About the lower CH 21, 23, 25 frequencies can be used for Malaysia DTT, it is unknown to the public as in why MYTV and/or MCMC don't want to allocate it onto those frequencies. As what i know, those frequencies are vacant now.
Btw, the allocation for radio astronomy on Channel 37 is mainly applies in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

I think Asian countries didn't reserve/allocate that frequency for radio astronomy also... whistling.gif
CH.50 and above still available despite of putting mobile signal on 700MHz range? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Aug 26 2020, 03:04 AM
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 03:12 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Aug 26 2020, 03:04 AM)
CH.50 and above still available despite of putting mobile signal on 700MHz range? laugh.gif

Well, it is greyed out....
Most of the analogue TV broadcasts in Batam area is still up and running. Although 700MHz for mobile use is already part of their plan, but their analogue switchover process will still take years from now to complete due to many reasons and "chaos" going on in implementing DTT nationwide.

So until then, 700MHz will still be used for analogue TV, but definitely not digital TV.
Qash-M
post Aug 26 2020, 03:17 AM

#FreePalestine
6,103 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 26 2020, 03:12 AM)
Well, it is greyed out....
Most of the analogue TV broadcasts in Batam area is still up and running. Although 700MHz for mobile use is already part of their plan, but their analogue switchover process will still take years from now to complete due to many reasons and "chaos" going on in implementing DTT nationwide.

So until then, 700MHz will still be used for analogue TV, but definitely not digital TV.
That settles it.
shaun_kok
post Aug 26 2020, 06:01 AM

1,071 posts

Oh. I finally understood why the 3 "Hidden" multiplexes are there. It is meant for syncing purpose with the main DTT network on 538/554/570MHz and Ch 29/31/33. It is too technical for many (except broadcast engineers) to understand it. Still a inefficient way of spectrum use (But for Singapore's side, it is not really a issue, given the low amount of terrestrial TV channels)

This post has been edited by shaun_kok: Aug 26 2020, 06:02 AM
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 10:44 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 26 2020, 06:01 AM)
Oh. I finally understood why the 3 "Hidden" multiplexes are there. It is meant for syncing purpose with the main DTT network on 538/554/570MHz and Ch 29/31/33. It is too technical for many (except broadcast engineers) to understand it. Still a inefficient way of spectrum use (But for Singapore's side, it is not really a issue, given the low amount of terrestrial TV channels)

But this makes me wonder, why they "duplicate" another mux just for T2-MI? Let's say if the T2-MI muxes are not there (CH34, 36, 37), does it means their SFN will not be efficiently deployed? How would it affect the overall SFN deployment in Singapore and why is it so important for them until the extent of duplicate another mux just for that purpose?

And that also makes me wonder whether does Malaysia's MYTV transmits a duplicate muxes just for T2-MI? hmm.gif
SUSWobblyblob
post Aug 26 2020, 02:19 PM

680 posts

On another note, well, is TV Osem coming?

Better have more channels then only good.
surrodox2001
post Aug 26 2020, 03:07 PM

273 posts

The T2-MI signal provides the broadcasting parameters and contents to the modulators.

from here

So with all of your talking, T2-MI is kinda like a sync signal in analogue TV used by the receiver to build up the T2 mux/channels and provide correction if necessary.

And the particular use in Singapore's case is transmit to 2 sets of muxes to the rebroadcaster (SFN relay) and let them to use the higher numbered muxes to sync up the 2 sources to be rebroadcasted, in a sort of genlock situation but you're trying to sync a video signal to another identical signal and output that without delays.

Am I all right?
surrodox2001
post Aug 26 2020, 03:31 PM

273 posts

Yeah, dunno why mytv wont chose the lower channels in the first place...imo it should be placed there because that allows reception of my/sg channels with group A aerials and with good coverage bc they're all in lowband UHF.
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 03:34 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 26 2020, 03:07 PM)
from here

So with all of your talking, T2-MI is kinda like a sync signal in analogue TV used by the receiver to build up the T2 mux/channels and provide correction if necessary.

And the particular use in Singapore's case is transmit to 2 sets of muxes to the rebroadcaster (SFN relay) and let them to use the higher numbered muxes to sync up the 2 sources to be rebroadcasted, in a sort of genlock situation but you're trying to sync a video signal to another identical signal and output that without delays.

Am I all right?

Uh yea.... Something like that. I'm not an engineer myself, but as from what I see, it appears like it la...

Highlighted as bold on quote, it's not analogue TV ya.... it's for digital TV

If your DVB-T2 digital TV box has a TS Record feature (definitely not available on any MYTV box models), you can connect USB drive to your STB, and then try TS record that entire mux. Few seconds also can.
Then you use some computer software that can analyse T2-MI to analyse it.
Or, if you can, upload and share the ts file here... So that whoever interested to analyse it, may do so...

TS = transport stream

This post has been edited by joshhd: Aug 26 2020, 03:35 PM
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 03:44 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(surrodox2001 @ Aug 26 2020, 03:31 PM)
Yeah, dunno why mytv wont chose the lower channels in the first place...imo it should be placed there because that allows reception of my/sg channels with group A aerials and with good coverage bc they're all in lowband UHF.

But then, frequency restacking exercise for Mux 2 has been carried out not long ago (698MHz >> 650MHz).

One thing for sure is, if MYTV/MCMC wants to allocate CH 21, 23, 25 for DTT broadcasts, that could also means, all Malaysia DTT viewers in JB and perhaps some from Singapore and Batam area will have to retune their digital TV sets once again.
For those who uses digital TV box or IDTV that doesn't support auto update on the channel/frequency list (including certain MYTV box models), will have to manually perform auto channel search by the viewers themselves, or manual search by entering the exact new frequencies.

That's not all. Those MATV systems (centralised antenna installed in buildings like condo, apartments...) will have to be retune/reconfigured by MATV technicians, otherwise the viewers/resident of the entire building will lose TV reception as it migrates to the new TV frequency.

All of these, equals to more trouble and even costs. 🙃
A thorough planning needs to be done sweat.gif
surrodox2001
post Aug 26 2020, 04:05 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 26 2020, 03:44 PM)
But then, frequency restacking exercise for Mux 2 has been carried out not long ago (698MHz >> 650MHz).

One thing for sure is, if MYTV/MCMC wants to allocate CH 21, 23, 25 for DTT broadcasts, that could also means, all Malaysia DTT viewers in JB and perhaps some from Singapore and Batam area will have to retune their digital TV sets once again.
For those who uses digital TV box or IDTV that doesn't support auto update on the channel/frequency list (including certain MYTV box models), will have to manually perform auto channel search by the viewers themselves, or manual search by entering the exact new frequencies.

That's not all. Those MATV systems (centralised antenna installed in buildings like condo, apartments...) will have to be retune/reconfigured by MATV technicians, otherwise the viewers/resident of the entire building will lose TV reception as it migrates to the new TV frequency.

All of these, equals to more trouble and even costs. 🙃
A thorough planning needs to be done sweat.gif
I think one of the reasons why mytv doesnt use lowband uhf for dtt in JB is when mytv started, they decided to use highband uhf channels for broadcast bc maybe highband equipment is cheaper or dtt at the time is a trial broadcast.

Later on when they want to restack for 700Mhz clearance their only choice for southern johor is highband bc they've invested the equipment for it.

As for gunung ledang, they've a lowband mux from start so they maybe can use it for restack mux2?

I dunno the detail bc im not a engineer :-) Maybe we can get a broadcast engineer from malaysia or singapore here?

Anyway that's my posts for now as i cant post for next 12h.
shaun_kok
post Aug 26 2020, 04:37 PM

1,071 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Aug 26 2020, 10:44 AM)
But this makes me wonder, why they "duplicate" another mux just for T2-MI? Let's say if the T2-MI muxes are not there (CH34, 36, 37), does it means their SFN will not be efficiently deployed? How would it affect the overall SFN deployment in Singapore and why is it so important for them until the extent of duplicate another mux just for that purpose?

And that also makes me wonder whether does Malaysia's MYTV transmits a duplicate muxes just for T2-MI? hmm.gif
MYTV uses TM Fiber connection and ABS-2 Satellite to deliver terrestrial signals across their masts. So there is generally no need to duplicate the MUX if SFN is adjusted accordingly.

Singapore's case may be a little bit different however. Mediacorp may not use full fiber to distribute their channels across masts scattered throughout the island (except for Bukit Batok transmitter and maybesome others, which we don't know the exact location of the transmitter), so a syncing transmitter via DVB-T2 MI may be required.
joshhd
post Aug 26 2020, 05:27 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Aug 26 2020, 04:37 PM)
MYTV uses TM Fiber connection and ABS-2 Satellite to deliver terrestrial signals across their masts. So there is generally no need to duplicate the MUX if SFN is adjusted accordingly.

Singapore's case may be a little bit different however. Mediacorp may not use full fiber to distribute their channels across masts scattered throughout the island (except for Bukit Batok transmitter and maybesome others, which we don't know the exact location of the transmitter), so a syncing transmitter via DVB-T2 MI may be required.

Oh ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
Judging from the frequency allocation, they have 6 vacant muxes left that can be used, if they want to, which is:
CHFreq.
27522MHz
28530MHz
30546MHz
32562MHz
35586MHz
38610MHz

Does it mean that if Singapore Mediacorp wants to add new channels with new muxes, they can only add another up to 3 muxes, maximum?
Because 1 normal DVB-T2 mux + 1 T2-MI mux = 2 muxes will be used? sweat.gif

Duplicating mux for the sake of T2-MI, "looks" like kinda wasting bandwidth.... I wonder why didn't they run fibre to deploy SFN...
Or is it because they got many vacant DTT frequencies, so they rather just use T2-MI over the air, to save costs from deploying fibre or something? 🤣🤣🤣

Unless........
Plot twist: Maybe it is to allow "someone outside Singapore" to easily deploy SFN by repeating/relaying Singapore DTT signals into their home country by secret, indirectly it improves Singapore DTT coverage outside Singapore.
Woah... I watch too much movies... Too dramatic shocking.gif mega_shok.gif

184 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.1228sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:50 PM