4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New broadband service, iBurst by iZZinet Sdn Bhd

wayfeel
post Aug 30 2007, 11:06 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

Izzinet called me & talk abt their new service is up and alr using in wangsamaju here. he told me students in the past 1 wk has been using n no complain i dono true onot rm88 (for laptop only) cheapest. now i feel like wanto try it

Added on August 30, 2007, 11:05 amohya. i live very very near to the source (i know is unhealthy) and i surf indoor. they say no dl cap speed/bandwidth. wat u think. u think itl work for me? 88rm(1mb) x 12=1056

maxis 68rm (384kb upto 512kb but i think tis one once in few moons) x 12(lock 18 months)+rm100 activation=916rm
98 (7xxkb~1.5mb) x12 (same 1.5yrs lock)=1176rm

so wat u think

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry13051917
wayfeel
post Sep 2 2007, 01:06 AM

2,114 posts

ya today i wento setapak agent at asashi. they havent gotten the forms yet for me to sign up for it.

i heard from my fren tht usb connector needn't open port, so mean it is faster dl rate compare to pcmcia card is it. but paper spec is same.

anyway, atm in setapak still extremely new, only up atmost 2wks ago, so the capcity is all for new users haha. hope by wed can get it set then.

i gave up on maxis. its a monster i swear, & im at highspeed area some more. each day ive to restart like 10-20 times? izzi's now my last bet.

Added on September 2, 2007, 1:07 amohya, u guys pay full in cash or use credit card for installments. very limited cards available for int free instl only leh so i suppose major of u cash ar? very rich leh

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 2 2007, 01:07 AM
wayfeel
post Sep 4 2007, 08:35 PM

2,114 posts

i just registered for the izziyou, using usb. got usb to its pmcia n a antenna

signal strength is 100% but some times pages load very very slow dono y. ive written to its techinical

simple setup driver installation n online registration so im on the way to win a bmw320i
wayfeel
post Sep 5 2007, 12:28 AM

2,114 posts

wat mean H /V/Lat/Long. is tht morse code or bar code.

yeah i using izzi for past few hrs d . whts pinging? sry i not familiar wit all these.

stability wise . pretty strong. i get tremendous signal too. afaik, my bt is only all files dl total <50kbps +surfing firefox+ limewire total dl rate <80kbps

fast pages loading has return. i din use antenana since reception d good. u buy the izziyou? why not the izzione. the pmcia i put in locked drawer while using lol tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 5 2007, 12:30 AM
wayfeel
post Sep 5 2007, 11:13 AM

2,114 posts

allanphang,

why u say ur bt dl only 40kbps.
bt dl IS IN kBps de. i can get 80kBps which translate to about 700kbps. in my iB status bar dl rate in kbps ~300-1200 with good avg 900 kbps

900/8 =1xx kbps =dl-ding 80kB +other surfin/FF/MSN 20KB
make sense to me.

11pm-11am total 3.7Gb DL is tht good by bt standard? i dono cus not familiar with bt

Added on September 5, 2007, 11:18 ami don mean to sound selfish but why do ppl seed. any technical reason?
its easy to end it after uve finish UR portion. but human r selfish by nature, don argue with me, i study ethics.

so seriously, any other reason than just being pure generous?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 5 2007, 11:18 AM
wayfeel
post Sep 5 2007, 07:40 PM

2,114 posts

Jinx,

the 3.7Gb is from 11pm-11am, is 12hrs ,not 24. so i suppose 24 hrs shud add up to about 7+gb. i dont think shud add ul rate too right? cus 12hrs ul is about 1.3gb.

allan,

i use comet 0.91. i dono how to id my seeders' location.

Added on September 5, 2007, 9:56 pmwanto ask wht mean is ping ms. is higher better or otherwise? thnks

Added on September 5, 2007, 10:10 pmmy b tonit i m abit free. i wento tis http://speedtest.net/index.php
to test my iburst speed

i did 4 times, tested in order different server: KL, Cyberjaya, Singapore, KL
all results varied.

KL attempt
DL 119kbps
UL 173

Cyber
DL 291
UL 189

Spore

Back KL

my layman question is ,why does it varies each tries n perhaps location too.

layman result :speedtest seem like a cock n bull to me

so, m i missing sthg here?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 5 2007, 10:10 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 7 2007, 03:14 PM

2,114 posts

ewshmi,

u r right. i get 100% signal althe time cus im very near to source<1km (but hush...) sometime its fast n sluggish so dpd on the 'link'. ewshmi, any idea how to actively improve the 'link rate? sometime i feel the more ur internet application sucking the bandwidth, the higher my link will reach. if open like 2-3 p2p dl-ing, multiple firefx, msn, eradio etc....link can hit 1xxx but thts just sound passive.

arjen,

i did tht test when my online is completely idle, p2p, msn off, but stil result not good i dono y. but i really didnt care lo cus as long as i start using, dl-ing, the speed picks upto pretty decent,good dl, fast page load. recently i tweak my bitcomet as me n my frien were experimenting.

i tested my dl rate on a popular bleach ep139 file , usu. it is about 30-50kB . after tweak, it was a personal record to me hitting

the dl rate depend alot on ur tweaking, seed ratio n dont conveniently blame tmnet streamyx for ur sucky dl. ive a fren in desa with 1mb dl is very low cussing up n down n eventually admit he regret installing streamyx but nvr time to read n understand why the low dl speed (1 user cus usu his hsemates not in) about <20kB .on onother hand, another my fren in cheras 1 user of streamyx 512, before open port n tweaking, he consistenly dl <10kB. after reconfig, get good 30-50kB but he reads.

i stating practical advtg
its true tht
ibusrt (radio frequency) > streamyx
1 neat, no messy cables. no fear of cable trippin n ur laptop go together
2 conveniently mobile (in the hhse)/or outside
3 as the network is covering quite fast,
by end of year, klang valley (incl pj,kep, all the kl areas la) wud hv been covered
4 currently 1 user is paying either rm88 (card) / 98(usb) but the they wil upg in near future (working on it) for 2.5Mb. they claim we pay same subscription but enjoy the 2.5mb. at least tis gives some nice hope rather than the stunted streamyx service. plus, iburst is used in many countries technology d, u seek wiki then u noe. not wired like...so-n-so la= =''
5 downloading no cap or so as claimed.
6 so far good stablilty and IF (rarely) connection slows, usu just manually d/c n reconnect (<10sec) work instantly for me
7 ...i don online in moving transport

(i dono its stability during downpour, it is claimed high the better the performance)

iburst < streamyx ( i was many yrs user b4)
1 iburst limited to 1 user, unless use one powerful laptop to let others connect to it and only izzipro rm148 can connect router.
2 cheaper if shared
3 wired (suppose to be stable)
4 u meet new frens/build good rapport with tmnet customer service
5 ...(pls add on)

i dono wht else, but if i were to get a streamyx it'd be the shared price but i only 1 user, so i just get the iburst lo
these r js personal opinion

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 7 2007, 03:44 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 8 2007, 01:07 PM

2,114 posts

nah, im not tech savvy too , the info provided in the bitforums forum are aplenty, i just good at foloing instruction lol but hey, 70-100 are dam good alr hav a good wkend surfing!

Added on September 8, 2007, 1:10 pmewshmi,

wanto ask u if ur link is fluctuating every second?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 8 2007, 01:10 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 8 2007, 08:20 PM

2,114 posts

its downpour just now but i still surf n dl like normal today.
if signal worsen during rainin then it defeat the whole purpose, ppl stay indoor during rainy season to online. u think astro meh!
wayfeel
post Sep 9 2007, 11:50 AM

2,114 posts

Lipyueng,
the higher ground the better signal. i think only popular file has >100 kB/s cus dl significantly dpd on s/p ratio. if good band but low s/p ratio ,good dl r remote. n even is high s/p ratio, also dpd on the seeder how much hes sharing out. toomany factors sometime.

ahpek,
just doin a public service cus i hv been streamyx victimised too...erm, and maxis bb (u can goto maxis bb here in lyf to c my horrible exp)? i heard celcom is worse than maxis i din try tht, if not wrong is it 384kB for sthg >100rm? wimax too expensive.

if ur really interested (pm me), i know someone who willing to go to ur hse to install them n explain thgs to u, done in 15mins. wher u live. i just student so hv plenty time on my hand to reply hmmm

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 9 2007, 01:16 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 9 2007, 09:54 PM

2,114 posts

wr6969,

i think u wud really love my answer im goin to give here. my father is a huge huge constructor in msia n hundred of acres of oil palm estate in the borneo....

..NOT! i hate to disappoint u but im not a rich student, neither r they rich, neither time has chged. ur not old. lol actually i worked for few years b4 n decided to spy on students nowdays, or back to check out siao mei mei which ever tickle ur fantasy haha, i go back to uni for 1 yr degree so in tht way, hvg worked make me richer than most student atm lol, still got some cash balance n revenue source. ^^v

i use cc for installment. no, i don hv cash upfront . ty for raising doubts lol. i was a thrifty student too realising my parents hard earn money i spent wisely : )

Added on September 10, 2007, 3:25 pmdo u guys hv problem playing online game with it? i play a low end game Rakion, same developer to gunbound. cant seem to play wit izzinet

Added on September 10, 2007, 3:50 pm

arjen,

my speedtest alwez show very very low dl. i nvr exceed 400 b4 -.- but strangely, my ul alwez higher than u . theres once i let p2p run, i still get the same ul ~2xx kB test result

i suspect my firewall which limits incoming, wild guess. however, i usu. get few hundreds link depending on internet actitvity , ~900-1k during high internet activity . is tis similar to u. it seems tht link dpd on internet activity.

i just wanna make sure im getting wat u r getting wit iburst.

pls feedback k

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 10 2007, 03:50 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 11 2007, 11:08 PM

2,114 posts

Added on September 11, 2007, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(arjen_robben81 @ Sep 11 2007, 02:13 PM)
wayfeel,

normally if that downlink is good, then i get 100-120 kB/s. however, if the link is busy, usually 40-70 KB/s
same with urs?
arjen,

i seriously think taking the bt dl rate as benchmark for iburst speed not so accurate becus the bt dl rate is dependent on too many factors ie file popularity, seed/peer ratio some r 1-1, some 5-1, and even s/p ratio is same but each seeders limit upload differently, and then, there's tht individual bt client set differently somemore.

wat downlink.

Connect:Link zzz
Rcvd xxx :Sent yyy
Sig

my link changes every sec so how to decide whether it is good or busy, is urs not changin every second? all i know when my internet activities is high, my link goes very high and vice versa. so if tis indicate sthg strange , then ive to contact izziman d. arjen, is urs not lik tis or it stabilize?

PS:
who the heck wanto surf laptop in a 100kmph running car anyway! in car, kao lui liao lor. u wanto online in public transport ar? u wan die, go ahead la. if u ask me, tis kind of features go to hell unless target stylish business man ok lar, buttis is not hollywood or usa, izzineT!

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 11 2007, 11:16 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 12 2007, 08:29 PM

2,114 posts

jinx,

wat streamyx technology today is abit dated but tested n proven tho. wired, but sometime unstable ,some complain about it. n the service is 3rd class eg, theyr extremely slow at adding ports, seemingly complacent becus they know custs don hv choice. so ppl desperately want alternative ,some r go the extent of paying >rm 100 for 384kb/s 3G celcom.

technology don come cheap thts one downside about iburst (still, i think its priced fairly for 'new' tech in msia) if u question of its reliability the below must speak for sthg

quote http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iburst
"iBurst is commercially available in ten countries: Australia, South Africa, Azerbaijan, Norway, Ireland, Canada, Lebanon, Kenya, Ghana, and USA. Companies in Southeast Europe and the Middle East are also looking to roll out the service."

tht must hv some substance in iburst. so i wud give iburst the benefit of doubt. the closest thing to iburst these days is Wimax and wimax cost is exorbitant.

so far, no 'hellish' experience fr cust. partly the customer based are already there (klang valley) but funny, not many post feedback here.

honestly, after paying premium price, of cos i expect premium speed. it don hit rock bottom speed. i only complain if it drops below premium speed. u know wht i mean?

PS: im not an agent, i just inject hope into new tech smile.gif if this newtech is really reliable, its a real blessing to msia custs

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Sep 12 2007, 08:35 PM
wayfeel
post Sep 13 2007, 01:39 AM

2,114 posts

i actually wonder how is wimax relatively perform compare to iburst. but if in terms of performance/cost, surely highest of all broadband service.

if iburst isnt performing up to par, then theres no all-rounder broadband isp tht can provide fair satisfaction i suppose . maxis bb puts a heavy stress on my heart daily, the extra 33% i pay for iburst over maxis is a personal health insurance i suppose.

in 1mb category, tht leaves streamyx to hv good performance/cost ratio i suppose . at least for stability, its wired. fair performance/medium cost. i guess wireless will alwez b wireless eh lol

is there any other technology thts really superb anywher in other country? whts singapore using, wifi or wimax? i know their country is signal covered. unaware of performance tho.

wayfeel
post Sep 15 2007, 01:08 PM

2,114 posts

hmmm...i dono, but i actually did sthg to my setting at network connection, on the iburst terminal then it actually become better already. stil dl popular file pass 110kbps mark, n 'almost...' instant page loading. i think is ok. i re-tested its speed.

previously ,i tested speed and nvr exceed even 380kb/s, ul 2xx kb/s (funnily tho, at tht point i still manage to get >100kb/s dl on popular file). after doin sthg at the network connection, i finally manage to settle it. i retested speed again now gaining 8xxkb/s..but ul drop drastically to xx kb/s only! this is most surprising n i don even know why.

ive made some queries to my friends concerning the pc own performance in relation to broadband speed, they unanimously agreed yes. i looked back to arjen pc performance, urs is rather powerful desktop, AMD Athlon X2 3600 2.71Ghz, Kingston 2GB DDRII PC4200 compare to my 3 yrs plus notebook running merely 1.5 centrino (single processor) albeit 1.5mb ddr1 ram, therefore it sums up why arjen u speedtested peak at 1mb++ n ping as low as 1xx while i hv higher ping was due to my bit outdated spec, only reason i can come out with. still, i dono why the ul drop drastically after i set ips to my iburst terminal properties (previously it was showing exclamation mark on limited or no connectivity although signal was 100%all the time.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
wayfeel
post Sep 16 2007, 02:58 PM

2,114 posts

celcom 3g no need pay upfront , or time contract. yesday at lowyat we wento tis celcom booth tht registration for 3G max 384kb/hsdpa 3.6mb (n u must realise der r rare hsdpa area) although u can terminate anytime but hvg to buy the celcom device is 1k++ itself n pay everymonth is lik 2k++for a year, in total. my friends said, on the surface, iburst package seem far more attractive. i just wonder when the 2.5mb/s from izzi is gonna roll out. i cant wait for that.
wayfeel
post Sep 16 2007, 10:47 PM

2,114 posts

samueler

izzi accepts many credit cards nowdays so most of us don do upfront. it auto debits, like ur phone bill or sort. no different with tmnet, it just auto debit ur cc at the end of each month, it charges end of month instead of advance. interest free installment lik tht

wayfeel
post Sep 18 2007, 01:06 PM

2,114 posts

arjen,

sounds really good huh . uve been getting less than wat speed lately? cant wait to hear ur updates.

to be honest, the izzimen can be quite flexible n not rigid
wayfeel
post Sep 20 2007, 11:16 PM

2,114 posts

its been days, havent anyone new subscribers especially hv any feedback on tis thing.

and arjen, hows the update with the engineers.

curious
wayfeel
post Sep 21 2007, 05:34 PM

2,114 posts

wht alternative for wired service provider hv we
tht leaves very liimited isnt it

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled