New broadband service, iBurst by iZZinet Sdn Bhd
kevyon6
Oct 4 2007, 12:39 PM

i'm dumping maxis wireless broadband, just got it for 4 days and it sux since the 1st day. Around 100 kbps onli even though i got the hspda package. download an attachment from email like 3kb per sec. most probably thinking of getting izzinet. anyone around serdang area subscribe to izzinet? any feedback?
kevyon6
Oct 5 2007, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(de_vampyr @ Oct 5 2007, 02:13 AM) I think izzi.net was tweaking their network for the past one week plus or they are watching user 'usage'.But i guess its ok now,its a new month, october and i get the download rate as below.Kinda same like what i used to get when i first subscribing to it.Or does it has to do with good seedings from a good site? [attachmentid=305908] that's the speed you got during late nite? nice. which area r u staying? This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 5 2007, 10:02 AM
kevyon6
Oct 6 2007, 10:11 PM

great news. i just got myself izzitnet today and boy am i glad that i dumped maxis. speed much better at nite compare to puny 100kbps from maxis (3.6Mbps) last time.  the bad side about izzinet is there is a hidden cost for RHB credit card installment thingie. Izzi have to charge me extra 5% for the total subscription for using RHB card. Others like maybank and chartered dun have this hidden cost. This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 6 2007, 10:14 PM
kevyon6
Oct 8 2007, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(lowkl @ Oct 8 2007, 11:58 AM) Hmmm. I know compared to Maxis the 500+ kbps you are getting looks/feels wunderbar (speaking as an ex-MaxisWBB victim/survivor myself), but as you can see from other recent posts, most of us Izzi users are getting the full 1000kbps/1Mbps download most of the time. Are you at 100% signal strength? Otherwise, you can look at whipping up a simple reflector such as this do-it-yourself project. yeah my signal kinda fluctuates quite a lot although i put it near the window. Never reach 100% before, always around 70-90 though. mine is the usb version. the DIY antenna looks kinda complicated to me. maybe i'll get the external antenna from izzi. the girl from izzi told me i can get it from her for RM50 but when i checked izzi website, there are RM68 and RM38 version so now i'm a bit confused here. Added on October 8, 2007, 12:58 pmQUOTE(hungryJack @ Oct 8 2007, 12:02 PM) Haizz ... i m live in kepong abd my signal is not strong enough laa ... They keep postpone the date to build base station in kepong ... sein laa ... my signal overall is poor only. Second floor is much more better ... mostly good and download speed 400-500kbps ... but sadly my bedroom is one 1st floor and signal damn poor. Ask the agent from broadband2u.com to get free antenna and see would it help. God knows the fellow told me need to pay RM100 for the antenna, last time one izzi girl come to my house and said can get it free one ... this fellow is leech ... d*mn wah so good service ar, go to your house somemore. can ask her to come to mine ar and bring the antenna along This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 8 2007, 12:58 PM
kevyon6
Oct 9 2007, 04:52 PM

you still can return it in 3 months time though but u'll get less refund.
kevyon6
Oct 9 2007, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(priesty @ Oct 9 2007, 05:54 PM) yeah, it says up to 90 days for a 75% refund, so i'll use n return it until 80++ days to worth the money ..kekekeke yup, fair & square.
kevyon6
Oct 15 2007, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Oct 15 2007, 01:30 PM) guys, hows the performance lately, y no update. lately i really satisfied. never hv complain anymore eversince the mtu setting for me. using firefox standard direct download, oso can reach 125 kb d (record best was 146 kbps). p2p download limewire | utorrent also 3 digit. in fact, i off my pc at night, i dont do download at nit anymore because the 3 digit download happen any daytime. so i believe there's absolutely no throttle from izzi. all is bullshit. at least at this moment, theres none. very very good imo. is there anyone feel the same. kajika, my consistent result is around 900-1000, infrequently 500-600 wat mtu u r using? 1400?
kevyon6
Oct 20 2007, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(Anodize @ Oct 20 2007, 12:50 AM) okay... one of my friend is using izzi wireless broadband... He stays in serdang. his coverage was 40% before he added the antenna. When he added the antenna, it was 100% coverage already... The speed is good. Before Antenna 233 kbps(download), 30kbps(upload) After Antenna Download Speed: 983 kbps (122.9 KB/sec transfer rate) Upload Speed: 170 kbps (21.3 KB/sec transfer rate) i'm using izzione without any antenna and i'm staying in desa serdang. i found out that i need to face my UT towards MINES then onli can get 100% signal consistently  Bandwidth also has gone up
kevyon6
Oct 20 2007, 02:47 PM

QUOTE(Anodize @ Oct 20 2007, 01:08 PM) i guess that the tower might be at Mines...hehehe... Added on October 20, 2007, 1:30 pmOh... i just saw the coverage area again and they are building another 5 tower.... That would be good news.... well that inclusive of the previous 4 towers that was proposed to be online by 15th October. i guess now they postpone it along with the other new 5 towers to 31st October.
kevyon6
Oct 22 2007, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(lamdogkc @ Oct 22 2007, 05:29 PM) tmn mayang or tmn mayang jaya? me in tmn megah next to mayang jaya signal very poor 30% out site but currently using my own antenna signal went up to 100%  ur own antenna? cool, can show a pic? how u make it?
kevyon6
Oct 23 2007, 10:03 PM

QUOTE(Anodize @ Oct 23 2007, 07:40 PM) the charges would be dealt with the dealer themself... not by consumer... Lowyat charges 2% is because there are too many fraud i think.... 2% only ar..y they charge me 5% somemore using rhb card. i went to the booth at the centre hall there and then the girl brought me up to a shop to subscribe. they said if i charged using rhb card thru them they have to charge me 5% unless i use other card like maybank. me also confused liao  somemore say no hidden charges in their website. This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 23 2007, 10:05 PM
kevyon6
Oct 24 2007, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(sairay @ Oct 23 2007, 10:29 PM) Here's some more result. Hope to hear some comment and perhaps advice. i'm getting pretty good bandwidth here in serdang. last nite the speed has been constantly around 800 to 1000kbps. just finish downloading 3 dramas 170Mb each probably less than 2 hours i think coz i left the pc on when i sleep  one file reach a download speed of 100kb/s  Since i subscribed to izzi for the past 3 weeks, i've downloaded more than 10 series dramas (>170Mb each), 5 full length movies (>3Gb) and been surfing webpages smoothly. just sometimes there are a few hiccups (stagnant low speed) which i try to disconnect and reconnect again and its good to go again. maybe you could try set your MTU to 1400 to see if there is any difference. i've used tweakmaster free download to set mine. i'm pretty satisfied with izzi so far except for the early 5% credit card charges for subscription only This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 24 2007, 09:32 AM
kevyon6
Oct 24 2007, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(priesty @ Oct 24 2007, 09:30 AM) yala, i think they can't differentiate maybank card with mbf card
kevyon6
Oct 24 2007, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(3XXX @ Oct 24 2007, 04:19 PM) But how to know the current MTU setting. I am using Windows XP service pack 2. And how about for windows 2000. Can we check that with the tweakmaster?  maybe you can try out the MTU Optimizer from www.iburst.com.au first . It will shows you your current MTU and option to set a new value. But nevertheless TweakMaster has fail safe feature whr u can backup ur registry first just incase anything happens. Do it in your own risk k  i've tried mine and nothing broken yet  Added on October 24, 2007, 6:40 pmQUOTE(wayfeel @ Oct 24 2007, 04:00 PM) i dono why u guys hv the interest itnerest thing...new scheme ka...cuz tht time i get, he said no interest, check my statement no extra charges too, then my rental payment is exactly as i calculated it to be...i used EON back which is not in the website...ive to filled form then verify with eon cc customer service Added on October 24, 2007, 4:02 pmso keyvon, is 1400 is best setting for iburst performance? really good speed right. hehe....7 days i dl >10 movies le lol 7xxmb each all daytime dl lol but lastnit abit slow...anyone feel it? so far so good lor using 1400. last nite was kinda slow around 8-11pm. but after that it recover and even went past 1024kbps, i think i saw it reach 1090+, hehe, and when i look at xunlei my file was downloading at speed 116kb/s max. i tried not to leave it overnite download too much, scared later they ban me for heavy use or something since someone mentioned it b4 in their terms & condition. This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 24 2007, 06:47 PM
kevyon6
Oct 25 2007, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(lamdogkc @ Oct 25 2007, 08:39 AM) this is my antenna this is just a prototype, going to enhance to by building another parabolic type. the rec'ver point (N connector) is not perfect so going to correct it in my next project, but in the mean time it's fully functionable and signal is constantly 80-98% during connection even when it's rainning. u must be using the Pringles eh
kevyon6
Oct 26 2007, 05:34 PM

i guess that would be a monopoly then
kevyon6
Oct 27 2007, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 27 2007, 08:55 AM) Izzinet can only break even IF their service is consistently good , supported by good customer service - which is yet to be seen . Only time will tell if they succeed in this model. At the meantime, I am just telling you that I am not willing to put RM1000 ++ commitment fee to a service that binds me for 1 year, as compared to Maxis / DIgi/ Celcom where I could terminate at anytime. As i know, Izzi offers the most flexible payment scheme comparing to other current wireless broadband provider. Maxis, you are bind to their contract for 18 months and you can't cancel it if you have exceeded their 7 days cool-off period meaning if your bandwidth sux after that cooling off period, you are doom paying every month for that poor bandwidth unless they can fix ur problem. For izzi, you can cancel within 3 or 6 months time and you are refunded for the remaining months. oh yeah, i was one maxis subscriber but now i'm a happy izziOne  Added on October 27, 2007, 3:46 pmQUOTE(kajika81 @ Oct 27 2007, 01:21 PM) hi again, my speed go back to normal since my last complaint sent via their email which attach with my speedtest results. the speed consistent since yesterday. hopefully izzinet wont detoriate my speed again p/s: been waiting since the early of october.... p/s: i tested the mtu 1400 and 1500, speed nothing different, so i remain to 1500. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « good for you, at least izzi is doing something. This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 27 2007, 03:48 PM
kevyon6
Oct 27 2007, 10:42 PM

well for my case its all becoz i can't afford to fork out one large sum of money one shot therefore in my list i cancel out those wireless provider that requires you to buy the equipment. plus once i have bought those equipment i can't be sure i'm getting the performance as stated. then if u plan to cancel the plan, then you have to think of how to get rid of the equipment you just bought which is not cheap.
This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 27 2007, 10:46 PM
kevyon6
Oct 28 2007, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Oct 28 2007, 12:50 PM) You can always buy the hardware using a credit card, and opt to repay your bank in interest free instalments. Many, if not all banks provide this service to encourage people to spend more  But here's something to think about: If you can't afford something, don't buy it. If you purchase alternatives based on price alone, you will get no sympathy later from anyone if the alternative doesn't perform up to your expectations. As the saying goes, cheap things not good, good things not cheap. With other access devices, you can always use them with alternative providers (with HSDPA datacards, you try Celcom, Maxis and U-Mobile (when they finally decide to launch their service)). If all three doesn't work, sell it off in lowyat.net or lelong.com, no big deal. Don't u think I'm aware of buying things with credit card with interest free instalments. just like what anodize has mentioned that the total amount of purchasing the equipment and paying every month for the services (celcom, internet2go) sum up more than what izzi can offer for now. do the math and i agree that if u can't afford something then don't buy it but in my case the TOTAL amount chargeable by izzi is within my budget and best of all i'm getting the bandwidth i paid for so far. what's more can you ask, right? This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 28 2007, 04:19 PM
kevyon6
Oct 29 2007, 12:58 PM

well here is a good channel to have an idea of what's end user feedbacks on their services. They (izzi or other wireless providers) should have a forum on their own site too for user's feedback. So far i think izzi dun have la. Added on October 29, 2007, 1:01 pmQUOTE(soul2soul @ Oct 29 2007, 12:19 PM) anyway, good to have izzinet people around in this forum. I tried out their demo, it was quite impressive AT THE MOMENT. but i will wait for at least another 6months of 1 year to find out whether this company has what it takes to survive. until then, i will still stay with streamyx well i'll just cross my finger and hope for the best that they won't dissapeared by then and able to get a justified returns for them to step further. This post has been edited by kevyon6: Oct 29 2007, 01:01 PM