New broadband service, iBurst by iZZinet Sdn Bhd

TSJinXXX
post Oct 16 2007, 08:22 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Anodize @ Oct 16 2007, 02:58 PM)
JinXXX, i know that you are being skeptical about this. but heck... didn't i say that there aren't that much user yet? don't you get it? lets say there are 1000 subscriber... 100 of them goes to the same signal tower... the rest are distributed evenly.... what about those that is slightly futher from the tower?

Sometimes you can't just stand on one side to talk about things... try to stand on both sides... i am standing on both sides to review about izzi cuz i plan to get one next month. THats why i am reviewing every single customer's feedback here.
well i understand what your trying to show/say, but then we are people/humans we look @ history , and we tend to compare from there...

on your other posts about iburst technology, there have been great reviews OVERSEA.. but remember its OVERSEA with different people implementing it, there are two kinds of business..

1. make money
2. provide a proper service to the country..

based on history and all, for malaysia is mostly point no.1 , but we all can argue over this.. but then let's wait and let the customer/subscriber share their experience tongue.gif

Added on October 16, 2007, 8:26 pm
QUOTE(hungryJack @ Oct 16 2007, 06:25 PM)
Hi, Raya is ain't an reasonable excuse for them to postpone the base station to be on air on time, dude.
At first they said will be ready on air on 15th Sept. Luckily that time i haven't subscribe izzi yet (Afraid they will delay).
Next update from izzi, 4 site will be on air on 30th Sept. As predicted.
Finally i tot they should be ready on OCT soon. I was subscribe it. Now i was just like paying the money but w/o getting their service.
Do u think is fair for me? Although is said to be tentatively to be ready, but they shall keep their promise ma ...
no offense, just my opinion and express out my dissatisfaction.
yeah true they can't take a public holiday as an excuse.. if they learn PM, they should know to include such days into their deployment..
if its technical reasons i'm willing to forgive, as i have done technical network based implementation so i understand sometimes..

certain things needs to be configured differently tongue.gif ..

another thing on another matter.. the so called wimax.. until today there is no news what so ever.. when we are promised its deployment end of this year November is coming and we are all waiting and waiting..

This post has been edited by JinXXX: Oct 16 2007, 08:26 PM
prasys
post Oct 16 2007, 10:47 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 16 2007, 08:22 PM)
yeah true they can't take a public holiday as an excuse.. if they learn PM, they should know to include such days into their deployment..
if its technical reasons i'm willing to forgive, as i have done technical network based implementation so i understand sometimes..

certain things needs to be configured differently tongue.gif ..

another thing on another matter.. the so called wimax.. until today there is no news what so ever.. when we are promised its deployment end of this year November is coming and we are all waiting and waiting..
Fine , we can give and take if its for Public Holiday. They are humans just like us. Next up we have the technical problem , now sometimes setting up the base station and things could be tedious work. I know , Trust me.I've been through setting up networks in few places. Its like being Macgyver (well not really, I can't say it ). We are humans after all

P.S - Not really big places...just small ones..hehehehe

I am not sure about WiMax. No use yet. The last I've heard from a friend of mine who is into local telecos said that they are testing WiMax in certain locations and they are quite impressed with it. TM might roll out WiMax. This would be a good news for those in Sabah and in Sarawak as well (and even in the Peninsula)

This post has been edited by prasys: Oct 16 2007, 10:48 PM
TSJinXXX
post Oct 17 2007, 01:10 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 16 2007, 10:47 PM)
I am not sure about WiMax. No use yet. The last I've heard from a friend of mine who is into local telecos said that they are testing WiMax in certain locations and they are quite impressed with it. TM might roll out WiMax. This would be a good news for those in Sabah and in Sarawak as well (and even in the Peninsula)
does TM even has license for WIMAX ? last i heard they didn't won the bidding cause the so called "MCMC" gave smaller players
cause want to make more competition

eg packetone , redtone's subsidary and 2 more others which i forgot...

Anodize
post Oct 17 2007, 04:02 AM

281 posts

well... basicly wimax is out of the question....Look at the price comparison chart...
Attached File  cost_comparison.pdf ( 356.72k ) Number of downloads: 100

misaki
post Oct 17 2007, 10:30 AM

QUOTE(Anodize @ Oct 17 2007, 04:02 AM)
well... basicly wimax is out of the question....Look at the price comparison chart...
Attached File  cost_comparison.pdf ( 356.72k ) Number of downloads: 100

hi, i am interested in izzi but am bit worried bout the a year subscription fees that we have to pay upfront (or mthly installment using credit card). i mean what if the company just go bankrupt or somehow the service is terminated suddenly due to unforeseen reasons.. isn't it bit risky? well, unlike other isp (TM, maxis etc) though there's like a 18 or even 24 mths contract we are bonded to, yet we are paying up to the mth we are using their service, if they were to be declared bankruptcy (or any events that would lead to service discontinuation) in a particular mth, we wont be loosing the remaining fees that we ought to pay comparing the one with izzi that we have to pay all upfront a year long.. i guess all this boils down to the fact that i am not as confident with this newly established company izzinet as compared to some reputable (or notorious) market players like TM or maxis.. or is it MCMC gonna subsidized in refunding should the worst case scenario happen? doubt it... or it's just a risk that izzi subscribers have to take..? take it or leave it..?
wr6969
post Oct 17 2007, 10:51 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(misaki @ Oct 17 2007, 10:30 AM)
hi, i am interested in izzi but am bit worried bout the a year subscription fees that we have to pay upfront (or mthly installment using credit card). i mean what if the company just go bankrupt or somehow the service is terminated suddenly due to unforeseen reasons.. isn't it bit risky? well, unlike other isp (TM, maxis etc) though there's like a 18 or even 24 mths contract we are bonded to, yet we are paying up to the mth we are using their service, if they were to be declared bankruptcy (or any events that would lead to service discontinuation) in a particular mth, we wont be loosing the remaining fees that we ought to pay comparing the one with izzi that we have to pay all upfront a year long.. i guess all this boils down to the fact that i am not as confident with this newly established company izzinet as compared to some reputable (or notorious) market players like TM or maxis.. or is it MCMC gonna subsidized in refunding should the worst case scenario happen? doubt it... or it's just a risk that izzi subscribers have to take..? take it or leave it..?
laugh.gif MCMC going to compensate you if the company goes bankrupt? What country or world are you living in dude? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

If you have no confidence, don't subscribe. Simple as that. Duh...
lowkl
post Oct 17 2007, 12:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(misaki @ Oct 17 2007, 10:30 AM)
You are right in that there are no guarantees. If Izzi goes bottoms-up, it will be a long and probably fruitless process to get back the balance of the subscription fee.

To note however:
- Mobif is a MESDAQ listed company, and according to their 2006 Annual report, they are in the black.
- They have invested in 42 towers and other core infrastructure, which is not a small expense.
- They have also invested in a sales and support network
- They have so far done what they said they would do (with the exception of the delay in last 4 towers)

Given all of this, it doesn't look like the company is going to evaporate overnight.

... and let's get some perspective... it's just a few hundred ringgit. Not pocket change, but not like buying a house either!
misaki
post Oct 17 2007, 02:56 PM

thanks guys for the insights, appreciate it! will hav more points to convince my housemates now smile.gif
wayfeel
post Oct 17 2007, 03:16 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

misaki, just to correct the misunderstanding.

izzi policy is to charge u based on AFTER ur usage. for example. once u subscribed to izzinet iburst, u dun get charge until the 30th day usage, so ur not charged upfront but the opposite. u r charged of 2nd time after 60days usage like tht. reason is tht they dont wan complicated payment policy of hvg receive upfront so they adopted the pay per usage (day) basis.

in addition, the credit card is auto debit by the bank. if they run away, ur only paid for the days u;ve used for, sounds fair. if ur in ur 2nd month usage , they wont take away all the other 10 months if they run, its protected by bank credit card policy as part of installment scheme sthg like tht. its wht auto debit is for.
justme
post Oct 17 2007, 03:31 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 10 2007, 08:23 PM)
I'm bit sceptical , as I dont know the company nor the technology that are using it

For example , JARING is reliable and they are using a reliable technology which is CDMA (Its not through WiFi , 3G , UMTS) and the technology (The Soma technology) originated from the States. So you'll know that its reliable , I mean I've read many articles on this amazing piece of technology. Apart from that , JARING is under MIMOS (In other words , Government is the one that is holding the strings together. So I'll know that they dont go bonkers or so). Same goes for TMNet
I have been using Jaring Wireless for 2 years and I have been having my share of (wireless) problems. The Soma port is an old technology much similar to Webbit - its RF based. That is proprietary and so far does not seem to have any simple upgrade path to newer technology (re: faster speeds). It baffles me why Jaring chose to go such a route. Webbit is dead long ago.

IZZI is 4G which is another term for WiLAN and it sure beats 3.5G HSDPA hands down. HSDPA is good PROVIDED ONLY if used alone and the ISP only provides HSDPA service. Trouble is when ISP / operators mix HSDPA and 3G and EDGE etc and voice calls. Voice calls are ALWAYS given preference everytime especially during festive seasons or important events, data calls are dropped by the operator/ISP to ensure good quality voice for phone calls. IZZI is only providing data (voice over ip) and treats all users the same - there are no preferential band of users as compared to mobile calls.

I am not affliated with IZZI - I was at Low Yat today and spoke to the sales person for almost 1 hour on technical and monetary issues. Because the cost of the modem is high, they wanted you to pay 1 year up front. Also, they will refund fully if you return unit within 1 week if you find download/uploads poor. Also they claim not to cap on total bandwidth usage and do not restrict bit torrents.
TSJinXXX
post Oct 17 2007, 03:57 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(justme @ Oct 17 2007, 03:31 PM)
Also they claim not to cap on total bandwidth usage and do not restrict bit torrents.
is that true ? tmnuts also said the same thing.. high speed.. but it seems the speed sucks... tongue.gif

dEviLs
post Oct 17 2007, 05:29 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Oct 17 2007, 12:26 PM)
You are right in that there are no guarantees. If Izzi goes bottoms-up, it will be a long and probably fruitless process to get back the balance of the subscription fee.

To note however:
- Mobif is a MESDAQ listed company, and according to their 2006 Annual report, they are in the black.
- They have invested in 42 towers and other core infrastructure, which is not a small expense.
- They have also invested in a sales and support network
- They have so far done what they said they would do (with the exception of the delay in last 4 towers)

Given all of this, it doesn't look like the company is going to evaporate overnight.

... and let's get some perspective... it's just a few hundred ringgit. Not pocket change, but not like buying a house either!
http://announcements.bursamalaysia.com/EDM...obif-(Q207).xls

Too bad in the latest quarterly report they are in the red sweat.gif
Only_Human
post Oct 17 2007, 07:37 PM

439 posts

they have limit dl bandwidth ?
like maxis broadband one month only can dl 3GB ~
lihui912
post Oct 17 2007, 10:17 PM

Traceroute from a Streamyx user to iZZi website.
----------------------------------
Target Name: www.izzi.com.my
IP: 116.206.0.37
Date/Time: 10/17/2007 10:14:44 PM

1 N/A N/A N/A [-]
2 17 ms 51 ms 79 ms [219.93.216.29]
3 17 ms 34 ms 49 ms [210.187.129.131]
4 16 ms 17 ms 20 ms [210.187.129.138]
5 17 ms 18 ms 66 ms [58.27.101.37]
6 N/A N/A 36 ms [210.187.142.1]
7 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms [219.93.151.107]
8 19 ms 18 ms 20 ms [219.94.9.102]
9 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms [202.76.224.30]
10 19 ms 19 ms 18 ms [202.76.224.49]
11 23 ms 20 ms 19 ms [202.76.239.20]
12 22 ms 22 ms 22 ms [116.206.0.3]
13 20 ms 21 ms 22 ms izzi.com.my [116.206.0.37]

Ping statistics for www.izzi.com.my
Packets: Sent = 3, Received = 3, Lost = 0 (0.0%)
Round Trip Times: Minimum = 20ms, Maximum = 22ms, Average = 21ms
----------------------------------
dgtel2
post Oct 17 2007, 10:31 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(justme @ Oct 17 2007, 03:31 PM)
Also, they will refund fully if you return unit within 1 week if you find download/uploads poor. Also they claim not to cap on total bandwidth usage and do not restrict bit torrents.
I don't think it'll be a fully refund as they will deduct some for their Administration fee. I think it is about RM75.00. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I will ditch my Celcom 3G D68 plan once iZZi covers the WHOLE Malaysia (Including Sabah & Sarawak). For me, this is the benchmark to see whether they capable of managing competitions as well as strong business developement ethics.

This post has been edited by dgtel2: Oct 17 2007, 10:36 PM
Anodize
post Oct 18 2007, 12:28 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Oct 17 2007, 10:31 PM)
I don't think it'll be a fully refund as they will deduct some for their Administration fee. I think it is about RM75.00.  Correct me if I'm wrong.

I will ditch my Celcom 3G D68 plan once iZZi covers the WHOLE Malaysia (Including Sabah & Sarawak). For me, this is the benchmark to see whether they capable of managing competitions as well as strong business developement ethics.
Heh... you are skeptical about this arent you... but i have good faith that it will not cover the whole of malaysia... Face the fact.. even streamyx does not cover the whole of malaysia as a cable broadband service provider... And the administration fees is RM180. the admin fees is for those who do not want the service within a week.

And i believe that they will boom in November and december if my prediction is correct... Look at their resellers... they are even attached to CNI which is a local direct selling company. I wonder plans they gave to them... or maybe just another resellers like Broadband2u.com
Cyclohelix
post Oct 18 2007, 01:31 AM

26 posts

Tried out their connection via speedtest.net at lowyat (izzi booth) today, 42kb/s down and 30kb/s. The sales-lady says she will bring me outside lowyat if i really want to test their connection speed (outside for what?), also reiterated that we are surrounded by tall buildings and other interfering radio frequencies like cell-phones and static (-.-').

Told her my usage is in enclosed building parameter (-.-' again) around northern Damansara (LDP toll area), she replied that she will include a free anthenna for me as a temporary relief and her main point is that a new kepong base-station will be up and running by end of this month, 31 October (i doubt) which will cover areas as far as LDP and Sri Damansara area.

Asked her about bandwidth availability to support, she quickly regurgitated that each base-station on the coverage zone can support 1 million users (i am not kidding, that is what she told me, but she missed the point of my question). I have to use another method to explain my question, stating to her that 'yes, you have 1 million (dunno true or not) large pipes, but will it have enough water(bandwidth) to be given out evenly to everyone?' she said 'yes, and everyone will get at least 1mb/s if you download outdoors...' (LMAO, in disbelief)

Then i asked about the pricing for each of the package, she told me no need upfront if using credit card. I asked her about any other hidden charges or cost, she said no, but the device(pmcia card, modem, anthenna..bla) will fully be mine to keep after six month cause i am buying it via the monthly fees.

Up to this point, i am fully aware that izzi will really face a tough time very soon...but good to keep the iburst device after six month cause it is usable in other countries which have the iburst coverage.

This post has been edited by Cyclohelix: Oct 18 2007, 01:33 AM
kajika81
post Oct 18 2007, 02:24 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Cyclohelix @ Oct 18 2007, 01:31 AM)
Tried out their connection via speedtest.net at lowyat (izzi booth) today, 42kb/s down and 30kb/s. The sales-lady says she will bring me outside lowyat if i really want to test their connection speed (outside for what?), also reiterated that we are surrounded by tall buildings and other interfering radio frequencies like cell-phones and static (-.-').

Told her my usage is in enclosed building parameter (-.-' again) around northern Damansara (LDP toll area), she replied that she will include a free anthenna for me as a temporary relief and her main point is that a new kepong base-station will be up and running by end of this month, 31 October (i doubt) which will cover areas as far as LDP and Sri Damansara area.

Asked her about bandwidth availability to support, she quickly regurgitated that each base-station on the coverage zone can support 1 million users (i am not kidding, that is what she told me, but she missed the point of my question). I have to use another method to explain my question, stating to her that 'yes, you have 1 million (dunno true or not) large pipes, but will it have enough water(bandwidth) to be given out evenly to everyone?' she said 'yes, and everyone will get at least 1mb/s if you download outdoors...' (LMAO, in disbelief)

Then i asked about the pricing for each of the package, she told me no need upfront if using credit card. I asked her about any other hidden charges or cost, she said no, but the device(pmcia card, modem, anthenna..bla) will fully be mine to keep after six month cause i am buying it via the monthly fees.

Up to this point, i am fully aware that izzi will really face a tough time very soon...but good to keep the iburst device after six month cause it is usable in other countries which have the iburst coverage.
each base station can support up to 1 million users? i doubt that cos i've been told only can support up to 100 users per station.more than that then the speed will slow. i've subscribe to this izzi since september. At that time, speedtest.net average 800-900kbps, but now only 400-500 kbps. so if let say 1 million users per station,how come my speed getting slower? i cant believe in 1 month time my area got 1 million users.mad.gif
call their customer service, they said my base station got problem these few days. wtf, already a few weeks la man.

This post has been edited by kajika81: Oct 18 2007, 02:26 AM
Anodize
post Oct 18 2007, 03:29 AM

281 posts

lol.... what a big joke about that sales girl... I believe she is given limited resource to answer your questions... Perhaps you should be asking the technical support about that answer... and how can 1 tower support 1 million user.... there are only about 25 million ppl in Malaysia...(Correct me if i am wrong)
Sometimes sales person will do anything just to get the sales... i hate those sales ppl if they do...
kons
post Oct 18 2007, 07:01 AM

Конс
6,180 posts

Their whole sales team is quite new.
Even those who came to my office yesterday did not have more than 1 month working experience.

At least she knows that each basestation can support up to 500 users only.

51 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:17 AM