according to their technician, they claimed that there was earthquake in indonesia n affected the undersea cable. but did not promise when could solve the problem...! how come ah
New broadband service, iBurst by iZZinet Sdn Bhd
Sep 13 2007, 03:02 PM
38 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: USJ |
according to their technician, they claimed that there was earthquake in indonesia n affected the undersea cable. but did not promise when could solve the problem...! how come ah
Sep 13 2007, 03:30 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
QUOTE(arjen_robben81 @ Sep 13 2007, 03:02 PM) according to their technician, they claimed that there was earthquake in indonesia n affected the undersea cable. but did not promise when could solve the problem...! how come ah are they stupid or dumb ? how could an earth quake in indonesia affect a submarine cable that goes to taiwan ? or they are just thinking we(customers) are dumb.. btw i don't see any complain about subscribers in sg have bad internet .. |
Sep 13 2007, 03:54 PM
12 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(cheehon @ Sep 4 2007, 02:00 PM) Hi, I'm staying at Melati Utama, Platinum Victory and I have been using izzi for around 2 weeks. Yes, they do not throttle P2P because I'm getting high ID on my Emule. But the signal strength at my condo is very low, only around 30%-50%, sometimes it took me more than 5 minutes to get to google. I have just called up their customer support and they will get back to me in 48 hours, they said maybe due to the other building is the mountain behind is blocking the signal. Will let you know the outcome. Anyway, I guess sri pelangi should have better signal strength since their station is at wangsa maju. BTW, I've got confirmation from TM that the phone line for our area will be ready on November 2007. Ya, those stupik fellow add already. but stil unable, i ask y, thier say unable get the power supply to power those new additional ports. Make me wanna kill them. 1 yrs already !!!! i had enough ! now is indonesia earthquake somemore ! F**k !!! Anyone around used iburst and how was it ? I miss my Bt alot... |
Sep 14 2007, 01:25 AM
131 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(arjen_robben81 @ Sep 13 2007, 03:02 PM) according to their technician, they claimed that there was earthquake in indonesia n affected the undersea cable. but did not promise when could solve the problem...! how come ah Write to their customer service demanding an extension of your subscription period for this unacceptable performance degradation period. Enclose speedtest results from their own website as well as other speedtest sites. |
Sep 14 2007, 06:20 PM
slow like a 56kbps connection.only 100++kbps. wtf man! until today still low connection!
now ok a bit, 500-700kbps. haizzzzzz slow + unstable again!!!!! wtf , surely terminate the contract in the 3rd month. This post has been edited by arjen_robben81: Sep 15 2007, 07:24 AM |
Sep 15 2007, 01:08 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: East |
hmmm...i dono, but i actually did sthg to my setting at network connection, on the iburst terminal then it actually become better already. stil dl popular file pass 110kbps mark, n 'almost...' instant page loading. i think is ok. i re-tested its speed.
previously ,i tested speed and nvr exceed even 380kb/s, ul 2xx kb/s (funnily tho, at tht point i still manage to get >100kb/s dl on popular file). after doin sthg at the network connection, i finally manage to settle it. i retested speed again now gaining 8xxkb/s..but ul drop drastically to xx kb/s only! this is most surprising n i don even know why. ive made some queries to my friends concerning the pc own performance in relation to broadband speed, they unanimously agreed yes. i looked back to arjen pc performance, urs is rather powerful desktop, AMD Athlon X2 3600 2.71Ghz, Kingston 2GB DDRII PC4200 compare to my 3 yrs plus notebook running merely 1.5 centrino (single processor) albeit 1.5mb ddr1 ram, therefore it sums up why arjen u speedtested peak at 1mb++ n ping as low as 1xx while i hv higher ping was due to my bit outdated spec, only reason i can come out with. still, i dono why the ul drop drastically after i set ips to my iburst terminal properties (previously it was showing exclamation mark on limited or no connectivity although signal was 100%all the time. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Sep 15 2007, 03:42 PM
17 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Try out the IzziPro yesterday nite, and my area is Bandar Sri Damansara, and i stay at 5th floor. The signal strength stay within 50-60% only. The agent told me that their Kepong tower will going to operate by 15th Sept, which is today. I think the signal will getting better.
However, even the signal strength is within 50-60%, the downloading speed is quite stable at 380++kbps. I surf the net whole nite from 8pm - 1am in the morning, the line din get disconnet. Playing online game, having a 1-2 sec lack. This is better than Maxis wireless broadband that i used before Izzi. Maixs wireless is not stable especially during 8-10pm, keep on disconnect. Check the network type, it shown HSPDA connection, but dun even can chat with my friend on MSN. :sad: I'm quite satisfy with Izzi and plan to stay with this wireless broadband. However, i would like to know, how am i going to connect it to a router so that the network can share within several users at home? I'm using a D-link router, i'm now able to surf the net, but cannot sign-in MSN. Any clue? |
Sep 15 2007, 08:48 PM
88 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Just signed up with Izzi 2 days ago.
Went to the MyBroadband07 expo, which was really really depressing, as it showed exactly how paltry our broadband offerings are. Izzi had a booth there, and a few things have changed since I last checked a month ago: - they accept far more credit cards for their zero interest plan, instead of just two. - they provide a free external antenna - they were willing to come over to my place, at my convenience, to test the quality of the connection before I signed up!! I was told that they were directly from Izzi, not a reseller. I am getting effectively 100% signal (Eyeburst reports it as -76db attenuation, with or without external antenna!) and so far, quality has been stable, reporting 800kbps to 1Mbps on local nodes of speedtest.net. Location: Sentul West, indoors, above 10th floor. BT has gone up to 50KB/s. ... now the less good news.... latency is pretty blah. Speedtest reports 140ms as best, usually around 200ms. Periodically completely screws up to 600ms - 800ms! My connection in Bangsar: far from satisfactory (though the Izzi people told me so) - back of house 50% to 70%, front of house 20% to 40%!! Izzi people told me that towers are coming up covering this area by end Sept/start Oct. Judging from their website updates, their rollout is ok-lah in terms of meeting deadlines. Thinking of making a cantenna for this; will be trawling Pasar Rd electronics shops for the required parts. Low Yaters, post your test requests and I'll see what I can do. -- lowkl |
Sep 16 2007, 12:05 AM
Sep 16 2007, 01:51 AM
aiks, first 2 weeks since signed up the speed n conection is ok (check my previous replies in this thread). however, after that just like hell. cant even go online game since the conection suddenly go strong, then suddenly go slow. the ping in speedtest.net at kl server . pls check, wtf la!!!!!
called their customer service, i've been told that because of the earthquake affected some base stations. however,when i called their engineer, i've been told that the submarine cable at indo affected. so far , i'm still wondering y other izzi users could get better & stable connection in this recent replies if let say the submarine cable at indon is affected. so which story is true???? this is the 5th day since my connection went slow n unstable. wtf izzi This post has been edited by arjen_robben81: Sep 16 2007, 01:58 AM Attached image(s) |
Sep 16 2007, 10:49 AM
They're beginning to sound like TMNet - each of them is telling a different story. I'm sure if you call up their management you'll get another story. And if you complain about the slow speed outside their network, their reply will be "it's best effort, sir" It's beginning to sound like puppy love - it's all lovey dovey in the first weeks you sign up, then it goes rapidly downhill after that! Maybe we need more time to pass before other "newer" users will begin to experience this |
Sep 16 2007, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(samueler @ Sep 16 2007, 10:49 AM) They're beginning to sound like TMNet - each of them is telling a different story. I'm sure if you call up their management you'll get another story. And if you complain about the slow speed outside their network, their reply will be "it's best effort, sir" It's beginning to sound like puppy love - it's all lovey dovey in the first weeks you sign up, then it goes rapidly downhill after that! Maybe we need more time to pass before other "newer" users will begin to experience this |
Sep 16 2007, 01:10 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Just my 2sen on iZZi, I got it yesterday and have been testing it thoroughly ever since.
- It's STABLE, which is a who-hoo in Malaysia, the data rate doesnt fluctuate and delivers what it claims till the last kb. - It's LAGGY, but, were you all seriously expecting to play WoW on an european/american server here in Malaysia without lag? Go get your easy2game subscription and things will improve a lot. (tip of the day: although Singapore easy2game servers may seem faster, the best ping is obtained on chinese servers, use those!) - It's PROMISING, with a 2mbit service "in the pipeline" as they fondly say. - IzziPro terminal is BAD, as the ethernet plug on it is for PPPoE only, I was expecting to use it as a stand alone modem for my network, but it looks like I still need a computer to activate the connection A note to Mac users: the instruction PDF says it won't deliver full speed on OSX "as it's obviously OSX's fault" .... . .. . L O L. I mean, big LOL I have to thank you guys on this forum, as I was about to do the big mistake to get a stupidly expensive 4mbit Blowmeyx service... Edit: Forgot to add: BT nerfing: Quite REASONABLE, as I get stable 50KB/s+ downloads Signal strength in central KL: 100%, nuff said I live in Central KL, was using Celcom 3G before and was EXTREMELY dissatisfied with it. VERY low transfer rates even with HSPDA @ 70% signal (maxx 30-40KB/s) massive BT slowdown, countless disconnections and connected-but-not-data-exchanging sh#@e every single day I had the displeasure to have it at home, ah, and totally ridiculous latency, with or without proxy. Thank god I was borrowing it from a friend, to pay 1year for that crap would have been... Vile for me. So, iZZi, what are you waiting for? Just deliver a better always-on modem/router, buff speed up to 2mbit and up (iBurst supports up to 5mbit afaik) and give us some nice proxy service using some snippy Ciberjaya fibered servers, and we finally won't have anything to envy to almost every other civilised country in the world! This post has been edited by Torque: Sep 16 2007, 01:24 PM |
Sep 16 2007, 02:58 PM
celcom 3g no need pay upfront , or time contract. yesday at lowyat we wento tis celcom booth tht registration for 3G max 384kb/hsdpa 3.6mb (n u must realise der r rare hsdpa area) although u can terminate anytime but hvg to buy the celcom device is 1k++ itself n pay everymonth is lik 2k++for a year, in total. my friends said, on the surface, iburst package seem far more attractive. i just wonder when the 2.5mb/s from izzi is gonna roll out. i cant wait for that.
Sep 16 2007, 03:10 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Sep 16 2007, 03:58 PM) celcom 3g no need pay upfront , or time contract. yesday at lowyat we wento tis celcom booth tht registration for 3G max 384kb/hsdpa 3.6mb (n u must realise der r rare hsdpa area) . Trust me, and I mean it from the bottom of my heart, there is not a chance of a snowball in hell that the Celcom 3G reaches 3.6mb speed. Using HSPA at 60-70% signal strength I VERY rarely went over 50KB/s, with a much more realistic peak of 30KB/s and CONSTANT disconnections or data transfer interruptions. Downloading a 100MB file for me was a TRAGEDY: Connect, start the download, at a certain point, although connected, 0KB/s for like 20 minutes, so disconnect, reconnect, and so on and on and on for months... I am really glad I got rid of it. |
Sep 16 2007, 05:19 PM
hey guys a small update here.
talk to their engineer again this morning, he said will send people to my area base station to check. but dun know whether the people did come over not. n now, he told me that base station no problem. so ? my problem ah? wtf ... done speedtest.net,testmy.net, tm speedometer, maxis speedtest, & jaring speed test. sometimes 700-800kbps, sometimes 100-300 kbps, sometimes below 100kbps. what a unstable line n they do nothing at all! i complaint since wednesday until now. i cant even dl, play dota, only can surf net. im paying for 1mb package, at least u giv me 80% of the subscribe package n a stable line for sure. any other izzi users out there have this rediculous problem since wednesday????????pls share!!! This post has been edited by arjen_robben81: Sep 16 2007, 05:27 PM |
Sep 16 2007, 06:05 PM
25 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
well, i just subcribe the iZZipro last sunday.
Facing no problem. Bt also can get 60kBps average. Em, if using the XUNLEI(Perhapos u all know wat is XUNLEI) , speed can up to 100kBps . Yet , when yesterday i go to lowyat i try to make share connection i facing some weird problem . You guys can chk here. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/521394 I had go through this thread, what i want to say is the worse case , you just cancel the subcriotion at <180 days and get back 50% refund |
Sep 16 2007, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Sep 16 2007, 02:58 PM) celcom 3g no need pay upfront , or time contract. yesday at lowyat we wento tis celcom booth tht registration for 3G max 384kb/hsdpa 3.6mb (n u must realise der r rare hsdpa area) although u can terminate anytime but hvg to buy the celcom device is 1k++ itself n pay everymonth is lik 2k++for a year, in total. my friends said, on the surface, iburst package seem far more attractive. i just wonder when the 2.5mb/s from izzi is gonna roll out. i cant wait for that. The cheapest HSDPA modem is now the Sierra Wireless Aircard 875 PC Card at RM 460, capable of supporting 3.6mbps currently, up to 7.2mbps in the future. Couple this with an external antenna, and I can safely say that within an HSDPA area, you will enjoy speeds up to 120KB/s, consistently, at least for my D50 package (so called equivalent to D120 package, D50 is staff price, I'm not staff, don't ask me how I got it). If someone has a D120 subscription, I'd be more than willing to test your SIM to see if it really can enjoy up to 3.6mbps with my hardware setup Celcom3G can be cancelled anytime. So if you're unhappy, cancel it within a month and resell the Sierra Aircard (there is quite a lot of demand for this card nowadays). Much better than paying upwards of RM 1,200 up front, with no idea of how the refund process works when you want to terminate the Izzi service. Considering the feedback in this thread, it doesn't sound too promising, at least to me. This post has been edited by samueler: Sep 16 2007, 10:02 PM |
Sep 16 2007, 10:47 PM
samueler
izzi accepts many credit cards nowdays so most of us don do upfront. it auto debits, like ur phone bill or sort. no different with tmnet, it just auto debit ur cc at the end of each month, it charges end of month instead of advance. interest free installment lik tht |
Sep 16 2007, 11:05 PM
95 posts Joined: May 2007 |
It's good to hear iZZi doesn't throttle p2p connection.
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:39 PM |