115 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

PS3/Entertainment Setup, Come & share your setup with everyone!!!

skidd
post Jun 9 2008, 07:49 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(Jimsee @ Jun 9 2008, 01:58 PM)
how much is the drums set..

decide to get one since i dun have my own private recording studio dream.. tongue.gif
er .. i bought a 2nd hand set frm a forumer
so far very good family activity

not everyday u can hear ur 4 year old son trying to sing ramones
lksing78
post Jun 9 2008, 07:54 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(GabanKing @ Jun 9 2008, 05:57 PM)
Or you could just get an amp with an optical audio input, which is quite common.
yup agree..exp. get logitech z5500...it has optic input..just plug in and tak yah pening kappla..
James831
post Jun 13 2008, 01:45 AM

152 posts

My Low Cost Setup
just got my LCD Monitor today,hopefully in few month time I'll add 1 more console to my setup brows.gif
naziaf
post Jun 13 2008, 02:00 AM

244 posts

Looks awesome. What's the size of that monster screen you've got there?
James831
post Jun 13 2008, 09:54 AM

152 posts

Dell 2408wfp
Cyphereza
post Jun 13 2008, 10:16 AM

Jedi Catâ„¢
2,311 posts

James831, need your honest opinion. Is it enough with 24" for you? You're using it in your room or living room or where?
I'm still thinking either to get 24" or 32" (which costs more and need to wait till I have enough moo-lah).

This post has been edited by Cyphereza: Jun 13 2008, 10:17 AM
BlueLotus
post Jun 13 2008, 10:41 AM

31 posts

cypher, it depends on ur requirement actually. Are u keen on getting a HD quality video? If yes, then opt for 40" and above to get the FUll HD effect. Otherwise, a 32" is sufficient for you.
Cyphereza
post Jun 13 2008, 10:56 AM

Jedi Catâ„¢
2,311 posts

Yeah I know, actually, I'm like still can't make a choice for either 24" Dell LCD Monitor or 32" LCD TV. I mean, both is fine. 40" is waaayy too much for me. Its just that is it worth it to get a 24" Dell. IINM, the 24" Dell can do 1080p and mostly 32" LCD TV only up to 720p. *sigh* Can't make decision. Lol. Thanks anyway.
Evirober
post Jun 13 2008, 12:19 PM

636 posts

Cyphereza : Just my 2 cents...
32" may be just 720 P but
24" at 1080P u gotta view stuff really close to notice the difference.

The 8" of wide space makes quite a difference..

No offense just sharing an opinion

Cheers

BlueLotus
post Jun 13 2008, 12:21 PM

31 posts

it is true. I agree. The bigger ur screen, the more u can see. Especially in Full HD. No point buying Full HD below 40". U r just wasting money.
anyme
post Jun 13 2008, 12:26 PM

:ketawaguling2:
1,392 posts

QUOTE(BlueLotus @ Jun 13 2008, 12:21 PM)
it is true. I agree. The bigger ur screen, the more u can see. Especially in Full HD. No point buying Full HD below 40". U r just wasting money.
i dont think it will wasting the money...32" is good enough... flex.gif
BlueLotus
post Jun 13 2008, 12:29 PM

31 posts

tats why u all dont understand our statement... if u r going for FULL HD, u need to get 40" and above. If not, then can go for any screen size. Hope u all understand.
naziaf
post Jun 13 2008, 12:38 PM

244 posts

Some of the things to take into account when opting for full HD:

1) Whether or not you can appreciate the extra difference. Most ppl who aren't AV enthusiast can't tell the difference between Full HD and 720p

2) Whether or not your viewing distance (or room size) is suitable for the 40 incher

3) Whether or not you'll be utilizing the Full HD by watching HD movies (e.g. blu-ray).

Maybe some ppl boasts their full HD LCD tv, but in actual fact they only watch Astro on it tongue.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 13 2008, 12:43 PM

4,466 posts

QUOTE(BlueLotus @ Jun 13 2008, 12:29 PM)
tats why u all dont understand our statement... if u r going for FULL HD, u need to get 40" and above. If not, then can go for any screen size. Hope u all understand.
What Lotus is saying is, no point downloading 1080p blueray rip movie online to watch on a tv screen 40'' or smaller as it will be the same quality as a 720p .....

If your using above 40'' ( i am using 42'' native 1080p resolution ), then 1080p sources would make some difference in picture quality.

I watched in the shop a 1080p movie play on a 52'' Sony Bravia LCD HDTV. I was very impressed wub.gif

Added on June 13, 2008, 12:52 pmHow do i know whether my PS3 is outputting True HD ?

my setup is configured as the following

PS3 to Yamaha RX-V663 AV Receiver via HDMI.

Av Receiver connected to HDTV via HDMI.

On the receiver it says PCM. Does that mean the true HD sound is working or isn't it ? Any ideas ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 13 2008, 12:52 PM
apisgogo
post Jun 13 2008, 01:29 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 13 2008, 12:43 PM)
What Lotus is saying is, no point downloading 1080p blueray rip movie online to watch on a tv screen 40'' or smaller as it will be the same quality as a 720p .....

If your using above 40'' ( i am using 42'' native 1080p resolution ), then 1080p sources would make some difference in picture quality.

I watched in the shop a 1080p movie play on a 52'' Sony Bravia LCD HDTV. I was very impressed  wub.gif

Added on June 13, 2008, 12:52 pmHow do i know whether my PS3 is outputting True HD ?

my setup is configured as the following
PS3 to Yamaha RX-V663 AV Receiver via HDMI.

Av Receiver connected to HDTV via HDMI.
On the receiver it says PCM. Does that mean the true HD sound is working or isn't it ? Any ideas ?
yeap, u getting truehd smile.gif

JonC
post Jun 13 2008, 01:41 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

PS3 do NOT output dolby truehd or dts-ma in its native form to your amp. It will decode it and send it out through hdmi to your amp as pcm, hence your amp will show pcm. That's why apigogo say its working.

This post has been edited by JonC: Jun 13 2008, 01:41 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 13 2008, 01:44 PM

4,466 posts

Jonc does that mean i get the full benefit of true hd and nothing to worry about biggrin.gif ?

My receiver also supports decoding of true hd if needed.
JonC
post Jun 13 2008, 01:53 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

Yup! nod.gif thumbup.gif No need to worry. Once you get a stand alone bd player than your amp will do the decoding work. wink.gif
BlueLotus
post Jun 13 2008, 01:54 PM

31 posts

moogle, i think u need to set ur PS3 audio system... select Dolby 5.1 and DTS mode enable. Then i think u can hear the difference.

btw, I have a 46" Full HD LCD TV.... im damn impressed with the video output while watching AVI movie file downloaded from torrent and streaming from my PC wirelessly to PS3. It is like watching a DVD 9 movie. It truely enhance the picture quality.
apisgogo
post Jun 13 2008, 01:56 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 13 2008, 01:44 PM)
Jonc does that mean i get the full benefit of true hd and nothing to worry about biggrin.gif ?

My receiver also supports decoding of true hd if needed.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa... this is one million dollar question... some people said its no difference between player decoding and receiver decoding... its debate until end of the day smile.gif

yes.. ur 663 can handle HD audio.. but u must hav player that could send the hd audio as bitstream... our PS3 cant do that...

the most best valued bitstream player in my opinion is Samsung BDP-1400...

Added on June 13, 2008, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(BlueLotus @ Jun 13 2008, 01:54 PM)
moogle, i think u need to set ur PS3 audio system... select Dolby 5.1 and DTS mode enable. Then i think u can hear the difference.

btw, I have a 46" Full HD LCD TV.... im damn impressed with the video output while watching AVI movie file downloaded from torrent and streaming from my PC wirelessly to PS3. It is like watching a DVD 9 movie. It truely enhance the picture quality.
compare Dolbe 5.1/DTS with Dolby TrueHD/DTS MA HD/PCM..

a loooooooooot of difference smile.gif

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jun 13 2008, 01:57 PM

115 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:29 AM